DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13, 14, and 15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perkins et al. (US Pub. # 20160341620), hereinafter referred to as Perkins.
Regarding claim 1, Perkins teaches, “A flow sensor comprising: a flow rate measuring element (Fig. 1, ref. # 109) configured to measure a flow rate of a working gas in a pipe (para. [0025; ref. # 108]) connected to a pneumatic device (102) and forming a flow path of the working gas; a pressure measuring element (114) configured to measure a pressure of the working gas in the pipe; and an evaluation unit (116, 120) that determines a characteristic amount indicating an operation of the pneumatic device based on a combination of the flow rate measured by the flow rate measuring element and the pressure measured by the pressure measuring element, and evaluates the operation of the pneumatic device to which the pipe is connected based on the characteristic amount [0032–0034], wherein the evaluation unit determines, as the result of an evaluation of the operation of the pneumatic device, whether the operation is normal or corresponds to one of a plurality of abnormal conditions ("plurality of abnormal conditions" interpreted as "empty" or "nearly empty" determination as disclosed in control of 116/120 as described in [0033]; “operation is normal” is interpreted as determination as disclosed in [0033], where the cylinder is neither "nearly empty" or "empty", meaning other than one of these abnormal conditions, and the control which is performed via 114/116/120 "at specified times", thus alerting a user of the "abnormal" (empty/near empty conditions) for inventory purposes).”
Regarding claim 13, Perkins teaches, “wherein the evaluation unit (116, 120) determines the characteristic amount indicating the operation of the pneumatic device based on a combination of time-series data of the flow rate measured by the flow rate measuring element and time-series data of the pressure measured by the pressure measuring element [0038–0040].”
Regarding claim 14, Perkins teaches, “wherein the evaluation unit (116, 120) executes reference value determination processing of determining an evaluation reference value using a plurality of the flow rates and a plurality of the pressures respectively measured by the flow rate measuring element and the pressure measuring element when the pneumatic device repeats the operation, and performs the evaluation based on the determined evaluation reference value (see para. [0013, 0032, 0035, 0038, 0039]; when detection determines time exceeds threshold, pressure measured at specific repetition frequency).”
Regarding claim 15, Perkins teaches, “wherein the evaluation unit (116, 120) repeatedly executes the reference value determination processing using the flow rate and the pressure acquired at a plurality of different timings until a degree of reliability of the evaluation reference value is equal to or higher than a predetermined degree of reliability [0038–0041].”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (US Pub. # 20160341620) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Pub. # 20200209026), hereinafter referred to as Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 16, Perkins teaches details related to the flowmeter, including the flow rate measuring element and pressure measuring element, coupled to the built in pipe (see ref. # 109, 114, and 108), and also teaches a control unit, display, and connection line connecting between the flowmeter and control unit (see ref. # 120, 121, 116, 109, 119; para. [0033]). Perkins does not specifically teach details of the first body and second body as claimed. However, Hashimoto teaches the deficiencies of Perkins (see Fig. 1, 3, 4; ref. # 4 w/2, P, 34, 72, 48, 64). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Perkins’s invention to include the details set forth in claim 16, related to the configuration of parts, including the first and second body.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Perkins’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring portable monitoring and metering, allowing easier maintenance and detection of abnormal conditions over time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed (incorporates original claim 2, which was indicated as allowable, with language of original claim 1, into a new independent claim).
Claims 2–12 and 17–19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. (originally noted in 3/27/2026 Office action).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026 (page 2 of Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states, “Perkins et al. only shows a system that measures the static pressure of a gas cylinder to determine the remaining quantity of gas. Specifically, Perkins et al. uses a drop in flow rate merely as a "trigger" to indicate that the gas flow has stopped (either because the valve is closed or the cylinder is empty) and the pressure has stabilized without flow drop (Perkins et al., paragraphs [0035]-[0040]). By measuring the pressure at this specific timing, Perkins et al. can only distinguish between a "normal state" (valve closed = high pressure) and a single "abnormal state" (cylinder empty = low pressure).
Perkins et al. does not teach or suggest evaluating the operation of the device based on the combination of flow rate and pressure to determine "whether the operation is normal or corresponds to one of a plurality of abnormal conditions". Therefore, claim 1 and its dependent claims are novel over Perkins et al.” The Office disagrees with applicant’s conclusions.
As shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, Perkins teaches the newly claimed language, directed to, “the evaluation unit determines, as the result of an evaluation of the operation of the pneumatic device, whether the operation is normal or corresponds to one of a plurality of abnormal conditions.” Because control of 114/116/120 is performed “at specified times”, and one of a plurality of conditions are detected (empty, near empty, another state such as full when a new cylinder is used, or something other than empty/near empty as taught by the continuous monitoring), Perkins anticipates the claimed evaluation unit and determination control as claimed (see [0033]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852