DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 01/11/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/27/2025 is compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification, paragraph [0025] states “determine a round-tip channel impulse response… the wireless communication device may further, based on the round-tip channel impulse response”.
The “round-tip channel impulse response” should be changed to --- round-trip channel impulse response ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “transmitting”, “receiving”, “determining” and “generating”. However, the claim fails to recite any elements or structure configured to perform these functions, which renders the claim indefinite. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2020/0107324 A1), in view of Smith et al. (US 2012/0155515 A1).
As to claim 1, KIM discloses the invention as claimed, including a method of operating a wireless communication device (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
transmitting a first reference signal (Fig. 10, S1010; ¶0062, “The access point 100 emits an RF signal and supports the connection of a wireless network of ambient devices. For example, the access point broadcasts a WiFi RF signal to emit the WiFi RF signal”; ¶0113, “the access point emits an RF signal in step S910 and receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel”; ¶0117, “the access point emits an RF signal in step S1010”);
receiving a second reference signal that is in response to the first reference signal (Fig. 10, S1020; ¶0113, “receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”; ¶0117, “receives a modulation signal from at least one tag in step S1020”), the first reference signal and the second reference signal having a same operating frequency (¶0058, “In the NOMA system, the access point allocates the same time/frequency resource to a plurality of devices and multiple devices concurrently transmit superimposed signals”; ¶0113, “In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”);
determining a first channel impulse response based on the first reference signal and the second reference signal (Fig. 10, S1040; ¶0028, “calculates an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information”; ¶0123, “the access point obtains an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity in step S1040. That is, the signal transmitted from the access point returns to the access point again via the tag so that the channel reciprocity is established to satisfy hn=f n*fn. Therefore, the access point may obtain an initial value fn(1) of a first channel impulse response using the following Equation 3 which uses the channel reciprocity”);
generating a measurement report for output (Figs. 2-3; ¶0028, “calculates an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information, estimates impulse responses of the remaining channels in accordance with a time based on the initial value of the first channel impulse response, and estimates a dyadic forward channel and a dyadic backward channel using the estimated impulse response of the channel”; ¶0041, “the ISI condition is a condition for determining whether the sampled backscatter signal is distorted by ISI and is determined using channel impulse response information obtained at the time of estimating a channel. For example, it is determined that a signal within a threshold time with respect to the threshold time when ISI is generated in the channel impulse response needs to consider the ISI condition”; ¶0069, “a signal Sk transmitted from the access point 100 propagates through the forward channel expressed by an impulse response fn = [fn(1), . . . , fn(Ln+)]T so that as illustrated in FIG. 3B, the signal received by the tag n 300 is distorted by the ISI”).
Although KIM discloses determining a first channel impulse response based on the first reference signal and the second reference signal (Fig. 10, S1040; ¶0028; ¶0123; ¶0128) and generating a measurement report for output (¶0028; ¶0041; ¶0069), KIM does not specifically disclose the measurement report including a reported channel impulse response that is based on the first channel impulse response and indicates multiple propagation paths observable from the second reference signal.
However, Smith discloses the measurement report including a reported channel impulse response that is based on the first channel impulse response and indicates multiple propagation paths observable from the second reference signal (¶0010-¶0014; ¶0015, “the returned impulse-pulse, sR(t), comprises copies of the impulse-pulse s(t) included in a time reversed channel impulse response, h(-t) reflected at the at least one remote target, each copy of the impulse-pulse s(t) provided to the base at the same time”; ¶0019, “in response to emitting the impulse-pulse s(t), detecting at a first angular orientation and over a first solid-angle a channel impulse response, h(t), reflected from a remote target”; ¶0021, “the channel impulse response, h(t), comprises copies of the impulse-pulse s(t), each copy of the impulse-pulse s(t) provided to the remote target at a different time based on a length of a respective path traveled by the respective copy of the impulse-pulse s(t) through a communication channel between the base and the remote target”; ¶0022, “reversing in time domain the channel impulse response h(t)”; ¶0023, “amplifying the time reversed channel impulse response h(-t)”; ¶0024, “transmitting in the multiple directions the amplified time reversed channel impulse response, Gh(-t); ¶0025, “detecting from the multiple directions an amplified channel impulse response, Gh(t), based on residual portions of an amplified impulse-pulse Gs(t) reflected from the remote target, wherein the amplified impulse-pulse Gs(t) comprises copies of the impulse-pulses s(t) included in the transmitted amplified time reversed channel impulse response, Gh(-t) provided to the remote target at the same time”; ¶0152, “the base-Rx 230 receives the returning impulse-pulse, s(t). The time interval between the emission of the impulse-pulse (probe pulse) at step 510 and the receiving of the returning impulse-pulse at step 570 represents a time, T, corresponding to two round trips from the base 202 to the non-cooperative remote target 504. Thus, by measuring T and knowing the signal propagation speed, v, through the transmission channel 130, the radial distance from the base 202 to the non-cooperative remote target 504, RBT, can be calculated to be RBT=vT/4”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KIM to include the measurement report including a reported channel impulse response that is based on the first channel impulse response and indicates multiple propagation paths observable from the second reference signal, as taught by Smith because it would significantly improve positioning accuracy and enable robust multipath analysis, thereby enhancing overall signal processing efficiency (Smith; ¶0086-¶0093).
As to claim 2, KIM discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first channel impulse response is a round-trip channel impulse response that corresponds to a combination of a first propagation channel from the wireless communication device to an ambient device and a second propagation channel from the ambient device to the wireless communication device (¶0018, “a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information”; ¶0019; ¶0028, “calculates an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information, estimates impulse responses of the remaining channels in accordance with a time based on the initial value of the first channel impulse response, and estimates a dyadic forward channel and a dyadic backward channel using the estimated impulse response of the channel”; ¶0062, “The access point 100 emits an RF signal and supports the connection of a wireless network of ambient devices. For example, the access point broadcasts a WiFi RF signal to emit the WiFi RF signal. Further, the access point 100 may perform a process of supporting a connection of a wireless network of a connected terminal device 200 using the emitted RF signal”; ¶0113, “receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”; ¶0117, “receives a modulation signal from at least one tag in step S1020”).
As to claim 3, KIM discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the measurement report includes the first channel impulse response as the reported channel impulse response (¶0041, “the ISI condition is a condition for determining whether the sampled backscatter signal is distorted by ISI and is determined using channel impulse response information obtained at the time of estimating a channel. For example, it is determined that a signal within a threshold time with respect to the threshold time when ISI is generated in the channel impulse response needs to consider the ISI condition”).
As to claim 4, KIM discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the measurement report includes an indicator indicating that the reported channel impulse response is the round-trip channel impulse response (¶0018, “a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information”; ¶0019; ¶0028, “calculates an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information, estimates impulse responses of the remaining channels in accordance with a time based on the initial value of the first channel impulse response, and estimates a dyadic forward channel and a dyadic backward channel using the estimated impulse response of the channel”; ¶0062, “The access point 100 emits an RF signal and supports the connection of a wireless network of ambient devices. For example, the access point broadcasts a WiFi RF signal to emit the WiFi RF signal. Further, the access point 100 may perform a process of supporting a connection of a wireless network of a connected terminal device 200 using the emitted RF signal”; ¶0113, “receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”; ¶0117, “receives a modulation signal from at least one tag in step S1020”).
As to claim 5, KIM discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a second channel impulse response based on the first channel impulse response, the second channel impulse response being a one-way channel impulse response that corresponds to either the first propagation channel or the second propagation channel, wherein the measurement report includes the second channel impulse response as the reported channel impulse response (It is noted that based on the principles of channel reciprocity, the second channel impulse response refers to the channel in the opposite direction of the initial measurement; ¶0018, “a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information”; ¶0019; ¶0028, “calculates an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information, estimates impulse responses of the remaining channels in accordance with a time based on the initial value of the first channel impulse response, and estimates a dyadic forward channel and a dyadic backward channel using the estimated impulse response of the channel”; ¶0062, “The access point 100 emits an RF signal and supports the connection of a wireless network of ambient devices. For example, the access point broadcasts a WiFi RF signal to emit the WiFi RF signal. Further, the access point 100 may perform a process of supporting a connection of a wireless network of a connected terminal device 200 using the emitted RF signal”; ¶0113, “receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”; ¶0117, “receives a modulation signal from at least one tag in step S1020”).
As to claim 6, KIM discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the measurement report includes an indicator indicating that the reported channel impulse response is the one-way channel impulse response (It is noted that one-way (unidirectional) channel estimation process carried out by the access point (AP); ¶0069, “a signal Sk transmitted from the access point 100 propagates through the forward channel expressed by an impulse response
fn = [fn(1), . . . , fn(Ln+)]T so that as illustrated in FIG. 3B, the signal received by the tag n 300 is distorted by the ISI”).
As to claim 10, KIM discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving, from a managing device prior to the measurement report is transmitted, a measurement configuration message indicating that the reported channel impulse response included in the measurement report is: the round-trip channel impulse response that corresponds to the combination of the first propagation channel and the second propagation channel, or a one-way channel impulse response that corresponds to either the first propagation channel or the second propagation channel; and transmitting the measurement report to the managing device based on the measurement configuration message (It is noted that based on the principles of channel reciprocity, the second channel impulse response refers to the channel in the opposite direction of the initial measurement; ¶0018, “a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information”; ¶0019; ¶0028, “calculates an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information, estimates impulse responses of the remaining channels in accordance with a time based on the initial value of the first channel impulse response, and estimates a dyadic forward channel and a dyadic backward channel using the estimated impulse response of the channel”; ¶0062, “The access point 100 emits an RF signal and supports the connection of a wireless network of ambient devices. For example, the access point broadcasts a WiFi RF signal to emit the WiFi RF signal. Further, the access point 100 may perform a process of supporting a connection of a wireless network of a connected terminal device 200 using the emitted RF signal”; ¶0113, “receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”; ¶0117, “receives a modulation signal from at least one tag in step S1020”).
As to claim 11, KIM discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving, from a managing device, a capability inquiry regarding whether the wireless communication device is capable of determining a second channel impulse response based on the first channel impulse response, the second channel impulse response being a one-way channel impulse response that corresponds to either the first propagation channel or the second propagation channel; and transmitting a capability response to the managing device in response to the capability inquiry (It is noted that one-way (unidirectional) channel estimation process carried out by the access point (AP); ¶0018, “a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information”; ¶0019; ¶0028, “calculates an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information, estimates impulse responses of the remaining channels in accordance with a time based on the initial value of the first channel impulse response, and estimates a dyadic forward channel and a dyadic backward channel using the estimated impulse response of the channel”; ¶0062, “The access point 100 emits an RF signal and supports the connection of a wireless network of ambient devices. For example, the access point broadcasts a WiFi RF signal to emit the WiFi RF signal. Further, the access point 100 may perform a process of supporting a connection of a wireless network of a connected terminal device 200 using the emitted RF signal”; ¶0113, “receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”; ¶0117, “receives a modulation signal from at least one tag in step S1020”).
As to claim 12, KIM discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first reference signal is transmitted to an ambient device (Fig. 1; Fig. 10, S1010; ¶0062, “The access point 100 emits an RF signal and supports the connection of a wireless network of ambient devices. For example, the access point broadcasts a WiFi RF signal to emit the WiFi RF signal”; ¶0113, “the access point emits an RF signal in step S910 and receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel”; ¶0117, “the access point emits an RF signal in step S1010”), and the second reference signal is from the ambient device based on backscattering the first reference signal (Fig. 1; Fig. 10, S1020; ¶0113, “receives a signal from at least one tag in step S920. In this case, the access point transmits a signal through a forward channel and receives a signal through a backward channel and the signal received from the tag may be a superimposed code word transmitted in the NOMA manner”; ¶0117, “receives a modulation signal from at least one tag in step S1020”).
As to claim 13, KIM discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the wireless communication device is an intermediate user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, 200) and is configured to transmit the measurement report to a base station (Fig. 2, 100), or the wireless communication device is a transmission-reception point (TRP) and is configured to transmit the measurement report to a location server (¶0003, “transmitting tag data using an ambient backscatter communication (AmBC) technique for TV signals or WiFi signals in an Internet of Things environment. Further, techniques have been proposed in which a tag modulates data by backscattering and an access point (AP) detects the data”; ¶0063, “The terminal device 200 refers to a device of a user which receives a RF signal emitted from the access point 100 and when a channel is established in accordance with a connection procedure with the access point 100, is connected to a wireless network through the established channel to transmit and receive data”).
As to claim 14, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, KIM discloses a wireless communication device (Fig. 1, 200), comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (¶0005; ¶0062-¶0063).
As to claims 15-17, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2-3 and 5 above, respectively.
As to claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, KIM discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions (¶0005; ¶0062-¶0063).
As to claims 19-20, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2 and 5 above, respectively.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2020/0107324 A1), Smith et al. (US 2012/0155515 A1), further in view of Herceg et al. (US 2021/0226832 A1).
As to claims 7 and 9, although KIM discloses determining the second channel impulse response (i.e., returned channel impulse response) is based on an equation (¶0018, “calculating an initial value of a first channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information; estimating an impulse response of the remaining channels according to a time based on the initial value of the first channel impulse response; and estimating a dyadic forward channel and a dyadic backward channel using the estimated impulse response of the channels”; ¶0019, “The dyadic forward channel {tilde over (h)}kn+ and the dyadic backward channel {tilde over (h)} kn− are estimated using the following Equation… Here, Sk is a signal transmitted in a time slot k, Sk−1 is a signal transmitted in a time slot k−1, Fn+ and Fn− are Toeplitz matrices”), KIM does not specifically disclose hsup(t) = hbck(t) * hbck (t), wherein hsup(t) represents the first channel impulse response, and hbck (t) represents the second channel impulse response; hsup(t)= hbck(t) * hbck(t) + e(t), wherein hsup(t) represents the first channel impulse response, and hbck (t) represents the second channel impulse response, and e(t) represents estimated effects of a frequency shift, a delay, or both caused by the ambient device.
However, Herceg discloses wherein the determining the second channel impulse response is based on an equation of:
hsup(t) = hbck(t) * hbck (t), wherein
hsup(t) represents the first channel impulse response (Fig. 2, hf1(t)), and
hbck (t) represents the second channel impulse response (Fig. 2, hb1(t)); and
hsup(t)= hbck(t) * hbck(t) + e(t), wherein
hsup(t) represents the first channel impulse response (Fig. 2, hf1(t)), and
hbck (t) represents the second channel impulse response (Fig. 2, hb1(t)), and
e(t) represents estimated effects of a frequency shift, a delay, or both caused by the ambient device (Fig. 2, hbk(t), hfk(t), g(t); ¶0033, “g(t)—impulse response of channel between WiFi AP 210 and WiFi client 212”; ¶0034, “x(t)—OFDM symbol transmitted by WiFi AP 210 (with respect to the BC nodes, this is an ambient OFDM symbol that is received by BC node 1 and BC node 2)”; ¶0035, “hbk(t) - backward channel impulse response between BC node k and WiFi AP 210 (where k is an index that identifies one of the BC nodes, e.g., identifying either BC node 1 or BC node 2”); ¶0036, “hfk(t)—forward channel impulse response between BC node k and WiFi AP 210”; ¶0037, “ck(t)—Baseband signal transmitted by BC node k”; ¶0038, “ybk(t)—received backscattered signal at WiFi AP 210 from BC node k”; ¶0039, “convolution operator, yb1(t) = ((hf1(t) * x(t)c1(t)) * Hb1(t)”; ¶0040, “The BC node 1 may reflect this received signal (also known as ambient backscatter communication), and modulate the reflected ambient signal based on a data or baseband signal c1(t). Thus, after being modified (or distorted) by the reverse channel (Hb1(t)), the WiFi AP 210 receives the modulated backscattered (or reflected) signal yb1(t), as shown by Eq. 1”; ¶0041; ¶0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KIM to include wherein the determining the second channel impulse response is based on an equation, as taught by Herceg because it would significantly improve the accuracy of channel estimation by calculating the impulse response of its individual stages based on the measured overall response (Herceg; Fig. 2; ¶0033-¶0034; ¶0036-¶0038).
As to claim 8, KIM discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the second channel impulse response is determined based on a deconvolution process (It is well-known in signal processing that the second channel impulse response can be determined using a deconvolution process to divide the measured output signal by the known input signal in the frequency domain, and this technique is applied for channel estimation in communications, system identification, and inverse filtering to remove channel distortions; ¶0018, “channel impulse response using channel reciprocity based on the composite channel information”; ¶0019; ¶0028; ¶0062; ¶0113; ¶0117).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fahim et al. (US 2024/0427005 A1), BUTT et al. (US 2024/0406279 A1), Lindoff (US 2024/0348388 A1), Roy et al. (US 2023/0254899 A1), Hyde et al. (US 11,853,826 B1), Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715 A1), SAILY et al. (US 2024/0179494 A1), Ali et al. (US 2024/0012095 A1) disclose method and apparatus for wireless communication that support backscatter based positioning.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 March 31, 2026