DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on January 11, 2024 and May 28, 2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Consider claims 1, 9, and 17, the claims recite the CSI part 2 is partitioned into “three groups G0, G1, and G2” and further transmitting “the CSI Part 1 and at least a portion of the CSI Part 2” and receiving “the CSI Part 1 and at least a portion of the CSI Part 2”. However, the portion of the CSI Part 2 that is transmitted and received can comprise a portion of the CSI Part 2 that may excludes group G1. Thus, it is unclear how the claimed CSI report would include the claimed “indicator” included in the group G1 as further described in the claims based on the broadest reasonable interpretation that the portion of the CSI Part 2 may exclude the group G1. The claims, therefore, do not define the invention in the manner contemplated by the second sentence of 35 U.S.C. Sec. 112. Appropriate correction is requested. For purposes of applying prior art, the claim has been interpretated to include the group G1 and a rejection of the claims have been made as described hereafter.
Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are rejected based on their dependency on claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI et al. (hereinafter Dai) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0253992 A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (hereinafter Matsumura) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0219696 A1), and further in view of AHMED et al. (hereinafter Ahmed) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0226865 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Dai teaches and discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 10 and 21) and the user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver (transceiver, figure 21) configured to receive a configuration about a channel state information (CSI) report, the configuration including information about (i) NTRP CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, where NTRP>1, and (iii) a parameter codebookMode set to mode 1 ([0111]; “…the FD component is separate or independent for the two TRPs, the respective codebook may be referred to as a “Mode 1 codebook,”…”; [0112]; [0113]; [0143]; “…the network entity 1002 may transmit a CJT CSI configuration 1010 that is received by the UE 1004. The CJT CSI configuration 1010 may configure the UE 1004 to use one or more parameters when transmitting a CSI report. In some examples, the CJT CSI configuration 1010 may include a parameter configuration indication that configures one or more parameters. In some examples, the CJT CSI configuration 1010 may indicate a number of TRPs and/or indicate certain TRPs…”; teaches the UE receives CJT CSI configuration information regarding the determination of a CSI and further transmitting a CSI report);
a processor (processor, figure 21) operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor, based on the configuration, configured to: determine information for the CSI report based on N CSI-RS resources, where N≤ NTRP, partition the CSI report into two parts, a CSI Part 1 and a CSI part 2, and wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI Part 1 and at least a portion of the CSI Part 2 ([0130]; “…a CSI report may be divided into two parts (e.g., a CSI part 1 and a CSI part 2)…”; [0144]; “…the UE 1004 may perform measurements on the CSI-RS…the UE 1004 may determine a set of parameters for a CSI report 1050. The set of parameters for the CSI report 1050 may be based on the CJT CSI configuration 1010 and the values of the set of parameters may be based on the measurements on the CSI-RS…”; [0145]; “…the UE 1004 may transmit the CSI report…CSI report 1050 may be populated with values determined by the UE…the CSI report 1050 includes a first CSI part 1052 (“CSI part 1”) and a second CSI part 1054 (“CSI part 2”)…”; teaches the UE measures the CSI and determines a CSI report parameter and then transmitting a CSI report to the NW entity, where the transmitted CSI report comprises a CSI part 1 and CSI part 2).
However, Dai may not explicitly disclose the configuration including a parameter codebookType set to type-II-CJT-r18 or type-II-PortSelection-CJT-r18; and partition the CSI Part 2 into three groups, G0, G1, and G2.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches and suggests the configuration including a parameter codebookType set to type-II-CJT-r18 or type-II-PortSelection-CJT-r18 ([0236]; “…a new parameter indicating a codebook type is configured (for example, codebookType=TypeII-CJT-r18 or TypeII-PortSelection-CJT-r18), new CJT CSI feedback based on existing type 2/type 2 port selection may be configured. A new UE capability for each new codebook type for CJT may be defined…”); and partition the CSI Part 2 into three groups, G0, G1, and G2 ([0119]; “…As grouping of CSI parts 2, for a given CSI report, PMI information is grouped into three groups (groups 0 to 2)…”; [0346]; “…the above “one CSI part 2 for CJT CSI for one TRP,” grouping of CSI parts 2 (based on group 0/1/2 above) may follow one of Options 6-1 and 6-2…”; teaches the CSI part 2 is partitioned into three groups, groups 0 to 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration including a codebookType and partitioning the CSI part 2 into three groups as taught by Matsumura with the method and UE for reporting a CSI report as disclosed by Dai for the purpose of improving CSI reporting for CJT using multi-TRP, as suggested by Matsumura.
However, Dai, as modified by Matsumura, may not explicitly disclose wherein the group G1 includes an indicator indicating, for each of N−1 CSI-RS resources of the N CSI-RS resources, a frequency-domain (FD) offset dr ∈ {0, 1, . . . , N3O3−1} relative to a reference CSI-RS resource, where: r∈{1, . . . , NTRP}, r≠r*, and r* is an index of the reference CSI-RS resource such that dr*=0; N3 is a length of each of FD basis vectors; and O3 is an oversampling value.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed teaches and suggests wherein the group G1 includes an indicator indicating, for each of N−1 CSI-RS resources of the N CSI-RS resources, a frequency-domain (FD) offset dr ∈ {0, 1, . . . , N3O3−1} relative to a reference CSI-RS resource, where: r∈{1, . . . , NTRP}, r≠r*, and r* is an index of the reference CSI-RS resource such that dr*=0; N3 is a length of each of FD basis vectors; and O3 is an oversampling value ([0056]; [0090]; “…the UE is configured to receive…CSI-RS resources divided…a TRP in Group 1…CSI feedback is provided by Type I single-panel codebook and comprises up to 3 different CSIs for each report, depending on the configuration…”; [0123]; “…an oversampled DFT codebook, a UE may select the offsets q1∈{0, 1, . . . , O1−1} and q2∈{0, 1, . . . , O2−1}…L components in the basis with indices n1(i), n2(i) for i=0, . . . , L−1. In case of vertical aggregation, n.sub.1.sup.(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , N1−1}, n2(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , NTRPN2−1}, whereas, for horizontal aggregation, n1(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , NTRPN1−1}, n2(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , N2−1}…”; [0130]; teaches CSI reporting in a Group 1 indicating an offset relative to CSI-resources including a length of FD basis vectors and an oversampling value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate CSI reporting in a Group 1 indicating an offset relative to CSI-resources including a length of FD basis vectors and an oversampling value as taught by Ahmed with the method and UE for reporting a CSI report as disclosed by Dai, as modified by Matsumura, for the purpose of achieving a lower CSI reporting overhead, as suggested by Ahmed.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, Dai, as modified by Matsumura and Ahmed, further teaches and suggests wherein: N∈{1, 2, . . . , NTRP}, the processor is further configured to determine a value of N, and the group G1 includes the indicator when the value of N≥2 ([0196]; [0204]; teaches the n of resources comprise 1 to NTRP and indicated in the CSI part 2).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Dai discloses receiving CJT CSI configuration information regarding the determination of a CSI and further transmitting a CSI report, but may not explicitly disclose wherein: the FD offset dr is common for all of v layers, and a value of O3 is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, where O3 ∈{1, 4}, and a payload of the indicator is (N−1) [log2(N3O3)] bits.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed teaches and suggests wherein: the FD offset dr is common for all of v layers, and a value of O3 is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, where O3 ∈{1, 4}, and a payload of the indicator is (N−1) [log2(N3O3)] bits ([0098]; “…where the FD components are assumed common for all layers r=1, . . . , v…”; [0123]; “…an oversampled DFT codebook, a UE may select the offsets q1∈{0, 1, . . . , O1−1} and q2∈{0, 1, . . . , O2−1}…L components in the basis with indices n1(i), n2(i) for i=0, . . . , L−1. In case of vertical aggregation, n.sub.1.sup.(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , N1−1}, n2(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , NTRPN2−1}, whereas, for horizontal aggregation, n1(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , NTRPN1−1}, n2(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , N.sub.2−1}…”; [0130]; [0149]; teaches the FD offset common for all v layers and the oversampling value con figured by RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the FD offset common for all v layers and the oversampling value con figured by RRC signaling as taught by Ahmed with the method and UE for reporting a CSI report as disclosed by Dai, as modified by Matsumura and Ahmed, for the purpose of achieving a lower CSI reporting overhead, as suggested by Ahmed.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Dai discloses receiving CJT CSI configuration information regarding the determination of a CSI and further transmitting a CSI report, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the CSI Part 2 is G0, (G0, G1), or (G0, G1, G2).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches and suggests wherein the portion of the CSI Part 2 is G0, (G0, G1), or (G0, G1, G2) ([0119]; “…As grouping of CSI parts 2, for a given CSI report, PMI information is grouped into three groups (groups 0 to 2)…”; [0346]; “…the above “one CSI part 2 for CJT CSI for one TRP,” grouping of CSI parts 2 (based on group 0/1/2 above) may follow one of Options 6-1 and 6-2…”; teaches the CSI part 2 is partitioned into three groups, groups 0 to 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration including a codebookType and partitioning the CSI part 2 into three groups as taught by Matsumura with the method and UE for reporting a CSI report as disclosed by Dai, as modified by Matsumura and Ahmed, for the purpose of improving CSI reporting for CJT using multi-TRP, as suggested by Matsumura.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Dai, as modified by Matsumura and Ahmed, further teaches and suggests wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit UE capability information indicating that the UE is capable of supporting codebookMode = mode 1 ([0111]; “…the FD component is separate or independent for the two TRPs, the respective codebook may be referred to as a “Mode 1 codebook,”…”; teaches the UE capability information indicating the UE is capable of supporting codebookMode 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Dai discloses receiving CJT CSI configuration information regarding the determination of a CSI and further transmitting a CSI report, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the index of the reference CSI-RS resource r* is fixed to be a smallest index among indices of the N CSI-RS resources.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches and suggests wherein the index of the reference CSI-RS resource r* is fixed to be a smallest index among indices of the N CSI-RS resources ([0119]; “…As grouping of CSI parts 2, for a given CSI report, PMI information is grouped into three groups (groups 0 to 2)…”; [0122]; “…Group 2: lowest (lower) floor…priority elements in i1,7,l, lowest (lower) floor…priority elements in i2,4,l, and lowest (lower) floor…priority elements in i2,5,l (l=1, . . . , v)…”; teaches the index of CSI-RS resources is fixed to the lowest index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the index of CSI-RS resources is fixed to the lowest index as taught by Matsumura with the method and UE for reporting a CSI report as disclosed by Dai, as modified by Matsumura and Ahmed, for the purpose of improving CSI reporting for CJT using multi-TRP, as suggested by Matsumura.
Regarding claim 9, Dai teaches and discloses a base station (BS) (network entity, BS, figures 10 and 21) comprising: a processor (processor, figure 21); and a transceiver (transceiver, figure 21) operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to: transmit a configuration about a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein: the configuration includes information about (i) NTRP CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, where NTRP > 1, and (iii) a parameter codebookMode set to mode 1, the CSI report is based on N CSI-RS resources, where N ≤ NTRP ([0111]; “…the FD component is separate or independent for the two TRPs, the respective codebook may be referred to as a “Mode 1 codebook,”…”; [0112]; [0113]; [0143]; “…the network entity 1002 may transmit a CJT CSI configuration 1010 that is received by the UE 1004. The CJT CSI configuration 1010 may configure the UE 1004 to use one or more parameters when transmitting a CSI report. In some examples, the CJT CSI configuration 1010 may include a parameter configuration indication that configures one or more parameters. In some examples, the CJT CSI configuration 1010 may indicate a number of TRPs and/or indicate certain TRPs…”; teaches the BS transmits CJT CSI configuration information regarding the determination of a CSI and further transmitting a CSI report);
the CSI report includes two parts, a CSI Part 1 and a CSI part 2, and receive the CSI Part 1 and at least a portion of the CSI Part 2 ([0130]; “…a CSI report may be divided into two parts (e.g., a CSI part 1 and a CSI part 2)…”; [0144]; “…the UE 1004 may perform measurements on the CSI-RS…the UE 1004 may determine a set of parameters for a CSI report 1050. The set of parameters for the CSI report 1050 may be based on the CJT CSI configuration 1010 and the values of the set of parameters may be based on the measurements on the CSI-RS…”; [0145]; “…the UE 1004 may transmit the CSI report…CSI report 1050 may be populated with values determined by the UE…the CSI report 1050 includes a first CSI part 1052 (“CSI part 1”) and a second CSI part 1054 (“CSI part 2”)…”; teaches the BS receiving a CSI report, where the transmitted CSI report comprises a CSI part 1 and CSI part 2).
However, Dai may not explicitly disclose the configuration including a parameter codebookType set to type-II-CJT-r18 or type-II-PortSelection-CJT-r18; and the CSI Part 2 includes three groups, G0, G1, and G2.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches and suggests the configuration including a parameter codebookType set to type-II-CJT-r18 or type-II-PortSelection-CJT-r18 ([0236]; “…a new parameter indicating a codebook type is configured (for example, codebookType=TypeII-CJT-r18 or TypeII-PortSelection-CJT-r18), new CJT CSI feedback based on existing type 2/type 2 port selection may be configured. A new UE capability for each new codebook type for CJT may be defined…”); and the CSI Part 2 includes three groups, G0, G1, and G2 ([0119]; “…As grouping of CSI parts 2, for a given CSI report, PMI information is grouped into three groups (groups 0 to 2)…”; [0346]; “…the above “one CSI part 2 for CJT CSI for one TRP,” grouping of CSI parts 2 (based on group 0/1/2 above) may follow one of Options 6-1 and 6-2…”; teaches the CSI part 2 is partitioned into three groups, groups 0 to 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration including a codebookType and partitioning the CSI part 2 into three groups as taught by Matsumura with the method and UE for reporting a CSI report as disclosed by Dai for the purpose of improving CSI reporting for CJT using multi-TRP, as suggested by Matsumura.
However, Dai, as modified by Matsumura, may not explicitly disclose wherein the group G1 includes an indicator indicating, for each of N−1 CSI-RS resources of the N CSI-RS resources, a frequency-domain (FD) offset dr ∈ {0, 1, . . . , N3O3−1} relative to a reference CSI-RS resource, where: r∈{1, . . . , NTRP}, r≠r*, and r* is an index of the reference CSI-RS resource such that dr*=0; N3 is a length of each of FD basis vectors; and O3 is an oversampling value.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Ahmed teaches and suggests wherein the group G1 includes an indicator indicating, for each of N−1 CSI-RS resources of the N CSI-RS resources, a frequency-domain (FD) offset dr ∈ {0, 1, . . . , N3O3−1} relative to a reference CSI-RS resource, where: r∈{1, . . . , NTRP}, r≠r*, and r* is an index of the reference CSI-RS resource such that dr*=0; N3 is a length of each of FD basis vectors; and O3 is an oversampling value ([0056]; [0090]; “…the UE is configured to receive…CSI-RS resources divided…a TRP in Group 1…CSI feedback is provided by Type I single-panel codebook and comprises up to 3 different CSIs for each report, depending on the configuration…”; [0123]; “…an oversampled DFT codebook, a UE may select the offsets q1∈{0, 1, . . . , O1−1} and q2∈{0, 1, . . . , O2−1}…L components in the basis with indices n1(i), n2(i) for i=0, . . . , L−1. In case of vertical aggregation, n.sub.1.sup.(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , N1−1}, n2(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , NTRPN2−1}, whereas, for horizontal aggregation, n1(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , NTRPN1−1}, n2(i)∈{0, 1, . . . , N2−1}…”; [0130]; teaches CSI reporting in a Group 1 indicating an offset relative to CSI-resources including a length of FD basis vectors and an oversampling value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate CSI reporting in a Group 1 indicating an offset relative to CSI-resources including a length of FD basis vectors and an oversampling value as taught by Ahmed with the method and UE for reporting a CSI report as disclosed by Dai, as modified by Matsumura, for the purpose of achieving a lower CSI reporting overhead, as suggested by Ahmed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
March 2, 2026