DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-11, 13, 14, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woltjen (US Pat No 6,105,882).
Re claim 1, Woltjen shows a spray gun applicator (Fig. 1) comprising:
a spray gun body (Fig. 1) configured to dispense a flowable material at a distal end of the spray gun body, the spray gun body including a housing (Fig. 1) and a fluid passage in the housing through which the flowable material is dispensed (col. 2, lines 45-46); and
a nozzle plate (Figs. 4, 5, & 7 – 211) rotatably coupled (Fig. 1, 127/129/131) to the distal end of the spray gun body, the nozzle plate including a plate body (211) and a plurality of discrete nozzles (co. 2, lines 63-64) on the plate body configured to be selectively and individually positioned in communication with the fluid passage of the spray gun body by rotating the nozzle plate relative to the distal end of the spray gun body about a rotational axis (col. 3, lines 31-33),
wherein the plurality of discrete nozzles (col. 2, lines 63-64) includes a plurality of a first-type of nozzle,
wherein each of the plurality of the first-type of nozzles defines a first-type orifice having a proximal inlet and a distal outlet (col. 5, lines 8-14), the distal outlet has an oblong shape (col. 5, lines 15-16),
wherein the first-type of orifice of each of the plurality of first-type nozzles flares (col. 5, lines 17-19 & Fig. 7) from the proximal inlet to the distal outlet, and
wherein at least two of the plurality of first-type nozzles have distal outlets of different sizes and proximal inlets of different sizes (abstract & Fig. 5).
Re claims 2 & 14, Woltjen discloses the oblong shape comprises an oval shape (col. 5, lines 15-16).
Re claims 4, 9 & 16, Woltjen shows at least one of the plurality of discrete nozzles is a second-type of nozzle defining a second-type orifice having a distal outlet with a circular shape (Fig. 4, 213).
Re claim 5, Woltjen shows the plurality of discrete nozzles (col. 2, lines 63-64) comprises a plurality of the second-type of nozzles.
Re claims 8 & 18, Woltjen shows the distal outlets of the at least two first-type of nozzles have the same shapes (col. 5, lines 15-16).
Re claims 10 & 19, Woltjen discloses at least one of the proximal inlets is oblong (col. 5, lines 14-15).
Re claim 11, Woltjen discloses at least one of the proximal inlets is circular (Figs. 4 & 5).
Re claim 13, Woltjen shows a nozzle plate (Figs. 4, 5 & 7) for a spray gun applicator, the nozzle plate comprising:
a plate body (211) configured to be rotatably coupled (Fig. 1, 127/129/131) to the distal end of a spray gun body, and
a plurality of discrete nozzles (co. 2, lines 63-64) on the plate body including a plurality of a first-type of nozzles, the plurality of discrete nozzles configured to be selectively and individually positioned in communication with a fluid passage of the spray gun body by rotating the nozzle plate relative to the distal end of the spray gun body about a rotational axis (col. 3, lines 31-33),
wherein each of the plurality of the first-type of nozzles defines a first-type orifice having a proximal inlet and a distal outlet (col. 5, lines 8-14), the distal outlet having an oblong shape (col. 5, lines 15-16),
wherein the first-type orifice flares (col. 5, lines 17-19 & Fig. 7) from the proximal inlet to the distal outlet, and
wherein, at least two of the plurality of the first-type of nozzles have distal outlets of different sizes and proximal inlets of different sizes (abstract & Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woltjen (US Pat No 6,105,882) in view of Weaver (US Pat No 4,403,735).
Re claims 3 & 15, Woltjen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach a stadium shape.
However, Weaver shows a nozzle with multiple nozzles including a distal outlet that has a stadium shape (Fig. 3, 5a).
The substitution of one known element (outlet shape in Woltjen) for another (outlet shape as shown in Weaver) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the outlet shape shown in Weaver would have yielded predictable results, namely, a spraying outlet in Woltjen to eject fluid.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a stadium shape, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23. Further, no criticality is apparent for the claimed shape.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woltjen (US Pat No 6,105,882) in view of Viering et al. (DE 202004008173 U1).
Re claim 6, Woltjen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach each of the first-type of nozzle is disposed between two of the second-type of nozzles about the rotational axis.
However, Viering et al. show first-type nozzles (clm 1 – “oblong” – see annotated figure) where each first-type nozzle is disposed between two second-type nozzles (clm 4 – “circular” – see annotated figure) about the rotational axis (Viering – see annotated figure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each first-type nozzle disposed between two second-type nozzles, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70. Further, no criticality is apparent for the claimed limitation.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woltjen (US Pat No 6,105,882) in view of Haftke (GB 762210 A).
Re claims 7 & 17, Woltjen disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach at least two of the plurality of the first-type of nozzles has proximal inlets of different shapes.
However Haftke shows a rotatable nozzle face with a plurality of a first-type of nozzle (Fig. 4, 17’, 17”) having proximal inlets of different shapes (Figs. 4-5; p. 3, lines 23-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzles of Woltjen have inlets of different shapes as taught by Haftke to provide a stream angle and configuration which may be the most economical and satisfactory for the particular purpose (Haftke – p. 1, lines 29-34).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woltjen (US Pat No 6,105,882) in view of Piggott (US Pat No 3,516,611).
Re claim 12, Woltjen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach the nozzle plate further includes pockets at a proximal side of the nozzle plate body, each of the pockets in fluid communication with the proximal inlet of a corresponding one of the discrete nozzles, wherein the spray gun body further includes a barrel defining the fluid passage, and a tip portion in which a distal end of the barrel is received to support the distal end of the barrel, wherein each pocket is configured to receive the tip portion such that the tip portion nests within the pocket.
However, Piggott shows a spray gun applicator (Fig. 1) including a nozzle plate (23) which further includes pockets (42) at a proximal side of the nozzle plate body, each of the pockets in fluid communication with the proximal inlet of a corresponding one of the discrete nozzles (31), wherein the spray gun body (20) further includes a barrel (34) defining the fluid passage (37), and a tip portion (41) in which a distal end (at 41) of the barrel (34) is received to support the distal end (at 41) of the barrel (34), wherein each pocket (42) is configured to receive the tip portion (41) such that the tip portion (41) nests within the pocket (42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to modify the nozzle plate and spray gun body of Woltjen with the pockets, barrel and tip portion taught by Piggott to provide an alignment feature in order to hold the nozzle in a selected position (Piggott – col. 3, lines 1-7).
Re claim 20, Woltjen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach pockets at a proximal side of the nozzle plate body, each of the pockets in fluid communication with the proximal inlet of a corresponding one of the discrete nozzles, wherein each pocket is configured to receive a tip portion of the spray gun body such that the tip portion nests within the pocket.
However, Piggott shows a spray gun applicator (Fig. 1) including pockets (42) at a proximal side of the nozzle plate body (23), each of the pockets in fluid communication with the proximal inlet of a corresponding one of the discrete nozzles (31), wherein each pocket (42) is configured to receive a tip portion (41) of the spray gun body (20) such that the tip portion (41) nests within the pocket (42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to modify the nozzle plate and spray gun body of Woltjen with the pockets and tip portion taught by Piggott to provide an alignment feature in order to hold the nozzle in a selected position (Piggott – col. 3, lines 1-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that the applied art does not teach a plurality of the first-type of nozzles having an oblong shape or the first-type orifice flaring from the inlet to the outlet, and at least two of the first-type of nozzles having outlets of different sizes and inlets of different sizes; Woltjen discloses that the nozzles can be oblong or circular and that the orifices can flare as well as being differing diameters as disclosed above.
In light of these remarks, all prior art rejections shall be maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752