DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the at least one reflector has different shapes”. It is unclear as to how a single reflector can have different shapes if the single reflector would, by definition, be of a single shape in a single embodiment. It is likely that the Applicant intends the reflectors of an embodiment in the present invention to have a different shape than the reflectors of another embodiment (thus being, “different shapes”) and will be interpreted as such for compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (KR 101742489 B1, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 01/11/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon teaches a sterilization device (100, Fig. 4) comprising:
a housing (main body 80, Fig. 4);
a sterilization unit (lamp 51, Fig. 4) that irradiates sterilization light for sterilization of at least one sterilization target area (Fig. 4, p.4, 7th paragraph of English translation); and
a driving unit (support 53 and motor 55, Fig. 4) that moves at least a portion of the sterilization unit between exterior (Fig. 6) and interior (Fig. 4) of the housing via an opening provided in the housing (p.6, 2nd paragraph of English translation).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization unit is moved in a vertical direction through the opening (vertical arrows denoting motion of lamp 51, Fig. 4 and 6), which is formed on a top surface of the housing (p.6, 2nd paragraph of English translation).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization unit includes at least one light source (lamp 51 has LEDs 52, Fig. 7c) to generate the sterilization light and a mounting part in which the at least one light source is mounted (substrate 530, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon teaches wherein the at least one light source includes a plurality of light sources (LEDs 52, Fig. 7c) mounted in the mounting part (substrate 530, Fig. 8) to be arranged in a circumferential direction (LEDs are mounted on a cylindrical substrate, Fig. 7c) centered on an axis that is parallel with a direction in which the sterilization unit is moved (the light sources are centered on an axis that is the same axis of vertical movement of the lamp 51, Fig. 4 or 6).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon teaches wherein some of the plurality of light sources (LEDs 52 mounted on the curved side surface of the cylindrical substrate having a uniform distance relative to each other, Fig. 7c) have a different spacing therebetween from other light sources (LEDs 52 mounted on the circular top surface of the cylindrical substrate are distanced away from the curved side surface).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization unit (lamp 51, Fig. 7c) further includes at least one reflector (570, Fig. 8) to reflect the sterilization light generated from the at least one light source to the at least one sterilization target area (p.7, 8th paragraph of English translation).
Regarding claim 18, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength in a UV-C range (p.6, 3rd to last paragraph of English translation).
Regarding claim 19, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength of about 222 nm to about 280 nm (UV-C being 250-280 nm, p.6, 3rd to last paragraph of English translation).
6. Claims 1, 3, 12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (KR 101742489 B1, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 01/11/2024), in an alternative mapping version.
Regarding claim 1, Yoon teaches a sterilization device (100, Fig. 4) comprising:
a housing (main body 80, Fig. 4);
a sterilization unit (controller 40, communication unit 10, charging unit 70, display 60, lamp 51, and sensors 20, Fig. 4) that irradiates sterilization light for sterilization of at least one sterilization target area (lamp 51, Fig. 4, p.4, 7th paragraph of English translation); and
a driving unit (support 53 and motor 55, Fig. 4) that moves at least a portion of the sterilization unit (lamp 51, Fig. 4 and 6) between exterior (Fig. 6) and interior (Fig. 4) of the housing via an opening provided in the housing (p.6, 2nd paragraph of English translation).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization unit includes at least one light source (lamp 51 has LEDs 52, Fig. 7c) to generate the sterilization light and a mounting part in which the at least one light source is mounted (substrate 530, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 12, Yoon teaches an illumination unit (display 60, Fig. 6) installed on one side of the sterilization unit (display 60 is on a side of the to form an illumination image having a predetermined shape.
Regarding claim 18, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength in a UV-C range (p.6, 3rd to last paragraph of English translation).
Regarding claim 19, Yoon teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength of about 222 nm to about 280 nm (UV-C being 250-280 nm, p.6, 3rd to last paragraph of English translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 7 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (KR 101742489 B1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yagyu et al. (US 20220409755 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon teaches at least one reflector (570, Fig. 8), but fails to teach wherein the at least one reflector has different shapes depending on at least one of an irradiation direction or an irradiation area of the reflected sterilization light.
Yagyu teaches a UV sterilization apparatus (Fig. 2) having reflectors (electrode block 11, Fig. 3, 13, and 15, where the electrode block reflects emitted UV rays, [0030]), where the reflector can have different taper angles (and thus, “shapes”) relative to the UV light source (angle φ relative to surface 11b and light source 3c, Fig. 13 and 15) depending on at least one of an irradiation direction or an irradiation area of the reflected sterilization light ([0091-0093] mentions the difference in taper angle correlating to changing the direction and thus illumination area of the UV light).
Yoon and Yagyu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of UV disinfection apparatuses utilizing reflectors to reflect UV light into the area to be disinfected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reflectors of Yoon by incorporating various taper angles of the reflector surface relative to the light source as taught by Yagyu in order to adjust/change the direction and thus illumination area of the UV light (Yagyu, [0091-0093]).
9. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (KR 101742489 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bao et al. (CN 111120367 A, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 01/21/2026).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon teaches wherein the driving unit includes an actuator (motor 55, Fig. 4), a support bracket coupled to the sterilization unit (support 53, Fig. 4), wherein, as the support bracket moves, the sterilization unit coupled to the support bracket moves (lamp 51 and support 53 are coupled to move together, Fig. 4 and 6), but is silent on a gear part that transmits power from the actuator to the support bracket.
Bao teaches a UV sterilization apparatus (Fig. 1) with a driving unit (Fig. 2) to move a portion of a sterilization unit (Fig. 4) up and down (see Fig. 2),
wherein the driving unit includes an actuator (hand-crank generator of fixing box 5, Fig. 2),
a support bracket coupled to the sterilization unit (column 2, support cylinder 3, coupled to sterilization unit of Fig. 4, shown complete in Fig. 1), and
a gear part (gear 10, Fig. 2) that transmits power from the actuator to the support bracket (p.3, “Example” paragraph of English translation, via rack 13 on support column 2, Fig. 2), and
wherein, as the support bracket moves, the sterilization unit coupled to the support bracket moves (Fig. 4’s sterilization unit is attached to support column 2 of Fig. 2).
Yoon and Bao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of actuator-driven height adjustment of a UV sterilization unit mounted on a support.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driving unit of Yoon by incorporating a gear and rack assembly as taught by Bao in order to transmit power from the actuator to the movable support (Bao, p.3, “Example” paragraph of English translation) and thus carry out the height adjustment teachings of Yoon.
Regarding claim 9, modified Yoon teaches a support bracket (support 53, Fig. 4), but fails to teach wherein the support bracket includes at least one guide rib movably inserted in at least one guide rail, which is formed in the housing.
Bao further teaches a support bracket (column 2, support cylinder 3, Fig. 2) wherein the support bracket includes at least one guide rib (sliding block 6 being part of column 2, Fig. 2) movably inserted in at least one guide rail (bar slot 7, Fig. 2), which is formed in the housing (support cylinder 3, Fig. 2), in order to limit the sliding of the supporting column and to ensure stable engagement of the rack with the gear (p.4, 1st paragraph).
Modified Yoon and Bao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of actuator-driven height adjustment of a UV sterilization unit mounted on a support.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support/gear/motor system of modified Yoon by incorporating a guide rail and rib structure as taught by Bao in order to limit the sliding of the supporting column and to ensure stable engagement of the rack with the gear (Bao, p.4, 1st paragraph).
10. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (KR 101742489 B1), further in view of Bao (CN 111120367 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee (CN 101013605 A, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 01/21/2026).
Regarding claim 10, Yoon in view of Bao teaches a guide rib (Bao, block 6, Fig. 2) coupled to a guide slot (Bao, slot 7, Fig. 2) and support cylinder (Bao, cylinder 3, Fig. 2), but fails to teach a pressurizing member elastically deformed by the at least one guide rib, wherein a first end portion of the pressurizing member is coupled to the housing, and a second end portion of the pressurizing member exerts pressure to the at least one guide rib to allow the at least one guide rib to contact an inner surface of the at least one guide rail.
Lee teaches a height adjustment device (Fig. 3) that is coupled to a light emitter (display 10, Fig. 3), having a guide rib (guide slide 12, present in Fig. 3 as shown in Fig. 1) moveably coupled to a guide table (14, Fig. 3), where a spring (8, Fig. 3) is wedged in between the surfaces of the guide rib/slide in order to allow the display to be at a rest position at a set height (due to force balance with gravity), thus not requiring a braking or a fixing device (p.3, 2nd to last paragraph of English translation).
The Yoon/Bao combination and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of height-adjustment systems for light emission modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guide rib/block and slot assembly of the Yoon/Bao combination by incorporating a guide slide structure in conjunction with a spring providing an elastic force to said slide as taught by Lee in order to allow the display to be at a rest position at a set height (due to force balance with gravity), thus not requiring a braking or a fixing device (Lee, p.3, 2nd to last paragraph of English translation).
With this modification, the Yoon/Bao/Lee combination teaches a pressurizing member (Lee, elastic spring 8, Fig. 3) elastically deformed by the at least one guide rib (Lee, the spring provides a horizontal elastic force that the guide slide/rib 12 confines the spring to, Fig. 3), wherein a first end portion of the pressurizing member is coupled to the housing (Lee, curved lateral surface of the spring 8 is moveably coupled to the guide table 14 via guide slide 12, Fig. 3, in the same way Bao’s guide slide and slot/cylinder assembly moveably engage in Fig. 2), and a second end portion of the pressurizing member (Lee, circular ends of the spring 8, Fig. 3) exerts pressure to the at least one guide rib to allow the at least one guide rib to contact an inner surface of the at least one guide rail (Lee, outward horizontal elastic force applied through circular ends of spring 8 allow the slide 12 to be in contact with guide table/rail 14, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Yoon in view of Bao teaches a guide rib (Bao, block 6, Fig. 2) coupled to a guide slot (Bao, slot 7, Fig. 2) and support cylinder (Bao, cylinder 3, Fig. 2), but fails to teach an elastic part formed to extend from the at least one guide rib, wherein an end portion of the elastic part is elastically deformed by an inner surface of the at least one guide rail.
Lee teaches a height adjustment device (Fig. 3) that is coupled to a light emitter (display 10, Fig. 3), having a guide rib (guide slide 12, present in Fig. 3 as shown in Fig. 1) moveably coupled to a guide table (14, Fig. 3), where the end portions of an elastic member (spring 8, Fig. 3) is wedged in between the inner surfaces of the guide rib/slide in order to allow the display to be at a rest position at a set height (due to force balance with gravity), thus not requiring a braking or a fixing device (p.3, 2nd to last paragraph of English translation).
The Yoon/Bao combination and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of height-adjustment systems for light emission modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guide rib/block and slot assembly of the Yoon/Bao combination by incorporating a guide slide structure in conjunction with a spring providing an elastic force to said slide as taught by Lee in order to allow the display to be at a rest position at a set height (due to force balance with gravity), thus not requiring a braking or a fixing device (Lee, p.3, 2nd to last paragraph of English translation).
With this modification, the Yoon/Bao/Lee combination teaches the additional limitation of wherein an end portion of the elastic part is elastically deformed (Lee, spring 8, Fig. 3) by an inner surface of the at least one guide rail (Lee, inner surface of guide table 14 provides a balancing compression force on the guide slide 12, which is balanced by the elastic force of the spring 8, Fig. 3).
11. Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (KR 101742489 B1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Sinocrystal (cited in PTO-892 form).
Regarding claim 13, Yoon teaches an illumination unit (display 60, Fig. 6), where the display can be an LCD display (p.4, 2nd paragraph), but provides no specific structure to said display, thus failing to teach wherein the illumination unit comprises: at least one light-emitting element that emits light; and a light-transmitting cover that forms the illumination image by transmitting the light emitted from the at least one light-emitting element therethrough.
Sinocrystal teaches an illumination unit (p.2), wherein the illumination unit comprises:
at least one light-emitting element that emits light (front glass, liquid-crystal layer, electrodes, rear glass, reflector, rear polarizer, and backlight, paragraph 3 on p.2); and a light-transmitting cover (front polarizer, p.2) that forms the illumination image by transmitting the light emitted from the at least one light-emitting element therethrough (light emitted by backlight, filtered by rear polarizer, manipulated by electrodes is then sent to front polarizer, p.2). Yoon and Sinocrystal are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of liquid-crystal displays.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use to use the LCD structure of Sinocrystal motivated by an expectation of successfully providing an LCD display to carry out the teachings/applications of Yoon.
Regarding claim 14, Yoon in view of Sinocrystal teaches wherein the at least one light-emitting element (Sinocrystal, front glass, liquid-crystal layer, electrodes, rear glass, reflector, rear polarizer, and backlight, paragraph 3 on p.2) comprises:
a light source part (Sinocrystal, backlight, paragraph 3) on p.2); and
a light guide part (Sinocrystal, rear polarizer, reflector, front and rear glass, electrodes, and liquid crystal, p.2) that guides light incident upon an incident portion thereof from the light source part to be emitted through an emitting portion thereof (Sinocrystal, paragraph 4 on p.2-3), for the modification purposes stated in claim 13 rejection above.
Regarding claim 15, Yoon in view of Sinocrystal teaches wherein the light guide part (Sinocrystal, rear polarizer, reflector, front and rear glass, electrodes, and liquid crystal, p.2) further includes a transmitting portion for transmitting the incident light from the incident portion to the emitting portion (Sinocrystal, front and rear glass, p.2), for the modification purposes stated in claim 14 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16, Yoon in view of Sinocrystal teaches wherein the light guide part (Sinocrystal, rear polarizer, reflector, front and rear glass, electrodes, and liquid crystal, p.2) further includes a reflecting portion that reflects the light transmitted by the transmitting portion toward the emitting portion (Sinocrystal, reflector, p.2).
Regarding claim 17, Yoon in view of Sinocrystal teaches wherein the at least one light-emitting element (Sinocrystal, front glass, liquid-crystal layer, electrodes, rear glass, reflector, rear polarizer, and backlight, paragraph 3 on p.2) includes a plurality of light-emitting elements (Sinocrystal, electrodes on liquid-crystal layer, p.2), and wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements are turned on simultaneously or sequentially in a predetermined sequence (Yoon, when the display is turned on via power source button 30, the user can utilize the display 60, which requires the backlight (taught by Sinocrystal) to be turned on simultaneously or sequentially for the user to start a sterilization cycle, Fig. 4 and p.5, 4th paragraph of English translation), for the modification purposes stated in claim 13 rejection above.
Double Patenting
13. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 4, and 8-15 of copending Application No. 18/410,967.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: Regarding claim 1, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches a sterilization device comprising: a housing (“a sterilization device comprising: a housing”, claim 1);
a sterilization unit that irradiates sterilization light for sterilization of at least one sterilization target area (“a sterilization unit that irradiates at least one sterilization target area with sterilization light”, claim 1); and
a driving unit that moves at least a portion of the sterilization unit between exterior and interior of the housing via an opening provided in the housing (“a driving unit that moves the sterilization unit into and out of the housing via an opening provided in the housing”, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches wherein the sterilization unit is moved in a vertical direction through the opening, which is formed on a top surface of the housing (identical to claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches wherein the sterilization unit includes at least one light source to generate the sterilization light and a mounting part in which the at least one light source is mounted (identical to claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches wherein the sterilization unit further includes at least one reflector to reflect the sterilization light generated from the at least one light source to the at least one sterilization target area (identical to claim 4).
Regarding claim 8, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches wherein the driving unit includes an actuator (“wherein the driving unit includes a first operating part”, claim 6, where the first operating part is an actuator, see [0058] of copending Application Specification), a support bracket coupled to the sterilization unit (“wherein the second operating part includes a support bracket”, claim 8 depending from claim 7 depending from claim 6), and a gear part that transmits power from the actuator to the support bracket (second operating part includes a gear part, [0060] of copending Application Specification), and
wherein, as the support bracket moves, the sterilization unit coupled to the support bracket moves (“wherein, as the support bracket moves, the sterilization unit coupled to the first operating part moves through the opening of the housing”, claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches wherein the support bracket includes at least one guide rib movably inserted in at least one guide rail, which is formed in the housing (identical to claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches a pressurizing member elastically deformed by the at least one guide rib, wherein a first end portion of the pressurizing member is coupled to the housing, and a second end portion of the pressurizing member exerts pressure to the at least one guide rib to allow the at least one guide rib to contact an inner surface of the at least one guide rail (identical to claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches an elastic part formed to extend from the at least one guide rib, wherein an end portion of the elastic part is elastically deformed by an inner surface of the at least one guide rail (identical to claim 11).
Regarding claim 12, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches an illumination unit installed on one side of the sterilization unit (“a cover part provided on a side of the sterilization unit”, claim 12) to form an illumination image having a predetermined shape (“wherein an optical pattern that reflects or scatters light incident from the outside is formed on at least one surface of the cover part”, claim 13).
Regarding claim 18, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength in a UV-C range (identical to claim 14).
Regarding claim 19, copending Application No. 18/410,967 teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength of about 222 nm to about 280 nm (identical to claim 15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758