DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 7/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Vasiliev et al, "Adsorption of heavy metal cations by organic ligands grafted on porous materials", Microporous and Mesoporous Materials 118 (2009) 251–257.
Regarding claim 1, Vasiliev et al teach a metal-ion chelating material comprising a first binder (Abstract: zeolite ZSM-5) and a second binder (Abstract: zeolite ZSM-5 with ligand) each arranged to chelate with a plurality of metal ions, wherein the first binder is arranged to bind with the plurality of cations through non-covalent interactions and the second binder is arranged to chemically bind with the plurality of metal ions through metal-ligand coordination (Cd, Cu, Ni, Pb, Zn cations). It is noted that the above limitation regarding the cations and metal ions is considered a material worked upon by an apparatus and does not patentably define the claimed apparatus over the prior art (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 2-4, Vasiliev et al teach the first binder includes a plurality of porous cavities in a porous material; the porous material includes zeolite structure having the plurality of porous cavities arranged to bind with the plurality of metal ions through non-covalent interactions; zeolite structure comprises porous aluminosilicate. (p. 252, col. 1: 2.1 materials: ZSM-5 is an aluminosilicate zeolite NH4ZSM-5 (SiO2/Al2O3))
Regarding claims 5-8, Vasiliev et al teach the second binder includes a plurality of chelating ligands; the zeolite structure is chemically functionalized by the plurality of chelating ligands; the zeolite structure is functionalized by a chemical modification process; wherein the plurality of chelating ligands includes an imine functional group, a carboxylate functional group, an amine functional group, an imino di(methyl acetate) functional group, an imino di(acetic acid) functional group and/or an imino di(acetate) sodium salt functional group. (Scheme 1: amine functional group ligand I, ZSM-5 zeolite)
Regarding claims 9, 11-12, Vasiliev et al teach wherein the plurality of metal ions includes a plurality of cations of different metals or metal compounds, and/or radionuclides the dicationic metal ions include at least one of Hg2+, Cu2+, Ni2+, Pb2+, Zn2+, Co2+, Cd2+, Fe2+, Mn2+, Ba2+ and Ca2+. (Abstract: cations Cd, Cu, Ni, Pb, and Zn) It is noted that the above limitation regarding the cations and metal ions is considered a material worked upon by an apparatus and does not patentably define the claimed apparatus over the prior art (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claims 10, the limitation regarding the cations and metal ions is considered a material worked upon by an apparatus and does not patentably define the claimed apparatus over the prior art (see MPEP 2115). Thus the zeolite is capable of the plurality of metal ions include at least one of UO22+, Cs+ and Sr2+.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasiliev et al in view of Sanocki et al (US 20130277298).
Regarding claim 13, Vasiliev et al teach the metal-ion chelating material of claim 1, but is silent to a chemical sampling device comprising an enclosed cavity. Sanocki et al teach a water treatment cartridge 2 having a housing 6 with the water treatment media 18 enclosed in the compartments 10 (Para. 0021; Fig. 1). The water treatment media can include zeolite and aluminosilicates with chelating and affinity ligands with specific interaction with specific contamination (Para. 0031). It is desirable to provide the metal-ion chelating material such as zeolite in an enclosed cavity to ensure the water treatment media can be reused and not lost during flow through of water filtration. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the enclosed cavity of Sanocki et al to the device of Vasiliev et al to provide the above advantage of ensuring the water treatment media can be reused and not lost during flow through of water filtration.
Regarding claim 14, Vasiliev/Sanocki et al teach the chemical sampling device is arranged to capture the plurality of metal ions in a sampling environment (p. 251 col. 1 para. 1: waste-water).
Regarding claim 15, the limitation regarding the cations and metal ions is considered a material worked upon by an apparatus and does not patentably define the claimed apparatus over the prior art (see MPEP 2115). Vasiliev/Sanocki et al teach the sampling environment includes a marine environment or freshwater environment (Sanocki Abstract: water is used to filter through the water treatment cartridge).
Conclusion
/Dennis White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758