DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of election of species in the reply filed on 7/2/25 is acknowledged. Applicant elected invention I with claims 1, 2-3, 5-8.
Applicant further elected fig 5, fig 7-9.
The Election/Restrictions is final.
Examiner’s note: Based on Applicant’s Remark, the elected fig 5, fig 7-9 may also comprise more than one embodiments. Examiner request Applicant to further clarify which portion of fig 9 can be a part of fig 5, fig 7-8 (in the next response). The drawings in this applicant are very unclear. If the elected drawings belong for more then one embodiments, Examiner request Applicant to further elect on embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(b) The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5-6 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, the limitations “a glue transport channel formed between the bulkhead wall and the housing part in the inserted state” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Examiner request Applicant to clearly point out where on the figures shows these claimed limitations. Examiner’s note: Applicant’s remark filed on 12/12/25 failed to clearly point it out on the figures for all the limitations rejected by 112. Applicant only stated fig 9 provided the claimed limitations. However, this figure failed to show all the claimed limitations.
In Claims 5-6, the limitations “locking sub-assembly forms a further glue transport channel in the inserted state, the further glue transport channel is connected to the glue transport channel” and “at least one of the glue transport channel and the further glue transport channel is filled with a glue” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Examiner request Applicant to clearly point out where on the figures shows these claimed limitations.
Appropriate correction is required. Examiner’s note: Applicant’s remark filed on 12/12/25 failed to clearly point it out on the figures for all the limitations rejected by 112. Applicant only stated fig 9 provided the claimed limitations. However, this figure failed to show all the claimed limitations.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph (see above rejection), and/or discussed in the above claim objections must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 6724641 ) in view of Shamp (US 20160347495 A9) and Xiang (CN 108600441).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang disclosed A housing assembly encasing an electromagnetic component, (abstract, see also fig 1-3) comprising: a housing part having a first wall section and a second wall section opposite the first wall section (at least fig 3, there are at least 4 wall sections; Examiner consider any two sections); a bulkhead wall (at least fig 1-3, bulkhead wall insert into the opening) extending from the first wall section to the second wall section in a horizontal direction (at least fig 1-3) in an inserted state in the housing part (at least fig 1-3); a locking sub-assembly locking the bulkhead wall to the housing part (at least fig 1-3, the structure which locking the bulkhead wall to the housing part; see also fig 1 with locking parts such as 24, parts on item 3, engagement on 1, 11 etc.).
Hwang lacks teaching: the bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part in an insertion direction and; (Examiner’s note: cited art is not specific to the insertion direction and the bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part)
a glue transport channel formed between the bulkhead wall and the housing part in the inserted state.
Shamp teaches: the bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part in an insertion direction (abstract, see also fig 4-5).
See the following examples:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part in an insertion direction) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the primary art’s bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part) so as to further secure the modified structure and/or improve the assembly process.
Hwang in view of Shamp lacks teaching: a glue transport channel formed between the bulkhead wall and the housing part in the inserted state.
Xiang teaches: a glue transport channel formed between the wall and the housing part in the inserted state. (abstract, see also fig 1; see also claim 1)
See the following examples:
Examiner’s note: Xiang’s design is airtight and/or in a way that is insulated or protected from outside influences. Therefore, it’s hermetically seals the housing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (a glue transport channel formed between the wall and the housing part) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the Hwang in view of Shamp’s wall, bulkhead, locking sub-assembly, and housing part) so as to have (Hwang in view of Shamp an Xiang): a glue transport channel (Xiang) formed between the bulkhead wall and the housing part in the inserted state, the glue is positioned between the overlapping protrusions of the bulkhead wall and hermetically seals the housing assembly). The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current Xiang’s feature is to provide sealing to protect the device and/or to connect the parts.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hwang further disclosed the glue transport channel is filled with a glue that hermetically seals the housing assembly (at least Xiang’s abstract, see also fig 1; see also claim 1; see claim 1 modification as discussed above). See above discussion in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hwang further disclosed locking sub-assembly forms a further glue transport channel in the inserted state, the further glue transport channel is connected to the glue transport channel (at least Shamp’s fig 4-5 modified by Xiang as discussed above). Examiner’s note: Shamp’s structure comprising gap (See also fig 4-5), for insertion, Examiner consider these channel(s) are further glue transport channel and also communicate/connects with the glue transport channel.
Regarding claim 6, modified Hwang further disclosed at least one of the glue transport channel and the further glue transport channel is filled with a glue (at least Shamp’s fig 4-5 modified by Xiang as discussed above). See also claim 1 modification.
Regarding claim 7, modified Hwang further disclosed the locking sub-assembly has a pair of overlapping protrusions overlapping in the horizontal direction (at least Shamp’s fig 4, see also fig 5).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hwang further disclosed the glue is positioned between the overlapping protrusions (at least Shamp’s fig 4-5 modified by Xiang as discussed above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (glue is positioned between the overlapping protrusions) and modify to previous discussed structure (between the overlapping protrusions and housing) so as to further secure/hermetically seal the modified structure.
Claims 21-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20130222084 ) in view of Shamp (US 20160347495 A9) and Xiang (CN 108600441) further in view of Cochran (US 20160073766)
With regard claim 21, the primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the glue transport channel extends to the locking sub-assembly.
Cochran further teaches: the glue transport channel extends to the locking sub-assembly (paragraph [0041]-[0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the glue transport channel extends to the locking sub-assembly) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to Hwang in view of Shamp and Xiang’s structure, including the wall, locking sub-assembly locking and/or opens toward an outside of the housing assembly which allows for insertion) so as to further secure the modified structure and/or protect the device.
Regarding claim 22, modified Hwang further disclosed the glue transport channel opens towards an outside of the housing assembly (see the modification discussed in claim 1 including bulkhead wall, insertion, locking sub-assembly with gap, fill with glue in the channel towards an outside of the housing assembly).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20130222084 ) in view of Shamp (US 20160347495 A9) and Xiang (CN 108600441) further in view of Examiner’s Official Notice (EON, now AAPA)
Regarding claim 3, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the glue is a sealing epoxy.
However, Examiner take official notice (EON) that the above limitations (the glue is a sealing epoxy) are well known. (Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the glue is a sealing epoxy) and modify to previous discussed structure. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON feature is to further seal the modified structure. (Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “The above limitations of claim 1 are shown in at least Figure 9 of the present Application. Figure 9 of the present Application clearly shows that the glue transport channel 68 is formed between the bulkhead wall 4 and the housing part 6 in the inserted state 2. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejection of claim 1.” (pages 5-7).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Fig 9 failed to show all the limitations (for claims 1, 5-6). Again, Examiner request Applicant to point it out ON the drawing in the response for all the limitations rejected under 112.
Based on Applicant’s remark, the drawings may be even belong to different embodiments. Examiner request Applicant to further clarify and elect only one embodiment.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “For the multiple reasons described above, the combination of Hwang, Shamp, and Xiang clearly fails to form aprimafacie case of obviousness on claim 1. Independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2, 3, and 5-8 are therefore allowable over the combination of Hwang, Shamp, and Xiang, with or without the Examiner's Official Notice” (pages 7 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
The cited arts successfully teaches all the limitations.
In this case, Shamp teaches: the bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part in an insertion direction (abstract, see also fig 4-5).
See the following examples:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part in an insertion direction) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the primary art’s bulkhead wall inserted into the housing part) so as to further secure the modified structure and/or improve the assembly process.
Hwang in view of Shamp lacks teaching: a glue transport channel formed between the bulkhead wall and the housing part in the inserted state.
Xiang teaches: a glue transport channel formed between the wall and the housing part in the inserted state. (abstract, see also fig 1; see also claim 1)
See the following examples:
Examiner’s note: Xiang’s design is airtight and/or in a way that is insulated or protected from outside influences. Therefore, it’s hermetically seals the housing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (a glue transport channel formed between the wall and the housing part) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the Hwang in view of Shamp’s wall, bulkhead, locking sub-assembly, and housing part) so as to have (Hwang in view of Shamp an Xiang): a glue transport channel (Xiang) formed between the bulkhead wall and the housing part in the inserted state, the glue is positioned between the overlapping protrusions of the bulkhead wall and hermetically seals the housing assembly). The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current Xiang’s feature is to provide sealing to protect the device and/or to connect the parts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841