DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on January 12, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 16/656,208 (U.S. Patent # 10,959,134 B2)(hereinafter refer as Dahod et al. ‘134 B2).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the "same invention" as the first application or patent.
Regarding claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending application of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2.
Claim 1 of the Instant Application
Claim 1 of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2
Limitation 1: receiving, by a first base station, data packets from a user device, the first base station including a first baseband unit device communicatively coupled to a first radio device;
Limitation 1: A computer-implemented method for coordinating communication of a plurality of data packets, wherein a first base station is communicatively coupled to a second base station, the first base station including a first radio device communicatively coupled to a first baseband unit device, and the second base station including a second radio device communicatively coupled to a second baseband unit device, wherein a packet data convergence protocol functionality is split into one or more portions between respective the first and second radio devices and the first and second baseband devices, the method comprising: receiving, using the first base station, data packets from at least one user device;
Limitation 2: initiating, by at least one of the first base station and a second base station, a handover of communication of the data packets from the user device from the first base station to the second base station; and
Limitation 2: initiating, using at least one of the first base station and second base station, a handover of communication of the data packets from the at least one user device from the first base station to the second base station; and
Limitation 3: transmitting, by the second base station, a data packet to the user device upon detecting completion of the handover.
Limitation 3: transmitting, using the second base station, at least one data packet to the at least one user device upon detecting completion of the handover by a portion of the packet data convergence protocol functionality of the second radio device.
Regarding claims 2-4, and as applied to claim 1 above, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2-4 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1,2, and 7 of copending application of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2 by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims.
Regarding claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 12 of copending application of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2.
Claim 6 of the Instant Application
Claims 9 and 12 of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2
Limitation 1: a first radio device; and
a first baseband unit device communicatively coupled to the first radio device,
wherein the base station is configured to:
Limitation 1: A system for coordinating communication of a plurality of data packets, wherein a first base station is communicatively coupled to a second base station, the first base station including a first radio device communicatively coupled to a first baseband unit device, and the second base station including a second radio device communicatively coupled to a second baseband unit device, wherein a packet data convergence protocol functionality is split into one or more portions between respective the first and second radio devices and the first and second baseband devices, the system comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the memory, the at least one processor being configured to:
Limitation 3: receive data packets from a user device, and
Limitation 3: receiving, using the first base station, data packets from at least one user device; initiating, using at least one of the first base station and second base station, a handover of communication of the data packets from the at least one user device from the first base station to the second base station; and transmitting, using the second base station, at least one data packet to the at least one user device upon detecting completion of the handover by a portion of the packet data convergence protocol functionality of the second radio device.
Limitation 4: perform a handover of communication of the data packets from the user device from the base station to another base station.
Limitation 4: wherein handover is performed in at least one of an uplink communication link between the at least one user and at least one of the first base station and the second base station, and a downlink communication link between the at least one user and at least one of the first base station and the second base station.
Regarding claims 7-9, and as applied to claim 6 above, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 7-9 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 9, 10, and 15 of copending application of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2 by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims.
Regarding claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of copending application of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2.
Claim 11 of the Instant Application
Claim 17 of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2
Limitation 1: receiving, by the first base station, data packets from a user device, the first base station including a first baseband unit device communicatively coupled to a first radio device;
Limitation 1: A computer program product for coordinating communication of a plurality of data packets, wherein a first base station is communicatively coupled to a second base station, the first base station including a first radio device communicatively coupled to a first baseband unit device, and the second base station including a second radio device communicatively coupled to a second baseband unit device, wherein a packet data convergence protocol functionality is split into one or more portions between respective the first and second radio devices and the first and second baseband devices, comprising a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one programmable processor, cause the at least one programmable processor to perform operations comprising: receiving, using the first base station, data packets from at least one user device;
Limitation 2: initiating, by at least one of the first base station and a second base station, a handover of communication of the data packets from the user device from the first base station to the second base station; and
Limitation 2: initiating, using at least one of the first base station and second base station, a handover of communication of the data packets from the at least one user device from the first base station to the second base station; and
Limitation 3: transmitting, by the second base station, a data packet to the user device upon detecting completion of the handover.
Limitation 3: transmitting, using the second base station, at least one data packet to the at least one user device upon detecting completion of the handover by a portion of the packet data convergence protocol functionality of the second radio device.
Regarding claims 12-14, and as applied to claim 11 above, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 12-14 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 17, 18, and 23 of copending application of Dahod et al. ‘134 B2 by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tamaki et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0302240 A1) in view of Oguchi (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0076114 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tamaki et al. teach a computer-implemented method for coordinating communication of a plurality of data packets (Fig(s).2A and 2B), the method comprising:
receiving, by a first base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 1C @ 140a, and 2A), data packets from a user device (Fig(s).1A @ 102a, 116, 1C @ 102a, 116, and 2A),
initiating, by at least one of the first base station and a second base station, a handover of communication of the data packets from the user device from the first base station to the second base station (Fig(s).2A @ 226, 5 @ 510, 6 @ 608); and
transmitting, by the second base station, a data packet to the user device upon detecting completion of the handover. (read as packet data is exchanged between target eNodeB and a UE (Fig.2B))
However, Tamaki et al. fail to explicitly teach the first base station including a first baseband unit device communicatively coupled to a first radio device;
Oguchi teaches the first base station (Fig(s).1 @ 10a and 2 @ 10) including a first baseband unit device (Fig.2 @ 11) communicatively coupled to a first radio device (Fig.2 @ 12, 14);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the base station hardware architecture (e.g.: the baseband processing unit) as taught by Oguchi within the base station(s) as taught by Tamaki et al. for the purpose of improving handover procedures by network nodes in a communication network.
Regarding claim 6, Tamaki et al. teach a base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 1C @ 140a, and 2A) comprising:
wherein the base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 1C @ 140a, and 2A) is configured to:
receive data packets from a user device(Fig(s).1A @ 102a, 116, 1C @ 102a, 116, and 2A), and
perform a handover of communication of the data packets from the user device from the base station to another base station. (Fig(s).2A, 2B, 5, and 6)
However, Tamaki et al. fail to explicitly teach a first radio device; and
a first baseband unit device communicatively coupled to the first radio device,
Oguchi teaches a first radio device (Fig.2 @ 12, 14); and
a first baseband unit device (Fig.2 @ 11) communicatively coupled to the first radio device (Fig.2 @ 12, 14),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the base station hardware architecture (e.g.: the baseband processing unit) as taught by Oguchi within the base station(s) as taught by Tamaki et al. for the purpose of improving handover procedures by network nodes in a communication network.
Regarding claim 11, Tamaki et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (read as memory (Paragraph [0138])) having recorded thereon instructions (read as software (Paragraph [0138])) executable by a first base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 1C @ 140a, and 2A) to implement a method for coordinating communication of a plurality of data packets (Fig(s).2A and 2B), the method comprising:
receiving, by the first base station, data packets from a user device (Fig(s).1A @ 102a, 116, 1C @ 102a, 116, and 2A),
initiating, by at least one of the first base station and a second base station, a handover of communication of the data packets from the user device from the first base station to the second base station (Fig(s).2A @ 226, 5 @ 510, 6 @ 608); and
transmitting, by the second base station, a data packet to the user device upon detecting completion of the handover. (read as packet data is exchanged between target eNodeB and a UE (Fig.2B))
However, Tamaki et al. fail to explicitly teach the first base station including a first baseband unit device communicatively coupled to a first radio device;
Oguchi teaches the first base station (Fig(s).1 @ 10a and 2 @ 10) including a first baseband unit device (Fig.2 @ 11) communicatively coupled to a first radio device (Fig.2 @ 12, 14);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the base station hardware architecture (e.g.: the baseband processing unit) as taught by Oguchi within the base station(s) as taught by Tamaki et al. for the purpose of improving handover procedures by network nodes in a communication network.
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 14, and as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above, Tamaki et al., as modified by Oguchi, teach a method (Fig(s), 2A, 2B), a base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b and 1C @ 140a, 140b, 140c), and a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (read as memory (Paragraph [0138])) wherein the initiating comprises initiating the handover in a control plane. (read as “A source eNB may initiate a handover procedure (from a control plane perspective) and forward incoming data that has not yet been delivered to the WTRU to the target eNB for eventual delivery to the WTRU (from a user plane perspective) using an X2 or S1 interface. ”(Paragraph [0052]))
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15, and as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above, Tamaki et al., as modified by Oguchi, teach a method (Fig(s), 2A, 2B), a base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b and 1C @ 140a, 140b, 140c), and a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (read as memory (Paragraph [0138])) wherein the first base station (Fig.1C @ 140a) and the second base station (Fig.1C @ 140b) are communicatively coupled via an X2 interface. (read as X2 interface (Fig.1C @ X2))
Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tamaki et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0302240 A1), in view of Oguchi (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0076114 A1), and Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2013/0176988 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 7, and 12, and as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above, Tamaki et al. teach “Apparatus and methods of handing over a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) that belongs to a group of WTRUs from an originating base station to a target base station …”(Fig(s).1A, 1C, 2A, 2B, 5, and 6; Abstract)
Oguchi teaches wireless base station hardware architecture. (Fig.2)
However, Tamaki et al. and Oguchi fail to explicitly teach wherein a packet data convergence protocol functionality is split between the first base station and the second base station.
Wang et al. teach a method wherein a packet data convergence protocol functionality is split between the first base station and the second base station. (read as PDCP Inter-eNodeB multiplexer (Fig.4 @ 413; Paragraph [0074])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the PDCP Inter-eNodeB multiplexer as taught by Wang et al. and the base station hardware architecture (e.g.: the baseband processing unit) as taught by Oguchi within the base station(s) as taught by Tamaki et al. for the purpose of improving handover procedures by network nodes in a communication network.
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 13, and as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above, Tamaki et al. teach “Apparatus and methods of handing over a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) that belongs to a group of WTRUs from an originating base station to a target base station …”(Fig(s).1A, 1C, 2A, 2B, 5, and 6; Abstract)
Oguchi teaches the second base station (Fig(s).1 @ 10b and 2 @ 10) includes a second baseband unit device (Fig.2 @ 11) communicatively coupled to a second radio device (Fig.2 @ 12, 14); and
However, Tamaki et al. and Oguchi fail to explicitly teach wherein:
a packet data convergence protocol functionality is split between the first radio device and the second radio device.
Wang et al. teach a method wherein:
a packet data convergence protocol functionality is split between the first radio device and the second radio device. (read as PDCP Inter-eNodeB multiplexer (Fig.4 @ 413; Paragraph [0074])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the PDCP Inter-eNodeB multiplexer as taught by Wang et al. and the base station hardware architecture (e.g.: the baseband processing unit) as taught by Oguchi within the base station(s) as taught by Tamaki et al. for the purpose of improving handover procedures by network nodes in a communication network.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2014/0153504 A1) teach a method “wherein packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data is split in a radio access network.”(Paragraph [0193])
Lin (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0327236 A1) teaches “the first PDCP entity of the first base station and a second PDCP entity of the second communications node perform joint processing on the at least a part of data.”(Abstract)
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
December 23, 2025