DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s amendment filed 06/25/2026 has been fully considered and made of record. As such, the rejection of claims 1-7 under 112(b) has been withdrawn. Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are pending with claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 5, delete the limitation “and” at the end of the line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Saitta et al. (US 6,601,659, hereinafter “Saitta”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Saitta.
As applied to claims 1-4, Saitta teaches a drill bit (1, Figs. 1-2, paragraph bridging cols. 1-2, col. 3, lines 31-45) comprising a body (3) including a shank (6) at a first end of the body (right end of 3), an end surface at a second end of the body opposite the shank (left end of 3), the end surface defining an axially outermost extent of the body, and a body flute extending from the second end of the body toward the first end (spiral flutes 2), the body configured to rotate about an axis extending through the shank and the end surface (drill axis A); and a cutting head (5) including a bottom surface that abuts and is attached to the end surface of the body (at circumferential seams 9 and 9’), the cutting head configured to drill a hole in a workpiece (intended use limitation but see col. 1, lines 7-10), wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional area of the hole, measured perpendicular to the axis, to a cross-sectional area of the body at the end surface, measured perpendicular to the axis, is greater than 2 (the outer diameter of cutting head 5 appears to be twice as much as the outer diameter of the body at end surface and as such, would form a whole having the claimed ration of the cross section, see Figs. 1-2).
However, the cross-sectional area of the hole is not part of the claimed drill bit and is a result of the intended use of the claimed device. Therefore, depending on how and how many times the drill bit runs into the workpiece, the resultant hole could have a cross sectional area measured perpendicular to the axis to have a ratio of greater than 2, greater than 2.1, greater than 2.4 and between 2 and 4 times the cross-sectional area of the body at the end surface.
The cross-sectional area of the hole is considered to be intended use limitation. Although the recitation has been fully considered, it carries limited patentable weight. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the apparatus of Saitta meets all of the structural limitations, as claimed, and is capable of performing the limitation above.
Alternatively, if the Applicant does not agree that Saitta explicitly teaches the claimed ratios between the cross-sectional area of the hole and body at the end surface of the drill bit, as in claims 1-4, then it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have used a drill bit with body and cutting tip having the appropriate sizes and dimensions such that the cross-sectional area of the hole produced by the drill bit in the workpiece would have a ratio to a cross-sectional area of the body at the end surface, to be measured perpendicular to the axis, to meet the claimed ranges, because Applicant has not disclosed that only the claimed ratios provide any advantages, are used for any particular purposes, or solve any stated problems (no criticality of the ratios are disclosed by the Applicant).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected applicant's invention to perform equally well with any other insert drill bit having body and size dimensions such as one taught by Saitta or the claimed ratios because either one performs the same function of forming a hole in the workpiece having desired dimensions based on specific design requirements.
As applied to claim 5, Saitta teaches the invention cited including wherein the cutting head (5) is oriented perpendicular to the axis (see Figs. 1-2).
As applied to claim 7, Saitta teaches the invention cited including the drill bit having a cutting head which is configured to drill a hole having a certain cross-section in a workpiece. However, Saitta does not explicitly teach the drill hole has a cross-sectional area greater than 285
m
m
2
.
However, the cross-sectional area of the hole is not part of the claimed drill bit and is a result of the intended use of the claimed device. Therefore, depending on how and how many times the drill bit runs into the workpiece, the resultant hole could have a cross-sectional area greater than 285
m
m
2
.
Alternatively, if the Applicant does not agree that Saitta explicitly teaches the claimed cross-sectional area of the hole being greater than 285
m
m
2
, then it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have used a drill bit with body and cutting tip having the appropriate sizes and dimensions such that the cross-sectional area of the hole produced by the drill bit in the workpiece would have been greater than 285
m
m
2
, because Applicant has not disclosed that only the claimed cross-sectional area provides any advantages, is used for any particular purpose, or solves any stated problems (no criticality of the area).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected applicant's invention to perform equally well with any other insert drill bit having body and size dimensions such as one taught by Saitta or the claimed ratios because either one performs the same function of forming a hole in the workpiece having desired dimensions based on specific design requirements.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saitta et al. (US 6,601,659, hereinafter “Saitta”).
As applied to claim 6, Saitta teaches the invention cited in claim 1 including wherein the cutting head includes a body having a bottom surface, a cutting tip (4) positioned opposite from the bottom surface and having a tip length measured between the bottom surface and the cutting tip, and a cutting edge formed on a land, the cutting edge having a peripheral length measured between the bottom surface and the cutting edge at a peripheral cutting end of the land, and wherein the peripheral length is a fraction of the tip length (see Figs. 1-2). However, Saitta does not explicitly teach the cutting head is a unitary body.
However, the court has held that the use of a one piece/unitary construction instead of the multi-piece construction for the cutting head of Saitta would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. (see MPEP 2144-V-B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ a unitary structure for the multi-piece cutting head of Saitta, as an effective means of providing a cutting head based on specific design requirements without requiring additional assembly steps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 09/08/2026