DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660) in view of Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238) is maintained.
As explained in the previous office action, Nguyen et al. disclose a supercapacitor module comprising: a first supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a first housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated - [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapacitor model BCAP3000), the first supercapacitor having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
a second supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a second housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated - [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapacitor model BCAP3000), the second supercapacitor (150) having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
an interconnect (270) electrically connecting the positive terminal of the first supercapacitor (150) and the negative terminal of the second supercapacitors (150) in series [0037], [0045]; and
a casing (180) encapsulating at least the first (150) and second (150) supercapacitors and the interconnect (270); wherein:
the operating voltage of the supercapacitor module is greater than 3.5 volts [0073]; and
the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm [0073].
Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first supercapacitor comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a length of the electrode assembly, and the second supercapacitor comprising first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector.
Bendale et al. disclose in fig. 10, a supercapacitor (title) comprising a first electrode ("aluminum collector", "activated carbon", 1002) and second electrode ("aluminum collector", "activated carbon", 1004), wherein the first electrode ("aluminum collector", "activated carbon", 1002) comprising a first current collector ("aluminum collector", "activated carbon", 1002) comprising a first current collector ("aluminum collector", 1002) and the second electrode ("aluminum collector", "activated carbon", 1004) comprising a second current collector ("aluminum collector", 1004), wherein the first current collector ("aluminum collector", 1004") is position such that it has first projecting portion (1020) that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of an electrode assembly (fig. 10 - fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Nguyen et al. so that the first supercapacitor comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a length of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprises first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, since such a modification would produce a supercapacitor where a low resistance contact can be created between the electrode assembly and an external connection.
A) “As an initial matter, Applicant respectfully submits that nowhere in Nguyen does it teach or provide proper motivation to alter the electrode structure. Rather, in stark contrast to the Office Action's allegations, Nguyen, in the Maxwell Datasheet cited by the Office Action, teaches that "[a]n ultracapacitor is constructed with symmetric carbon positive and negative electrodes separated by an insulating ion-permeable separator." (emphasis added). Thus, as Nguyen teaches that the first and second electrodes should be symmetrical, Applicant respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified the electrodes of Nguyen absent improper hindsight reliance on the presently pending claims.”
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
B) “Applicant respectfully submits that Bendale fails to teach that the first current collector is positioned such that it has a first projecting portion that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly as required by the presently pending claims. Rather, in stark contrast, Bendale teaches that a portion of the "contact edge 1020 of the second foil electrode 1004 extends beyond the opposite edge 1018 of the first and second separators 1006, 1008." As demonstrated by Fig. 10 of Bendale below, Bendale teaches a protrusion in the direction opposite of the longitudinal edge.
Preliminary note:
The applicant defines the “length” or “longitudinal” direction as the dimension of the electrode assembly extending along the axis of the wound jelly-roll configuration (see Fig. 1B and [0048] of the present specification, see also Fig. 1C).
[0048] Referring to FIG. 1B, the electrodes 12 and 14 separators 60 and 70 are wound together so that the assembly 10 extends in a longitudinal direction between longitudinal edges 41 and 21 to define a length "L."
Bendale et al. disclose the same feature.
Fig. 10 of Bendale et al. depicts a pre-wound electrode assembly. The first current collector ("aluminum collector", 1004") is position such that it has first projecting portion (1020, 2112) extends beyond an edge of an electrode assembly (Fig. 10 and 21) and a second projecting portion (1012, 2112) extends beyond another edge of an electrode assembly.
Upon winding/rolling the electrode assembly, the resulting “length” or “longitudinal” dimension corresponds to the direction extending between the top edge (1020, 2112) and the bottom edge (1012, 2110), as illustrated in the annotated Fig. 21 of Bendale et al. (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660) in view of Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238).
Regarding claim 1, Nguyen et al. disclose a supercapacitor module comprising: a first supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a first housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated – [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapacitor model BCAP3000), the first supercapacitor having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
a second supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a second housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated – [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapacitor model BCAP3000), the second supercapacitor (150) having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
an interconnect (270) electrically connecting the positive terminal of the first supercapacitor (150) and the negative terminal of the second supercapacitors (150) in series [0037], [0045]; and
a casing (180) encapsulating at least the first (150) and second (150) supercapacitors and the interconnect (270); wherein:
the operating voltage of the supercapacitor module is greater than 3.5 volts [0073]; and
the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm [0073].
Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first supercapacitor comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a length of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprising first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector.
Bendale et al. disclose in fig. 10, a supercapacitor (title) comprising a first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) and second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004), wherein the first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) comprising a first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1002) and the second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004) comprising a second current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004), wherein the first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004”) is position such that it has first projecting portion (1020) that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of an electrode assembly (fig. 10 - fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Nguyen et al. so that the first supercapacitor comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a length of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprises first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, since such a modification would produce a supercapacitor where a low resistance contact can be created between the electrode assembly and an external connection.
Regarding claim 5, Nguyen et al. disclose the interconnect (270) comprises a passive balancing circuit [0057].
Regarding claim 7, Bendale et al. teach that at least one of the first supercapacitor or second supercapacitor comprises:
the first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1002) electrically coupled to a first carbonaceous coating (“activated carbon”, 1002);
the second current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004) electrically coupled to a second carbonaceous coating (“activated carbon”, 1004); and a separator (“separator” 1106, 1108) positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding claim 15, Nguyen et al. disclose a supercapacitor module comprising:
a first supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a first housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated – [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapacitor model BCAP3000), the first supercapacitor having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
a second supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a second housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated – [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapacitor model BCAP3000), the second supercapacitor (150) having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
an interconnect (270) electrically connecting the positive terminal of the first supercapacitor (150) and the negative terminal of the second supercapacitors (150) in series [0037], [0045], the interconnect comprising a balancing circuit [0057]; and
a casing (180) encapsulating at least the first (150) and second (150) supercapacitors and the interconnect (270).
Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first supercapacitor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a length of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprises first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector.
Bendale et al. disclose in fig. 10, a supercapacitor (title) comprising a first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) and second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004), wherein the first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) comprising a first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1002) and the second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004) comprising a second current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004), wherein the first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004”) is position such that it has first projecting portion (1020) that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of an electrode assembly (fig. 10 - fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Nguyen et al. so that the first supercapacitor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a length of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprises first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, since such a modification would produce a supercapacitor where a low resistance contact can be created between the electrode assembly and an external connection.
Regarding claim 17, Nguyen et al. disclose the operating voltage of the supercapacitor module is greater than 3.5 volts [0073]; and the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm [0073].
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660) and Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238) in further view of applicant’s admitted prior art (AAPA).
Regarding claim 2, Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the casing (180) is an epoxy resin.
AAPA discloses epoxy resin casings are well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the casing of Nguyen from an epoxy resin, since casing materials are selected based on design considerations and tradeoffs between cost, and mechanical properties.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 6, and 16, Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the scing circuit is an active balancing circuit.
AAPA discloses an active balancing circuit is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the module of Nguyen et al. using an active balancing circuit, since active balancing circuits have higher energy efficiency, improved life, faster balancing, and less heat generation than passive balancing circuits.
Claim(s) 8-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660) in view of Rowe (US 2006/0103368) and Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238).
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen et al. disclose a supercapacitor module comprising:
a first supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a first housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated – [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapacitor model BCAP3000), the first supercapacitor having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
a second supercapacitor (150) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration, an electrolyte, and a second housing containing the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (not illustrated – [0036] - Maxwell- Boostcap® Ultracapaci0tor model BCAP3000), the second supercapacitor (150) having a positive (240 or opposite 240) and a negative terminal (opposite 240 or 240);
an interconnect (270) electrically connecting the positive terminal of the first supercapacitor (150) and the negative terminal of the second supercapacitors (150) in series [0037], [0045]; and
a casing (180) encapsulating at least the first (150) and second (150) supercapacitors and the interconnect (270); wherein:
the operating voltage of the supercapacitor module is greater than 3.5 volts [0073]; and
the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm [0073].
Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the supercapacitor module is formed in a device comprising a meter.
Rowe discloses a device for measuring a flow of a product having a supercapacitor [0028] and a meter [0027].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device for measuring a flow of product having a high voltage supercapacitor with low ESR.
The modified Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first supercapacitor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprises first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector.
Bendale et al. disclose in fig. 10, a supercapacitor (title) comprising a first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) and second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004), wherein the first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) comprising a first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1002) and the second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004) comprising a second current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004), wherein the first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004”) is position such that it has first projecting portion (1020) that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of an electrode assembly (fig. 10 - fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Nguyen et al. so that the first supercapacitor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprises first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, since such a modification would produce a supercapacitor where a low resistance contact can be created between the electrode assembly and the external connection, and would produce a supercapacitor where capacitance and energy density can be maximized..
Regarding claim 9, Rowe discloses the meter is configured to measure a flow of electricity (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Nguyen et al. disclose the interconnect (270) comprises a passive balancing circuit [0057].
Claim(s) 1, and 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20170010234 – translation found in parent application 16275520) in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660) and Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a supercapacitor module comprising:
a first supercapacitor (310a, fig. 3c) including an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode ([0043], [0045]) and a second electrode ([0044], [0045]) having a jellyroll configuration (fig. 3c, @ 312), the first electrode [0043] comprising a first current collector (“positive electrode current collector”, [0043], [0045]) and the second electrode [0044] comprising a second current collector (“negative electrode current collector, [0044], [0045]) wherein the first current collector is positioned such that it has a first projection portion [0043] that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly ([0043], [0048] to be connected to 314)
an electrolyte [0052], and a first housing (317) containing the electrode assembly (@312) and the electrolyte [0052], the first supercapacitor having a positive (320a) and a negative terminal (330a);
a second supercapacitor (310b) including an electrode assembly comprising a first and second electrode [0043], [0044] having a jellyroll configuration (@312), the first electrode comprising a first current collector [0043] and the second electrode comprising a second current collector [0044];
an electrolyte [0052], and a second housing (317) containing the electrode assembly (@312) and the electrolyte [0052], the second supercapacitor (310b) having a positive (320b) and a negative terminal (330b);
an interconnect (340) electrically connecting the positive terminal (320a) of the first supercapacitor (310a) and the negative terminal (330b) of the second supercapacitors (310b) in series [0019]; and
a casing (fig. 1 or 1100) encapsulating at least the first (310a) and second (310b) supercapacitors and the interconnect (340);
and the operating voltage of the supercapacitor is greater than 3.5V [0007].
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 Ohms.
Nguyen et al. disclose a supercapacitor module wherein the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm [0073].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor module art to form the supercapacitor module of Kim et al. so that the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm, since such a modification would form a supercapacitor module having low ESR.
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first supercapacitor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprising first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector.
Bendale et al. disclose in fig. 10, a supercapacitor (title) comprising a first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) and second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004), wherein the first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) comprising a first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1002) and the second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004) comprising a second current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004), wherein the first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004”) is position such that it has first projecting portion (1020) that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of an electrode assembly (fig. 10 - fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Kim et al. so that the first supercapacitor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a length of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprises first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, since such a modification would produce a supercapacitor where capacitance and energy density can be maximized.
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. disclose at least one of the first supercapacitor (310a) or second supercapacitor (310b) comprises: a first electrode comprising a first current collector [0045] electrically coupled to a first carbonaceous coating [0045]; a second electrode [0045] comprising a second current collector [0045] electrically coupled to a second carbonaceous coating [0045]; and a separator [0042] positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode.
Claim(s) 2, 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20170010234 – translation found in parent application 16275520), and Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660), Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mizuike et al. (US 2012/0308831).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the casing comprising an epoxy resin.
Mizuike et al. disclose an epoxy resin composition for a capacitor housing [0056], wherein the epoxy resin composition comprises a curing agent (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of the modified Kim et al. using the composition of Mizuike et al., since such a modification would form the casing from a material that exhibits high stability at room temperature.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the casing comprising a curing agent.
Mizuike et al. disclose an epoxy resin composition for a capacitor housing [0056], wherein the epoxy resin composition comprises a curing agent (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of the modified Kim et al. using the composition of Mizuike et al., since such a modification would form the casing from a material that exhibits high stability at room temperature.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Kim et al. disclose the curing agent is an amine (Mizuike et al. - abstract).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20170010234 – translation found in parent application 16275520) in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660), Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238) and Rowe (US 2006/0103368).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. disclose in fig. 1 and 10, Kim et al. disclose a supercapacitor module comprising:
a first supercapacitor (310a, fig. 3c) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration (@ 312), an electrolyte [0052], and a first housing (317) containing the electrode assembly (@312) and the electrolyte [0052], the first supercapacitor having a positive (320a) and a negative terminal (330a);
a second supercapacitor (310b) including an electrode assembly having a jellyroll configuration (@312), an electrolyte [0052], and a second housing (317) containing the electrode assembly (@312) and the electrolyte [0052], the second supercapacitor (310b) having a positive (320b) and a negative terminal (330b);
an interconnect (340) electrically connecting the positive terminal (320a) of the first supercapacitor (310a) and the negative terminal (330b) of the second supercapacitors (310b) in series [0019]; and
a casing (fig. 1, 1100) encapsulating at least the first (310a) and second (310b) supercapacitors and the interconnect (340);
and the operating voltage of the supercapacitor is greater than 3.5V [0007].
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 Ohms.
Nguyen et al. disclose a supercapacitor module wherein the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm [0073].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor module art to form the supercapacitor module of Kim et al. so that the equivalent series resistance of the supercapacitor module is less than about 10 ohm, since such a modification would form a supercapacitor module having low ESR.
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first supercapacitor comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprising a first current collector and the second electrode comprising a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprising first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector.
Bendale et al. disclose in fig. 10, a supercapacitor (title) comprising a first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) and second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004), wherein the first electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1002) comprising a first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1002) and the second electrode (“aluminum collector”, “activated carbon”, 1004) comprising a second current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004), wherein the first current collector (“aluminum collector”, 1004”) is position such that it has first projecting portion (1020) that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of an electrode assembly (fig. 10 - fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the supercapacitor art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Kim et al. so that the first supercapacitor comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode comprising a first current collector and the second electrode comprising a second current collector, wherein the first current collector is position such that it has first projecting portion that projects beyond a longitudinal edge of the electrode assembly, and
the second supercapacitor comprising first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector and the second electrode comprises a second current collector, since such a modification would produce a supercapacitor where a low resistance contact can be created between the electrode assembly and an external connection, and would produce a supercapacitor where capacitance and energy density can be maximized.
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the supercapacitor module is used in a device for measuring a flow of a product, wherein the supercapacitor module is connected to a meter.
Rowe discloses a device for measuring a flow of a product having a supercapacitor [0028] and a meter [0027].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device for measuring a flow of product having a high voltage supercapacitor with low ESR.
Regarding claim 9, Rowe discloses the meter is configured to measure a flow of electricity (abstract).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20170010234 – translation found in parent application 16275520), Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660), Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238), and Rowe (US 2006/0103368) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Mizuike et al. (2012/0308831).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the casing comprising an epoxy resin.
Mizuike et al. disclose an epoxy resin composition for a capacitor housing [0056], wherein the epoxy resin composition comprises a curing agent (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of the modified Kim et al. using the composition of Mizuike et al., since such a modification would form the casing from a material that exhibits high stability at room temperature.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the casing comprising a curing agent.
Mizuike et al. disclose an epoxy resin composition for a capacitor housing [0056], wherein the epoxy resin composition comprises a curing agent (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of the modified Kim et al. using the composition of Mizuike et al., since such a modification would form the casing from a material that exhibits high stability at room temperature.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Kim et al. disclose the curing agent is an amine (Mizuike et al. - abstract).
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 2010/0265660), Bendale et al. (US 2003/0086238) and Rowe (US 2006/0103368) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Applicant’s admitted prior art (AAPA).
Regarding claim 10, Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the casing (180) is an epoxy resin.
AAPA discloses epoxy resin casings are well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the casing of Nguyen from an epoxy resin, since casing materials are selected based on design considerations and tradeoffs between cost, and mechanical properties.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the balancing circuit is an active balancing circuit.
AAPA discloses an active balancing circuit is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the module of Nguyen et al. using an active balancing circuit, since active balancing circuits have higher energy efficiency, improved life, faster balancing, and less heat generation than passive balancing circuits.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 101582334
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2848