DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 04/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 3, change: “an oil supply for the hydraulic actuator.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pedrami et al. (U.S. 10,072,796).
Regarding claim 1, Pedrami et al. discloses a method for controlling an actual rotational speed of a variable-pitch propeller of an aircraft (Col. 1, lines 10-25) where a pitch of the variable-pitch propeller is adjustable using a hydraulic actuator (Col. 2, lines 33-40), the method comprising:
determining a speed error between the actual rotational speed of the variable-pitch propeller (actual speed of propeller 102, Col. 2, line 60) and a set point rotational speed (requested speed, Col. 2, lines 58-60) for the variable-pitch propeller (Col. 2, lines 58-66);
determining a requested oil flow for delivery to the hydraulic actuator (oil flow request shown in Fig. 2, Col. 3, lines 8-15) based on the speed error (i.e., control diagram in Fig. 2 shows that the oil flow request is based on the difference in speed (i.e., the speed error between the requested speed and actual speed);
determining an estimated oil leakage rate out of the hydraulic actuator (i.e., via the estimate from the leakage flow rate calculator 402, Col. 3, lines 37-55);
determining a leakage trim multiplier having a value (i.e., bias gain value, Col. 4, lines 48-52) based on the speed error (as shown by the control diagrams in Fig. 4, the bias gain forms the leakage compensation component, wherein as shown in Fig. 3, the leakage compensation component is formed from the compensated oil flow request, wherein in Fig. 2, the compensated oil flow request is formed from the speed error, which is the difference between the actual speed and the requested speed);
determining a trimmed oil leakage rate out of the hydraulic actuator by multiplying the estimated oil leakage rate (in Fig. 4, leakage flow rate) by the leakage trim multiplier (i.e., at 406, the leakage flow rate is multiplied by bias gain multiplier);
adding (i.e., at location 206, Fig. 2) the trimmed oil leakage rate (i.e., leakage compensation component shown in Fig. 2) to the requested oil flow (oil flow request, Fig. 2) to generate a commanded oil flow (i.e., compensated oil flow request, Fig. 2); and
delivering the commanded oil flow to the hydraulic actuator (Col. 2, lines 33-42) to adjust the pitch of the variable-pitch propeller and correct the speed error (i.e., sent to the meter the oil flow to the propeller 102, Col. 3, lines 14-16; error, Col. 2, lines 65-67, Col. 3, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, Pedrami et al. discloses wherein the requested oil flow is determined using a feedback controller that is devoid of an integral term (i.e., the controller 204 shown in the requested oil flow in Fig. 2 is a proportional controller (i.e., a P controller, Col. 3, line 5, which lacks an integral term)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedrami et al. (U.S. 10,072,796) in view of Meunier (US 2021/0180525 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Pedrami et al. discloses of a controller (204), but does not disclose wherein the feedback controller is a proportional-derivative feedback controller.
Meunier teaches of a speed governing a variable pitch propeller ([0002]), which is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Specifically, Meunier teaches of an analogous feedback controller (300) that is used to modulate oil flow to the propeller to obtain a rotational speed via an angle of the blades ([0022],[0020]). Meunier teaches that the controller is designed as a proportional derivative controller ([0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pedrami et al. in view of Meunier by using a proportional-derivative controller as the feedback controller disclosed in Pedrami et al. as it widely known in the controller art that a proportional-derivative controller can be used as a type of controller in order to provide stability and feedback to the control system of governing the speed of a propeller.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Pedrami et al. fails to disclose or suggest wherein the leakage trim multiplier (i.e., bias gain value, Col. 4, lines 48-52) is based on a time integral of the speed error.
Claims 5-9 would be allowable due to their dependency on claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, Pedrami et al. fails to disclose or suggest determining the leakage trim multiplier by: integrating the speed error over time to obtain a time integral of the speed error; and multiplying the time integral of the speed error by a gain.
Regarding claim 11, Pedrami et al. fails to disclose wherein the leakage trim multiplier (i.e., bias gain value, Col. 4, lines 48-52) is based on a time integral of the speed error.
Conclusion
/ERIC J ZAMORA ALVAREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 05/18/2026