DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurata (US 2024/0110862) in view of Zheng (CN107907570 translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kurata teaches
a process quantity measurement device for measuring a plurality of types of process quantity related to compressed gas to estimate a dew point in a supply source of the compressed gas (Figs. 1, 5, Abstract, [0049-0050, 0097, 00103, 0114-0118, 0129-0131, 0039-0040], a device measures characteristics e.g., temperature, humidity, pressure and dew point, related to gas; the phrase "to estimate a dew point in a supply source" is considered to be an intended use recited in the preamble), the process quantity measurement device comprising:
a pipe for connecting a supply pipe connected to the supply source, and configured
to be disposed between the supply source and a pneumatic device along a path for the
compressed gas supplied via the supply pipe from the supply source, through which compressed gas passes (Figs 1, 5, Abstract, [0039-0040], claims 1 and 4, the device includes tubes/sections through which gas flows and is measured; the phrases "for connecting a supply pipe …" and "configured to be disposed between …" are interpreted largely as intended use; as indicated in Kurata Fig. 3, [0044-0046], claims 1 and 4, the Kurata measurement device is configured to be applied to any pipe/tube through which compressed gas is flowing, and is configured to measure characteristics of that gas; as a result, the Kurata invention is also suitable for placement in a pipe/tube downstream from a gas supply source e.g., as indicated in Fig. 1 of the present application; claim 1 pertains to the process quantity measurement device alone, and thus recited features relating to where it is placed, an upstream supply source and a downstream pneumatic device lack patentable significance and are understood as intended use);
a thermo-hygrometer configured to measure a temperature and a humidity of the compressed gas passing through the pipe ([0040], claims 1 and 4, the device includes a temperature and humidity measuring unit 26);
a user interface configured to receive an input of a pressure of the compressed gas in the supply source (Fig. 19, [0129-0131], claims 1 and 4, the device includes a pressure input unit, whereby a user can input a gas pressure; whether the pressure is that of a supply source is a decision made by the user, and is not encompassed by the claimed device; put another way, the idea that the inputted pressure is of a supply source relates to an intended use and lacks patentable weight; otherwise, the device of Kurata is capable of or configured to accept any pressure, including a pressure of a supply source);
a dew point estimation unit that estimates the dew point in the supply source based on the temperature and the humidity measured by the thermo-hygrometer, and the pressure of the compressed gas in the supply source received via the user interface ([0129-0131], claims 1 and 4, the device includes a dew point temperature calculation unit that determines a dew point temperature based on the measured humidity and temperature, and a known pressure level; this dew point value is then corrected in accordance with the inputted pressure); and
a display unit that displays the dew point estimated by the dew point estimation unit ([0057-0059], claims 1 and 4, a display control unit controls a display device to display any information relating to the calculated dew point temperature).
However, Kurata does not expressly disclose a pressure sensor configures to generate a pressure signal corresponding to a pressure of the compressed gas passing through the pipe; the estimating of the dew point further based on the pressure signal generated by the pressure sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, Zheng teaches
a pressure sensor configures to generate a pressure signal corresponding to a pressure of the compressed gas passing through the pipe;
the estimating of the dew point further based on the pressure signal generated by the pressure sensor (pages 1-4, a device monitors pressure, temperature and humidity of compressed air to determine a dew point of the compressed air).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a pressure sensor configures to generate a pressure signal corresponding to a pressure of the compressed gas passing through the pipe; the estimating of the dew point further based on the pressure signal generated by the pressure sensor as suggested in Zheng into Kurata because Kurata and Zheng pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Kurata and Zheng pertain to devices that measure characteristics of a gas and determine an associated dew point value. Kurata further describes an embodiment in which the device includes a pressure sensor to help determine a dew point value e.g., see Kurata [0115]. Zheng also pertains to a device which includes pressure, humidity and temperature sensors, and uses this measured data to determine a dew point value. It would thus be obvious, in the context of Kurata, to initially generate a dew point temperature based on measured pressure, humidity and temperature levels, as suggested in Zheng, as then to correct the dew point calculation in accordance with an inputted pressure. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Kurata to improve the accuracy of the dew point calculation using a sensor that measures pressure, and to provide an alternative, known method for determining pressure in the context of a dew point calculation e.g., see Zheng page 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kurata and Zheng teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Kurata and Zheng also teaches wherein an ON/OFF signal is generated based on the dew point estimated by the dew point estimation unit and a preset threshold and output (Kurata [0057-0059], on a display, the calculated dew point temperature can be represented in terms of bars, which are on or off depending on the level of the dew point temperature i.e., a threshold must be met before a particular bar is visible).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kurata and Zheng teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Kurata and Zheng also teaches wherein a determination result based on the dew point estimated by the dew point estimation unit and a preset threshold is displayed on the display unit (Kurata [0057-0059], on a display, the calculated dew point temperature can be represented in terms of bars, which are on or off depending on the level of the dew point temperature i.e., a threshold must be met before a particular bar is visible).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kurata and Zheng teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Kurata and Zheng also teaches wherein the pressure sensor and the thermo-hygrometer are accommodated in a common housing (Kurata Fig. 16, [0113], the device includes a casing/housing; within the casing/housing is a board with a temperature and humidity measuring unit; Kurata [0114] the board can include a pressure measurement unit).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kurata and Zheng teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Kurata and Zheng also teaches a flow rate measuring element configured to measure a flow rate of the compressed gas in the pipe, wherein the flow rate measuring element is accommodated in the housing (Kurata [0171], a flow sensor can be positioned within the device on a board, within a casing).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kurata and Zheng teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Kurata and Zheng also teaches wherein the display unit displays the temperature and the humidity measured by the thermo-hygrometer (Kurata [0057], the display can indicate measured temperature and humidity data).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurata and Zheng, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Lou (CN 105548257 translation).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kurata and Zheng teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Kurata and Zheng also teaches a storage unit that stores the dew point estimated by the dew point estimation unit in association with a time when the dew point has been estimated (Kurata [0129-0131], the device includes a dew point temperature calculation unit that determines a dew point temperature based on the measured humidity and temperature, and a known pressure level; this dew point value is then corrected in accordance with the inputted pressure; it is inherent that the above device would store the calculated dew point temperature in some kind of memory or structure).
However, the combination of Kurata and Zheng does not expressly disclose the storing the dew point in association with a time when the dew point has been estimated.
In the same field of endeavor, Lou teaches the storing the dew point in association with a time when the dew point has been estimated (pages 1-3, the system determines and monitors the dew point in real time, and can display the historical information and all monitoring data; thus, each dew point is determined and stored in association with a time of estimation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the storing the dew point in association with a time when the dew point has been estimated as suggested in Lou into Kurata and Zheng because Kurata and Lou pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Kurata and Lou pertain to systems for determining dew point. In Lou, dew point is monitored and determined in real time. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Kurata so that historical information regarding changes in the dew point could be recorded and later analyzed e.g., see Lou pages 1-3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. At best, the prior art of record, specifically, Kurata (US 2024/0110862) teaches a device with a casing/housing that includes temperature and humidity sensors and a display e.g., see Kurata Abstract, Figs. 5, 14 [0018, 0129-0131, 0049-0050, 0097, 0103], claim 3. Zheng (CN 107907570) teaches a device with a chip including temperature, humidity and pressure sensors; the chip calculates a dew point based on the sensor data. Vaisala (Vaisala, "The Fundamentals of Dew Point Measurement in Compressed Air Systems," dated 8/28/2020, downloaded from: https://www.airbestpractices.com/system-assessments/air-treatmentn2/fundamentals-dew-point-measurement-compressed-air-systems#:~:text=When%20measuring%20pressure%20dew%20point,an%20error%20in%20the%20measurement) teaches that it is known to desire a measurement of dew point of compressed air at a first location; however, measurements may be taken instead at an alternative, second location e.g., a downstream location in which the compressed air is passed by a sensor and where pressure may be lower; to determine the dew point at the first location, the dew point at the second location has to corrected; Furman (US 2020/0348040) teaches that it is known, when measuring a characteristic of a flowing medium that depends on air flow, to use a weighted average of the characteristic and flow rates e.g., see Furman [0153].
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant's amendments to claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant alleges that the combination of the Kurata and Zheng references in the prior office action was improper, because Kurata teaches away such a combination (see page 5 of the reply). In particular, Applicant references various embodiments described in Kurata, particularly the sixth embodiment, and argues that various features of those embodiments are incompatible with the teachings of Zheng i.e., the use of a pressure sensor in determining a dew point.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. To support the above arguments, Applicant points to various details described in Kurata, pertaining to particular embodiments, particularly the sixth embodiment. However, it should be noted that Kurata describes these explicitly as embodiments, and does not require every embodiment of the Kurata invention to possess all the details of the sixth embodiment. Accordingly, Kurata does not require that every embodiment have high and low pressure sides or other details, which Applicant cited as being obstacles to the integration of the Zheng feature. By way of example, Kurata describes an embodiment in the form of claims 1, 4 and Fig. 3, which does not require elimination of a pressure sensor, nor the high or low pressure sides of the sixth embodiment, and in a broad manner appears to describe various features of the claimed invention i.e., a measuring device with casing, sensors, a tube configured to attach to any suitable pipe to allow gas flow, and a display unit configured to display data such as the dew point. In the view of the Examiner, it is proper to combine such an embodiment with the above teachings of Zheng. See also MPEP 2143.01 I ("the disclosure of desirable alternatives does not necessarily negate a suggestion for modifying the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.") See also Kurata [0104], which describes a second embodiment, which is distinctive from the fourth and sixth embodiments described in the reply.
Applicant further alleges that claims 2-10 are allowable in view of their dependency on claim 1. Claims 2-10 are rejected as being taught by Kurata, Zheng and/or Lou.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sonander (US 6,022,138) pertains to a system for measuring dew point temperature of a gas e.g., see Sonander Abstract.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118