DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figure 2 in the reply filed on 27 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first conductive segments". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since only a singular first conductive segment was previously set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-17, 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taimisto et al. (US 2007/0135700).
Regarding claim 1, Taimisto discloses an ablation catheter (see Figs. 1-11B, 17-21, and 23), comprising: a shaft having a proximal end and a distal end opposite the proximal end (see catheter body 12, Figs. 1-11B, 17-21, and 23); and an ablation electrode at the distal end of the shaft (see electrodes 22, 24, and 30), the ablation electrode including a first conductive segment (see electrode 22) and a second conductive segment different from the first conductive segment (see electrode 24 and optionally one or more electrodes 30, [0049]), wherein the first conductive segment and the second conductive segment are arranged in a stack along a common axis (as shown in Figs. 6-7A, 9-11B), and wherein the first conductive segment and the second conductive segment are independently energizable (see use of either or all electrodes, and separate wiring; [0073]).
Regarding claim 2, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the first conductive segment is a first conductive ring; and the second conductive segment is a second conductive ring (see ring electrodes 22, 24, and 30).
Regarding claim 3, Taimisto further discloses wherein the first conductive segment and the second conductive segment are concentrically arranged in the stack (see electrodes 22 and 24 concentrically arranged in the stack, Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 4, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the first conductive segment is a first conductive ring and the second conductive segment is a second conductive ring; the first conductive ring has a first radius; and the second conductive ring has a second radius different from the first radius (see electrodes 22 and 30 having a different radius than electrode 24, Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 5, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the first conductive segment and the second conductive segment are arranged in the stack such that the ablation electrode has a partial dome shape with a central axis (see electrodes 22 and 24 having a partial dome shape with a central axis in Fig. 11A); the ablation electrode has a proximal end and a distal end opposite the proximal end (as shown in Fig. 11A); and radii of cross-sections of the ablation electrode along planes perpendicular to the central axis increase from the proximal end of the ablation electrode to the distal end of the ablation electrode (see radius of the electrode along the perpendicular plane to the central axis increasing from the radius of electrode 22 at insulative material 26b to a larger radius of electrode 24 at the distal end, Fig. 11A).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the shaft includes a longitudinal axis; and the ablation electrode is positioned at the distal end of the shaft such that the central axis of the partial dome shape is arranged generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the shaft (see configuration of Fig. 11A when placed in the position as shown in Fig. 4, or as Fig. 1 transitions to Fig. 2, considering the longitudinal axis as the long axis of the straight portion of shaft 12); and the ablation electrode is positioned at the distal end of the shaft such that the central axis of the partial dome shape is arranged generally parallel to the longitudinal axis of the shaft (see orientation as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Taimisto further discloses wherein the ablation electrode includes an oculus at a proximal end portion of the ablation electrode (see opening at the proximal ends of electrodes 22 and 24, Figs. 6, 9, 11A, and 23).
Regarding claim 11, Taimisto further discloses wherein an effective diameter of the oculus is adjustable (the effective oculus is adjustable by adjusting which electrodes are energized, see [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Taimisto further discloses wherein the oculus is centered on a central axis of the ablation electrode (see orientation as shown in Figs. 6, 9, 11A).
Regarding claim 13, Taimisto further discloses wherein the oculus is off-centered from a central axis of the ablation electrode (see oculus of electrodes 22 and 24 being off-centered from a central longitudinal axis of the ablation electrode, Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 14, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the first conductive segment at least partially defines a first aperture having a first diameter (see electrode 22 having a first diameter defining a first aperture, Figs. 6, 9, 11A); the second conductive segment at least partially defines a second aperture having a second diameter different from the first diameter (see electrode 24 having a second aperture having a different diameter than the diameter of electrode 22, Figs. 6, 9, 11A); and an effective oculus of the ablation electrode is adjustable between the first aperture and the second aperture (see selective activation of the electrodes which changes which oculus is active, [0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Taimisto further discloses a second ablation electrode at a location along the shaft (see additional electrodes 30 as the second ablation electrode, Fig. 6 and 9), the second ablation electrode including a third conductive segment and a fourth conductive segment different from the third conductive segment (see one or more additional electrodes 30 carried by the distal end 18 of the catheter body 12 at different locations along the catheter body, see also Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 16, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the ablation electrode includes a first central axis; the second ablation electrode includes a second central axis; and the ablation electrode and the second ablation electrode are positioned such that the first central axis and the second central axis are arranged parallel with one another (see orientation shown in Figs. 1, 6, and 9).
Regarding claim 17, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the ablation electrode includes a first central axis (see central axis of the angled face of the distal ends of 22 and 24 as shown in Figs. 9 and 10); the second ablation electrode includes a second central axis (see central longitudinal axis of the electrodes 30, Figs. 9-10); and the ablation electrode and the second ablation electrode are positioned such that the first central axis and the second central axis are arranged non-parallel with one another (as shown in Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 21, Taimisto further discloses wherein the first conductive segment is physically separated from the second conductive segment via an insulated region positioned between the first conductive segment and the second conductive segment (see insulation material 26 and/or insulative section of catheter body 12; [0047] and [0049], Figs. 6, 9, 11A, 23).
Regarding claim 22, Taimisto further discloses wherein the first conductive segment and the second conductive segment are configurable such that the first conductive segment and the second conductive segment are simultaneously energizable (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 23, Taimisto further discloses wherein: the first conductive segment, when energized, has a first energy profile; and the second conductive segment, when energized, has a second energy profile different from the first energy profile (the electrode segments identified have different geometry and dimensions, therefore they produce different energy profiles when energized).
Regarding claim 25, Taimisto further discloses wherein the second conductive segment is generally cylindrical and is positioned distal the first conductive segment (see [0050], Figs. 6, 9, 11A, 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taimisto in view of Rydell (US 5,098,431).
Regarding claim 26, Taimisto discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the distal ends of the electrodes may form non-planar, convex, or concave surfaces (see [0058]), however Taimisto fails to specifically disclose wherein the first conductive segment is a conic section.
Rydell teaches a catheter for ablation (see Fig. 1-3) comprising a first electrode segment (see conductive body 36, Figs. 1-3) and a second electrode segment (see narrow band forming second electrode 40, Fig. 3), wherein the first electrode segment comprises a frusto-conical shape (see col. 3, lines 28-31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the first conductive segment as disclosed by Taimisto to instead be a conical section in light of Rydell, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of a shape that will self-center in whatever lumen it is present within (see Rydell col. 4, lines 10-14).
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794