DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final rejection in response to application filed 1/12/24 and response filed 12/22/25. Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims species D the reply filed on12/22/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 24 objected to because of the following informalities: “distal extent any other component” appears to be missing an “of” and should read “distal extent of any other component”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 23 and 25, it is unclear if “air-flow openings” in claim 23 and the “airflow windows” are the same or different structures. Furthermore, it is unclear what the “axial extent” means.
It is also unclear what the requirements are for a sprinkler to qualify as a quick response sprinkler. When the standards change, then the requirements for the claim changes. Subsequent dependent claims are further rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polan (US 4976320).
Regarding independent claim 1, Polan teaches a sprinkler, comprising:
an axially extending, generally tubular sprinkler frame having an inlet located at a proximal end (see fig. 1), and extending toward a distal end; a plurality of pins 38,40 anchored to the sprinkler frame and extending distally; a fluid deflector 34 oriented in a first position in a non-operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 2) and distally slidable along the pins into a second position in an operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 3); and
a thermal trigger 74 supported by the sprinkler frame in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler at an axial position distal to the deflector, wherein, the sprinkler frame is configured to mount to a fire protection piping network (col.1, ll.7-12).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Polan teaches wherein the pins 38, 40 terminate at a proximal end thereof within the sprinkler frame (see fig. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Polan teaches wherein the sprinkler further comprises a protective crown 22 slidably mounted upon the sprinkler frame and extending distally beyond the distal end of the sprinkler frame.
Regarding independent claim 13, Polan teaches a sprinkler, comprising:
an axially extending, generally tubular sprinkler frame having an inlet located at a proximal end (see fig. 1), and extending toward a distal end; a plurality of pins 38,40 anchored to the sprinkler frame and extending distally; a fluid deflector 34 oriented in a first position in a non-operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 2) and distally slidable along the pins into a second position in an operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 3); and
a thermal trigger 74 supported by the sprinkler frame in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler at an axial position distal to the deflector, wherein, the sprinkler frame is configured to mount to a fire protection piping network (col.1, ll.7-12).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 9, 13, 14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polan (US 2009/0056958).
Regarding independent claim 1, Polan958 teaches a sprinkler 100, comprising:
an axially extending, generally tubular sprinkler frame 100 having an inlet located at a proximal end, and extending toward a distal end; a plurality of pins 165 anchored to the sprinkler frame and extending distally; a fluid deflector 145 oriented in a first position in a non-operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 3) and distally slidable along the pins into a second position in an operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 2); and
a thermal trigger 320 supported by the sprinkler frame in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler at an axial position distal to the deflector, wherein, the sprinkler frame is configured to mount to a fire protection piping network [0005].
Regarding dependent claim 2, Polan958 teaches wherein the pins 160 terminate at a proximal end thereof within the sprinkler frame.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Polan958 teaches further comprising a splitter 1020 positioned proximally to the fluid deflector, wherein a peripheral extent of the splitter radially expands in a proximal-to-distal direction.
Regarding independent claim 9, Polan958 teaches a sprinkler 100, comprising:
an axially extending, generally tubular sprinkler frame 110 having a proximal section and a distal section;
a fluid deflector 145 oriented in a first position in a non-operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 3) and distally slidable into a second position in an operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 2);
a splitter 1010 positioned proximally to the fluid deflector, wherein a peripheral extent of the splitter radially expands in a proximal-to-distal direction; and
a thermal trigger 320 supported by the sprinkler frame in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler at an axial position distal of the splitter, wherein the sprinkler frame is configured to mount to a fire protection piping network [0005].
Regarding independent claim 13, Polan958 teaches a sprinkler 100, comprising:
an axially extending, generally tubular sprinkler frame 110 having a proximal section and a distal section; a fluid deflector 145 oriented in a first position in a non-operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 3) and distally slidable into a second position in an operative configuration of the sprinkler (fig. 2);
a fusible link 320 supported by the sprinkler frame in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler, the fusible link being oriented in an axially inclined manner, wherein, the sprinkler frame is configured to mount to a fire protection piping network [0005].
Regarding dependent claim 14, Polan958 teaches further comprising a load bar 710 stabilized within the sprinkler frame in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler, the load bar being proximally positioned relative to the fusible link 320; a first lever arm 325 stabilized by the load bar proximate one end and engaged with the fusible link proximate an opposing end, in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler; and a second lever arm 325 stabilized by the load bar proximate one end and engaged with the fusible link proximate an opposing end, in the non-operative configuration of the sprinkler [0035].
15. The sprinkler of claim 14, wherein the second lever arm projects distally further than the first lever arm, thereby orienting the fusible link in the axially inclined manner.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Polan958 teaches further comprising a splitter 1020 positioned proximally to the fluid deflector, wherein a peripheral extent of the splitter radially expands in a proximal-to- distal direction.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Polan958 teaches further comprising a pair of pins 160 anchored to the sprinkler frame distally extending, the fluid deflector being slidable along the pair of pins.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10-12, 16, 18-19 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As well as overcoming all 112 issues.
Claims 23-30 may be allowable if 112 issues are resolved.
Conclusion
/CRAIG KIM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3741