Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent US Patent 4,624,433 to Henneberg.
Henneberg teaches
1. An adjustable lectern, comprising: a base (20) including a planar top surface (as best seen in figure 1a); a worktop (18) including a pair of spaced side edges, a first end and a second end that define a planar work surface and a back surface (Figure 1a); a hinge mechanism (26) operatively positioned between the base and the worktop to allow the worktop to move between a flat position (figure 2a) in which the work surface is parallel to the top surface and an angled position (figure 1a and 3a) in which the work surface is located at an angle relative to the top surface; wherein when the worktop is in the angled position a gap is created between the second end of the worktop and the planar top surface of the base that extends between the pair of spaced side edges of the worktop; a prop stand (24) pivotably mounted to the worktop (via the hinge 28) and movable between an extended position (figure 3a and 5a) and a collapsed position (figure 2a and 5b), wherein the prop stand includes a bracket frame (flange of the hinge 28) and a panel (24, as best seen in figure 1a) supported on the bracket frame, wherein when the prop stand is in the extended position the prop stand engages the base to support the worktop in the angled position and the panel covers a majority of the gap created between the worktop and the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 1a) and when the prop stand is in the collapsed position, the prop stand supports the worktop on the planar top surface in the flat position such that the back surface of the worktop is spaced above the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 2a and 5b).
2. wherein the prop stand is pivotably mounted to the back surface of the worktop (as best seen in figure 1a and 2a).
3. wherein the hinge mechanism is mounted to the back surface of the worktop near the first end of the worktop and the second end of the worktop is movable toward and away from the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,840,180 to Ulmer in view of US Patent 4,624,433 to Henneberg.
Ulmer teaches
An adjustable lectern, comprising: a base (84) including a planar top surface (86); a support cylinder (14) mounted to the base, wherein the support cylinder is operable to adjust the height of the base from a support surface (12); a worktop (16) including a pair of spaced side edges, a first end and a second end that define a planar work surface and a back surface;
Ulmer does not expressly disclose a hinge mechanism and prop stand to angle the worktop relative to the planar top surface.
Henneberg teaches
A tilting mechansim, comprising: a base (20) including a planar top surface (as best seen in figure 1a); a worktop (18) including a pair of spaced side edges, a first end and a second end that define a planar work surface and a back surface (Figure 1a); a hinge mechanism (26) operatively positioned between the base and the worktop to allow the worktop to move between a flat position (figure 2a) in which the work surface is parallel to the top surface and an angled position (figure 1a and 3a) in which the work surface is located at an angle relative to the top surface; wherein when the worktop is in the angled position a gap is created between the second end of the worktop and the planar top surface of the base that extends between the pair of spaced side edges of the worktop; a prop stand (24) pivotably mounted to the worktop (via the hinge 28) and movable between an extended position (figure 3a and 5a) and a collapsed position (figure 2a and 5b), wherein the prop stand includes a bracket frame (flange of the hinge 28) and a panel (24, as best seen in figure 1a) supported on the bracket frame, wherein when the prop stand is in the extended position the prop stand engages the base to support the worktop in the angled position and the panel covers a majority of the gap created between the worktop and the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 1a) and when the prop stand is in the collapsed position, the prop stand supports the worktop on the planar top surface in the flat position such that the back surface of the worktop is spaced above the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 2a and 5b).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lectern of Ulmer by adding the tilting mechanism as taught by Henneberg to have stabilized angled positions that are easy to get to.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Henneberg teaches
2. wherein the prop stand is pivotably mounted to the back surface of the worktop (as best seen in figure 1a and 2a).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Henneberg teaches
3. wherein the hinge mechanism is mounted to the back surface of the worktop near the first end of the worktop and the second end of the worktop is movable toward and away from the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 1a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 allowed.
Claims 4-6, 10, and 14-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/01/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637