Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below. Claims 1 and 9-13 have been amended. Claim 7 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-14 are drawn to a machine. Claim 9 is drawn to a process. As such, claims 1-6 and 8-14 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 1: A medical information processing device, comprising processing circuitry including a processor, and a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, the first priority order list being information indicating a first priority order associated with details of work of a terminal, the second priority list being information indicating a second priority order associated with details of an examination of a medical image diagnostic device, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
acquire a call request, transmitted by the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device;
acquire details of work being performed by a plurality of users, respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users when the call request has been acquired;
acquire details of the examination of the medical image diagnostic device, which is currently being executed or is to be executed in the future by each of the plurality of users, based on a schedule or an operating state of the medical image diagnostic device;
read out first priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of the work of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the first priority order list;
read out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the second priority order list;
calculate a notification priority for each of the users based on the first priority orders and the second priority orders, and, in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is a specific examination, adjust the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users;
and drive the plurality of terminals to execute a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority.
Independent Claim 9: A medical information processing method, using a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, the first priority order list being information indicating a first priority order associated with details of work of a terminal, the second priority list being information indicating a second priority order associated with details of an examination of a medical image diagnostic device, the method comprising:
acquiring, by a computer, a call request, transmitted from the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device;
acquiring, by the computer, details of work being performed by a plurality of users respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users when the call request has been acquired;
acquiring, by the computer, details of the examination of the medical image diagnostic device, which is currently executed or is to be executed in the future by each of the plurality of users, based on a schedule or an operating state of the medical image diagnostic device;
reading out, by the computer, first priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of the work of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the first priority order list;
reading out, by the computer second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the second priority order list;
calculating, by the computer, a notification priority for each of the users based on the first priority orders and the second priority orders, and, in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is a specific examination, adjusting the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users;
and driving, by the computer, to the plurality of terminals to execute a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority.
Independent Claim 10: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, the first priority order list being information indicating a first priority order associated with details of work of a terminal, the second priority list being information indicating a second priority order associated with details of an examination of a medical image diagnostic device, the program causing the computer to:
acquire a call request, transmitted from the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device;
acquire details of work being performed by a plurality of users, respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users when the call request has been acquired;
acquire details of the examination of the medical image diagnostic device, which is currently executed or is to be executed in the future by each of the plurality of users, based on a schedule or an operating state of the medical image diagnostic device;
read out first priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of the work acquired of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the first priority order list;
read out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the second priority order list;
calculate a notification priority for each of the users based on the first priority orders and the second priority orders, and, in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is a specific examination, adjust the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users;
and drive the plurality of terminals to execute a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority.
(Examiner notes: The above claim terms underlined are additional elements that fall under Step 2A - Prong Two analysis section detailed below)
These steps amount to methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people). Therefore, acquiring a call request for calling a user, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquiring details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, reading out first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for each of the users based on the first and second priority orders, adjusting the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior.
The dependent claim 2 is directed to calculate the notification priority based on the acquired details of work of the plurality of users, including the details of work being performed by the users at a time of calculating the notification priority.
The dependent claim 3 is directed to calculate the notification priority based on the details of work of the plurality of users, including details of work scheduled to be performed by the users in the future.
The dependent claim 4 is directed to the notification information is information for causing each of the plurality of terminals to output the call notification, in which stimulation to be given to user is increased as the notification priority increases.
The dependent claim 5 is directed to a case in which the notification priority for the plurality of users is common, to cause the output a particular call notification of a notification level providing a strongest stimulation to the plurality of users from among a plurality of notification levels to be selected.
The dependent claim 6 is directed to the call notification includes at least one sound, vibration, or light emission output.
The dependent claim 11 is directed to calculate the notification priority by adding a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of the second priority orders.
The dependent claim 12 is directed to calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders by a value of the second priority orders.
The dependent claim 13 is directed to calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of one of the second priority orders by a coefficient, respectively, and by adding multiplication results obtained thereby or multiplying one of the multiplication results by another of the multiplication results.
The dependent claim 14 is directed to transmitting the call request when a fault occurs or when an abnormality occurs in the subject.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 2-6, 8, and 11-14 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1 and 9-10 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim and utilize the additional elements analyzed below in the expected manner.
As such, the Examiner concludes that the preceding claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claims 1 and 14 recite the use of a medical information processing device, in this case to acquire a call request for calling a user, acquire details of work of a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquire details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, read out first priority orders corresponding to the details of work acquired, read out a second priority order corresponding to the details of examination acquired, calculate a notification priority for each the first priority orders and second priority orders, only recites the medical information processing device as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1-2 and 11-13 recite the use of a processing circuitry including a processor and a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, in this case to calculate the notification priority based on the acquired details of work including details of work being performed at a time of calculating the notification priority, calculate the notification priority based on the details of work including details of work scheduled to be performed, calculate the notification priority by adding a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of the second priority order, calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders by a value of the second priority order, and calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of the second priority order by a coefficient, and by adding multiplication results obtained thereby or multiplying one of the multiplication results by another of the multiplication results, only recites the processing circuitry including a processor and a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1, 9-10, and 14 recite the use of a medical image diagnostic device, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-10 recite the use of a plurality of terminals, in this case to output the call notification in which stimulation to be increased as the notification priority increases, output a particular call notification of a notification level providing a strongest stimulation from a plurality of notification levels to be selected, only recites the plurality of terminals as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 8 recites the use of a medical information processing device is built into the medical image diagnostic device, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 9 recites the use of a memory storing a first priority order list and a second priority order list. The claim further recites the use of a computer, in this case to acquiring a call request for calling a user, acquiring details of work of a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquiring details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, reading out first priority orders corresponding to the details of work acquired, reading out a second priority order corresponding to the details of examination acquired, calculating a notification priority for each the first priority orders and second priority orders. The memory storing a first priority order list and a second priority order list and the computer are only recited as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 10 recites the use of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, in this case to acquire a call request for calling a user, acquiring details of work of a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquire details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, read out first priority orders corresponding to the details of work acquired, read out a second priority order corresponding to the details of examination acquired, calculate a notification priority for each the first priority orders and second priority orders, only recites the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 14 recites the use of an X-ray scanner, an X-ray Computed Tomography (CT) scanner, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner, an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and a nuclear medicine diagnostic device, only being used in its ordinary capacity and is merely a tool to execute the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements, such as the medical information processing device, processing circuitry including a processor and a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, medical image diagnostic device, plurality of terminals, the medical information processing device is built into the medical image diagnostic device, memory storing a first priority order list and a second priority order list, computer, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, X-ray scanner, an X-ray Computed Tomography (CT) scanner, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner, an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and a nuclear medicine diagnostic device in independent claims 1, 9, and 10 and dependent claims 2-6, 8, and 11-14 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer. Each of these elements is only recited as a tool for performing steps of the abstract idea, such as the use of the computer and data processing devices to apply the algorithm. These additional elements therefore only amount to mere instructions to perform the abstract idea using a computer and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2016.05(f) see for additional guidance on the “mere instructions to apply an exception”). Each additional element under Step 2A, Prong 2 is analyzed in light of the specification’s explanation of the additional element’s structure. The claimed invention’s additional elements are directed to generic computer component and functions being used to perform the abstract idea.
Applicant’s own disclosure on page 10 acknowledges that the “medical information processing device 100 includes, for example, a communication interface 110, an input interface 120, a display 130, processing circuitry 140, and a memory 150." Pages 11-12 of the disclosure acknowledges that the “processing circuitry 140 realizes these functions by, for example, a hardware processor (computer) executing a program stored in the memory (storage circuit) 150…The hardware processor means, for example, circuitry such as a CPU, a graphics processing unit (GPU), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or a programmable logic device (for example, a simple programmable logic device (SPLD) or a complex programmable logic device (CPLD)), or a field programmable gate array (FPGA).” Additionally, page 1 and 5 disclose “a medical image diagnostic device (hereinafter, as a modality)… Examples of the modality 40 include an X-ray computed tomography device, an X-ray diagnostic device, a magnetic resonance imaging device, an ultrasound diagnostic device, a nuclear medicine diagnostic device, and the like. The modality 40 includes, for example, a pedestal, a bed, and a console.” Page 7 acknowledges the “tablet terminal 50 includes, for example, a communication interface 51, a touch panel 52, a control circuit 53, a notification device 54, and a memory 55. The notification device 54 includes, for example, a speaker 56, a vibrator 57, and a light emitting device 58." Furthermore, page 4 of the disclosure acknowledges that “a computer such as a server device or a client terminal equipped with a processor such as a central processing unit (CPU), a memory such as a read only memory (ROM) or a random access memory (RAM), a display, an input interface, and a communication interface." Additionally, page 12 discloses “a non-transitory storage medium such as a DVD or a CD-ROM.”
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-6 and 8-14 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOKAWA (US-20210389980-A1)[hereinafter Shimokawa], in view of MOJAHED (US-20220165400-A1)[hereinafter Mojahed], in view of CHAMARTHI et al. (US-20230187087-A1)[hereinafter Chamarthi].
As per Claim 1, Shimokawa discloses a medical information processing device, comprising processing circuitry including a processor, and a memory in which a first priority order list are stored, the first priority order list being information indicating a first priority order associated with details of work of a terminal in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0024] and [0030-0031] and [0047] and [0069] (a task decision assist system (synonymous to a medical information processing device) including a central processing unit (synonymous to a processing circuitry) including a processor, and a memory in which the priority order of tasks (synonymous to the first priority order list) is stored, the priority order of tasks indicating a first priority order associated with the type and content of a task (synonymous to details of work) of a user terminal), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: acquire details of work being performed by a plurality of users, respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users in paragraphs [0024] and [0026] and [0028] and [0031] and [0051] and [0055] and claim 1 and claim 7 (acquire the type and content of a task (synonymous to details of work being performed) of a plurality of users, based on the operation (synonymous to usage statuses) of a plurality of user terminals used by the user (Examiner notes that any of the plurality of users can be notified through the user terminal, which indicates there is a plurality of user terminals)); read out first priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of the work of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the first priority order list in paragraphs [0021] and [0031] (provides the priority order corresponding to the acquired type and content of a task of the plurality of users, from the memory by referring to the priority order of tasks); calculate a notification priority for each of the users based on the first priority orders in paragraphs [0030-0032] and [0037] and [0056-0057] (calculate the priority order of tasks assigned via the displayed notification message according to the priority order).
Shimokawa does not disclose the following limitations. However, Mojahed discloses a medical information processing device, comprising processing circuitry including a processor, and a memory in which a second priority order list are stored, the second priority list being information indicating a second priority order associated with details of an examination of a medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0024] and [0026-0032] and [0044-0049] and [0056-0057] (a medical imaging scanning host computer (synonymous to a medical information processing device), including a processor and a memory in which a priority list (synonymous to a second priority list) is stored, the priority list being information indicating a priority order associated with details of the examinations of the medical imaging devices), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: acquire a call request, transmitted by the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0034-0036] (a trigger for notification (synonymous to a call request) is transmitted by the medical imaging device to notify the approved recipient, referred to as a physician or radiologist); acquire details of the examination of the medical image diagnostic device, which is currently being executed or is to be executed in the future by each of the plurality of users, based on a schedule or an operating state of the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0024] and [0032] and [0042] and [0050] (acquire details of the examination of the medical imaging device, which is currently being executed by a plurality of physicians or radiologists, based on the medical imaging scan status (Examiner notes that the system provides real-time notifications during the medical imaging examination of the medical imaging device, which indicates the medical imaging device currently being executed)); read out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the second priority order list in paragraphs [0044-0045] and [0047] and [0051] and [0069] (provides the priority order corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of physicians or radiologists, from the memory by referring to the priority list); calculate a notification priority for each of the users based on the second priority orders in paragraphs [0043-0044] and [0047-0049] (determine the notification priority for each approved recipient based on the priority order); and drive the plurality of terminals to execute a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority in paragraphs [0043-0044] and [0058] and [0065] and [0068] (the communication devices (synonymous to the plurality of terminals) receive notification information which causes a notification output (synonymous to a call notification) according to the calculated notification priority (Examiner notes that the communication devices receiving notification information which causes the communication devices to output a notification indicates the communication devices executing a call notification operation)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, to be combined with a medical information processing device storing a second priority order list, wherein the second priority order list indicates a second priority order associated with details of an examination of the medical image diagnostic device, acquiring a call request, reading out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination, calculating a notification priority based on the second priority order, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority, as disclosed by Mojahed, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of radiologists assessing medical images and making clinical findings [0002-0006].
The combination of Shimokawa and Mojahed discloses acquiring a call request for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users, but does not disclose acquiring details of work being performed when the call request has been acquired. Also, the combination does not disclose in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users. However, Chamarthi discloses acquire a call request for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0020] and [0025] (acquire a UI pop up for calling a supertech to the imaging modality); acquire details of work being performed by a plurality of users, respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users when the call request has been acquired in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0025-0026] and [0050] (acquire details of work performed by a plurality of supertechs, based on availability (synonymous to usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by users) when the UI pop up for calling a supertech has been acquired); and, in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is a specific examination, adjust the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users in paragraphs [0021-0023] and [0025-0026] and [0028] and [0039] and [0041] and [0046] and Figure 3 (when the imaging examination of the imaging modality (synonymous to the medical image diagnostic device) is a specific examination, ranks the available supertechs (synonymous to an user) with more experience of a modality (synonymous to an attribute suitable for the specific examination) higher than when the imaging examination of the imaging modality is not a specific examination based on the supertech information including their experience levels (Examiner notes that the highest ranked supertechs receive the UI pop up (synonymous to a notification), therefore, indicating that ranking the supertechs adjusts the notification priority)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the medical information processing device, comprising processing circuitry including a processor, and a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority list are stored, acquiring a call request, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users, acquiring details of examinations of the medical image diagnostic device based on a schedule or operating state of the medical image diagnostic device, reading out the first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for the users based on the first and second priority orders, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority of Shimokawa and Mojahed with acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users when the call request has been acquired and in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users as taught by Chamarthi since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical information processing device, comprising processing circuitry including a processor, and a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority list are stored, acquiring a call request, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users when the call request has been acquired, acquiring details of examinations of the medical image diagnostic device based on a schedule or operating state of the medical image diagnostic device, reading out the first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for the users based on the first and second priority orders, in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority.
As per Claim 2, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to Shimokawa also discloses calculate the notification priority based on the acquired details of work of the plurality of users, including details of work being performed by the users at a time of calculating the notification priority in paragraphs [0030-0032] and [0037] and [0056-0057] (calculate the priority order of tasks assigned via the displayed notification message according to the type and content of a task (synonymous to the acquired details of work) of the users, wherein the priority order of tasks includes the execution of the current task).
As per Claim 4, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa does not disclose the following limitations. However, Mojahed discloses wherein the notification information is information for causing each of the plurality of terminals to output the call notification, in which stimulation to be given to the user is increased as the notification priority increases in paragraph [0043] (the notification information is information causing the communication devices to output a notification, in which the notification frequency is increased as the urgency increases (Examiner notes that the increased notification frequency indicates the increasing stimulation given to the users in a case of an emergency situation, wherein the priority of being notified would increase for higher priority patients)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, to be combined with the notification information causing the plurality of terminals to output the call notification, in which stimulation is increased as the notification priority increases, as disclosed by Mojahed, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of radiologists assessing medical images and making clinical findings [0002-0006].
As per Claim 6, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa does not disclose the following limitations. However, Mojahed discloses wherein the call notification includes at least one of sound, vibration, or light emission output by the plurality of terminals in paragraphs [0042-0043] (the notification can be higher-pitched tones (synonymous to sound output) by the communication devices).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, to be combined with the call notification including a sound, vibration, or light emission output, as disclosed by Mojahed, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of radiologists assessing medical images and making clinical findings [0002-0006].
As per Claim 9, Shimokawa discloses a medical information processing method, using a memory in which a first priority order list are stored, the first priority order list being information indicating a first priority order associated with details of work of a terminal in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0030-0031] and [0047] and [0069] and claim 12 (a medical information processing method using a memory in which the priority order of tasks (synonymous to the first priority order list) is stored, the priority order of tasks indicating a first priority order associated with the type and content of a task (synonymous to details of work) of a user), the method comprising: acquiring, by the computer, details of work being performed by a plurality of users respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users in paragraphs[0024] and [0026] and [0028] and [0031] and [0051] and [0055] and claim 1 and claim 7 (acquire the type and content of a task (synonymous to details of work being performed) of a plurality of users, based on the operation (synonymous to usage statuses) of a plurality of user terminals used by the user (Examiner notes that any of the plurality of users can be notified through the user terminal, which indicates there is a plurality of user terminals)); reading out, by the computer, first priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of the work of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the first priority order list in paragraphs [0021] and [0031] (provides the priority order corresponding to the acquired type and content of a task of the plurality of users, from the memory by referring to the priority order of tasks); calculating, by the computer, a notification priority for each of the users based on the first priority orders in paragraphs [0030-0032] and [0037] and [0056-0057] (calculate the priority order of tasks assigned via the displayed notification message according to the priority order).
Shimokawa does not disclose the following limitations. However, Mojahed discloses a medical information processing method, using a memory in which a second priority order list are stored, the second priority list being information indicating a second priority order associated with details of an examination of a medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0024-0025] and [0026-0032] and [0044-0049] and [0056-0057] (a method using medical imaging scanning host computer, including a memory in which a priority list (synonymous to a second priority list) is stored, the priority list being information indicating a priority order associated with details of the examinations of the medical imaging devices), the method comprising: acquiring, by a computer, a call request, transmitted from the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0034-0036] (a trigger for notification (synonymous to a call request) is transmitted by the medical imaging device to notify the approved recipient, referred to as a physician or radiologist); acquiring, by the computer, details of the examination of the medical image diagnostic device, which is currently executed or is to be executed in the future by each of the plurality of users, based on a schedule or an operating state of the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0024] and [0032]and [0042]and [0050] (acquire details of the examination of the medical imaging device, which is currently being executed by a plurality of physicians or radiologists, based on the medical imaging scan status (Examiner notes that the system provides real-time notifications during the medical imaging examination of the medical imaging device, which indicates the medical imaging device currently being executed)); reading out, by the computer second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the second priority order list in paragraphs [0044-0045] and [0047] and [0051] and [0069] (provides the priority order corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of physicians or radiologists, from the memory by referring to the priority list); calculating, by the computer, a notification priority for each of the users based on the second priority orders in paragraphs [0043-0044] and [0047-0049] (determine the notification priority for each approved recipient based on the priority order); and driving, by the computer, to the plurality of terminals to execute a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority in paragraphs [0043-0044] and [0058] and [0065] and [0068] (the communication devices (synonymous to the plurality of terminals) receive notification information which causes a notification output (synonymous to a call notification) according to the calculated notification priority (Examiner notes that the communication devices receiving notification information which causes the communication devices to output a notification indicates the communication devices executing a call notification operation)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing method storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, to be combined with a medical information processing device storing a second priority order list, wherein the second priority order list indicates a second priority order associated with details of an examination of the medical image diagnostic device, acquiring a call request, reading out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination, calculating a notification priority based on the second priority order, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority, as disclosed by Mojahed, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of radiologists assessing medical images and making clinical findings [0002-0006].
The combination of Shimokawa and Mojahed discloses acquiring a call request for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users, but does not disclose acquiring details of work being performed when the call request has been acquired. Also, the combination does not disclose in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users. However, Chamarthi discloses acquiring, by a computer, a call request, transmitted from the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs[0020] and [0025] (acquire a UI pop up for calling a supertech to the imaging modality); acquiring, by the computer, details of work being performed by a plurality of users respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users when the call request has been acquired in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0025-0026] and [0050] (acquire details of work performed by a plurality of supertechs, based on availability (synonymous to usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by users) when the UI pop up for calling a supertech has been acquired); and, in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is a specific examination, adjusting the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users in paragraphs [0021-0023] and [0025-0026] and [0028] and [0039] and [0041] and [0046] and Figure 3 (when the imaging examination of the imaging modality (synonymous to the medical image diagnostic device) is a specific examination, ranks the available supertechs (synonymous to an user) with more experience of a modality (synonymous to an attribute suitable for the specific examination) higher than when the imaging examination of the imaging modality is not a specific examination based on the supertech information including their experience levels (Examiner notes that the highest ranked supertechs receive the UI pop up (synonymous to a notification), therefore, indicating that ranking the supertechs adjusts the notification priority)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the medical information processing method, using a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority list are stored, acquiring a call request, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users, acquiring details of examinations of the medical image diagnostic device based on a schedule or operating state of the medical image diagnostic device, reading out the first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for the users based on the first and second priority orders, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority of Shimokawa and Mojahed with acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users when the call request has been acquired and in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users as taught by Chamarthi since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a medical information processing method, using a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority list are stored, acquiring a call request, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users when the call request has been acquired, acquiring details of examinations of the medical image diagnostic device based on a schedule or operating state of the medical image diagnostic device, reading out the first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for the users based on the first and second priority orders, in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority.
As per Claim 10, Shimokawa discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list are stored, the first priority order list being information indicating a first priority order associated with details of work of a terminal in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0030-0031] and [0047] and [0069] (storages, including random access memory and read-only memory (synonymous to non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums), storing programs executed by the central processing unit with access to a memory in which the priority order of tasks (synonymous to the first priority order list) is stored, the priority order of tasks indicating a first priority order associated with the type and content of a task (synonymous to details of work) of a user), the program causing the computer to: acquire details of work being performed by a plurality of users, respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users in paragraphs [0024] and [0026] and [0028] and [0031] and [0051] and [0055] and claim 1 and claim 7 (acquire the type and content of a task (synonymous to details of work being performed) of a plurality of users, based on the operation (synonymous to usage statuses) of a plurality of user terminals used by the user (Examiner notes that any of the plurality of users can be notified through the user terminal, which indicates there is a plurality of user terminals)); read out first priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of the work acquired of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the first priority order list in paragraphs [0021] and [0031] (provides the priority order corresponding to the acquired type and content of a task of the plurality of users, from the memory by referring to the priority order of tasks); calculate a notification priority for each of the users based on the first priority orders in paragraphs[0030-0032] and [0037] and [0056-0057] (calculate the priority order of tasks assigned via the displayed notification message according to the priority order).
Shimokawa does not disclose the following limitations. However, Mojahed discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a second priority order list are stored, the second priority list being information indicating a second priority order associated with details of an examination of a medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0010] and [0024] and [0026-0032] and [0044-0049] and [0056-0057] (a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executed by a processor with access to a memory in which a priority list (synonymous to a second priority list) is stored, the priority list being information indicating a priority order associated with details of the examinations of the medical imaging devices), the program causing the computer to: acquire a call request, transmitted from the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0034-0036] (a trigger for notification (synonymous to a call request) is transmitted by the medical imaging device to notify the approved recipient, referred to as a physician or radiologist); acquire details of the examination of the medical image diagnostic device, which is currently executed or is to be executed in the future by each of the plurality of users, based on a schedule or an operating state of the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0024] and [0032]and [0042]and [0050] (acquire details of the examination of the medical imaging device, which is currently being executed by a plurality of physicians or radiologists, based on the medical imaging scan status (Examiner notes that the system provides real-time notifications during the medical imaging examination of the medical imaging device, which indicates the medical imaging device currently being executed)); read out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of users, respectively, from the memory by referring to the second priority order list in paragraphs [0044-0045] and [0047] and [0051] and [0069] (provides the priority order corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of physicians or radiologists, from the memory by referring to the priority list); calculate a notification priority for each of the users based on the second priority orders in paragraphs[0043-0044] and [0047-0049] (determine the notification priority for each approved recipient based on the priority order); and drive the plurality of terminals to execute a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority in paragraphs [0043-0044] and [0058] and [0065] and [0068] (the communication devices (synonymous to the plurality of terminals) receive notification information which causes a notification output (synonymous to a call notification) according to the calculated notification priority (Examiner notes that the communication devices receiving notification information which causes the communication devices to output a notification indicates the communication devices executing a call notification operation)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, to be combined with a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a second priority order list, wherein the second priority order list indicates a second priority order associated with details of an examination of the medical image diagnostic device, acquiring a call request, reading out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination, calculating a notification priority based on the second priority order, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority, as disclosed by Mojahed, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of radiologists assessing medical images and making clinical findings [0002-0006].
The combination of Shimokawa and Mojahed discloses acquiring a call request for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users, but does not disclose acquiring details of work being performed when the call request has been acquired. Also, the combination does not disclose in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users. However, Chamarthi discloses acquire a call request, transmitted from the medical image diagnostic device, for calling a user to the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0020] and [0025] (acquire a UI pop up for calling a supertech to the imaging modality); acquire details of work being performed by a plurality of users, respectively, based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by the users when the call request has been acquired in paragraphs [0020-0021] and [0025-0026] and [0050] (acquire details of work performed by a plurality of supertechs, based on availability (synonymous to usage statuses of a plurality of terminals respectively managed by users) when the UI pop up for calling a supertech has been acquired); and, in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is a specific examination, adjust the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination of the medical image diagnostic device is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users in paragraphs [0021-0023] and [0025-0026] and [0028] and [0039] and [0041] and [0046] and Figure 3 (when the imaging examination of the imaging modality (synonymous to the medical image diagnostic device) is a specific examination, ranks the available supertechs (synonymous to an user) with more experience of a modality (synonymous to an attribute suitable for the specific examination) higher than when the imaging examination of the imaging modality is not a specific examination based on the supertech information including their experience levels (Examiner notes that the highest ranked supertechs receive the UI pop up (synonymous to a notification), therefore, indicating that ranking the supertechs adjusts the notification priority)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority list are stored, acquiring a call request, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users, acquiring details of examinations of the medical image diagnostic device based on a schedule or operating state of the medical image diagnostic device, reading out the first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for the users based on the first and second priority orders, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority of Shimokawa and Mojahed with acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users when the call request has been acquired and in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users as taught by Chamarthi since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority list are stored, acquiring a call request, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses of a plurality of terminals managed by the users when the call request has been acquired, acquiring details of examinations of the medical image diagnostic device based on a schedule or operating state of the medical image diagnostic device, reading out the first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for the users based on the first and second priority orders, in a case in which the examination is a specific examination to adjust the notification priority of a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case in which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority.
As per Claim 14, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device of claim 1.
Shimokawa discloses the medical information processing device; however, Shimokawa does not disclose the additional following limitations. Mojahed discloses medical imaging system in paragraphs [0032] (a medical imaging system), comprising: the medical information processing device of claim 1 in paragraphs [0032] (a medical imaging scanning host computer); and the medical image diagnostic device, which is one of an X-ray scanner, an X-ray Computed Tomography (CT) scanner, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner, an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and a nuclear medicine diagnostic device in paragraphs [0008] and [0022] and [0025] and [0035] (the medical imaging device (synonymous to the medical image diagnostic device) which is a MRI scanner, CT scanner, or a ultrasound device), wherein the medical image diagnostic device is configured to transmit the call request when a fault occurs in the medical image diagnostic device during an examination of a subject or when an abnormality occurs in the subject in paragraphs [0024-0025] and [0041] (the MR scan notifies end users (synonymous to transmit the call request) when bleeding, referred to as an abnormality, occurs in one of the patient's arteries).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, to be combined with a medical imaging system, as disclosed by Mojahed, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of radiologists assessing medical images and making clinical findings [0002-0006].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOKAWA (US-20210389980-A1)[hereinafter Shimokawa], in view of MOJAHED (US-20220165400-A1)[hereinafter Mojahed], in view of CHAMARTHI et al. (US-20230187087-A1)[hereinafter Chamarthi], in view of Bingley et al. (US-9820699-B2)[hereinafter Bingley].
As per Claim 3, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi do not disclose the following limitations. However, Bingley discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the notification priority based on the details of work of the plurality of users, including details of work scheduled to be performed by the users in the future in column 4 line 39-column 5 line 19, column 6 line 16-26, column 8 lines 11-12, and column 13 lines 14-31 (estimate how important or urgent it is to notify (referring to calculate the notification priority) the caregiver of the imminent or near future occurrence of events and the time of occurrence (Examiner notes that the imminent occurrence of events includes the details of work scheduled to be performed by the caregiver in the future)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi, to be combined with to calculate the notification priority based on the details of work of the plurality of user, including of work scheduled to be performed by the users in the future, as disclosed by Bingley, for the purpose of generating alarm signals to alert a caregiver of an occurrence of events [column 1 lines 26-column 2 lines 28].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOKAWA (US-20210389980-A1)[hereinafter Shimokawa], in view of MOJAHED (US-20220165400-A1)[hereinafter Mojahed], in view of CHAMARTHI et al. (US-20230187087-A1)[hereinafter Chamarthi], in view of Matsuoka (US-8577423-B2)[hereinafter Matsuoka].
As per Claim 5, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi do not disclose the following limitations. However, Matsuoka discloses wherein, in a case in which the notification priority for the plurality of users is common, the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the plurality of terminals to output a particular call notification of a notification level providing a strongest stimulation to the plurality of users from among a plurality of notification levels to be selected in column 4 line 24-column 5 line 11 and column 6 lines 32-65 (the processor uses the priority level of the message to output a message (referring to the call notification), wherein the output message includes a phone call, using vibration tone differentiation with a vibration sequence (notification level), wherein the vibration sequence includes a combination of different time periods, speeds including faster sequences, and intensities including rougher vibrations, from the vibration sequence database (referring to the plurality of notification levels to be selected) (Examiner notes that the combination of faster sequence and rougher vibrations in the vibration sequence provides the strongest stimulation to the users when the message is received. Additionally, the vibration tone differentiation differentiates the common tones of the phone calls with the same priority, in order to alert the user of an important phone call)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi, to be combined with a call notification of a notification level providing a strongest stimulation to the plurality of users from among a plurality of notification levels to be selected when the notification priority for the plurality of users is common, as disclosed by Matsuoka, for the purpose of improving vibration tone differentiation when notifying a user [column 1 lines 5-16].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOKAWA (US-20210389980-A1)[hereinafter Shimokawa], in view of MOJAHED (US-20220165400-A1)[hereinafter Mojahed], in view of CHAMARTHI et al. (US-20230187087-A1)[hereinafter Chamarthi], in view of CHOI et al. (US-20150244665-A1)[hereinafter Choi].
As per Claim 8, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi do not disclose the following limitations. However, Choi discloses wherein the medical information processing device is built into the medical image diagnostic device in paragraphs [0051] and [0053] (an electronic device (referring to a medical information processing device) including a processor (referring to a processing circuitry), wherein the electronic device performs data processing (referring to medical information processing), wherein the electronic device includes medical equipment including Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computed Tomography (CT), an imaging device, or an ultrasonic device (Examiner notes that the medical equipment includes examples of medical image diagnostic devices)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi, to be combined with a medical information processing device built into the medical image diagnostic device, as disclosed by Choi, for the purpose of smoothly providing a notification service to devices [0006].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOKAWA (US-20210389980-A1)[hereinafter Shimokawa], in view of MOJAHED (US-20220165400-A1)[hereinafter Mojahed], in view of CHAMARTHI et al. (US-20230187087-A1)[hereinafter Chamarthi], in view of Malireddi et al. (US-20210389999-A1)[hereinafter Malireddi].
As per Claim 11, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi do not disclose the following limitations. However, Malireddi discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the notification priority by adding a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of one of the second priority orders in paragraphs [0042] and [0046-0047] and [0139] (determine the notification priority score by summing the scores of contact importance (synonymous to a value of one of the first priority orders) and content importance (synonymous to a value one of the second priority orders)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi, to be combined with calculate the notification priority by adding a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of the second priority order, as disclosed by Malireddi, for the purpose of reducing the distraction from unimportant notifications [0002-0005].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOKAWA (US-20210389980-A1)[hereinafter Shimokawa], in view of MOJAHED (US-20220165400-A1)[hereinafter Mojahed], in view of CHAMARTHI et al. (US-20230187087-A1)[hereinafter Chamarthi], in view of Sean McBride (“RICE: Simple prioritization for product managers”)[hereinafter McBride].
As per Claim 12, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi do not disclose the following limitations. However, McBride discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders by a value of one of the second priority order orders in the "RICE: Four factors for assessing priority" section on pages 3-7 and "How is a RICE score calculated?" section on page 8 (calculate the RICE score (synonymous to a notification priority) by multiplying the values of the factors assessing priority (Examiner notes that factors that assess the priority are synonymous to the first and second priority orders)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi, to be combined with calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of the second priority order, as disclosed by McBride, for the purpose of making a better-informed decision when prioritizing events ["How to use RICE scores effectively" section on page 10].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOKAWA (US-20210389980-A1)[hereinafter Shimokawa], in view of MOJAHED (US-20220165400-A1)[hereinafter Mojahed], in view of CHAMARTHI et al. (US-20230187087-A1)[hereinafter Chamarthi], in view of Ou et al. (US-20210201175-A1)[hereinafter Ou].
As per Claim 13, Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi disclose the medical information processing device according to claim 1.
Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi do not disclose the following limitations. However, Ou discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of one of the second priority orders by a coefficient, respectively, and by adding multiplication results obtained thereby or multiplying one of the multiplication results by another of the multiplication results in paragraphs [0005] and [0040-0041] (a data processor (synonymous to a processing circuitry) prioritizes notifications with a weighted scoring model (Examiner notes that a weighted scoring model determines the weighted score (synonymous to the notification priority) by multiplying the criterion score (synonymous to a value of one of the first and second priority orders) by a criterion weight (synonymous to a coefficient), and finding the sum of the product of the criterion score and criterion weight)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a medical information processing device storing a first priority order list, wherein the first priority order list indicates a first priority order associated with details of work of a user and calculating a notification priority based on the first priority order, as disclosed by Shimokawa, Mojahed, and Chamarthi, to be combined with calculate the notification priority by multiplying a value of one of the first priority orders and a value of the second priority order by a coefficient, respectively, and by adding multiplication results obtained or by multiplying one of the multiplication results by another of the multiplication results as disclosed by Ou, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of prioritizing notifications [0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, filed 02/03/2026, with respect to claim 1 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-14, filed 02/03/2026 with respect to claims 1-14 have been fully considered. With regards to claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, and 14, Applicant argues that Shimokawa and Mojahed do not teach or suggest the amended limitations of the claims. Examiner finds this persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of 11/03/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Shimokawa in view of Mojahed in view of Chamarthi. In response to the argument that Mojahed does not teach or disclose acquiring details of the examination of the medical image diagnostic device, which is currently being executed or is to be executed in the future by each of the plurality of users, based on a schedule or an operating state of the medical image diagnostic device; read out second priority orders corresponding to the acquired details of examination of the plurality of users by referring to the second priority list; and calculating the notification priority for each of the users based on the second priority, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mojahed discloses in [0032] and [0042] acquiring details of the examination of the medical imaging device during the examination, in real-time, based on the medical imaging scan status which indicates that the medical imaging device is currently being executed by the plurality of physicians or radiologists. Additionally, Mojahed discloses in [0044-0045], [0047], and [0051] providing the priority order corresponding to the details of examinations of the plurality of physicians or radiologists. Furthermore, Mohajed discloses in [0043-0044] and [0047-0049] determining the notification priority (synonymous to the second priority) for each approved recipient (synonymous to the users) based on the priority order. As per rejections 3, 5, 8, and 11-13, Applicant argues that Bingley, Matsuoka, Choi, Malireddi, McBride, and Ou fail to remedy the deficiencies of Shimokawa and Mojahed. Examiner points Applicant to the updated rejection and citations in the 103 rejections above.
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 14-16, filed 02/03/2026 with respect to claims 1, 9-10, and 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended limitations of claim integrates the abstract idea into a practical application by providing an improvement to the technology of managing a plurality of medical imaging devices by a plurality of medical technicians, to realize prompt and safe governance using finite manpower of the plurality of medical imaging apparatuses. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite an improvement to medical imaging devices. Applicant also argues that the amended claims recite a specific implementation of a specific technical solution to solve the technical problem, similarly to Contour v GoPro. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims of Contour v GoPro are directed to specific technical improvements in dual-stream recording; therefore, the claims were an improvement to the technology of dual-stream recording. Additionally, the Applicant argues that the amended claims are directed to patent-eligible subject matter similarly to Diamond v. Diehr. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims of Diamond v. Diehr are directed to a mathematical calculation or algorithm used to control a physical manufacturing process; therefore, the claims were an improvement to the technology of controlling a physical manufacturing process. The claims merely recite acquiring a call request for calling a user, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquiring details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, reading out first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for each of the users based on the first and second priority orders, adjusting the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior, and transmitting the call request when a fault occurs or when an abnormality occurs in the subject, which are a part of the abstract idea. An improvement to the abstract ideas of acquiring a call request for calling a user, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquiring details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, reading out first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for each of the users based on the first and second priority orders, adjusting the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority, and transmitting the call request when a fault occurs or when an abnormality occurs in the subject are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior does not amount to an improvement to technology or a technical field (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II) stating “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology."). The courts indicated in TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48, that gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and providing the output is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim language and instant application fails to provide details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Here, the improvement is to acquiring a call request for calling a user, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquiring details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, reading out first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for each of the users based on the first and second priority orders, adjusting the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior, and transmitting the call request when a fault occurs or when an abnormality occurs in the subject. There is no indication in the disclosure that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology for the outlined problem statement. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient.
Applicant argues that claims are directed to something “significantly more” than the idea itself. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claim limitations are directed to acquiring a call request for calling a user, acquiring details of work being performed by a plurality of users based on usage statuses, acquiring details of the examination based on a schedule or an operating state, reading out first and second priority orders, calculating a notification priority for each of the users based on the first and second priority orders, adjusting the notification priority for a user having an attribute suitable for the specific examination to be higher than in a case which the examination is not the specific examination based on user information including attributes of users, and executing a call notification operation according to the calculated notification priority. The use of the medical information processing device, processing circuitry including a processor and a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored, plurality of terminals, the medical information processing device is built into the medical image diagnostic device, memory storing a first priority order list and a second priority order list, computer, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer with access to a memory in which a first priority order list and a second priority order list are stored to carry out the steps of the abstract idea is merely applying the abstract idea to general purpose computer components which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exceptions, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Additionally, the use of medical image diagnostic device to carry out the steps of the abstract idea is merely applying the abstract idea to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)). Furthermore, the use of X-ray scanner, an X-ray Computed Tomography (CT) scanner, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner, an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and a nuclear medicine diagnostic device to carry out the steps of the abstract idea is merely applying the abstract idea to tools being used in its ordinary capacity (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)). The courts indicated in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984, that “a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer” is not enough to qualify as significantly more.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okada (JP-2014147608-A) teaches a system and a method for calling an operator to a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus.
Sachpazidis, Ilias (2008) “Image and Medical Data Communication Protocols for Telemedicine and Teleradiology” teaches telecommunication protocols between medical devices.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682