DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is in response to the application filed 12 January 2024.
Priority
Claims 1-11 are pending having a filing date of 12 January 2024, and claiming foreign priority to Japanese Patent Application Number JP 2023-005380, filed 17 January 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2023-005380, filed on 17 January 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 12 January 2024, complies with 35 C.F.R 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy of the 1449 form is enclosed herewith.
Drawings
The drawing, filed 12 January 2024, are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 2 recites “a steering angle.” It is unclear whether this is the same steering angle recited in claim 1.
Claim 4 recites “a notification” on ln. 6. It is unclear whether this is the same notification recited in ln. 3.
Claim 6 recites “the predetermined steering angle”. This recitation lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication Number 2011/0106347 to Itoi et al. (hereafter Itoi).
As per claim 1, Itoi discloses [a] watercraft maneuvering system (see at least Itoi, Abstract) comprising:
a steering including a steering actuator and operable to change a steering angle to change a course of a watercraft (see at least Itoi, [0012] disclosing a pivoting apparatus that pivots the propulsion means based on the control pivoting angle calculated by the control unit);
a steering angle sensor to detect the steering angle (see at least Itoi, [0040] disclosing a port pivoting angle detection sensor 18 detects the pivoting angle of the port outboard engine 1 with respect to the swivel shaft 5, generates a port pivoting angle signal corresponding to the detected pivoting angle, and inputs the port pivoting angle signal to a control unit 1; [0096]); and
a steering controller configured or programmed to control the steering actuator according to an output signal of the steering angle sensor (see at least Itoi, [0040]; [0045] disclosing that the pivoting angle control means 30 calculates a control pivoting angle for the port outboard engine 1 based on the pivoting angle of the port outboard engine 1 detected by the port pivoting angle detection sensor 18 and the port target pivoting angle; the pivoting angle control means 30 calculates a control pivoting angle for the starboard outboard engine 2 based on the pivoting angle of the starboard outboard engine 2 detected by the starboard pivoting angle detection sensor 19 and the starboard target pivoting angle; furthermore, the pivoting angle control means 30 calculates a control pivoting angle for the middle outboard engine 3 based on the pivoting angle of the middle outboard engine 3 detected by the middle pivoting angle detection sensor 20 and the middle target pivoting angle);
wherein the steering controller includes a calibration mode in which output signal values of the steering angle sensor respectively corresponding to opposite limits of a steering range of the steering are stored (see at least Itoi, Fig. 1, showing control unit 14 <interpreted as the steering controller>; [0041] disclosing that a steering angle detection means 13 detects, by the intermediary of a steering column 10, the steering angle of a steering wheel 11 to be manipulated by an operator, generates a steering angle signal corresponding to the detected steering angle, and inputs the steering angle signal to the control unit 14. The control unit 14 receives a signal from an external tool 28 provided with a pivoting limit angle characteristic selection means 25, a pivoting limit angle characteristic downloading means 26, and a swivel center distance instruction means 27; ... <calibration mode> ... [0077] disclosing that FIG. 17 is a flowchart explaining selection operation for a pivoting limit angle characteristic in a vessel steering system according to Embodiment 1 of the present invention. The control unit 14 performs a routine for selecting a pivoting angle limit characteristic represented in FIG. 17 in the case where it receives the pivoting limit angle characteristic selection instruction command from the external tool 28 while initialization processing is performed before a pivoting limit angle calculation routine, described later, represented in FIG. 20 is carried out or while the routine represented in FIG. 20 is carried out; [0078] disclosing with regard to Fig. 17, that at first, the processing in the step S210 is started. For example, when, as the pivoting limit angle characteristic selection instruction command, a numerical value indicating a first pivoting limit angle characteristic package is transmitted from the pivoting limit angle characteristic selection means 25 in the external tool 28 to the control unit 14, the control unit 14 detects the pivoting limit angle characteristic selection instruction in the step S210; [0079] disclosing with respect to Fig. 17 that in the step S220, there is selected a pivoting limit angle characteristic package which is stored in a youngest address of the pivoting limit angle characteristic storage means 32, for example, the pivoting limit angle characteristic package A; in the step S230, the pivoting limit angle characteristic selection routine is completed, and then the original processing position is resumed; [0080]), and
is configured or programmed to perform an automatic steering control operation to drive the steering actuator to operate the steering to a predetermined steering angle after storing the output signal values of the steering angle sensor respectively corresponding to the opposite limits of the steering range (see at least Itoi, [0050] disclosing that the pivoting limit angle characteristic package A and the pivoting limit angle characteristic package Z are each provided with a pair of maps for the port outboard engine 1 including a pivoting limit angle (starboard direction) port engine map L1 and a pivoting limit angle (port direction) port engine map L2, a pair of maps for the starboard outboard engine 2 including a pivoting limit angle (starboard direction) starboard engine map R1 and a pivoting limit angle (port direction) starboard engine map R2, a pair of maps for the middle outboard engine 3 including a pivoting limit angle (starboard direction) middle engine map S1 and a pivoting limit angle (port direction) middle engine map S2, and a pair of maps for a single-engine system including a pivoting limit angle (starboard direction) single-engine map T1 and a pivoting limit angle (port direction) single-engine map T; [0053] disclosing a pair of pivoting limit angle characteristic maps that are utilized for the port outboard engine 1 will be explained. FIG. 5 is a table representing the contents of the pivoting limit angle (starboard direction) port engine map L1, which is one of a pair of pivoting limit angle characteristic maps utilized for the port outboard engine 1. FIG. 6 is a graph representing the contents of the pivoting limit angle (starboard direction) port engine map L1 ; [0055] disclosing that On the Y axis, the pivoting limit angle [deg] is set based on the value of the neighboring-engine actual pivoting angle on the X axis and the value of the swivel center distance on the Z axis. The pivoting limit angle on the Y axis is an angle for limiting the starboard-direction pivoting angle of the port outboard engine 1 in order to make the port outboard engine 1 pivot in the starboard direction within a range where the pivoting of the port outboard engine 1 does not interfere with the pivoting of the middle outboard engine 3; [0058] disclosing that On the Y axis, the pivoting limit angle [deg] is set based on the value of the neighboring-engine actual pivoting angle on the X axis and the value of the swivel center distance on the Z axis. The pivoting limit angle on the Y axis is an angle for limiting the port-direction pivoting angle of the port outboard engine 1 in order to make the port outboard engine 1 pivot in the port direction within a range where the pivoting of the port outboard engine 1 does not interfere with the pivoting of the middle outboard engine; [0059]; see also Figs. 5 and 6, Port engine, starboard direction pivoting, Figs. 7 and 8 Port engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 9 and 10, starboard engine, starboard direction pivoting, Fig. 11 and 12, starboard engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 14 and 15, Middle engine, starboard direction pivoting, and Figs. 16 and 17, middle engine, port direction pivoting).
As per claim 2, Itoi further discloses the following limitations:
a steering operator to be operated by a user to steer the watercraft (see at least Itoi, [0041] disclosing that a steering angle detection means 13 detects, by the intermediary of a steering column 10, the steering angle of a steering wheel 11 to be manipulated by an operator, generates a steering angle signal corresponding to the detected steering angle, and inputs the steering angle signal to the control unit 1); and
an operation sensor to detect an operation of the steering operator (see at least Itoi, [0045] disclosing that the pivoting angle control means 30 calculates a control pivoting angle for the port outboard engine 1 based on the pivoting angle of the port outboard engine 1 detected by the port pivoting angle detection sensor 18 and the port target pivoting angle; the pivoting angle control means 30 calculates a control pivoting angle for the starboard outboard engine 2 based on the pivoting angle of the starboard outboard engine 2 detected by the starboard pivoting angle detection sensor 19 and the starboard target pivoting angle;);
wherein the steering controller is configured or programmed to adjust a steering angle of the steering to one of the opposite limits of the steering range and then to the other of the opposite limits by driving the steering actuator according to an output signal of the operation sensor during the calibration mode (as cited in claims 1 and 9, see at least Itoi, [0050]; [0053]; [0055]; [0058]; [0059]; see also Figs. 5 and 6, Port engine, starboard direction pivoting, Figs. 7 and 8 Port engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 9 and 10, starboard engine, starboard direction pivoting, Fig. 11 and 12, starboard engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 14 and 15, Middle engine, starboard direction pivoting, and Figs. 16 and 17, middle engine, port direction pivoting), and
to drive the steering actuator irrespective of the output signal of the operation sensor during the automatic steering control operation (see at least Itoi, [0042] disclosing that the outboard engine 21 is configured in such a way as to pivot within the range of -60 [deg] to 60 [deg] unless limitation through a pivoting limit angle, described later, is given. The foregoing configuration applies also to each of the port outboard engine 1, the starboard outboard engine 2, and the middle outboard engine 3; [0046] disclosing that based on a pivoting limit angle characteristic map, described later, read from the pivoting limit angle characteristic storage means 32, the actual pivoting angle of a neighboring engine, and the swivel center distance, between the neighboring engines, read from the swivel center distance storage means 33, the pivoting angle limiting means 31 calculates the pivoting limit angle for limiting the pivoting angle of the port outboard engine 1, the pivoting limit angle for limiting the pivoting angle of the starboard outboard engine 2, and the pivoting limit angle for limiting the pivoting angle of the middle outboard engine 3; based on the control pivoting angle for the port outboard engine 1, the control pivoting angle for the starboard outboard engine 2, and the control pivoting angle for the middle outboard engine 3, that are limited by the respective calculated pivoting limit angles, the pivoting angle limiting means 31 drives the port pivoting apparatus 15, the starboard pivoting apparatus 16, and the middle pivoting apparatus 17, so that the corresponding port outboard engine 1, starboard outboard engine 2, and middle outboard engine 3 are pivot).
As per claim 3, Itoi further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the steering controller is configured or programmed to store one of the output signal values of the steering angle sensor when it is detected that the steering angle of the steering reaches one of the opposite limits of the steering range (see at least Itoi, [0083] disclosing with regard to Fig. 18, that at first, the processing in the step S310 is started. In the step S310, when receiving a pivoting limit angle characteristic download command from the pivoting limit angle characteristic downloading means 26 in the external tool 28, the control unit 14 performs downloading of a pivoting limit angle characteristic package; [0084] the pivoting limit angle characteristic download command is, specifically, a command for instructing to rewrite the contents in a predetermined storage section of the control unit 14 to the contents of a designated pivoting limit angle characteristic package or a command for instructing to rewrite the contents of all packages. For example, when, through the external tool 28, a user selects a pivoting limit angle characteristic package, corresponding to a new type of a vessel or an outboard engine, which is held in the external tool 28, the external tool 28 instructs the control unit 14 to download the pivoting limit angle characteristic package corresponding to the new type; [0085]; [0088]; [0092] disclosing that pivoting limit angle calculation operation by the control unit 14 will be explained. FIG. 20 is a flowchart representing pivoting limit angle calculation operation in a vessel steering system according to Embodiment 1 of the present invention. The control unit 14 performs a processing routine represented in FIG. 20 every predetermined period. In the processing routine represented in FIG. 20, at first, the processing in the step S110 is started. In FIG. 20, at first, an outboard engine state is recognized in the step S110), and
to store another output signal value of the steering angle sensor when it is detected that the steering angle of the steering reaches the other of the opposite limits of the steering range (see at least Itoi, [0083]-[0085]; [0088]; [0092] ).
As per claim 5, Itoi further discloses the following limitation:
wherein a range of a target steering angle to be used when the steering controller controls the steering actuator is a steering angle range within the steering range between the one of the opposite limits and the other of the opposite limits (see at least Itoi, [0042] disclosing that the outboard engine 21 is configured in such a way as to pivot within the range of -60 [deg] to 60 [deg] unless limitation through a pivoting limit angle, described later, is given. The foregoing configuration applies also to each of the port outboard engine 1, the starboard outboard engine 2, and the middle outboard engine 3; see also see also Figs. 5 and 6, Port engine, starboard direction pivoting, Figs. 7 and 8 Port engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 9 and 10, starboard engine, starboard direction pivoting, Fig. 11 and 12, starboard engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 14 and 15, Middle engine, starboard direction pivoting, and Figs. 16 and 17, middle engine, port direction pivoting).
As per claim 6, Itoi further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the predetermined steering angle is within the range of the target steering angle (see at least Itoi, [0042] disclosing that the outboard engine 21 is configured in such a way as to pivot within the range of -60 [deg] to 60 [deg] <interpreted as the target steering angle> unless limitation through a pivoting limit angle; see also see also Figs. 5 and 6, Port engine, starboard direction pivoting, Figs. 7 and 8 Port engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 9 and 10, starboard engine, starboard direction pivoting, Fig. 11 and 12, starboard engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 14 and 15, Middle engine, starboard direction pivoting, and Figs. 16 and 17, middle engine, port direction pivoting <angles shown are within the range of the target steering angles> ).
As per claim 8, Itoi further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the steering is operable to steer an outboard motor attached to a hull of the watercraft (see at least Itoi, [0038] disclosing that in FIG. 1, in a vessel body 12 <interpreted as a hull of the watercraft>, there are provided a port outboard engine 1 < interpreted as an outboard motor> mounted on the port stern, a starboard outboard engine 2 mounted on the starboard stern, and a middle outboard engine 3 mounted at a stern portion between the port outboard engine 1 and the starboard outboard engine 2. The port outboard engine 1, the starboard outboard engine 2, and the middle outboard engine 3 are configured in the same manner; they configure the propulsion system of a vessel; [0039] disclosing that the port outboard engine 1, the starboard outboard engine 2, and the middle outboard engine 3 are each provided at the stern of the vessel body 12 in such a way that each of them can freely pivot on a swivel shaft 5, which is perpendicularly provided, in the port direction (clockwise) and in the starboard direction (counterclockwise). A port pivoting apparatus 15 makes the swivel shaft 5 pivot by the intermediary of a steering arm 22 so as to pivot the port outboard engine 1 on the swivel shaft 5. A starboard pivoting apparatus 16 makes the swivel shaft 5 pivot by the intermediary of the steering arm 22 so as to pivot the starboard outboard engine 2 on the swivel shaft 5. A middle pivoting apparatus 17 makes the swivel shaft 5 pivot by the intermediary of the steering arm 22 so as to pivot the middle outboard engine 3 on the swivel shaft 5 [0040]; [0041]).
As per claim 9, similar to claim 1, Itoi discloses [a] watercraft maneuvering system (see at least Itoi, Abstract ) comprising:
a steering including a steering actuator and operable to change a steering angle to change a course of a watercraft (see at least Itoi, [0012]; [0040]; [0096]); and
a steering controller configured or programmed to control the steering actuator according to an output signal of a steering angle sensor (see at least Itoi, Fig. 1, showing control unit 14 <interpreted as the steering controller> ;[0040]; [0041]; [0045]; [0077]-[0080]);
wherein the steering controller is configured or programmed to perform an automatic steering control operation to drive the steering actuator to operate the steering to a predetermined steering angle at an end of a calibration mode that calibrates the output signal of the steering angle sensor (see at least Itoi, [0050]; [0053]; [0055]; [0058]; [0059]; see also Figs. 5 and 6, Port engine, starboard direction pivoting, Figs. 7 and 8 Port engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 9 and 10, starboard engine, starboard direction pivoting, Fig. 11 and 12, starboard engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 14 and 15, Middle engine, starboard direction pivoting, and Figs. 16 and 17, middle engine, port direction pivoting).
As per claim 10, Itoi further discloses [a] watercraft comprising: a hull (see at least Itoi, [0038] disclosing that in FIG. 1, in a vessel body 12 <interpreted as a watercraft and the hull>) ... .
As per claim 11, Itoi further discloses [a] watercraft comprising: a hull (see at least Itoi, [0038] disclosing that in FIG. 1, in a vessel body 12 <interpreted as a watercraft and the hull>) ... .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008/0254689 to Kaji.
As per claim 4, Itoi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Itoi further discloses the following limitations:
... an input interface to be operated by a user to input a command in response to each of the notifications (see at least Itoi, [0081] disclosing that there can be provided a simple user interface in such a way that a vessel operator, as a user, obtains the pivoting limit angle characteristic package corresponding to the type of the vessel by selecting the displayed type name. The external tool 28 converts the type name selected by the user into the previously read sequence number and gives an instruction to the control unit 14; the control unit 14 selects the pivoting limit angle characteristic package based on the instruction);
wherein the steering controller is configured or programmed to store the output signal values of the steering angle sensor when the command is inputted via the input interface in response to each of the notifications during the calibration mode (as cited in claims 1 and 9, see at least Itoi, [0050]; [0053]; [0055]; [0058]; [0059]; see also Figs. 5 and 6, Port engine, starboard direction pivoting, Figs. 7 and 8 Port engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 9 and 10, starboard engine, starboard direction pivoting, Fig. 11 and 12, starboard engine, port direction pivoting, Figs. 14 and 15, Middle engine, starboard direction pivoting, and Figs. 16 and 17, middle engine, port direction pivoting). But the difference between Itoi and the claimed invention is that Itoi does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Kaji, a comparable system where is was known to have:
a notifier to issue a notification when the steering controller has determined that the steering angle of the steering reaches the one of the opposite limits of the steering range during the calibration mode (see at least Kaji, [0128] disclosing that FIG. 18 is a flowchart to describe the notification by the display section 46. When the steering angle of the stem outboard motor 7 begins to change and the scheduling control is started by the scheduling section 33, the marine vessel running control apparatus 15 turns on the indicator lamp 41 and displays the first image 43 on the screen 42 (Step S21). It is thereby notified to the operator that the scheduling control is carried out. Then, as described above, when the steering angle of the stem outboard motor 7 reaches the threshold and the scheduling control is finished (YES at Step S22), the marine vessel running controlling apparatus 15 turns off the indicator lamp 41 and displays the second image 47 on the screen 42 (Step S23)) and
to issue a notification when the steering controller has determined that the steering angle of the steering reaches the other of the opposite limits of the steering range during the calibration mode (see at least Kaji, [0128] ) ... .
Itoi and Kaji are analogous art to claim 4 because they are in the same field of watercraft maneuvering systems. Itoi relates to a vessel steering system in which steering is performed by pivoting a propulsion means, such as an outboard engine or a stern drive system, on a swivel shaft (see at least Itoi, [0002]). Kaji relates to a control apparatus for controlling a marine vessel propulsion system equipped with a steering mechanism and a propeller system, and a marine vessel running supporting system and a marine vessel equipped with such a control apparatus (see at least Kaji, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the system, as disclosed in Itoi, to provide the benefit of having a notifier issue a notification when the steering controller has determined that the steering angle of the steering reaches the one of the opposite limits of the steering range during the calibration mode and to issue a notification when the steering controller has determined that the steering angle of the steering reaches the other of the opposite limits of the steering range during the calibration mode, as disclosed in Kaji, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0072575 to Mizutani.
As per claim 7, Itoi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. But the difference between Itoi and the claimed invention is that Itoi does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Mizutani, a comparable system where is was known to have:
wherein the steering actuator includes a hydraulic actuator including a hydraulic cylinder and an electric pump to supply a hydraulic oil into the hydraulic cylinder (see at least Mizutani, [0026] disclosing that as the turning actuator, a hydraulic cylinder may be applied, besides an electric motor. More specifically, a hydraulic cylinder that is supplied with pressure oil by an electric pump may be used as a turning actuator).
Itoi and Mizutani are analogous art to claim 7 because they are in the same field of watercraft maneuvering systems. Itoi relates to a vessel steering system in which steering is performed by pivoting a propulsion means, such as an outboard engine or a stern drive system, on a swivel shaft (see at least Itoi, [0002]). Mizutani relates to a vessel propulsion system including a plurality of propulsion apparatuses to be turnably mounted on a stern of a hull (see at least Mizutani, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the system, as disclosed in Itoi, to provide the benefit of having the steering actuator include a hydraulic actuator including a hydraulic cylinder and an electric pump to supply a hydraulic oil into the hydraulic cylinder, as disclosed in Mizutani, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication Number 2004/0139903 to Watabe et al. (hereafter Watabe) see Fig. 6, step S18 of restricting the desired speed angle to upper and lower limits, and [0053].
U.S. Patent Publication Number 2014/0329422 to Ito, at [0042] disclosing the target steering angle revising section 74 calculates a leftward collision limit value Llimit shown in FIG. 5 and a rightward collision limit value Rlimit shown in FIG. 6. The leftward collision limit value Llimit is calculated using the mathematical expression 1 shown below. In the mathematical expression shown below, the steering angle is defined to be 0 when the watercraft is traveling straight, a positive value when the steering angle is oriented leftward of the steering angle corresponding to straight travel, and a negative value when the steering angle is oriented rightward of the steering angle corresponding to straight travel.
PATRICK M. BRADY III
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/PATRICK M BRADY/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665