DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 25 AUGUST 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 AUGUST 2026.
Specification
The use of the terms “Harvest® SmartPrep® 3 System”, “BMAC®”, “AdiPrep®”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, “and water” in line 11 of the claim should read “the water”.
In Claim 12, “the PRP collection” 4 times in line 2, line 4, line 5, and line 8 of the claim should read “the L-PRP collection”.
In Claim 12, “wherein ultrasonication” in line 7 of the claim should read “wherein the ultrasonication”.
In Claim 12, “of PRP from” in lines 7-8 of the claim should read “of the L-PRP from”.
In Claim 13, “the PPA” in line 3 and “PPA” in line 5 of the claim should read “the at least one PPA”.
In Claim 13, “of L-PRP” in line 5 of the claim should read “of the filtered L-PRP”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the L-PRPL" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 is rejected because of its dependence upon claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al, US Patent Application No. US 20220395623 A1 (hereinafter Young), in view of Overholser et al, US Patent Application No. US 20120282240 A1 (hereinafter Overholser) and Hanna et al, International Patent Application No WO 2015031654 A2 (hereinafter Hanna).
Regarding Claim 1, Young teaches methods for isolating fibrinogen and for using the isolated fibrinogen for regenerating tissue in a subject (i.e., a method comprising; Abstract)
wherein the method uses sources such as peripheral blood (Paragraph 0083) that has been centrifuged to create platelet rich plasma, or PRP, (i.e., leukocyte- and platelet-rich plasma (L-PRP); Paragraph 0088) which is filtered with a micropore filter to extract the platelets from the PRP (Paragraph 0089) to form a platelet depleted plasma, or PDP, filtrate (i.e., filtered L-PRP), wherein the micropore filters have sterile housings designed to fit syringes with luer locks (i.e., drawing L-PRP into a first syringe, passing the L-PRP from the first syringe through a syringe filter to provide filtered L-PRP; Paragraph 0093),
wherein the PDP is cooled to cryoprecipitate fibrinogen and albumin for isolation and the supernatant is removed from the precipitated fibrinogen and any suitable precipitation agents can be used (i.e., performing a phase separation of protein precipitate and liquid phase, removing the liquid phase to yield a concentrated protein precipitate; Paragraphs 0080-0081),
and wherein the fibrinogen is stored under suitable conditions after being isolated (i.e., collecting the concentrated protein that includes at least one or all of fibrinogen; Paragraph 0081).
Young does not teach drawing the filtered L-PRP into a second syringe, the second syringe having at least one protein precipitating agent (PPA) to provide a L-PRP/PPA mixture and performing a phase separation on the L-PRP/PPA mixture.
However, Overholser teaches a method of precipitating fibrinogen involving drawing platelet-poor plasma (i.e., PDP or filtered L-PRP) into a syringe containing a protein precipitating agent and incubated after which the syringe is fitted with a filter and the liquid flows through while the fibrinogen is retained on the filter (i.e., drawing the filtered L-PRP into a second syringe, the second syringe having at least one protein precipitating agent (PPA) to provide a L-PRP/PPA mixture and performing a phase separation on the L-PRP/PPA mixture; Paragraph 0029) wherein there are many known alternative precipitation methods for fibrinogen including the use of ammonium sulfate (Paragraph 0027).
Overholser is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to the precipitation of fibrinogen from whole blood or a blood fraction (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the fibrinogen precipitation step as taught by Young because ammonium sulfate precipitation is a well-known alternative for fibrinogen precipitation in the art.
Young in view of Overholser does not teach passing the concentrated protein precipitate and water through a filtering tube, the filtering tube isolating the concentrated protein from the concentrated protein and the water.
However, Hanna teaches the manual flowing of a fluid sample through a filtration module to concentrate alpha-2 macroglobulin (A2M) and fibrinogen using a 100 kDA cut-off filter (Paragraphs 0146, 0218) wherein the filter module consists of a column housing the filter and the fluid is pushed through the filtration module by syringes (Paragraph 0217) and the retentate contains the concentrated protein such as A2M or fibrinogen (Paragraph 0218) for the purpose of removing smaller proteins than the filter cut-off size by passing them through the filter with the filtrate fluid (i.e., passing the concentrated protein precipitate and water through a filtering tube, the filtering tube isolating the concentrated protein from the concentrated protein and the water; Paragraph 0224).
Hanna is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to purifying and quantifying alpha-2 macroglobulin from blood (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the method made obvious by Young in view of Overholser with the additional filtering step involving the filter as taught by Hanna because the 100 kDa filter would remove albumin while retaining fibrinogen and A2M.
Regarding Claim 2, Young teaches the use of compositions containing fibrinogen for regenerating tissue or treating fibrinogenemia in a subject (i.e., wherein the concentrated protein is provided as a biological therapeutic; Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Hanna further teaches that the protocol for using the filter includes an APIC filter (i.e., wherein the filtering tube includes: a filtering membrane), Syringe #1 for loading a sample and collecting the concentrated sample (i.e., three ports including: a concentrated protein collection port; wherein the concentrated protein is collected via the concentrated protein collection port), Syringe #3 for collecting the sterile air from the filter when the filter is primed (i.e., an air injection port), and Syringe #4 for collecting the filtrate (i.e., a water collection port; Fig. 5; Example 2; Paragraph 0450).
Regarding Claim 6, Overholser further teaches wherein the platelet-poor plasma and the precipitant are mixed in a syringe and then incubated to precipitate fibrinogen (i.e., wherein the phase separation is gravity-induced; Paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claim 7, Overholser further teaches wherein the platelet-poor plasma and the precipitant are mixed in a syringe and then incubated for 10-20 minutes to precipitate fibrinogen (i.e., wherein the phase separation is performed with the second syringe in for a period; Paragraph 0029). Young in view of Overholser and Hanna does not explicitly teach wherein the syringe is in an upright position. However, there are only two positions, upright or laying on the side, for the position of the syringe and one must be selected for the precipitation. An upright position leads to precipitants on the bottom or top of the syringe, while the sideways position leads to precipitant along the wall of the syringe. It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to try incubating the syringe in an upright position because the precipitants on the bottom of the syringe would allow for the fluid to be mostly filtered out before the filter is plugged with the precipitated protein.
Regarding Claim 8, Overholser further teaches wherein the syringe is incubated for 10-20 minutes (i.e., wherein the period is approximately 5 minutes to approximately 15 minutes; Paragraph 0029). While Young in view of Overholser and Hanna does not teach the explicit range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding Claim 9, Overholser further teaches the use of 200 proof ethanol to precipitate plasma proteins (Paragraph 0029) wherein the density of pure ethanol is about 0.79 g/cm3 and wherein the average density of plasma proteins is between 1 – 1.35 g/cm3, which is greater than that of the ethanol. Therefore, the denser plasma proteins would inherently sink to the bottom of the ethanol mixture and the liquid phase would form a layer above the precipitated proteins (i.e., wherein after the phase separation, the liquid phase overlies the protein precipitate in the upright position).
Regarding Claim 10, Young further teaches wherein the micropore filters have sterile housings designed to fit syringes with luer locks (i.e., wherein the first syringe comprises a luer lock syringe; Paragraph 0093).
Overholser further teaches wherein the platelet-poor plasma and the precipitant are mixed in a syringe and then incubated for 10-20 minutes to precipitate fibrinogen (i.e., and wherein the second syringe comprises a precipitation syringe; Paragraph 0029).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Overholser and Hanna as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krisna C. Duong-Ly, Sandra B. Gabelli, “Chapter Seven - Salting out of Proteins Using Ammonium Sulfate Precipitation”, Methods in Enzymology, Academic Press, Volume 541, 2014, Pages 85-94, https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-420119-4.00007-0 (hereinafter Duong-Ly).
Regarding Claim 3, Hanna further teaches that the injector connections can be stopcock valves (Paragraph 037) with Fig. 5 demonstrating them on both sides of the filter (Fig. 5).
Young in view of Overholser and Hanna does not explicitly teach combining the concentrated protein precipitate and the water in a stopcock connector prior to passing through the filtering tube.
However, Duong-Ly teaches that it is known to resuspend the concentrated protein in minimal volume of buffer (i.e., combining the concentrated protein precipitate and the water; Page 92, Step 2.8) wherein the protocol suggests downstream filtering (i.e., prior to passing through the filtering tube; Page 93, 6.6. Tip) due to contaminants often precipitating out with the protein of interest (Page 87, Paragraph 3). Combining the two elements, the water and concentrated protein precipitate, in the stopcock is not explicitly stated but would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the liquid depleted protein would require additional fluid in order for the sample to concentrated proteins to pass through the crossflow filter. Furthermore, Hanna teaches a crossflow filter with multiple stopcock connectors and even teaches the use of a stopcock to remove sterile air from the filter. Using these stopcock connections to mix and separate is their primary function.
Duong-Ly is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to salting out proteins using ammonium sulfate (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the method made obvious by Young in view of Overholser and Hanna with the reconstitution step as taught by Duong-Ly because filtering after precipitation is usually necessary due to contaminating proteins precipitating out with the protein of interest and a fluidized sample is necessary to make the downstream filtering step function.
Regarding Claim 4, Duong-Ly further teaches a minimal amount of buffer to resuspend the protein in the smallest amount possible (i.e., wherein a volume ratio of the water to the concentrated protein precipitate is approximately 1:1; Page 92, Step 2.8). Young in view of Overholser, Hanna, and Duong-Ly does not teach the explicit range of approximately 1:1 concentrated protein to water ratio but teaches that the volume should be minimal and proteins tend to have variable solubilities. As the concentrated protein contains many different proteins and the composition is not specified, one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily need to optimize the ratio of water to protein for this step. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955))(See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Overholser and Hanna as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brewster et al, US Patent Application No. US 20170252411 A1 (hereinafter Brewster).
Regarding Claim 11, Young in view of Overholser and Hanna does not teach further comprising performing ultrasonication of a L-PRP collection to yield the L-PRPL prior to drawing the L-PRPL into the first syringe.
However, Brewster teaches that platelets contain fibrinogen within them (Paragraph 0006) which can be lysed in platelet rich plasma to release the fibrinogen (Paragraph 0014) using sonication in place of freeze/thawing (i.e., further comprising performing ultrasonication of a L-PRP collection to yield the L-PRPL; Paragraph 0067) prior to filtering through syringe filters (i.e., prior to drawing the L-PRPL into the first syringe; Paragraph 0100).
Brewster is analogous to the instant invention because it pertains to isolating proteins from platelet rich plasma for therapeutics to improve repairing and healing of tissue (Abstract; Paragraph 0014). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the method made obvious by Young in view of Overholser and Hanna with the sonication step prior to filtering as taught by Brewster because the sonication step would lyse the platelets and release more fibrinogen to increase the amount of fibrinogen to isolate from the plasma.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Overholser, Hanna, and Brewster as applied to claim 11 above, and with support from Arthrex, “Arthrex ACP® Double-Syringe System”, JANUARY 2024, https://www.arthrex.com/resources/LB1-0810-EN/arthrex-acp-double-syringe-system-autologous-conditioned-plasma?referringteam=orthobiologics (hereinafter Arthrex).
Regarding Claim 12, Brewster further teaches that platelets contain fibrinogen within them (Paragraph 0006) which can be lysed in platelet rich plasma to release the fibrinogen (Paragraph 0014) using sonication in place of freeze/thawing (i.e., an ultrasonication system for increasing protein quantity of the L-PRP collection; wherein the ultrasonication at least partially causes lysis of concentrated platelets of the L-PRP from the L-PRP collection; Paragraph 0067) prior to filtering through syringe filters (Paragraph 0100).
Overholser further teaches a method of precipitating fibrinogen involving drawing platelet-poor plasma into a syringe containing a protein precipitating agent and incubated after which the syringe is fitted with a filter and the liquid flows through while the fibrinogen is retained on the filter (i.e., a protein precipitation and filtration system; Paragraph 0029) wherein the blood is autologous to the subject (i.e., wherein the L-PRP collection is obtained from an autologous source; Paragraph 0007).
Young further teaches common steps centrifugation of blood to separate it into multiple layers including platelet rich plasma (Paragraphs 0076-0077) and wherein the plasma contains fibrinogen (i.e., wherein the L-PRP collection includes at least one of fibrinogen; Paragraph 0009).
Young in view of Overholser, Hanna, and Brewster does not explicitly teach wherein the L-PRP collection is obtained from an autologous biologics PRP Kit.
However, Arthrex teaches that autologous conditioned plasma systems/kits are well-known in the art for standard blood draw and separation of blood plasma from whole blood (i.e., wherein the L-PRP collection is obtained from an autologous biologics PRP Kit; Pages 2-7).
Arthrex is analogous to the instant invention because it pertains to autologous plasma concentration (Page 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to collect the plasma with a kit as taught by Arthrex because plasma collection kits are well-known in the art.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Overholser and Hanna as applied to claim 1 above, and with support from Ismail, Ayman E., "Purification of Fibrinogen from Human Plasma" (2012). Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering: Dissertations, Theses, and Student Research. 13. https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/chemengtheses/13. (hereinafter Ismail).
Regarding Claim 13, Young further teaches that filtering occurs with filters having 1 μm and 0.22 μm pores (i.e., wherein the syringe filter has a pore size ranging from approximately 0.2 micrometers to approximately 5 micrometers; Paragraph 0078).
Overholser further teaches that ammonium sulfate can be added to salt out proteins (i.e., wherein the at least one PPA includes at least one of ammonium sulfate; Paragraph 0027) and an example of ethanol uses 12 mL of platelet-poor plasma to 7 mL of 200-proof ethanol (i.e., wherein a volume ratio of the filtered L-PRP to the at least one PPA is approximately 3:2; Paragraph 0029).
Young in view of Overholser and Hanna does not explicitly teach a filtered L-PRP to PPA ratio of approximately 1:1, 2:1, 3:1, or 3:2.
However, Ismail teaches a well-known protein precipitation method involving ammonium sulfate in which 4M stock ammonium sulfate is mixed with the cryo solution of sample to make 1M ammonium sulfate (Page 22, Paragraph 2) which is a 3:1 filtered L-PRP to PPA ratio (i.e., wherein a volume ratio of the filtered L-PRP to the at least one PPA is approximately 3:1).
Ismail is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to the purification of fibrinogen from human plasma (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the filtered L-PRP to PPA ratio made obvious by Young in view of Overholser and Hanna to be 3:1 as taught by Ismail because the protocol is well-known for the precipitation of proteins from human plasma.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772