DETAILED ACTION
for
FLUID TRANSPORT DIAGNOSTICS
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024, 06/19/2025 and 01/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 01/11/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acoustic data signal processing module in claim 1 and correlation module in claim 1”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blair et al. [herein after Blair] (US 2014/0200837) “Admitted by Applicant on IDS”.
Regarding claim 1, Blair discloses a system comprising: at least one acoustic sensor (computing device 110 includes “the I/O subsystem 222 may also be communicatively coupled to sensing devices (e.g., motion sensors, pressure sensors, kinetic sensors, temperature sensors, biometric sensors, and/or others”; Fig. 2) configured to generate at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (126) indicative of an acoustic signal (126) generated by a system performing a fluid transport (118) process possessing a plurality of process attributes (¶0005, lines 10-18), the fluid transport process (118) comprising a flow of a fluid along at least one path (¶0029, lines 10-18); and a computing device (110; Fig. 1) having an acoustic data signal processing module (140) configured to: receive the at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (¶0029, lines 42-50); and transform the at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (126) to a frequency-domain spectrum (Fig. 2), wherein each process attribute of the plurality of process attributes is associated with at least one respective frequency band (¶0044, lines 9-10); and a correlation module (244) configured to determine a process attribute of the plurality of process attributes by identifying at least one characteristic of the frequency-domain spectrum (¶0044, lines 9-14; Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Blair further discloses the acoustic data signal processing module being configured to transform the at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (126) to the frequency-domain spectrum using a discrete Fourier transform (¶0043, lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Blair further discloses the correlation module (244) being configured to determine the process attribute by extracting a plurality of intensities from a selected frequency band of the frequency-domain spectrum (¶0043, lines 5-10).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Blair further discloses one characteristic having a peak frequency (¶0006, lines 1-4).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Blair further discloses the correlation module (244) being further configured to determine the process attribute by comparing a first interval of time with a second interval of time (¶0005, lines 7-10 to ¶0006, lines 1-4 & ¶0044 to ¶0045 lines 18-22).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Blair further discloses the correlation module (244) being further configured to determine the process attribute by comparing a third interval of time with a predetermined characteristic value range (¶0034, lines 12-16).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Blair further discloses the correlation module being further configured to determine the process attribute by comparing a fourth interval of time with a respective known characteristic of a known frequency-domain spectrum (¶0052, lines 1-8).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Blair further discloses the process attribute of the plurality of process attributes comprises a process parameter being a temperature of a flow stream (¶0050, lines 16 -25); and a process deviation status being a fluid fluctuation (0043, lines 1-5 & ¶0043, lines 4-14).
Regarding claim 9, Blair further discloses system component having a nozzle (¶0028, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Blair further discloses the computing device further comprises an output device configured to output a representation of time-dependent acoustic data signal (126; ¶0008, lines 7-17).
Regarding claim 11, Blair further discloses the fluid transport process (118) having at least one fluid flow (112).
Regarding claim 12, Blair further discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a computing device, from at least one acoustic sensor (computing device 110 includes “the I/O subsystem 222 may also be communicatively coupled to sensing devices (e.g., motion sensors, pressure sensors, kinetic sensors, temperature sensors, biometric sensors, and/or others”; Fig. 2), at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (126) indicative of an acoustic signal (126) generated by a system performing a fluid transport process possessing a plurality of process attributes (¶0005, lines 10-18), the fluid transport process (¶0029, lines 10-18) comprising a flow of a fluid along at least one path (118); transforming, by the computing device (140), the at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (126) to a frequency-domain spectrum (Fig. 2), each process attribute of the plurality of process attributes is associated with at least one respective frequency band (¶0044, lines 9-10); and determining, by the computing device (244), a process attribute (¶0005, lines 10-18) of the plurality of process attributes by identifying at least one characteristic of the frequency-domain spectrum (¶0044, lines 9-14; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Blair discloses a computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to (see claim 17): receive, from at least one acoustic sensor (computing device 110 includes “the I/O subsystem 222 may also be communicatively coupled to sensing devices (e.g., motion sensors, pressure sensors, kinetic sensors, temperature sensors, biometric sensors, and/or others”; Fig. 2) at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (126) indicative of an acoustic signal generated by a system performing a fluid transport process possessing a plurality of process attributes (¶0005, lines 10-18), the fluid transport process (118) having a flow of a fluid along at least one path (¶0005, lines 10-18); transform the at least one time-dependent acoustic data signal (126) to a frequency-domain spectrum, (¶0043, lines 1-10) wherein each process attribute of the plurality of process attributes is associated with at least one respective frequency band (¶0044, lines 9-10); and determine a process attribute (¶0005, lines 10-18) of the plurality of process attributes by identifying at least one characteristic of the frequency-domain spectrum (¶0044, lines 9-14; Fig. 2).
Conclusion
THIRUVENKATANATHAN disclose a monitoring system, comprising a flow line comprising at least one bend, an optical fiber coupled to an exterior of the flow line, wherein the optical fiber is wrapped around at least a portion of the flow line, and a receiver coupled to an end of the optical fiber, wherein the receiver is configured to detect at least one acoustic signal from the optical fiber.
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855