DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/26/2026 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 05/26/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered and are addressed below. A new grounds of rejection is presented The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Nilsson does not teach that the TRP sends the UE a confirmation that the reported beam has been activated for communication, because the method of Nilsson terminates at the UE's transmission of the beam report, the TRP's subsequent actions are internal and uncommunicated to the UE.
Based on the amendments to the claim, further consideration was conducted resulting in the new ground of rejection presented below. The previously used prior art of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0286185), hereinafter “Zhang” discloses the amended features of claim 1 as shown below in the Office Action.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant further argues that Nilsson does not teach a step of receiving, by a terminal, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates for beam switching a first beam associated with at least one reference signal (RS) corresponding to a first reporting configuration, because the beam management report configuration does not indicate a particular beam.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nilsson recites in [0066] “the TRP 106 determines a beam management report configuration containing information about future TRP TX beam sweeps and signals 304 it to the UE 102”. “Information about future TRP TX beam sweeps” indicate more than one beam, thus at least indicating a particular beam. Nilsson further recites in [0066] “The configuration may comprise frequency granularity, i.e. the size of the subband that the UE 102 should report best TRP TX beam for, number of TRP TX beams”. The configuration comprises the size of the subband that the UE should report best TRP TX beam. The size is of a subband to report a particular beam. Thus, the configuration indicate at least a particular beam. Also, “number of TRP TX beams” indicate multiple beams which comprises a particular beam.
Regarding amended dependent claim 4, Applicant argues that paragraph [0066] of Nilsson does not pertain to beam switching but instead to beam sweeping and that “Beam sweeping is understood as a measurement step performed to determine a beam for beam switching”.
As Applicant indicates, beam sweeping is a measurement step to determine a beam for beam switching. Thus, the beam sweeping disclosed in paragraph [0066] of Nilsson is for beam switching. Additionally, paragraph [0034] of Nilsson recites “The CSI-RS for beam management may be transmitted periodically, semi-persistently, or aperiodic, event triggered, and they may be either shared between multiple UEs or may be UE-specific. In order to find a suitable TRP beam the TRP transmits CSI-RS in different TRP TX beams on which the UE performs Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurements and reports back the N best TRP TX beams”. This further indicates that the beam sweeping is for determining the best beams over time (i.e. switching a beam over time) periodically, semi-persistently or aperiodic, event triggered.
Regarding amended dependent claim 2, Applicant argues that Nilsson is directed to single-beam switching and Cheng is directed to multi-beam diversity, where these two approaches are technically incompatible, and “A person of ordinary skill in the art, seeking to implement the frequency-selective single-beam switching of Nilsson et al., would not look to the multi-beam diversity scheme of Cheng et al. for configuration details. Therefore, no motivation to combine exists”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nilsson is directed to UE receiving beam management report configuration from a TRP, receiving CSI-RS transmissions, performing measurements on the CSI-RS to generate a report, and transmitting a report back to the TRP (see Nilsson Fig. 5). Similarly, Cheng is directed to a UE receiving CSI configuration for beam scanning and reporting from a eNB, receiving beam scanning reference signals, deriving a reporting sets, and transmitting the reporting sets back to the eNB. Thus, Nilsson and Cheng are in the same field of invention. Additionally, Cheng recites in [0038] “The configuration indicates configurations of one or more transmit antenna ports at the base station, and includes information identifying reference signals that will be transmitted to the UE”. Thus, Cheng discloses the features in claim 2 “wherein the first reporting configuration comprises the at least one RS; or the first reporting configuration comprises a first RS, and the at least one RS is associated with the first RS”. The combination to combine includes the improved reliability and reduction in beam scanning time by reducing the chances that all transmission paths will be blocked by a single obstruction (Cheng, [0036]).
Regarding amended dependent claim 5, Applicant argues that the dwelling time in Zhou is not an effective time of communication of a beam, where the “dwelling time” in Zhou is a metric used for computing beam management periodicity.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou recites in [0113] “the second wireless device 610 may also measure one or more other parameters, such as…beam dwelling times”, in [0114] “the second wireless device 610 may determine one or more beam switch metrics. In some cases, such beam switch metrics may include one or more of…a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a transmission beam will have more favorable channel conditions than any other of the set of transmission beams of the first device, a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a receive beam of the second wireless device 610 will provide more favorable receive conditions than any of a set of other receive beams of the second wireless device 610” [0136] “beam switch metrics may include one or more of…a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a transmission beam will have more favorable channel conditions than any other of the set of transmission beams of the first device, a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a receive beam of the second device will provide more favorable receive conditions than any of a set of other receive beams of the second device”. The second wireless device measures the dwelling times of the transmit beams, where a dwelling time indicates an expected time duration during which a transmission beam will have more favorable channel conditions than any other of the set of transmission beams of the first device. Thus, the dwelling time determined by the second wireless device indicates a duration of communication of a beam.
Therefore, the independent claim 1, and dependent claims 2 and 4-5 are rendered unpatentable. The same rationale applies to independent claim 13, dependent claims 14, 16 and 17. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 13, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0228182), hereinafter “Nilsson” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0286185), hereinafter “Zhang”.
As to claim 1, Nilsson teaches a communication method (Nilsson, Fig. 5, [0057], a method for communication between a UE 102 and a network node 106), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, first indication information from a network device (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 304, [0059], the UE receives the beam management/reporting configuration from the network node), wherein the first indication information indicates for beam switching a first beam associated with at least one reference signal (RS) corresponding to a first reporting configuration (Nilsson, Fig. 5, [0066], the beam management/reporting configuration contains information about the future TRP TX beam sweeps, where the configuration comprises the number of TRP TX beams, if the RSRP should be reported, etc. The network node performs the TX beam sweep by transmitting (step 312) different CSI-RS in different TX beams);
performing, by the terminal, a measurement based on the first reporting configuration, to obtain a first measurement report (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 314, [0064], after receiving the beam management/reporting configuration (step 304), the UE performs measurements on the reference signals and determines a preferred or best beam);
sending, by the terminal, the first measurement report to the network device (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 316, [0065], the UE informs the network node of the determined best beam in a reporting message (e.g. best beam report)).
Nilsson teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 1, after sending the first measurement report, receiving, by the terminal device from the network device, an acknowledgment that the first beam is to be used for communication, wherein the acknowledgment is received in a second indication or a downlink control information (DCI) message.
However, Zhang teaches after sending the first measurement report (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0084]-[0088], [0091], [0105], the UE transmits beam report in phase II and III), receiving, by the terminal device from the network device, an acknowledgment that the first beam is to be used for communication (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0106]-[0111], in phase IV, the UE receives a UE grant that indicates a candidate beam that has been selected based on the beams reported by the UE. Fig. 7, [0126], “the network node can inform the terminal device of the selected serving beam, as shown in block 714. For example, the network node may transmit information about the selected serving beam to the terminal device, together with UL scheduling signaling (e.g., UL grant) for the terminal device”), wherein the acknowledgment is received in a second indication (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0106]-[0111], Fig. 7, [0126], the UE receives the indication/UE grant from the network node/gNB) or a downlink control information (DCI) message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson to have the features, as taught by Zhang in order to advantageously improve network performance and resource efficiency, and enhance flexibility of system configuration and implementation (Zhang, [0134]).
As to claim 4, Nilsson teaches wherein the first beam is for beam switching based on at least one of (Nilsson, [0034], the beam sweeping is to determine a best beam for beam switching over time. Fig. 5, [0066], the beam management/reporting configuration contains information about the future TRP TX beam sweeps, where the configuration comprises the number of TRP TX beams, if the RSRP should be reported, etc. The network node performs the TX beam sweep by transmitting (step 312) different CSI-RS in different TX beams):
a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the at least one RS being greater than a first threshold;
a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the at least one RS being greater than a second threshold;
a TCI state associated with the at least one RS being an activated TCI state;
the first reporting configuration being configuration information configured in a periodic manner (Nilsson, [0059], as shown in Fig. 5, step 304, the beam management/reporting configuration is not determined and transmitted periodically. Thus, it is an aperiodic configuration. [0034], [0063], the beam management/reporting configuration includes configuration for the CSI-RS transmissions, which are configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, event triggered);
the first reporting configuration being configuration information configured in a semi-persistence manner (Nilsson, [0059], as shown in Fig. 5, step 304, the beam management/reporting configuration is not determined and transmitted periodically. Thus, it is an aperiodic configuration. [0034], [0063], the beam management/reporting configuration includes configuration for the CSI-RS transmissions, which are configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, event triggered); or
the first reporting configuration being configuration information configured in an aperiodic configuration manner (Nilsson, [0059], as shown in Fig. 5, step 304, the beam management/reporting configuration is not determined and transmitted periodically. Thus, it is an aperiodic configuration. [0034], [0063], the beam management/reporting configuration includes configuration for the CSI-RS transmissions, which are configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, event triggered).
Nilsson teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 7, wherein after sending the first measurement report to the network device, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates that a beam indicated by the first measurement report has taken effect;
receiving, by the terminal, third indication information from the network device, wherein the third indication information indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a first duration; or
receiving, by the terminal, a first downlink control information (DCI) message from the network device, wherein the first DCI message indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a second duration.
As to claim 7, Zhang teaches wherein after sending the first measurement report to the network device (Zhang, Fig. 7A, [0115], “the network node can select a serving beam for a terminal device from candidate beams reported to the network node by the terminal device”), the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates that a beam indicated by the first measurement report has taken effect (Zhang, Fig. 7A, [0115], “the network node can select a serving beam for a terminal device from candidate beams reported to the network node by the terminal device”, [0126], “the network node can inform the terminal device of the selected serving beam, as shown in block 714. For example, the network node may transmit information about the selected serving beam to the terminal device, together with UL scheduling signaling”);
receiving, by the terminal, third indication information from the network device, wherein the third indication information indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a first duration; or
receiving, by the terminal, a first downlink control information (DCI) message from the network device, wherein the first DCI message indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a second duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson to have the features, as taught by Zhang in order to improve the resource utilization and system performance of a communication network for inter-cell interference avoidance (Zhang, [0081]).
As to claim 8, Nilsson teaches wherein before performing measurement to obtain the first measurement report (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 314, [0064], after receiving the beam management/reporting configuration (step 304), the UE performs measurements on the reference signals and determines a preferred or best beam), the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal from the network device, configuration information of the first reporting configuration (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 304, [0059], the UE receives the beam management/reporting configuration from the network node. [0061], step 308, “the network node 106 may transmit 308, an indication to the UE 102 that the beam management/reporting configuration is to be initiated”. Steps 304 and 308 are performed before the measurement step 314).
As to claim 11, Nilsson teaches wherein the configuration information of the first reporting configuration (Nilsson, Fig. 5, [0066], the information about the future TRP TX beam sweeps, the number of TRP TX beams, if the RSRP should be reported, etc.) and the first indication information (Nilsson, Fig. 5, the beam management/reporting configuration) are carried in a same message (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 304, [0059], [0066], the UE receives the beam management/reporting configuration from the network node, where the beam management/reporting configuration comprises information about the future TRP TX beam sweeps, the number of TRP TX beams, if the RSRP should be reported, etc.).
As to claim 13, Nilsson teaches a communication method (Nilsson, Fig. 5, [0057], a method for communication between a UE 102 and a network node 106), comprising:
sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 304, [0059], the UE receives the beam management/reporting configuration from the network node), wherein the first indication information indicates for beam switching a first beam associated with at least one reference signal (RS) corresponding to a first reporting configuration (Nilsson, Fig. 5, [0066], the beam management/reporting configuration contains information about the future TRP TX beam sweeps, where the configuration comprises the number of TRP TX beams, if the RSRP should be reported, etc. The network node performs the TX beam sweep by transmitting (step 312) different CSI-RS in different TX beams); and
receiving, by the network device, a first measurement report from the terminal, wherein the first measurement report includes a measurement result of the first reporting configuration (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 314, [0064], after receiving the beam management/reporting configuration (step 304), the UE performs measurements on the reference signals and determines a preferred or best beam. Step 316, [0065], the UE informs the network node of the determined best beam in a reporting message (e.g. best beam report)).
Nilsson teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 13, after receiving the first measurement report, sending, by the network device to the terminal, an acknowledgment that the first beam is to be used for communication, wherein the acknowledgment is sent in a second indication or a downlink control information (DCI) message.
However, Zhang teaches after receiving the first measurement report (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0084]-[0088], [0091], [0105], the UE transmits beam report in phase II and III), sending, by the network device to the terminal, an acknowledgment that the first beam is to be used for communication (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0106]-[0111], in phase IV, the UE receives a UE grant that indicates a candidate beam that has been selected based on the beams reported by the UE. Fig. 7, [0126], “the network node can inform the terminal device of the selected serving beam, as shown in block 714. For example, the network node may transmit information about the selected serving beam to the terminal device, together with UL scheduling signaling (e.g., UL grant) for the terminal device”), wherein the acknowledgment is sent in a second indication (Zhang, Fig. 5, [0106]-[0111], Fig. 7, [0126], the UE receives the indication/UE grant from the network node/gNB) or a downlink control information (DCI) message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson to have the features, as taught by Zhang in order to advantageously improve network performance and resource efficiency, and enhance flexibility of system configuration and implementation (Zhang, [0134]).
As to claim 16, Nilsson teaches wherein the first beam is for beam switching based on at least one of (Nilsson, [0034], the beam sweeping is to determine a best beam for beam switching over time. Fig. 5, [0066], the beam management/reporting configuration contains information about the future TRP TX beam sweeps, where the configuration comprises the number of TRP TX beams, if the RSRP should be reported, etc. The network node performs the TX beam sweep by transmitting (step 312) different CSI-RS in different TX beams):
a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the at least one RS being greater than a first threshold;
a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the at least one RS being greater than a second threshold;
a TCI state associated with the at least one RS being an activated TCI state;
the first reporting configuration being configuration information configured in a periodic manner (Nilsson, [0059], as shown in Fig. 5, step 304, the beam management/reporting configuration is not determined and transmitted periodically. Thus, it is an aperiodic configuration. [0034], [0063], the beam management/reporting configuration includes configuration for the CSI-RS transmissions, which are configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, event triggered);
the first reporting configuration being configuration information configured in a semi-persistence manner (Nilsson, [0059], as shown in Fig. 5, step 304, the beam management/reporting configuration is not determined and transmitted periodically. Thus, it is an aperiodic configuration. [0034], [0063], the beam management/reporting configuration includes configuration for the CSI-RS transmissions, which are configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, event triggered); or
the first reporting configuration being configuration information configured in an aperiodic configuration manner (Nilsson, [0059], as shown in Fig. 5, step 304, the beam management/reporting configuration is not determined and transmitted periodically. Thus, it is an aperiodic configuration. [0034], [0063], the beam management/reporting configuration includes configuration for the CSI-RS transmissions, which are configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, event triggered).
Nilsson teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 19, wherein after receiving the first measurement report from the terminal, the method further comprises:
sending, by the network device, second indication information to the terminal, wherein the second indication information indicates that a beam indicated by the first measurement report has taken effect;
sending, by the network device, third indication information to the terminal, wherein the third indication information indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a first duration; or
sending, by the network device, a first downlink control information (DCI) message to the terminal, wherein the first DCI message indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a second duration.
As to claim 19, Zhang teaches wherein after receiving the first measurement report from the terminal (Zhang, Fig. 7A, [0115], “the network node can select a serving beam for a terminal device from candidate beams reported to the network node by the terminal device”), the method further comprises:
sending, by the network device, second indication information to the terminal, wherein the second indication information indicates that a beam indicated by the first measurement report has taken effect (Zhang, Fig. 7A, [0115], “the network node can select a serving beam for a terminal device from candidate beams reported to the network node by the terminal device”, [0126], “the network node can inform the terminal device of the selected serving beam, as shown in block 714. For example, the network node may transmit information about the selected serving beam to the terminal device, together with UL scheduling signaling”);
sending, by the network device, third indication information to the terminal, wherein the third indication information indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a first duration; or
sending, by the network device, a first downlink control information (DCI) message to the terminal, wherein the first DCI message indicates that the first measurement report will take effect after a second duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson to have the features, as taught by Zhang in order to improve the resource utilization and system performance of a communication network for inter-cell interference avoidance (Zhang, [0081]).
As to claim 20, Nilsson teaches wherein before receiving the first measurement report (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 314, [0064], after receiving the beam management/reporting configuration (step 304), the UE performs measurements on the reference signals and determines a preferred or best beam), the method further comprises:
receiving, by the network device to the terminal, configuration information of the first reporting configuration (Nilsson, Fig. 5, step 304, [0059], the UE receives the beam management/reporting configuration from the network node. [0061], step 308, “the network node 106 may transmit 308, an indication to the UE 102 that the beam management/reporting configuration is to be initiated”. Steps 304 and 308 are performed before the measurement step 314).
Claims 2-3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0228182), hereinafter “Nilsson” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0286185), hereinafter “Zhang” and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2018/0006706), hereinafter “Cheng”.
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 2, wherein the first reporting configuration comprises the at least one RS; or
the first reporting configuration comprises a first RS associated with the at least one RS.
As to claim 2, Cheng teaches wherein the first reporting configuration comprises the at least one RS (Cheng, Fig. 6, [0038], “The configuration indicates configurations of one or more transmit antenna ports at the base station, and includes information identifying reference signals that will be transmitted to the UE”); or
the first reporting configuration comprises a first RS associated with the at least one RS (Cheng, Fig. 6, [0038], “The configuration indicates configurations of one or more transmit antenna ports at the base station, and includes information identifying reference signals that will be transmitted to the UE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Cheng in order to improve reliability and reduce beam scanning time by reducing the chances that all transmission paths will be blocked by a single obstruction (Cheng, [0036]).
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 3, wherein
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the at least one RS;
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first reporting configuration;
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a channel state information (CSI) resource list that is configured based on semi-persistence (SP), and the first indication information further indicates to activate the first reporting configuration in the CSI resource list;
the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first transmission configuration indicator state (TCI state) associated with the first reporting configuration; or
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a trigger state list, and the first indication information indicates an identifier of the first reporting configuration in the trigger state list.
As to claim 3, Cheng teaches wherein
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the at least one RS (Cheng, Fig. 6, [0038], “The configuration indicates configurations of one or more transmit antenna ports at the base station, and includes information identifying reference signals that will be transmitted to the UE”);
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first reporting configuration;
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a channel state information (CSI) resource list that is configured based on semi-persistence (SP), and the first indication information further indicates to activate the first reporting configuration in the CSI resource list;
the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first transmission configuration indicator state (TCI state) associated with the first reporting configuration; or
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a trigger state list, and the first indication information indicates an identifier of the first reporting configuration in the trigger state list.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Cheng in order to improve reliability and reduce beam scanning time by reducing the chances that all transmission paths will be blocked by a single obstruction (Cheng, [0036]).
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 14, wherein the first reporting configuration comprises the at least one RS; or
the first reporting configuration comprises a first RS associated with the at least one RS.
As to claim 14, Cheng teaches wherein the first reporting configuration comprises the at least one RS (Cheng, Fig. 6, [0038], “The configuration indicates configurations of one or more transmit antenna ports at the base station, and includes information identifying reference signals that will be transmitted to the UE”); or
the first reporting configuration comprises a first RS associated with the at least one RS (Cheng, Fig. 6, [0038], “The configuration indicates configurations of one or more transmit antenna ports at the base station, and includes information identifying reference signals that will be transmitted to the UE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Cheng in order to improve reliability and reduce beam scanning time by reducing the chances that all transmission paths will be blocked by a single obstruction (Cheng, [0036]).
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 15, wherein
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the at least one RS;
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first reporting configuration;
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a channel state information (CSI) resource list that is configured based on semi-persistence (SP), and the first indication information further indicates to activate the first reporting configuration in the CSI resource list;
the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first transmission configuration indicator state (TCI state) associated with the first reporting configuration; or
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a trigger state list, and the first indication information indicates an identifier of the first reporting configuration in the trigger state list.
As to claim 15, Cheng teaches wherein
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the at least one RS (Cheng, Fig. 6, [0038], “The configuration indicates configurations of one or more transmit antenna ports at the base station, and includes information identifying reference signals that will be transmitted to the UE”);
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first reporting configuration;
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a channel state information (CSI) resource list that is configured based on semi-persistence (SP), and the first indication information further indicates to activate the first reporting configuration in the CSI resource list;
the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first transmission configuration indicator state (TCI state) associated with the first reporting configuration; or
the first reporting configuration is comprised in a trigger state list, and the first indication information indicates an identifier of the first reporting configuration in the trigger state list.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Cheng in order to improve reliability and reduce beam scanning time by reducing the chances that all transmission paths will be blocked by a single obstruction (Cheng, [0036]).
Claims 5-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0228182), hereinafter “Nilsson” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0286185), hereinafter “Zhang” and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2020/0204237), hereinafter “Zhou”.
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 5, further comprising:
sending, by the terminal, first capability information to the network device, wherein the first capability information indicates an effective duration of communication of the first beam.
As to claim 5, Zhou teaches further comprising:
sending, by the terminal, first capability information to the network device (Zhou, Fig. 6, [0113] “the second wireless device 610 may also measure one or more other parameters, such as…beam dwelling times”, [0114], “The second wireless device 610 may transmit, at 630, a beam switch metrics report to the first wireless device 605”, Fig. 9, [0138], “The report manager 920 may transmit a report to the first device or a third device that indicates the one or more beam switch metrics”), wherein the first capability information indicates an effective duration of communication of the first beam (Zhou, [0136], “beam switch metrics may include one or more of…a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a transmission beam will have more favorable channel conditions than any other of the set of transmission beams of the first device, a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a receive beam of the second device will provide more favorable receive conditions than any of a set of other receive beams of the second device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide information that is otherwise unavailable to the first device and that is used for setting beam management parameters, such as resources for reference signal transmissions, beam directions and periodicity of changes of preferred transmission beams (Zhou, [0005]).
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 6, wherein before an effective moment corresponding to the effective duration of the first beam, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, second TCI state information from the network device, wherein a second beam corresponding to an RS indicated by the second TCI state information is for beam switching; and
receiving, by the terminal, downlink data using the second beam.
As to claim 6, Zhou teaches wherein before an effective moment corresponding to the effective duration of the first beam (Zhou, [0136], before the time durations during which a transmission beam and receive beam will provide more favorable conditions, corresponding to the dwelling times, [0088], the UE receives the TCI states to configure the beam for downlink transmission), the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, second TCI state information from the network device (Zhou, [0088], “By configuring the TCI states at the UE 115, the base station 105 can dynamically select beams for downlink transmission to the UE 115, and the UE 115 can select the corresponding receive beam to receive the downlink transmission”. The base station configures the UE with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configurations), wherein a second beam corresponding to an RS indicated by the second TCI state information is for beam switching (Zhou, [0088], “Different TCI states, distinguished by different values of the TCI, may correspond to quasi co-location (QCL) relationships with different reference signal transmissions. For example, each TCI state may be associated with one of the previously received reference signals. The TCI state may provide a spatial QCL reference that the UE 115 can use to set the receive beam”. A TCI state correspond to a reference signal and receive beam); and
receiving, by the terminal, downlink data using the second beam (Zhou, [0088], “By configuring the TCI states at the UE 115, the base station 105 can dynamically select beams for downlink transmission to the UE 115, and the UE 115 can select the corresponding receive beam to receive the downlink transmission”. The TCI state is used to receive a downlink transmission via the corresponding beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide information that is otherwise unavailable to the first device and that is used for setting beam management parameters, such as resources for reference signal transmissions, beam directions and periodicity of changes of preferred transmission beams (Zhou, [0005]).
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 17, further comprising:
receiving, by the network device, first capability information from the terminal device, wherein the first capability information indicates an effective duration of the first beam.
As to claim 17, Zhou teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the network device, first capability information from the terminal (Zhou, Fig. 6, [0113] “the second wireless device 610 may also measure one or more other parameters, such as…beam dwelling times”, [0114], “The second wireless device 610 may transmit, at 630, a beam switch metrics report to the first wireless device 605”, Fig. 9, [0138], “The report manager 920 may transmit a report to the first device or a third device that indicates the one or more beam switch metrics”), wherein the first capability information indicates an effective duration of the first beam (Zhou, [0136], “beam switch metrics may include one or more of…a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a transmission beam will have more favorable channel conditions than any other of the set of transmission beams of the first device, a dwelling time that indicates an expected time duration during which a receive beam of the second device will provide more favorable receive conditions than any of a set of other receive beams of the second device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide information that is otherwise unavailable to the first device and that is used for setting beam management parameters, such as resources for reference signal transmissions, beam directions and periodicity of changes of preferred transmission beams (Zhou, [0005]).
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 18, wherein before an effective moment corresponding to the effective duration of the first beam, the method further comprises:
sending, by the network device, second TCI state information to the terminal, wherein a second beam corresponding to an RS indicated by the second TCI state information is for beam switching; and
sending, by the network device, downlink data using the second beam.
As to claim 18, Zhou teaches wherein before an effective moment corresponding to the effective duration of the first beam (Zhou, [0136], before the time durations during which a transmission beam and receive beam will provide more favorable conditions, corresponding to the dwelling times, [0088], the UE receives the TCI states to configure the beam for downlink transmission), the method further comprises:
sending, by the network device, second TCI state information to the terminal (Zhou, [0088], “By configuring the TCI states at the UE 115, the base station 105 can dynamically select beams for downlink transmission to the UE 115, and the UE 115 can select the corresponding receive beam to receive the downlink transmission”. The base station configures the UE with transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configurations), wherein a second beam corresponding to an RS indicated by the second TCI state information is for beam switching (Zhou, [0088], “Different TCI states, distinguished by different values of the TCI, may correspond to quasi co-location (QCL) relationships with different reference signal transmissions. For example, each TCI state may be associated with one of the previously received reference signals. The TCI state may provide a spatial QCL reference that the UE 115 can use to set the receive beam”. A TCI state correspond to a reference signal and receive beam); and
sending, by the network device, downlink data using the second beam (Zhou, [0088], “By configuring the TCI states at the UE 115, the base station 105 can dynamically select beams for downlink transmission to the UE 115, and the UE 115 can select the corresponding receive beam to receive the downlink transmission”. The TCI state is used to receive a downlink transmission via the corresponding beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Zhou in order to provide information that is otherwise unavailable to the first device and that is used for setting beam management parameters, such as resources for reference signal transmissions, beam directions and periodicity of changes of preferred transmission beams (Zhou, [0005]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0228182), hereinafter “Nilsson” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0286185), hereinafter “Zhang” and further in view of Venugopal et al. (US 2021/0194545), hereinafter “Venugopal”.
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 9, wherein the configuration information of the first reporting configuration comprises at least one of:
a TCI state identifier indicating a TCI state associated with the first reporting configuration;
a physical cell identifier (PCI) indicating a physical cell corresponding to the first beam;
a first field that indicates that the first beam is for beam switching; or
a second field that indicates that the first beam is for beam switching of a plurality of component carriers (CCs).
As to claim 9, Venugopal teaches wherein the configuration information of the first reporting configuration comprises at least one of:
a TCI state identifier indicating a TCI state associated with the first reporting configuration (Venugopal, [0099], “the UE 404 may transmit the report 532 in a configured reporting instance and/or on at least one configured reporting resource, such as at least one spatial resource (e.g., a configured beam or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state), time resource, and/or frequency resource”);
a physical cell identifier (PCI) indicating a physical cell corresponding to the first beam;
a first field that indicates that the first beam is for beam switching; or
a second field that indicates that the first beam is for beam switching of a plurality of component carriers (CCs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Venugopal in order to improve the configuration of MIMO communication by dynamically indicating metrics based on operational states of channels between base stations and UEs (Venugopal, [0041]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0228182), hereinafter “Nilsson” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0286185), hereinafter “Zhang” and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2016/0373178), hereinafter “Nam”.
As to claim 10, Nilsson teaches wherein the configuration information of the first reporting configuration is carried in second DCI (Nilsson, Fig. 5, [0061], step 308, “the network node 106 may transmit 308, an indication to the UE 102 that the beam management/reporting configuration is to be initiated”, [0066], “The TRP 106 then triggers 306 a TRP TX beam sweep procedure by pointing in DCI to the already signaled beam management report configuration”).
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 10, second DCI for scheduling data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Nam teaches second DCI for scheduling data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Nam, [0180], “…aperiodic CSI reporting configuration…When the PMI reporting is performed on PUSCH, which is triggered by aperiodic CSI trigger carried in a UL grant DCI (DCI format 0 or 4), the UE reports all the PMI indices (either three or four dependent upon the condition) on the PUSCH scheduled by the UL grant DCI”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Nam in order to decrease propagation loss of the radio waves and increase the transmission distance (Nam, [0031]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al. (US 2020/0228182), hereinafter “Nilsson” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0286185), hereinafter “Zhang” and further in view of Duan et al. (US 2021/0105106), hereinafter “Duan”.
Nilsson and Zhang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Nilsson and Zhang do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 12, wherein the at least one RS comprises a tracking reference signal (TRS), the TRS is not repeatedly configured, and there is a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship between the TRS and a first synchronization signal block (SSB).
As to claim 12, Duan teaches wherein the at least one RS comprises a tracking reference signal (TRS) ([0018], “the aperiodic tracking reference signal”), the TRS is not repeatedly configured ([0018], “downlink control information that includes…a trigger for an aperiodic tracking reference signal in at least the first slot and a second slot, transmitting a first instance of the aperiodic tracking reference signal in the first slot and a second instance of the aperiodic tracking reference signal in the second slot, where a same first set of large scale transmission parameters is used for both the first instance of the aperiodic tracking reference signal and the second instance of the aperiodic tracking reference signal”. The same transmission parameters are used for multiple TRS signals. Thus, the TRS are not repeatedly configured), and there is a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship between the TRS and a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (Duan, [0037], “The periodic TRS large scale parameters may have a QCL source that can be a synchronization signal block (SSB) (e.g., for QCL Type-C or QCL Type-D parameters), or a SSB (e.g., for QCL Type-C parameters) and a CSI-RS for beam management (e.g., for QCL Type-D parameters)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson and Zhang to have the features, as taught by Duan in order to allow for efficient aperiodic TRS configuration with relatively low overhead that provides a better matching of large scale parameters (e.g., QCL parameters) for PDSCH transmissions and processing gains that result from a same set of large scale parameters being used for multiple instances of TRSs (Duan, [0038]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473