DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The response filed 08/19/2026 is accepted, in which independent claims 1 and 13 are amended. Claims 1-20 await an action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claims 1 and 13, on page 11 of the response, Applicant argues,
"The Office action goes on to allege that "Kim teaches a first transparent (transparent, [0112]) light-receiving electrode." (Office action, pages 6 and 11). However, paragraph [0112] of Kim only states that the pixel electrodes 211, 221, 231, and 310 may be a transparent electrode or a transflective electrode. However, as illustrated in FIG. 2, which is provided below, a first light-receiving color filter does not appear to overlap any of the pixel electrodes 211, 221, 231, and 310 in a plan view."
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The final rejection relies on Lee (US 20230186672 A1) to meet the limitations of the structure of the instant application, including the first light-receiving electrode O_AE and the first light-receiving color filter DCF, where the light-receiving color filter DCF is shown above the light-receiving electrode in plan view of Fig 8. It is well known in the art to use transparent electrodes in semiconductor display technology, but Lee fails to explicitly teach this composition.
Kim (US 20220367570 A1) is relied upon to meet the limitation of the composition of the light-receiving electrode. Kim discloses a light-transmitting electrode 310 in paragraph [0111] and goes on to describe a transmittance of greater than 95% in paragraph [0112]. Both Lee and Kim disclose display inventions with embedded photodiodes. Lee and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of display devices with integrated sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the structure of Lee with the composition of Kim to create a display capable of biometric recognition (Kim, [0004]) including a sensor integrated with the display panel to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
Therefore, the combination of Lee and Kim meets the limitations of amended claims 1 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230186672 A1), and further in view of Kim (US 20220367570 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display apparatus (DD, Fig 8) comprising:
a substrate (BL);
light-emitting elements (ED) on (shown on) the substrate (BL);
a first light-receiving element (OPD) on (shown on) the substrate (BL) and arranged next to (shown arranged next to) the light-emitting elements (ED); and
a first light-receiving color filter (DCF) on (shown on) the first light-receiving element (OPD),
wherein the first light-receiving element (OPD) comprises a first … light-receiving electrode (O_AE), a first light-absorbing layer (O_PCL) on (shown on) the first … light-receiving electrode (O_AE), and an opposite electrode (O_CA) on (shown on) the first light-absorbing layer (O_PCL),
the first light-absorbing layer (O_PCL) comprises a material (organic photo-sensing material, [0208]) that has sensitivity to light (generates charges by absorbing the energy of incident light, [0209]) of a first wavelength (green band, [0225]), light of a second wavelength (red band), and light of a third wavelength (blue band),
the first light-receiving color filter (DCF) is configured to transmit (shown transmitting light, Fig 9A) the light of the first wavelength (green band),
the light of the first wavelength (green band) is a first one from among green light (green), red light, and blue light,
the light of the second wavelength (red band) is a second one from among the green light, the red light (red), and the blue light,
the light of the third wavelength (blue band) is a third one from among the green light, the red light, and the blue light (blue), and
the first light-receiving color filter (DCF) overlaps (shown overlapping) the first … light-receiving electrode (O_AE) in a plan view.
Lee fails to explicitly teach a first transparent light-receiving electrode.
However, Kim teaches a first transparent (transparent, [0112]) light-receiving electrode.
Lee and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee with the features of Kim to create and apparatus with a first transparent light-receiving electrode capable of biometric recognition (Kim, [0004]) including a sensor integrated with the display panel to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Lee teaches the first light-receiving element (OPD, Fig 8) and goes on to teach a lower surface (PCLB: lowermost surface of O_PCL) of the first light-absorbing layer (O_PCL).
Kim goes on to teach wherein the first light-receiving element does not comprise a metal layer and a reflective electrode (not metal, not reflective; light-transmitting, [0111]), on (not on since the electrodes are different) a lower surface of the first light-absorbing layer.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and the first transparent light-receiving electrode (O_AE, Lee; transparent, [0112], Kim).
Lee goes on to teach wherein each of the light-emitting elements (OPD, Fig 8) comprises a stack (shown as a stack) of a pixel electrode (AE) and an emission layer (EL) on (shown on) the pixel electrode (AE).
Kim goes on to teach the pixel electrode comprises a metal layer (Ag, [0112]), and the metal layer (Ag) comprises a material different (different; pixel electrode is silver, while first transparent light-receiving electrode is ITO, [0112]) from that of the first transparent light-receiving electrode.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 3 and the first transparent light-receiving electrode (O_AE, Lee; transparent, [0112], Kim).
Lee teaches the pixel electrode (AE) and goes on to teach wherein the opposite electrode (O_CA, Fig 8) extends (shown extending) onto an upper surface (ELT: topmost surface of EL) of the emission layer (EL).
The combination fails to explicitly teach a thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode is different from a thickness of the pixel electrode.
However, in cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
In paragraph [0013] of the instant application's specification, Applicant states, "According to some embodiments, the opposite electrode may extend onto an upper surface of the emission layer, and a thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode may be different from a thickness of the pixel electrode," but Applicant has not disclosed that a thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode is different from a thickness of the pixel electrode solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode different to the thickness of the pixel electrode since a thinner first transparent light-receiving electrode would transmit light more effectively.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
The combination fails to explicitly teach a fourth light-receiving element next to the light-emitting elements and comprising a fourth transparent light-receiving electrode and a fourth light-absorbing layer on the fourth transparent light-receiving electrode; and a fourth light-receiving color filter on the fourth light-receiving element, wherein the fourth light-absorbing layer has sensitivity to the light of the first wavelength, the light of the second wavelength, the light of the third wavelength, and near-infrared rays, and the fourth light-receiving color filter transmits the near-infrared rays.
However, section 2144.04 of the MPEP, Subsection VI, states the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Paragraph [0020] of the instant application states, "According to some embodiments, the display apparatus may further include a fourth light-receiving element arranged next to the light-emitting elements and including a fourth transparent light-receiving electrode and a fourth light-absorbing layer on the fourth transparent light-receiving electrode, and a fourth light-receiving color filter on the fourth light-receiving element, wherein the fourth light-absorbing layer may have sensitivity to the light of the first wavelength, the light of the second wavelength, the light of the third wavelength, and near-infrared rays, and the fourth light-receiving color filter may transmit the near-infrared rays." The specification is silent to the criticality of the fourth light-receiving element and fourth color filter to the invention.
Lee discloses a light-receiving element that absorbs light from a color filter that can transmit red, green, or blue wavelengths (Lee, [0225]). Lee goes on to disclose a second light with a wavelength in the infrared band, (Lee, [0029]). Kim discloses a light-receiving element that can absorb red, green, blue, infrared, or any combination simultaneously, (Kim, [0127]). Kim-2 discloses a plurality of light-receiving elements distributed throughout the display (Kim-2, Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a fourth light-receiving element with a fourth color filter into the display apparatus in order to ensure absorption of any light emitted by the light-emitting elements since light in the infrared wavelength spectrum may have a deeper penetration depth due to its long wavelength characteristics and information located at different distances may be effectively obtained, images or changes in blood vessels such as veins, iris and/or face, etc., in addition to fingerprints may be effectively detected (Kim, [0203]) in order to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
Therefore, in view of the obviousness of duplication of parts, the combination meets the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 11. Lee teaches the first light-absorbing layer (O_PCL, Fig 8).
Kim goes on to teach wherein the first light-absorbing layer has sensitivity to the near-infrared rays (configured to absorb light in the infrared spectrum, [0203]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a display apparatus (DD, Fig 8) comprising:
a substrate (BL);
a plurality of light-emitting elements (ED) on (shown on) the substrate (BL);
a first light-receiving element (OPD) next to (shown next to) the light-emitting elements (ED);
a first light-receiving color filter (DCF) on (shown on) the first light-receiving element (OPD); and
wherein the first light-receiving element (OPD) comprises a first … light-receiving electrode (O_AE) and a first light-absorbing layer (O_PCL) on (shown on) the first … light-receiving electrode (O_AE), and
the first light-receiving color filter (DCF) overlaps (shown overlapping) the first … light-receiving electrode (O_AE) in a plan view.
Lee fails to explicitly teach a first transparent light-receiving electrode.
However, Kim teaches a first transparent (transparent, [0112]) light-receiving electrode.
Lee and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee with the features of Kim to create and apparatus with a first transparent light-receiving electrode capable of biometric recognition (Kim, [0004]) including a sensor integrated with the display panel to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
The combination fails to explicitly teach a second light-receiving element next to the light-emitting elements; a second light-receiving color filter on the second light-receiving element and configured to transmit light of a wavelength different from that of the first light-receiving color filter, the second light-receiving element comprises a second transparent light-receiving electrode and a second light-absorbing layer on the second transparent light-receiving electrode, and the second light-absorbing layer comprises a material same as that of the first light-absorbing layer.
However, section 2144.04 of the MPEP, Subsection VI, states the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Paragraph [0015] of the instant application states, "According to some embodiments, the display apparatus may further include a second light-receiving element arranged next to the light-emitting elements, and a second light-receiving color filter on the second light-receiving element and configured to transmit the light of the second wavelength, wherein the second light-receiving element may include a second transparent light-receiving electrode and a second light-absorbing layer on the second transparent light-receiving electrode." The specification is silent to the criticality of the second light-receiving element to the invention.
Lee discloses a light-receiving element that absorbs light from a color filter that can transmit red, green, or blue wavelengths (Lee, [0225]). Kim discloses a light-receiving element that can absorb red, green, blue, or any combination simultaneously, (Kim, [0127]). Kim goes on to disclose a light-receiving element that absorbs infrared (Kim, [0203]). Kim-2 discloses a plurality of light-receiving elements distributed throughout the display (Kim-2, Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a second light-receiving element into the display apparatus in order to ensure absorption of any light emitted by the light-emitting elements in order to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
Lee would then go on to disclose the second light-absorbing layer comprises a material same as that of the first light-absorbing layer since the material for the second light-absorbing layer would be the same as the first light-absorbing material when duplicated.
Therefore, in view of the obviousness of duplication of parts, the combination meets the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 13.
Lee goes on to teach a planarizing insulating layer (70, Fig 5) on (shown on) the substrate (BL); and
a pixel-defining film (PDL) on (shown on) the first and second transparent light-receiving electrodes (O_AE; second transparent light-receiving electrode would have a similar structure when duplicated as discussed above),
wherein lower surfaces (O_AEB: lowermost surface of O_AE) of the first and second transparent light-receiving electrodes (O_AE) are in physical contact (shown in contact) with the planarizing insulating layer (70), and
upper surfaces (O_AET: uppermost surface of O_AE) of the first and second transparent light-receiving electrodes (O_AE) are in physical contact (shown in contact) with the pixel-defining film (PDL).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230186672 A1), in view of Kim (US 20220367570 A1), and further in view of Eo (US 20190173050 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 3. Lee teaches the pixel electrode (AE, Fig 8). Kim teaches the metal layer (Ag, [0112]).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the pixel electrode further comprises: a lower transparent electrode on a lower surface of the metal layer; and an upper transparent electrode on an upper surface of the metal layer.
However, Eo teaches wherein the pixel electrode further comprises:
a lower transparent electrode (ITO1: bottom ITO layer; pixel electrode may have a three-layer structure of ITO/Ag/ITO, [0066]) on (inherently on since the pixel electrode is comprised of 3 layers) a lower surface (AgB: lowermost surface of the Ag layer) of the metal layer; and
an upper transparent electrode (ITO2: top ITO layer) on (inherently on since the pixel electrode is comprised of 3 layers) an upper surface (AgT: uppermost surface of Ag layer) of the metal layer.
Lee, Kim, and Eo are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee and Kim with the features of Eo to create an apparatus wherein the pixel electrode further comprises: a lower transparent electrode on a lower surface of the metal layer; and an upper transparent electrode on an upper surface of the metal layer with wide viewing angles, excellent contrast, and fast response speed (Eo, [0004]) capable of preventing light leakage (Eo, [0006]).
Claims 6-10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230186672 A1), in view of Kim (US 20220367570 A1), and further in view of Kim (US 20230096622 A1), herein after Kim-2.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Lee teaches the light-emitting elements (ED, Fig 8) and the second wavelength (red band, [0225]).
Kim teaches transparent (transparent, [0112]) light-receiving electrodes.
The combination fails to explicitly teach a second light-receiving element next to the light-emitting elements; and a second light-receiving color filter on the second light-receiving element and configured to transmit the light of the second wavelength, wherein the second light-receiving element comprises a second transparent light-receiving electrode and a second light-absorbing layer on the second transparent light-receiving electrode.
However, Kim-2 teaches a second light-receiving element (IPA, Fig 5A) next to (shown next to) the light-emitting elements; and
a second light-receiving color filter (CF-R, Fig 5C) on (shown on) the second light-receiving element (IPA) and configured to transmit the light (transmits red light, [0182]) of the second wavelength,
wherein the second light-receiving element (IPA) comprises a second transparent light-receiving electrode (AE-2: AE of Kim-2) and a second light-absorbing layer (OPL) on (shown on) the second transparent light-receiving electrode (AE-2).
Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee and Kim with the features of Kim-2 to create and apparatus with a second light-receiving element next to the light-emitting elements; and a second light-receiving color filter on the second light-receiving element and configured to transmit the light of the second wavelength, wherein the second light-receiving element comprises a second transparent light-receiving electrode and a second light-absorbing layer on the second transparent light-receiving electrode capable of measuring biometric information of a user using a light emitting element and a light receiving element included in a display panel of the electronic device without requiring additional parts for measuring the biometric information (Kim-2, [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 6. Lee teaches the first wavelength (green band, [0225]), the light of the second wavelength (red band), and the light of the third wavelength (blue band).
Kim-2 goes on to teach wherein the second light-absorbing layer (OPL, Fig 5C) comprises a material that has sensitivity to the light (configured to absorb the full spectrum of red, green, and blue, [0127]) of the first wavelength, the light of the second wavelength, and the light of the third wavelength.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 6. The combination of Lee and Kim discloses the first transparent light-receiving electrode (O_AE, Lee; transparent, ITO, [0112], Kim).
Kim-2 goes on to teach wherein the second transparent light-receiving electrode (AE-2, Fig 5C) comprises a material (ITO, [0159]) same (same) as that of the first transparent light-receiving electrode.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 6. The combination of Lee and Kim discloses the first transparent light-receiving electrode (O_AE, Lee; transparent, ITO, [0112], Kim).
The combination fails to explicitly teach a thickness of the second transparent light-receiving electrode is equal to a thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode.
However, in cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
In paragraph [0018] of the instant application's specification, Applicant states, "According to some embodiments, a thickness of the second transparent light-receiving electrode may be equal to a thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode," but Applicant has not disclosed that a thickness of the second transparent light-receiving electrode is equal to a thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the thickness of the first transparent light-receiving electrode equal to the thickness of the second transparent light-receiving electrode since both are similar components as light-receiving elements and could be made in the same processing step.
Therefore, in view of the obviousness of range optimization, the combination meets the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 6.
The combination fails to explicitly teach a third light-receiving element next to the light-emitting elements; and a third light-receiving color filter on the third light-receiving element and configured to transmit the light of the third wavelength, wherein the third light-receiving element comprises a third transparent light-receiving electrode and a third light-absorbing layer on the third transparent light-receiving electrode.
However, section 2144.04 of the MPEP, Subsection VI, states the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Paragraph [0019] of the instant application states, "According to some embodiments, the display apparatus may further include a third light-receiving element arranged next to the light-emitting elements, and a third light-receiving color filter on the third light-receiving element and configured to transmit the light of the third wavelength, wherein the third light-receiving element may include a third transparent light-receiving electrode and a third light-absorbing layer on the third transparent light-receiving electrode." The specification is silent to the criticality of the third light-receiving element to the invention.
Lee discloses a light-receiving element that absorbs light from a color filter that can transmit red, green, or blue wavelengths (Lee, [0225]). Kim discloses a light-receiving element that can absorb red, green, blue, or any combination simultaneously, (Kim, [0127]). Kim goes on to disclose a light-receiving element that absorbs infrared (Kim, [0203]). Kim-2 discloses a plurality of light-receiving elements distributed throughout the display (Kim-2, Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a third light-receiving element into the display apparatus in order to ensure absorption of any light emitted by the light-emitting elements in order to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
Therefore, in view of the obviousness of duplication of parts, the combination meets the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 13. Lee teaches the substrate (BL, Fig 8), the light-emitting elements (ED), the first light-receiving element (OPD), and the second light-receiving element (OPD2: second OPD when duplicated as discussed above).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the substrate has a first display region and a second display region, the light-emitting elements are on the first display region and the second display region of the substrate, the first light-receiving element is on the first display region of the substrate, and the second light-receiving element is on the second display region of the substrate.
However, Kim-2 teaches wherein the substrate has a first display region (DR1: first column of AA', Fig 5B; when duplicated as discussed above, the first light-receiving element repeats in the first display region, while the second light-receiving element alternates between first light-receiving elements in the second display region; please see annotated figure below) and a second display region (DR2: second column of AA', please see annotated figure below),
the light-emitting elements are on (shown on) the first display region (DR1) and the second display region (DR2) of the substrate,
the first light-receiving element is on (shown on) the first display region (DR1) of the substrate, and
the second light-receiving element is on (shown on) the second display region (DR2) of the substrate.
Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee and Kim with the features of Kim-2 to create and apparatus wherein the substrate has a first display region and a second display region, the light-emitting elements are on the first display region and the second display region of the substrate, the first light-receiving element is on the first display region of the substrate, and the second light-receiving element is on the second display region of the substrate capable of measuring biometric information of a user using a light emitting element and a light receiving element included in a display panel of the electronic device without requiring additional parts for measuring the biometric information (Kim-2, [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 15. Lee teaches the first light-receiving element (OPD, Fig 8).
Kim-2 goes on to teach wherein the first light-receiving element comprises a plurality of first light-receiving elements (OPD; shown in plurality; please see annotated figure above), and
at least one of the plurality of first light-receiving elements (OPD) is on (shown on) the first display region (DR1), and another one of the plurality of first light-receiving elements (OPD) is provided on (shown on) the second display region (DR2).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 16. Lee teaches the second light-receiving element (OPD2: second OPD when duplicated as discussed above).
Kim-2 goes on to teach wherein the second light-receiving element is spaced apart (shown spaced apart; please see annotated figure above) from the first display region (DR1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 15. Lee teaches the substrate (BL, Fig 8).
The combination fails to explicitly teach a third light-receiving element next to the light-emitting elements; and a third light-receiving color filter on the third light-receiving element and configured to transmit light of a wavelength different from that of each of the first light-receiving color filter and the second light-receiving color filter.
However, section 2144.04 of the MPEP, Subsection VI, states the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Paragraph [0019] of the instant application states, "According to some embodiments, the display apparatus may further include a third light-receiving element arranged next to the light-emitting elements, and a third light-receiving color filter on the third light-receiving element and configured to transmit the light of the third wavelength, wherein the third light-receiving element may include a third transparent light-receiving electrode and a third light-absorbing layer on the third transparent light-receiving electrode." The specification is silent to the criticality of the third light-receiving element to the invention.
Lee discloses a light-receiving element that absorbs light from a color filter that can transmit red, green, or blue wavelengths (Lee, [0225]). Kim discloses a light-receiving element that can absorb red, green, blue, or any combination simultaneously, (Kim, [0127]). Kim goes on to disclose a light-receiving element that absorbs infrared (Kim, [0203]). Kim-2 discloses a plurality of light-receiving elements distributed throughout the display (Kim-2, Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a third light-receiving element into the display apparatus in order to ensure absorption of any light emitted by the light-emitting elements in order to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
Therefore, in view of the obviousness of duplication of parts, the combination meets the limitations of claim 18 and Lee teaches the third light-receiving element (OPD3: third OPD when duplicated as discussed above).
Kim-2 goes on to teach wherein the substrate comprises a third display region (DR3; third column of AA', Fig 5B; please see annotated figure below), and
the third light-receiving element is on (shown on) the third display region (DR3) of the substrate.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 18.
The combination fails to explicitly teach the third light-receiving element comprises a third transparent light-receiving electrode and a third light-absorbing layer on the third transparent light-receiving electrode, and the third light-absorbing layer comprises a material same as that of each of the first light-absorbing layer and the second light-absorbing layer.
However, section 2144.04 of the MPEP, Subsection VI, states the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Paragraph [0019] of the instant application states, "According to some embodiments, the display apparatus may further include a third light-receiving element arranged next to the light-emitting elements, and a third light-receiving color filter on the third light-receiving element and configured to transmit the light of the third wavelength, wherein the third light-receiving element may include a third transparent light-receiving electrode and a third light-absorbing layer on the third transparent light-receiving electrode." The specification is silent to the criticality of the third light-receiving element to the invention.
Lee discloses a light-receiving element that absorbs light from a color filter that can transmit red, green, or blue wavelengths (Lee, [0225]). Kim discloses a light-receiving element that can absorb red, green, blue, or any combination simultaneously, (Kim, [0127]). Kim goes on to disclose a light-receiving element that absorbs infrared (Kim, [0203]). Kim-2 discloses a plurality of light-receiving elements distributed throughout the display (Kim-2, Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a third light-receiving element into the display apparatus in order to ensure absorption of any light emitted by the light-emitting elements in order to improve performance, (Kim, [0006]).
Lee would then go on to disclose the third light-absorbing layer comprises a material same as that of the first and second light-absorbing layers since the material for the third light-absorbing layer would be the same as the first and second light-absorbing material when duplicated.
Therefore, in view of the obviousness of duplication of parts, the combination meets the limitations of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim-2 discloses the apparatus of claim 18. Lee teaches the second light-receiving element (OPD2: second OPD when duplicated as discussed above) and the substrate (BL, Fig 8).
Kim-2 goes on to teach wherein the second light-receiving element comprises a plurality of second light-receiving elements (OPD2, shown in plurality; please see annotated figure above),
at least one of the plurality of second light-receiving elements (OPD2) is on (shown on) the second display region (DR2) of the substrate,
another one of the plurality of second light-receiving elements (OPD2) is on (shown on) the third display region (DR3) of the substrate, and
the third light-receiving element (OPD3) is spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the first display region (DR1) and the second display region (DR2) of the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikeda (US 20240349579 A1) - Light-receiving device within display
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897