DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 are objected to because of antecedent errors. Going forward with examination, the claims are interpreted to be:
--1. An apparatus comprising:
a frame having a depth dimension, a width dimension, and a height dimension;
a first strut, arranged along the depth dimension of the frame and mechanically coupled to the frame, wherein the first strut includes a first strain gauge;
a second strut, arranged along the depth dimension of the frame and mechanically coupled to the frame, the second strut being arranged opposite from the first strut across the width dimension;
a computing system mechanically coupled to the frame, wherein the computing system includes a first electrical connection to the first strain gauge, further wherein the computing system is configured to receive information from the first strain gauge via the first electrical connection; and
a communication interface coupled to the computing system and configured to communicate, outside of the frame, strain gauge measurement information with respect to the first strain gauge;
wherein the computing system is arranged to fit within the depth dimension, the width dimension, and the height dimension of the frame, further wherein the frame is configured to conform to a quantity N of server rack units, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to one.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 10,314196 B2) in view of Franklin et al. (US 11,085,809 B1; hereinafter “Franklin”).
1. Chen teaches an apparatus comprising (See fig. 3, reproduced below):
a frame having a depth dimension, a width dimension, and a height dimension;
a first strut (92), arranged along the depth dimension of the frame and mechanically coupled to the frame
a second strut (922), arranged along the depth dimension of the frame and mechanically coupled to the frame, the second strut (922) being arranged opposite from the first strut (92) across the width dimension;
Chen doesn’t teach:
wherein the first strut (92) includes a first strain gauge;
a computing system mechanically coupled to the frame, wherein the computing system includes a first electrical connection to the first strain gauge, further wherein the computing system is configured to receive information from the first strain gauge via the first electrical connection; and
a communication interface coupled to the computing system and configured to communicate, outside of the frame, strain gauge measurement information with respect to the first strain gauge;
wherein the computing system is arranged to fit within the depth dimension, the width dimension, and the height dimension of the frame.
Franklin teaches an apparatus comprising (See fig. 1, reproduced below):
a frame; and a first strut (“cross member 104”) mechanically coupled to the frame;
wherein the first strut (“crossmember 104”) includes a first strain gauge (108);
a computing system (“electronics”) mechanically coupled to the frame (Col. 6, lines 4-16), wherein the computing system includes a first electrical connection to the first strain gauge (108), further wherein the computing system is configured to receive information (“sensor data 116”) from the first strain gauge (108) via the first electrical connection (as is obvious from Col. 6, lines 4-16); and
a communication interface coupled to the computing system and configured to communicate, outside of the frame (to an inventory management system 118; Col. 6, lines 17-22), strain gauge measurement information (116) with respect to the first strain gauge 108 (as is obvious from Fig. 1; Col. 6, line 4-16);
wherein the computing system is arranged to fit within the depth dimension, the width dimension, and the height dimension of the frame (as is obvious from Col. 6, lines 4-16).
As such, the apparatus is able to measure deformation of the crossmember (104) caused by a total weight of items (112) placed on the crossmember (104) and/or to allocate a total weight change of the items (112) placed on the crossmember (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Franklin teaching to Chen apparatus by having the first strut (92) include a first strain gauge; a computing system mechanically coupled to the frame, wherein the computing system includes a first electrical connection to the first strain gauge, further wherein the computing system is configured to receive information from the first strain gauge via the first electrical connection; and a communication interface coupled to the computing system and configured to communicate, outside of the frame, strain gauge measurement information with respect to the first strain gauge; wherein the computing system is arranged to fit within the depth dimension, the width dimension, and the height dimension of the frame. As such, the apparatus would be able to measure deformation of the first strut (92) caused by a total weight of items (which are the respective servers 96) and/or to allocate a total weight change of items (servers 96) placed on the first strut 92 (in order to manage loading on the apparatus, for example).
2. Chen as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the frame is configured to conform to 1 open unit (OU), according to an Open Rack standard (as is obvious from at least Chen fig. 3).
3. Chen as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the frame is configured to conform to 1 rack unit (RU) according to an Electronics Industry Alliance standard (as is obvious from at least Chen fig. 3).
8. Chen as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but is silent about: the apparatus further includes a seismic sensor in communication with the computing system, wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate, outside of the frame, seismic measurement information with respect to the seismic sensor.
However, seismic sensors are widely available. Anyone may use a seismic sensor to obtain seismic measurement information with respect to the seismic sensor, regardless of where the seismic sensor is placed, so as to monitor seismic activities.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have the apparatus further include a seismic sensor in communication with the computing system, wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate, outside of the frame, seismic measurement information with respect to the seismic sensor, since seismic sensors are widely available. Anyone may use a seismic sensor to obtain seismic measurement information with respect to the seismic sensor, regardless of where the seismic sensor is placed; so as to monitor seismic activities at the apparatus for example (Note that such a seismic sensor may be placed on the frame, the strut, on any other component of the apparatus, or anywhere else. Anyone may place a seismic sensor anywhere that one wants to).
9. Chen as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further including:
a second strain gauge included in the second strut 922 (Chen fig. 3);
a second electrical connection to the second strain gauge, further wherein the computing system is configured to receive information from the second strain gauge via the second electrical connection, and wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate, outside of the frame, strain gauge measurement information with respect to the second strain gauge, obviously to measure deformation of the second strut 922 caused by a total weight of items, which are the respective servers 96, and/or to allocate a total weight change of items, being the servers 96, placed on the second strut 922 (in order to manage loading on the apparatus, for example).
12. Chen as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but is silent about: the apparatus further includes an ambient temperature sensor in communication with the computing system, further wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate, outside of the frame, ambient temperature information with respect to the ambient temperature sensor.
However, similar to the discussion above in claim 8, ambient temperature sensors are widely available. Anyone may use an ambient temperature sensor to obtain ambient temperature information with respect to the ambient temperature sensor, regardless of where the ambient temperature sensor is placed, so as to monitor ambient temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have the apparatus include an ambient temperature sensor in communication with the computing system, wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate, outside of the frame, seismic measurement information with respect to the seismic sensor, so as to monitor ambient temperatures at the apparatus for example (Note that such an ambient temperature sensor may be placed on the frame, the strut, on any other component of the apparatus, or anywhere else. Anyone may place an ambient temperature sensor anywhere that one wants to).
13 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
Chen as modified teaches a method comprising:
mechanically supporting a deployed server rack in a data center, via a frame mounted in the server rack (as is obvious from at least Chen fig. 3);
deforming the frame by weight of a plurality of installed computer systems (96) mounted in the server rack, wherein the frame comprises a first strut (92) along a depth dimension of the server rack and a second strut (992) along the depth dimension of the server rack, wherein deforming the frame includes compressing or extending either or both of the first strut (92) and the second strut 992 (inherently);
generating strain measurements 116 (Franklin fig. 1) from strain gauges in either or both of the first strut (92) and the second strut 992 (as discussed above in claim 1); and
transmitting the strain measurements, from a computer system disposed within the frame, to a monitoring application 118 (Franklin fig. 1) associated with the data center (as is obvious in the discussion above in claim 1).
14. Chen as modified teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the frame is mounted to a plurality of rails, wherein the plurality of rails are mechanically coupled to the server rack (as seen at least in Chen fig. 3).
17 (essentially equivalent to claim 12).
The method of claim 13, further comprising:
measuring an ambient temperature by a temperature sensor disposed within the frame; and transmitting an ambient temperature measurement, associated with the temperature sensor, from the computing system disposed within the frame to the monitoring application (See discussion above in claim 12).
18 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
An apparatus comprising:
a server rack (Chen fig. 3);
a chassis, including a plurality of computing devices 96 (Chen fig. 3) within the chassis, wherein the chassis is mounted in the server rack (as seen in Chen fig. 3); and
a rack stiffener, mounted in the server rack, wherein the rack stiffener includes:
a first strut (92), extending along a depth dimension of the rack stiffener, wherein the first strut (92) includes a sensor (strain sensor) configured to measure deformation of the server rack (based on deformation of the first strut 92); and
a computing system disposed within the rack stiffener, wherein the computing system is configured to receive sensor information from the sensor and to transmit the sensor information to an application (See discussion above in claim 1)
19. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the rack stiffener conforms to a single rack unit of the server rack (as is evident from at least Chen fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10-11, 15-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement for indication of an allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 4, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter: “…wherein the frame has a first portion constructed using a single piece of folded metal in an X shape, further wherein the frame includes a crossmember extending along the width dimension and coupled to the first portion.”
(Claims 5-6 are dependent on claim 2.)
With respect to claim 7, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter: “… a first connector configured to connect to a liquid cooling system, and a second connector configured to connect to the liquid cooling system; a liquid cooling line coupled to the first connector, the second connector, and a first sensor of the computing system, further wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate, outside of the frame, at least one of pressure, temperature, or flow rate of a liquid coolant within the liquid cooling line.”
With respect to claim 10, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter: “…a busbar connection, configured to electrically interface with a busbar of a server rack, wherein the apparatus further comprises: an electrical sensor in communication with the busbar connection, further wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate, outside of the frame, electrical sensor information with respect to the electrical sensor.”
(Claim 11 is dependent on claim 10.)
With respect to claim 15, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter (which is essentially equivalent to the allowable subject matter for claim 7): “…measuring a characteristic of a liquid cooling system by a sensor disposed within the frame; and transmitting measurements of the characteristic of the liquid cooling system, from the computer system disposed within the frame, to the monitoring application.”
With respect to claim 16, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter (which is essentially equivalent to the allowable subject matter for claim 10): “…measuring a characteristic of a busbar of the server rack by a sensor disposed within the frame; and transmitting measurements of the characteristic of the busbar, from the computer system disposed within the frame, to the monitoring application.”
With respect to claim 20, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter (which is essentially equivalent to the allowable subject matter for claim 4): “…wherein the rack stiffener comprises four arms extending outwardly from a center portion, wherein the first strut extends between a first arm and a second arm, and wherein a second strut extends between a third arm and a fourth arm, further wherein the rack stiffener includes a crossmember mechanically coupling the second arm to the third arm.”
Conclusion
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 January 6, 2026