DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 06/26/2026.
Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited reference to Su fails to teach the amended limitation “communicate via the uplink resources and the downlink resources for full-duplex communication within the time resource using a second set of parameters based at least in part on the uplink resources and the downlink resources satisfying the self-interference threshold”, but the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Su reference discloses:
“the base station may configure the first configuration information for periodic residual self-interference measurement. For example, the first configuration information may further include information indicating a periodic measurement time-frequency resource. For example, the first configuration information may further include a period of the periodic measurement time-frequency resource. In this case, the terminal may determine the measurement time-frequency resource allocated to the terminal, based on the first indication information or the second indication information, and a period of the periodic measurement time-frequency resource.”
“the base station may receive the feedback information determined according to the measurement result from the terminal, where the measurement result is obtained by the terminal performing the residual self-interference measurement on the measurement time-frequency resource.”
“the base station may determine second configuration information for configuring the duplex mode according to the feedback information.
In some embodiments, the second configuration information may include information instructing the duplex mode of the terminal. For example, the second configuration information may include information indicating whether the terminal is capable of operating in the full-duplex mode.”
“in a case where the SINR considering the residual self-interference is greater than the second predetermined threshold, the second configuration information may be used to indicate that the terminal can operate in the full-duplex mode. In this case, the base station can schedule the terminal to operate in the full-duplex mode.” (paragraphs 0458-0466, 0476)
Accordingly, the terminal is configured to measure a self-interference measurement reference signal, transmit the result of the measurement to the base station, and when the measurement is below a threshold (thus, “meeting” the threshold value), the terminal is scheduled to operate in full-duplex. As per the reference itself when the terminal is operating in full-duplex “the terminal may simultaneously transmit and receive data on the same time-frequency resource” (paragraph 0397). And meeting the threshold value, ensures the terminal can operate in full-duplex, which meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0182160; hereinafter Su).
Regarding claim 1 Su discloses a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 0119), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (paragraph 0185); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to (paragraph 0119) execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive control information indicating a self-interference threshold for full-duplex communication during reception of a reference signal (paragraphs 0287, 0375, 0377-0379, 0468, 0475-0488; the UE receives configuration information, which comprises a predetermined threshold for full-duplex during reception of self-interference measurement reference signal);
receive a scheduling grant allocating uplink resources and downlink resources for full-duplex communication within a time resource using a first set of parameters (paragraphs 0280-0287, 0387-0390, 0404, 0459-0460; wherein the UE is allocated resources to communicate via full-duplex or half-duplex according to the self-interference determination); and
communicate via the uplink resources and the downlink resources for full-duplex communication within the time resource using a second set of parameters based at least in part on the uplink resources and the downlink resources satisfying the self-interference threshold (paragraphs 0280-0287, 0387-0390, 0404, 0459-0460; wherein the UE is allocated resources to communicate via full-duplex or half-duplex according to the self-interference determination).
Regarding claim 2 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein, to communicate via the uplink resources and the downlink resources using the second set of parameters, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit an uplink communication using the uplink resources during the time resource while concurrently receiving the reference signal using the downlink resources during the time resource (paragraphs 0282-0286, 0397; a full-duplex apparatus transmits a known modulation symbol or reference signal on a specific physical resource - hereinafter, the symbol or signal is referred to as a self-interference elimination special reference signal or a reference signal for self-interference channel estimation, or a self-interference reference signal for short), and receives the self-interference signal at the same time).
Regarding claim 3 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine that a quantity of resource elements between a first resource element associated with the uplink resources and a second resource element associated with the downlink resources is less than a threshold quantity of resource elements, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold quantity of resource elements (paragraphs 0375-0384, ; the offset information may include one or more of a symbol offset, a physical resource element offset, a physical resource block offset, and the like).
Regarding claim 4 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine that the uplink resources and the downlink resources overlap in the time resource by a quantity of symbols that is less than a threshold quantity of symbols, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold quantity of symbols (paragraphs 0318, 0359, 0364, 0385, 0388; reduce the influence of the self-interference physical signal transmission on a subsequent OFDM symbol transmission, that is, reducing a number of sampling points in a time-domain symbol of the self-interference physical signal that overlaps with a subsequent OFDM symbol including a next OFDM symbol due to delay).
Regarding claim 5 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine that a transmit power associated with an uplink communication associated with the uplink resources is greater than a threshold transmit power level, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold transmit power level (paragraphs 0274, 0378, 0397-0412; the power of self-interference will be much higher than the power of the uplink signal to be received).
Regarding claim 6 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine that a spatial separation between a transmit beam associated with the uplink resources and a receive beam associated with the downlink resources is less than a threshold spatial separation, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold spatial separation (paragraphs 0285, 0496-0497; antenna elimination method may include designing a circuit of a transmitting and receiving antenna to reduce the intensity of the self-interference signal at least to the intensity of a receiving antenna in a manner of physical isolation, transceiver signal countervailing, or the like).
Regarding claim 7 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine, based on a receive beam used to receive the reference signal using the downlink resources, one or more restricted uplink beams; determine a transmit beam associated with an uplink transmission using the uplink resources; and determine that the uplink resources and the downlink resources satisfy the self-interference threshold based at least in part on determining that the transmit beam is included in the one or more restricted uplink beams (paragraphs 0285, 0496-0497; antenna elimination method may include designing a circuit of a transmitting and receiving antenna to reduce the intensity of the self-interference signal at least to the intensity of a receiving antenna in a manner of physical isolation, transceiver signal countervailing, or the like).
Regarding claim 8 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein, to communicate via the uplink resources and the downlink resources using the second set of parameters, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: puncture a portion of the uplink resources to increase a quantity of resource elements between the uplink resources and the downlink resources within the time resource (paragraphs 0303, 0334-0341, 0359; performing at least one of truncating the physical signal after an end time boundary of a first OFDM symbol in the at least two OFDM symbols), shift a portion of the uplink resources to increase a quantity of resource elements between the uplink resources and the downlink resources within the time resource (paragraphs 0099-0101, 0297, 0301-0302, 0316-0318; timing offset), adjust a transmit power of an uplink transmission associated with the uplink resources (paragraphs 0274, 0378, 0397-0412; the power of self-interference will be much higher than the power of the uplink signal to be received), adjust a transmit beam associated with an uplink transmission associated with the uplink resources (paragraphs 0285, 0496-0497; antenna elimination method may include designing a circuit of a transmitting and receiving antenna to reduce the intensity of the self-interference signal at least to the intensity of a receiving antenna in a manner of physical isolation, transceiver signal countervailing, or the like), and transmit control signaling comprising a message indicating that the self- interference threshold was satisfied (figs. 23, 29, 32-33; updated configuration information transmitted to UE based on measuring results).
Regarding claim 9 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink resources comprise symbols corresponding to a physical uplink control channel transmission, a physical uplink shared channel transmission, or a sounding reference signal (paragraphs 0091, 0298, 0724; SRS/PUCCH/PUSCH).
Regarding claim 10 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the downlink resources comprise symbols corresponding to a synchronization signal block index configured for layer 1 reference signal received power measurement, activated semi-persistent channel-state information reference signal resources configured for layer 1 reference signal received power measurement, a periodic channel-state information reference signal resource configured for layer 1 reference signal received power measurement, aperiodic channel- state information reference signal resources configured for layer 1 reference signal received power measurement, or a combination thereof (paragraphs 0298-0300, 0357, 0381; CSI-RS).
Regarding claim 11 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the UE is triggered to measure at least a portion of the aperiodic channel-state information reference signal resources (paragraphs 0375-0390; the received first configuration information may be used to configure the measurement time-frequency resource and/or measurement reference signal(s) for the residual self-interference measurement).
Regarding claim 12 Su discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the control information is received via radio resource control signaling, medium access control-control element signaling, downlink control information signaling, or a combination thereof (paragraph 0656; the received first configuration information may be used to configure the measurement time-frequency resource and/or measurement reference signal(s) for the residual self-interference measurement).
Regarding claim 13 Su discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving control information indicating a self-interference threshold for full-duplex communication during reception of a reference signal (paragraphs 0287, 0375, 0377-0379, 0468, 0475-0488; the UE receives configuration information, which comprises a predetermined threshold for full-duplex during reception of self-interference measurement reference signal);
receiving a scheduling grant allocating uplink resources and downlink resources for full-duplex communication within a time resource using a first set of parameters (paragraphs 0280-0287, 0387-0390, 0404, 0459-0460; wherein the UE is allocated resources to communicate via full-duplex or half-duplex according to the self-interference determination); and
communicating via the uplink resources and the downlink resources for full-duplex communication within the time resource using a second set of parameters based at least in part on the uplink resources and the downlink resources satisfying the self-interference threshold (paragraphs 0280-0287, 0387-0390, 0404, 0459-0460; wherein the UE is allocated resources to communicate via full-duplex or half-duplex according to the self-interference determination).
Regarding claim 14 Su discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: determining that a quantity of resource elements between a first resource element associated with the uplink resources and a second resource element associated with the downlink resources is less than a threshold quantity of resource elements, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold quantity of resource elements (paragraphs 0375-0384, ; the offset information may include one or more of a symbol offset, a physical resource element offset, a physical resource block offset, and the like).
Regarding claim 15 Su discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: determining that the uplink resources and the downlink resources overlap in the time resource by a quantity of symbols that is less than a threshold quantity of symbols, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold quantity of symbols (paragraphs 0318, 0359, 0364, 0385, 0388; reduce the influence of the self-interference physical signal transmission on a subsequent OFDM symbol transmission, that is, reducing a number of sampling points in a time-domain symbol of the self-interference physical signal that overlaps with a subsequent OFDM symbol including a next OFDM symbol due to delay).
Regarding claim 16 Su discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: determining that a transmit power associated with an uplink communication associated with the uplink resources is greater than a threshold transmit power level, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold transmit power level (paragraphs 0274, 0378, 0397-0412; the power of self-interference will be much higher than the power of the uplink signal to be received).
Regarding claim 17 Su discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: determining that a spatial separation between a transmit beam associated with the uplink resources and a receive beam associated with the downlink resources is less than a threshold spatial separation, wherein the self-interference threshold comprises the threshold spatial separation (paragraphs 0285, 0496-0497; antenna elimination method may include designing a circuit of a transmitting and receiving antenna to reduce the intensity of the self-interference signal at least to the intensity of a receiving antenna in a manner of physical isolation, transceiver signal countervailing, or the like).
Regarding claim 18 Su discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: determining, based on a receive beam used to receive the reference signal using the downlink resources, one or more restricted uplink beams; determining a transmit beam associated with an uplink transmission using the uplink resources; and determining that the uplink resources and the downlink resources satisfy the self-interference threshold based at least in part on determining that the transmit beam is included in the one or more restricted uplink beams (paragraphs 0285, 0496-0497; antenna elimination method may include designing a circuit of a transmitting and receiving antenna to reduce the intensity of the self-interference signal at least to the intensity of a receiving antenna in a manner of physical isolation, transceiver signal countervailing, or the like).
Regarding claim 19 Su discloses the method of claim 13, wherein communicating via the uplink resources and the downlink resources using the second set of parameters further comprises: puncturing a portion of the uplink resources to increase a quantity of resource elements between the uplink resources and the downlink resources within the time resource (paragraphs 0303, 0334-0341, 0359; performing at least one of truncating the physical signal after an end time boundary of a first OFDM symbol in the at least two OFDM symbols), shifting a portion of the uplink resources to increase a quantity of resource elements between the uplink resources and the downlink resources within the time resource (paragraphs 0099-0101, 0297, 0301-0302, 0316-0318; timing offset), adjusting a transmit power of an uplink transmission associated with the uplink resources (paragraphs 0274, 0378, 0397-0412; the power of self-interference will be much higher than the power of the uplink signal to be received), adjusting a transmit beam associated with an uplink transmission associated with the uplink resources (paragraphs 0285, 0496-0497; antenna elimination method may include designing a circuit of a transmitting and receiving antenna to reduce the intensity of the self-interference signal at least to the intensity of a receiving antenna in a manner of physical isolation, transceiver signal countervailing, or the like), or transmitting control signaling comprising a message indicating that the self-interference threshold was satisfied (figs. 23, 29, 32-33; updated configuration information transmitted to UE based on measuring results).
Regarding claim 20 Su discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications (paragraph 0185), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to:
receive control information indicating a self-interference threshold for full-duplex communication during reception of a reference signal (paragraphs 0287, 0375, 0377-0379, 0468, 0475-0488; the UE receives configuration information, which comprises a predetermined threshold for full-duplex during reception of self-interference measurement reference signal);
receive a scheduling grant allocating uplink resources and downlink resources for full-duplex communication within a time resource using a first set of parameters (paragraphs 0280-0287, 0387-0390, 0404, 0459-0460; wherein the UE is allocated resources to communicate via full-duplex or half-duplex according to the self-interference determination); and
communicate via the uplink resources and the downlink resources for full-duplex communication within the time resource using a second set of parameters based at least in part on the uplink resources and the downlink resources satisfying the self-interference threshold (paragraphs 0280-0287, 0387-0390, 0404, 0459-0460; wherein the UE is allocated resources to communicate via full-duplex or half-duplex according to the self-interference determination).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2023/0254778 to Ioffe et al. – that discloses The UE and/or the one or more base stations may receive an indication of self-interference at the UE. This indication may be based on a receiver of the UE (e.g., a receive signal quality, a receive signal power, and so on), a transmitter of the UE (e.g., a transmission power), an estimate of self-interference, and so on. If there is sufficient self-interference (e.g., if the self-interference exceeds a threshold), then the one or more base stations may configure the UE for non-simultaneous receive/transmit operation to avoid transmission interfering with reception. If there is a lack of self-interference (e.g., if the self-interference does not exceed the threshold), then the one or more base stations may configure the UE for simultaneous receive/transmit operation, as transmission is unlikely to interfere with reception.
USPN 12,356,379 to Lee et al. – which discloses a full duplex operation in a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a power control method and apparatus for efficiently using a full duplex operation in a wireless communication system.
US PGPUB 2022/0022206 to Ibrahim et al. – that discloses techniques and apparatuses for concurrent self-interference and cross-link interference measurement and reporting.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466