DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. Wherein, the broad recitation of “… any one of the methods set out in US patent application No. 63/163025, filed 18 March 2021” fails to distinctly claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruderlin et al., US PGPUB No. 20070273704 A1, hereinafter Bruderlin, in view of Sigal et al., US PGPUB No. 20140198108 A1, hereinafter Sigal, and further in view of Yuksel, US PGPUB No. 20110063291 A1, hereinafter Yuksel.
Regarding claim 22, Bruderlin a system for animating fibers in a computer-based animation process (Bruderlin; a system for animating fibers in a computer-based animation process [¶ 0060-0061], as illustrated within Fig. 1A; additionally, one or more modules [¶ 0062]), the system comprising a processor configured (e.g. by suitable programming) (Bruderlin; the system comprising a processor (via executable software) [¶ 0060-0061]) to:
obtain a fiber cache comprising a plurality of fibers (Bruderlin; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to obtain a fiber cache (i.e. hair group/clump) comprising a plurality of fibers (i.e. hairs) [¶ 0071, ¶ 0082-0083, and ¶ 0094-0097], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, combined hairs can be animated [¶ 0078 and ¶ 0081-0082]; wherein, patches are generated [¶ 0063-0066] and control hairs are generated [¶ 0067-0070]; wherein, cache is used to store rendering elements (in order to free up computer resources) [¶ 0205, ¶ 0234, and ¶ 0271-0272]; additionally, hair motion compositor [¶ 0182-0184] in relation with hair caches being able to be blended [¶ 0227-0229]), each of the plurality of fibers comprising a plurality of fiber vertices (Bruderlin; each of the plurality of fibers/hairs comprising a plurality of fiber vertices [¶ 0064, ¶ 0080-0081, and ¶ 0088], as illustrated within Fig. 7A; moreover, control hair vectors and control vectors [¶ 0092-0093], as illustrated within Fig. 7C);
obtain one or more guides (Bruderlin; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to obtain one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) [¶ 0064-0066 and ¶ 0080-0082]; wherein, one or more control hairs are assigned such that the assigned hairs are combined in accordance with the corresponding combing direction curve [¶ 0074-0077, ¶ 0089-0090, and ¶ 0093-0094]), each of the one or more guides comprising a plurality of guide vertices (Bruderlin; each of the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) comprising a plurality of guide/control vertices [¶ 0064-0066 and ¶ 0089-0090]; moreover, control hair vector and calculated control vertices [¶ 0093-0094]);
determine binding information to bind the one or more guides to the fiber cache wherein to determine the binding information (Bruderlin; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to determine binding/combing information to bind/combine the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) to the fiber cache wherein to determine the binding/combing information [¶ 0071-0074]; wherein, the bend parameter defines how close the control hair is to the surface [¶ 0075-0078]; and wherein, blending node [¶ 0193-0197] can be applied to all control vertices [¶ 0198] and/or regions [¶ 0199]; additionally, fiber cache in relation with blending [¶ 0229-0232]), the processor is configured (e.g. by suitable programming) to, for each fiber of the fiber cache:
associate the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides (Bruderlin; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to associate the fiber/hairs with one or more nearby implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) from among the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) [¶ 0067-0069 and ¶ 0090] for each fiber/hair of the fiber cache [¶ 0277-0280] wherein, a hair clump involves determining hairs of a local (e.g. nearby) region/patch [¶ 0115-0117] in relation with a center [¶ 0100]); and
for each of the one or more associated nearby guides associate each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide (Bruderlin; for each of the one or more associated nearby guides associate each fiber/hair vertex of the fiber/hair with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide [¶ 0067-0069 and ¶ 0089-0090]); and
determine, for each fiber vertex of the fiber, a displacement vector between the fiber vertex and the associated nearby guide vertex (Bruderlin; determine a displacement vector between the fiber/hair vertex and the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber/hair vertex of the fiber/hair [¶ 0123-0124], as illustrated within Fig. 12B; wherein, the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber/hair vertex of the fiber/hair [¶ 0089-0090] is associated with a clump [¶ 0104], as illustrated within Fig. 7A and Fig. 9).
Bruderlin fails to explicitly disclose one or more guides comprising a plurality of guide vertices;
for each fiber:
associate the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides; and
for each of the one or more associated nearby guides associate each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide.
However, Sigal teaches obtaining one or more guides (Sigal; obtaining one or more guides [¶ 0044-0046]; wherein, hair guides represent bundles of hairs to reduce complexity [¶ 0038]), each of the one or more guides comprising a plurality of guide vertices (Sigal; each of the one or more guides comprising a plurality of guide vertices [¶ 0045-0046], as illustrated with Fig. 4).
Bruderlin and Sigal are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce graphic effects.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin, to incorporate obtaining one or more guides, each of the one or more guides comprising a plurality of guide vertices (as taught by Sigal), in order to provide realistic dynamic hair motion while reducing resource complexity (Sigal; [¶ 0002-0003 and ¶ 0019-0020]).
Bruderlin as modified by Sigal fails to explicitly disclose for each fiber:
associate the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides; and
for each of the one or more associated nearby guides associate each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide.
However, Yuksel teaches the processor is configured (e.g. by suitable programming) (Yuksel; the processor is configured (e.g. by suitable programming) [¶ 0099 and ¶ 0101-0102]; moreover executable instruction [¶ 0103]) to, for each fiber:
associate the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides (Yuksel; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to associate the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides for each fiber [¶ 0040 and ¶ 0070]; wherein, guide strands serve as a basis for defining other hair strands [¶ 0091-0092] additionally, control points define a path for a hair strand [¶ 0054-0055, ¶ 0060, and ¶ 0075], as illustrated within Fig. 6); and
for each of the one or more associated nearby guides associate each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide (Yuksel; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to (in relation with associating the fiber as addressed above) for each of the one or more associated nearby guides associate each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide [¶ 0091-0092], as illustrated within Figs. 14 and 15; wherein, associating fiber/hair vertices with a nearby guide corresponds to clustering hairs to a guide strand [id.]; moreover, cluster (e.g. grouping or bundling) involves a mesh relationship [¶ 0040-0041, ¶ 0069-0071, and ¶ 0089-0090], as illustrated within Figs. 9 and 10); and
determine, for each fiber vertex of the fiber, a displacement vector between the fiber vertex and the associated nearby guide vertex (Yuksel; determine a displacement vector (corresponding to UV of a surface) between the fiber vertex and the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex of the fiber [¶ 0058-0059 and ¶ 0068-0069], as illustrated within Fig. 9; moreover, a path is defined by one or more surfaces [¶ 0039] comprises patches and edges [¶ 0040] in defining a spatial relationship [¶ 0041-0043]).
Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce graphic effects.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal, to incorporate the processor is configured (e.g. by suitable programming) to, for each fiber: associate the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides; and for each of the one or more associated nearby guides associate each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide; and determine, for each fiber vertex of the fiber, a displacement vector between the fiber vertex and the associated nearby guide vertex (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 is addressed within the rejection of claim 22, due to the similarities claim 1 and claim 22 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 22 regarding the rejection of claim 1. Although, claim 1 and claim 22 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 1 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 2, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 1 comprising manipulating at least one of the one or more guides (Bruderlin; manipulating at least one of the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) [¶ 0185-0186]; wherein, connection between nodes represents a data flow of animated control hair curve shapes [¶ 0188] and can involve inputs [¶ 0191]).
Yuksel further teaches comprising manipulating at least one of the one or more guides (Yuksel; manipulating at least one of the one or more guides [¶ 0091]; moreover, UI operations and/or functionality [¶ 0068, ¶ 0072, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0097]), wherein manipulating the at least one of the one or more guides comprises changing a location of one or more guide vertices of the at least one of the one or more guides (Yuksel; manipulating the at least one of the one or more guides comprises changing a location of one or more guide vertices of the at least one of the one or more guides [¶ 0091, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0095]; wherein, a user can modify positions of all vertices [¶ 0068-0069 and ¶ 0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate manipulating at least one of the one or more guides, wherein manipulating the at least one of the one or more guides comprises changing a location of one or more guide vertices of the at least one of the one or more guides (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 3, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 2 wherein manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on user input (Bruderlin; manipulating at least one of the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) is based at least in part on user input [¶ 0185-0186 and ¶ 0191]; wherein, connection between nodes represents a data flow of animated control hair curve shapes [¶ 0188]).
Yuksel further teaches wherein manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on user input (Yuksel; manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on user input [¶ 0091, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0095]; wherein, a user can modify aspects of a hair strand rendering algorithm(s) [¶ 0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate wherein manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on user input (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 2 wherein manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on an automated animation simulation (Bruderlin; manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on an automated animation simulation [¶ 0184-0186]; wherein, nodes represent either animations or operation applied to animation [¶ 0188]).
Sigal further teaches manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on an automated animation simulation (Sigal; manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on an automated animation simulation [¶ 0044-0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate manipulating at least one of the one or more guides is based at least in part on an automated animation simulation (as taught by Sigal), in order to provide realistic dynamic hair motion while reducing resource complexity (Sigal; [¶ 0002-0003 and ¶ 0019-0020]).
Regarding claim 5, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 2 wherein manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises receiving an indication of a displacement region and a displacement vector (Bruderlin; manipulating at least one of the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) comprises receiving an indication of a displacement region and a displacement vector [¶ 0093-0094 and ¶ 0185-0186]; wherein, control hairs comprise a root and vector [¶ 0089-0090]).
Yuksel further teaches manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises receiving an indication of a displacement region and a displacement vector (Yuksel; manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises receiving an indication [¶ 0091, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0095] of a displacement region/location and a displacement vector (i.e. set of vertices) [¶ 0068-0069 and ¶ 0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises receiving an indication of a displacement region and a displacement vector (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 6, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 5 wherein manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises displacing the vertices of any guides having one or more vertices in the displacement region by a displacement corresponding to the displacement vector (Yuksel; manipulating at least one of the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) [as addressed within the patent claim(s)] comprises displacing the vertices of any guides having one or more vertices in the displacement region by a displacement corresponding to the displacement vector [¶ 0068-0069 and ¶ 0072]; wherein, a user could position all vertices [id.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises displacing the vertices of any guides having one or more vertices in the displacement region by a displacement corresponding to the displacement vector (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 7, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 5 wherein manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises displacing any vertices of any guides located in the displacement region by a displacement corresponding to the displacement vector (Yuksel; manipulating at least one of the one or more guides [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] comprises displacing any vertices of any guides located in the displacement region by a displacement corresponding to the displacement vector [¶ 0068-0069 and ¶ 0072]; wherein, a user could position all vertices [id.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises displacing any vertices of any guides located in the displacement region by a displacement corresponding to the displacement vector (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 5 wherein manipulating the at least one of the one or more guides comprises changing the location of the one or more guide vertices of the at least one of the one or more guides based at least in part on the indication of the region and the displacement vector according to any one of the methods set out in US patent application No. 63/163025, filed 18 March 2021 (Yuksel; manipulating the at least one of the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) comprises changing the location of the one or more guide vertices of the at least one of the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) based at least in part on the indication of the region and the displacement vector according to any one of the methods (set out in US patent application No. 63/163025, filed 18 March 2021, interpreted as additional methods) [¶ 0068-0069 and ¶ 0072-0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate manipulating at least one of the one or more guides comprises displacing any vertices of any guides located in the displacement region by a displacement corresponding to the displacement vector according to any one of the methods (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 9, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 1 wherein obtaining the one or more guides comprising extracting the one or more guides from the fiber cache by selecting one or more fibers from among the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache to be the one or more guides (Bruderlin; obtaining the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) [¶ 0064-0066 and ¶ 0080-0082] comprising extracting the one or more implicit guides (given control hairs/vertices) from the fiber cache by selecting one or more fibers/hairs from among the plurality of fibers/hairs of the fiber cache to be the one or more guides [¶ 0273-0275]; wherein, fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]; moreover, a control node [¶ 0205] is linked to a cache node [¶ 0207] and further processed through animation nodes [¶ 0230-0231]).
Regarding claim 10, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 5 wherein extracting the one or more guides from the fiber cache (Bruderlin; extracting the one or more implicitly guides (given control hairs/vertices) from the fiber cache [¶ 0276]) comprises:
filtering out one or more of:
fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache having a length within, or outside of, a threshold range (Bruderlin; filtering out fibers/hairs of the plurality of fibers/hairs of the fiber/hair cache having a length within, or outside of, a threshold range [¶ 0089-0090 and ¶ 0093-0094]; wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]);
a threshold percentage of fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache while maintaining a minimum spacing between remaining fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache;
fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache having one or more shape characteristics within, or outside of, a range of shape characteristics;
fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache having a curvature within, or outside of, a range of curvature; and
fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache that are dissimilar to other nearby fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache; and
selecting the one or more fibers from among the remaining fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache to be the one or more guides (Bruderlin; selecting the one or more fibers from among the remaining fibers of the plurality of fibers of the fiber cache to be the one or more guides [¶ 0089-0090 and ¶ 0093-0094] wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Regarding claim 11, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 1 wherein:
the plurality of fiber vertices for each of the plurality of fibers comprises a root fiber vertex and one or more other fiber vertices (Bruderlin; the plurality of fiber vertices for each of the plurality of fibers comprises a root fiber vertex and one or more other fiber vertices [¶ 0089-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7A);
the plurality of guide vertices for each of the one or more guides comprises a root guide vertex and one or more other guide vertices (Bruderlin; the plurality of guide vertices for each of the one or more implicitly guides (given control hairs/vertices) comprises a root guide vertex (i.e. root of a control vertex) and one or more other guide vertices [¶ 0080 and ¶ 0089-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7A); and
for each fiber of the fiber cache, associating the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides comprises identifying, as the one or more nearby guides, any of the one or more guides with root guide vertices that are within a threshold distance of a root fiber vertex of the fiber (Bruderlin; associating the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more implicitly guides (given control hairs/vertices) comprises identifying as the one or more nearby guides for each fiber of the fiber cache any of the one or more guides with root guide vertices (i.e. root of control vertices) that are within a threshold distance (i.e. UV or radius dimension) of a root fiber/hair vertex of the fiber [¶ 0089-0090 and ¶ 0102-0106], as illustrated within Fig. 7A and Fig. 9; wherein, clumps are animated [¶ 0108-0109, ¶ 0113-0115, and ¶ 0118]; such that, [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] the control nodes are associated with hair caches for repeatable animation and hairs neighboring the control hairs are grouped/clumped and influenced by the control nodes).
Regarding claim 12, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 11 wherein the threshold distance is user-configurable (Bruderlin; the threshold distance (i.e. UV or radius dimension) is user-configurable [¶ 0066, ¶ 0099, and ¶ 0101]).
Regarding claim 13, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 1 wherein:
the plurality of fiber vertices for each of the plurality of fibers comprises a root fiber vertex and one or more other fiber vertices (Bruderlin; the plurality of fiber vertices for each of the plurality of fibers comprises a root fiber vertex and one or more other fiber vertices [¶ 0089-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7A);
the plurality of guide vertices for each of the one or more guides comprises a root guide vertex and one or more other guide vertices (Bruderlin; the plurality of guide vertices for each of the one or more implicitly guides (given control hairs/vertices) comprises a root guide vertex (i.e. root of a control vertex) and one or more other guide vertices [¶ 0080 and ¶ 0089-0090], as illustrated within Fig. 7A); and
for each fiber of the fiber cache, associating the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more guides comprises identifying the one or more nearby guides based at least in part on a distance between a root fiber vertex of the fiber and root guide vertices of each of the one or more guides (Bruderlin; associating the fiber with one or more nearby guides from among the one or more implicitly guides (given control hairs/vertices) comprises identifying the one or more nearby guides based at least in part on a distance (i.e. UV or radius) between a root fiber/hair vertex of the fiber and root guide vertices (i.e. root of control vertices) of each of the one or more implicit guides (given control hair/vertices) for each fiber of the fiber cache [¶ 0089-0090 and ¶ 0102-0106], as illustrated within Fig. 7A and Fig. 9; wherein, clumps are animated [¶ 0108-0109, ¶ 0113-0115, and ¶ 0118]; such that, [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] the control nodes are associated with hair caches for repeatable animation and hairs neighboring the control hairs are grouped/clumped and influenced by the control nodes; and wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Regarding claim 14, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 13 wherein identifying the one or more nearby guides based at least in part on the distance between the root fiber vertex of the fiber and root guide vertices of each of the one or more guides comprises identifying a threshold number of the one or more guides having the lowest distances between the root fiber vertex of the fiber and the root guide vertices of the guides to be the one or more nearby guides (Bruderlin; identifying the one or more nearby guides based at least in part on the distance (i.e. UV or radius) between the root fiber/hair vertex of the fiber and root guide vertices (i.e. root of control vertices) of each of the one or more implicit guides (given control hair/vertices) [¶ 0089-0090 and ¶ 0118-0119] comprises identifying a threshold number of the one or more implicit guides (given control hair/vertices) having the lowest distances (i.e. being within the UV or radius dimension) between the root fiber/hair vertex of the fiber and the root guide vertices (i.e. root of control vertices) of the guides to be the one or more nearby guides [¶ 0099-0101 and ¶ 0115]; moreover, clump-size [id.]).
Regarding claim 15, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 14 wherein the threshold number is user configurable (Bruderlin; the threshold number (i.e. dimension/size) is user configurable [¶ 0066, ¶ 0099, and ¶ 0101]).
Regarding claim 16, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 1 wherein, for each fiber of the fiber cache and for each of the one or more associated nearby guides, associating each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide comprises, for each fiber vertex of the fiber and for the associated nearby guide, selecting, as the nearby guide vertex, the guide vertex of the associated guide that is closest to fiber the vertex of the fiber (Bruderlin; for each fiber of the fiber cache and for each of the one or more associated nearby guides, associating each fiber vertex of the fiber with a nearby guide vertex of the associated nearby guide comprises selecting the guide vertex of the associated guide that is closest to fiber the vertex of the fiber as the nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex of the fiber and for the associated nearby guide [¶ 0089-0091 and ¶ 0101-0104]; wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]; additionally, radius of a circular clumping area [¶ 0114-0115] in relation with an animated clumping area [¶ 0116-0119]).
Regarding claim 17, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 1 comprising:
updating the fiber cache based at least in part on the binding information to obtain an updated fiber cache (Bruderlin; updating the fiber cache based at least in part on the binding information to obtain an updated fiber cache [¶ 0205-0207]; moreover, blend nodes [¶ 0193-0194 and ¶ 0198]; additionally, establishing a new cache hair state file [¶ 0277-0279]; wherein, the binding information [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]), the binding information comprising for each fiber of the fiber cache (Bruderlin; the binding information [as addressed above] comprising for each fiber of the fiber cache [¶ 0229-0232], as illustrated within Fig. 32; wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]):
the one or more associated nearby guides (Bruderlin; the binding information [as addressed above] comprising the one or more associated nearby guides [¶ 0205 and ¶ 0230-0231], as illustrated within Fig. 27 and Fig. 32, for each fiber of the fiber cache [as addressed above]; wherein, one or more nodes are associated with control hairs [¶ 0185-0186, ¶ 0188, and ¶ 0190]); and
for each of the one or more associated nearby guides:
the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex (Bruderlin; the binding information for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [as addressed above] comprising the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex for each fiber of the fiber cache [¶ 0093-0094 and ¶ 0100-0101]; wherein, blending involves characteristics of the nodes being blended [¶ 0195-0198]; and wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]); and
the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex (Bruderlin; the binding information for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [as addressed above] comprising the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex [¶ 0123-0125], as illustrated within Fig. 12B; wherein, the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber/hair vertex of the fiber/hair [¶ 0089-0090] is associated with a clump [¶ 0104], as illustrated within Figs. 7A and 9; wherein, the vectors of a hair/control hair are calculated [¶ 0093-0094]).
Yuksel further teaches for each of the one or more associated nearby guides:
the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex (Yuksel; the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [¶ 0091-0092], as illustrated within Figs. 14 and 15; wherein, associating fiber/hair vertices with a nearby guide corresponds to clustering hairs to a guide strand [id.]; moreover, cluster (e.g. grouping or bundling) involves a mesh relationship [¶ 0040-0041, ¶ 0069-0071, and ¶ 0089-0090], as illustrated within Figs. 9 and 10); and
the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex (Yuksel; the displacement vector (i.e. set of vertices) [¶ 0068-0069 and ¶ 0072] between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [¶ 0091, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate for each of the one or more associated nearby guides: the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex; and the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 19, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 17 comprising rendering a frame of animation comprising the plurality of fibers based at least in part on the updated fiber cache (Bruderlin; rendering a frame of animation comprising the plurality of fibers/hairs based at least in part on the updated fiber/hair cache [¶ 0115-0116 and ¶ 0186]).
Regarding claim 20, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 1 comprising rendering a frame of animation comprising the plurality of fibers based at least in part on the fiber cache and the binding information (Bruderlin; rendering a frame of animation comprising the plurality of fibers/hairs based at least in part on the fiber/hair cache and the binding information [¶ 0185-0186] moreover, blend nodes [¶ 0193-0194 and ¶ 0198]; wherein, the binding information [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]), the binding information comprising for each fiber of the fiber cache (Bruderlin; the binding information [as addressed above] comprising for each fiber of the fiber cache [¶ 0229-0232], as illustrated within Fig. 32; wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]):
the one or more associated nearby guides (Bruderlin; the binding information [as addressed above] comprising the one or more associated nearby guides [¶ 0205 and ¶ 0230-0231], as illustrated within Fig. 27 and Fig. 32, for each fiber of the fiber cache [as addressed above]; wherein, one or more nodes are associated with control hairs [¶ 0185-0186, ¶ 0188, and ¶ 0190]); and
for each of the one or more associated nearby guides:
the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex (Bruderlin; the binding information for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [as addressed above] comprising the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex for each fiber of the fiber cache [¶ 0093-0094 and ¶ 0100-0101]; wherein, blending involves characteristics of the nodes being blended [¶ 0195-0198]; and wherein, fiber/hair of the fiber/hair cache [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]); and
the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex (Bruderlin; the binding information for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [as addressed above] comprising the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex [¶ 0123-0125], as illustrated within Fig. 12B; wherein, the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber/hair vertex of the fiber/hair [¶ 0089-0090] is associated with a clump [¶ 0104], as illustrated within Figs. 7A and 9; wherein, the vectors of a hair/control hair are calculated [¶ 0093-0094]).
Yuksel further teaches for each of the one or more associated nearby guides:
the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex (Yuksel; the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [¶ 0091-0092], as illustrated within Figs. 14 and 15; wherein, associating fiber/hair vertices with a nearby guide corresponds to clustering hairs to a guide strand [id.]; moreover, cluster (e.g. grouping or bundling) involves a mesh relationship [¶ 0040-0041, ¶ 0069-0071, and ¶ 0089-0090], as illustrated within Figs. 9 and 10); and
the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex (Yuksel; the displacement vector (i.e. set of vertices) [¶ 0068-0069 and ¶ 0072] between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex for each of the one or more associated nearby guides [¶ 0091, ¶ 0093, and ¶ 0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Bruderlin as modified by Sigal and Yuksel, to incorporate for each of the one or more associated nearby guides: the associated nearby guide vertex for each fiber vertex; and the displacement vector between each fiber vertex and its associated nearby guide vertex (as taught by Yuksel), in order to provide realistic hairstyles from complex structures while reducing undesired visual effects (Yuksel; [¶ 0005-0008 and ¶ 0011-0012]).
Regarding claim 21, Bruderlin in view of Sigal and Yuksel further discloses a method according to claim 20 wherein rendering the frame of animation comprising the plurality of fibers based at least in part on the fiber cache and the binding information comprises employing both the fiber cache and the binding information at the time of rendering (Bruderlin; rendering the frame of animation comprising the plurality of fibers based at least in part on the fiber cache and the binding information [¶ 0115-0116 and ¶ 0186] comprises employing both the fiber cache and the binding information at the time of rendering [¶ 0230-0231], as illustrated within Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Bruderlin discloses a computer program product embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon software instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (Bruderlin; a computer program product embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon software instructions that cause the processor to perform [¶ 0288-0289] the method of claim 1 [as addressed within the rejection of claim 1] when executed by a processor [¶ 0060-0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611