DETAILED ACTION
Status
The amendments filed 3 June 2026 have overcome all rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in the previous action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to independent claim 1, Applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that the Benito reference does not teach the claimed limitations, in particular that Benito “never derives a directional relationship between two probe locations on the same blade.” It is noted that the claim as written does not require that the relationship between the two probe locations need be derived. Rather, the claim recites that information is derived of the relative direction of the first location and the second location based on the position data, which does not require the directions or locations to be related to or compared to one another in any way. Therefore, Benito is still deemed to read on the claim as each of the sensors derives location and direction information.
Applicant further argues that the line position determination would require sensors which are located on different blades and would not derive the relative direction between two probes mounted on the same blade as required by claim 1. It is again noted that claim does not require the relative direction between two probes as being derived. However, as seen in fig. 3, there is a scenario in Bonito where multiple probes 22 are mounted on the same blade for determining direction data, which does read on the claim language.
Continuing on page 9 of the remarks, the supposed differences between Benito and the claim 1 are detailed, however once again these arguments rely on an interpretation of the language of claim 1 which is not specifically disclosed in the claim as currently presented as it relies on the derivation of direction information between two probes to be determined. Therefore, the arguments are moot as they are not directed towards the claim itself.
Should the claim language be amended to include the argued limitations that the relative direction between the two probe locations on the same blade is determined, then the claim may overcome the Benito reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benito et al. US 2010/0140936.
Regarding claim 1, Benito teaches a wind turbine with blade monitoring means as seen in fig. 3 and a method of performing deformation and/or orientation analysis thereof comprising:
acquiring first position data of a first navigation system probe (sensor 22) mounted to the blade to provide position data at a first location,
acquiring second position data of a second navigation system probe (another of sensors 22) mounted to the blade to provide position data at a second location, and
deriving first direction information at least regarding a relative direction of the first location and the second location based on the first position data and the second position data (paragraph 0022-0023 teach determining a relative direction such as the yaw bearing of the wind turbine or the line position of the wind turbine using the position data).
Regarding claim 3, the first and second navigation system probes are arranged such that the first location and second location are within a first cross-sectional plane since the sensors are located at predetermined locations which can be defined on a single plane.
Regarding claim 4, Benito teaches deriving first information regarding a three-dimensional orientation of a first cross sectional plane based on the first position data and second position data or the relative direction of the first location and the second location (paragraph 0016 teaches the sensors as being global positioning sensors for determining the position in three-dimensional space).
Regarding claim 5, the first and second probes are defined as global position sensors (paragraph 0016) which would include and antenna or processing circuitry as claimed. Benito further teaches the sensors 22 as being arranged on the blade (paragraph 0015) and therefore the antennas would protrude from the suction side or pressure side surface of the blade as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, the first and/or second position data of Benito is determined by a GPS and therefore would include an absolute geographical position, a three-dimensional position of a reference frame fixed to the earth, or a geoposition related to a geostationary coordinate frame as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Benito teaches using third and fourth sensors 22 (each blade may have its own sensors, paragraph 0015) for determining a second orientation which would correspond to a second cross-sectional plane based on third and fourth position data and/or the relative direction of the third location and fourth location since the sensors would be at different locations than the first and second.
Regarding claim 11, the sensors of Benito are GPS sensors which would receive radio signals from one or more satellites including a time stamp as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, the sensing system of Benito performs the method while the turbine is in normal operation as claimed (paragraph 0018 teaches sensing during operation).
Regarding claim 13, Benito teaches in paragraph 0018 controlling the operation of the turbine based on the position data and a controller 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benito.
Regarding claim 2, Benito teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the first and second location in the claimed arrangement. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have placed the probes at any desired location along the turbine blade for detection of deformation or orientation to ensure the blade is consistently monitored for damage during operation since it would not affect the method of operation claimed and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 7, Benito teaches using third and fourth probes 22 (each blade may have its own sensors, paragraph 0015) for determining a third and fourth position and direction data. Although Benito does not explicitly teach the location of the third and fourth probes, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have placed the probes at any desired location along the turbine blade for detection of deformation or orientation to ensure the blade is consistently monitored for damage during operation since it would not affect the method of operation claimed and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cotrell et al. US 2011/0041617.
Regarding claim 9, Benito discloses deriving deformation and/or orientation characteristics of the wind turbine rotor blade. Benito does not explicitly teach the method as being performed on a wind turbine blade not connected to a hub of a wind turbine as claimed. Cotrell teaches a test system for a turbine blade which takes place while the turbine blade is not mounted to a hub of a wind turbine, but rather to a test stand 110. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Cotrell with those of Benito in order to provide the testing during manufacture or prior to installation of the turbine blade to preemptively detect any issues therein.
Claim(s) 10, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olesen et al. US 2011/0184665.
Regarding claim 10, Benito teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the probes as being reversibly mounted at the blade as claimed. Olesen teaches a system for monitoring a wind turbine blade in which sensors are mounted to the blades by mounting brackets (paragraph 0036) for monitoring the blade during operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Olesen with those of Benito in order to provide mounting means to securely attach the sensors to the turbine blades.
Regarding claim 14, Benito teaches a device for performing deformation and/or orientation analysis of a wind turbine comprising a first navigation system probe (sensor 22) mounted to the blade to provide position data at a first location, a second navigation system probe (another of sensors 22) mounted to the blade to provide position data at a second location, wherein the first navigation system probe provides position a first location and the second navigation system probe provides a position at a second location (paragraph 0022-0023 teach determining a relative direction such as the yaw bearing of the wind turbine or the line position of the wind turbine). Benito does not explicitly teach the mounting frame as claimed. Olesen teaches a system for monitoring a wind turbine blade in which sensors are mounted to the blades by mounting brackets (paragraph 0036) for monitoring the blade during operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Olesen with those of Benito in order to provide mounting means to securely attach the sensors to the turbine blades.
Regarding claim 15, in combination, the device of claim 14 is mounted to a rotor blade as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK A SHABMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855