Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication 2006/0124822 to Munda.
Munda teaches
1. An adjustable lectern, comprising: a base (3) including a planar top surface (as best seen in figure 4; surface is flush with the plate 9); a worktop (1) including a pair of spaced side edges, a first end and a second end that define a planar work surface and a back surface; a hinge mechanism (15, 16, 18) operatively positioned between the base and the worktop to allow the worktop to move between a flat position (figure 6) in which the work surface is parallel to the top surface and an angled position (figures 1 and 5) in which the work surface is located at an angle relative to the top surface; a prop stand (4) pivotably mounted to the worktop (via hinge 17,19) and movable between an extended position (figure 1, 3, and 5) and a collapsed position (figure 6), wherein when the prop stand is in the extended position the prop stand engages the base to support the worktop in the angled position (figure 1, 3, and 5) and when the prop stand is in the collapsed position, the prop stand supports the worktop on the planar top surface in the flat position such that the back surface of the worktop is spaced above the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 6).
2. wherein the prop stand is pivotably mounted to the back surface of the worktop (via the hinge 17,19 as best seen in figure 2).
3. wherein the hinge mechanism is mounted to the back surface of the worktop near the first end of the worktop (as best seen in figures 2 and 5) and the second end of the worktop is movable toward and away from the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figures 2 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2006/0124822 to Munda in view of US Patent 2,374,409 to Brennan.
Munda discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except the prop stand being formed of a pair of arms connected by a panel.
Brannan teaches a lectern with a base (8) with a hinged worktop (12). A prop stand includes a pair of arms (13) connected with a panel (15). The prop includes extensions of the arms (figure 2) that fit into slots (10) between teeth (17) in top surface of the base as best seen in figure 1.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lectern of Munda by using two arms connected via a panel as taught by Brennan to increase stability and since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 4, Munda in view of Brennan once combined teaches
4. wherein the prop stand includes a bracket frame including a pair of support arms and a panel supported on the bracket frame.
Regarding claim 5, Munda in view of Brennan once combined teaches
5. wherein an engagement end of each of the pair of support arms extends past the panel such that the engagement end is received in a receiving slot formed in the top surface of the base when the prop stand is in the extended position.
Regarding claim 6, Munda in view of Brennan once combined teaches
6. wherein each of the pair of support arms includes an engagement surface on a mounting end of the support arm, wherein the engagement surface contacts the back surface of the worktop to limit the pivoting movement of the prop stand to define the extended position.
Regarding claim 10, Munda in view of Brennan once combined teaches
10. wherein the pair of support arms are pivotably mounted to a back surface of the worktop to allow the prop stand to move between the collapsed position and the flat position.
Regarding claim 18, Munda in view of Brennan once combined teaches
18. A method of adjusting a planar work surface of an adjustable lectern, the method comprising the steps of: lifting a worktop of the lectern from a flat position to cause a first end the worktop to pivot upward and away from a top surface of a base of the lectern (as best seen in figures 2 and 5 of Munda); pivotally moving a prop stand from a collapsed position to an extended position (as best seen in figures 2 and 5 of Munda); inserting an engagement end of each of a pair of support arms of the prop stand into receiving slots formed in the top surface of the base such that the prop stand is supported in the extended position by the base and the worktop is supported by the prop stand in the angled position lifting the worktop of the lectern from the angled position (as best seen in figures 1 and 2 of Brennan for the pair of arms and as best seen in figures 2 and 5 of Munda); removing the engagement ends of the pair of support arms from the receiving slots (Figure 2 of Munda and Figures 3 and 5 of Munda); pivotally moving the prop stand from the extended position to the collapsed position (as best seen in figure 5 of Munda); and lowering the worktop toward the top surface of the base until the prop stand contacts the top surface such that the prop stand supports the worktop on the planar top surface such that the back surface of the worktop is spaced above the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 6 of Munda).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,571,720 to Moore in view of US Patent Publication 2006/0124822 to Munda.
Moore teaches
An adjustable lectern, comprising: a base (22, 10) including a planar top surface (24); a support cylinder (19,20) mounted to the base, wherein the support cylinder is operable to adjust the height of the base from a support surface (as best seen in figure 2); a worktop (41) including a pair of spaced side edges, a first end and a second end that define a planar work surface; a hinge mechanism (48) operatively positioned between the base and the worktop to allow the worktop to move between a flat position (figure 1) in which the work surface is parallel to the top surface and an angled (figure 2) position in which the work surface is located at an angle relative to the top surface;
Morre does not expressly disclose a prop stand.
Munda teaches
An adjustable lectern, comprising: a base (3) including a planar top surface (as best seen in figure 4; surface is flush with the plate 9); a worktop (1) including a pair of spaced side edges, a first end and a second end that define a planar work surface and a back surface; a hinge mechanism (15, 16, 18) operatively positioned between the base and the worktop to allow the worktop to move between a flat position (figure 6) in which the work surface is parallel to the top surface and an angled position (figures 1 and 5) in which the work surface is located at an angle relative to the top surface; a prop stand (4) pivotably mounted to the worktop (via hinge 17,19) and movable between an extended position (figure 1, 3, and 5) and a collapsed position (figure 6), wherein when the prop stand is in the extended position the prop stand engages the base to support the worktop in the angled position (figure 1, 3, and 5) and when the prop stand is in the collapsed position, the prop stand supports the worktop on the planar top surface in the flat position such that the back surface of the worktop is spaced above the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lectern of Moore by changing the tilting mechanism of the worktop with a hinge located at the front side and a prop stand as taught by Munda to allow for the tilting to be adjusted to multiple different angles.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Munda teaches
2. wherein the prop stand is pivotably mounted to the back surface of the worktop (via the hinge 17,19 as best seen in figure 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Munda teaches
3. wherein the hinge mechanism is mounted to the back surface of the worktop near the first end of the worktop (as best seen in figures 2 and 5) and the second end of the worktop is movable toward and away from the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figures 2 and 5).
Claim(s) 4-6, 10, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,571,720 to Moore in view of US Patent Publication 2006/0124822 to Munda as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US Patent 2,374,409 to Brennan.
Moore in view of Munda discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except the prop stand being formed of a pair of arms connected by a panel.
Brannan teaches a lectern with a base (8) with a hinged worktop (12). A prop stand includes a pair of arms (13) connected with a panel (15). The prop includes extensions of the arms (figure 2) that fit into slots (10) between teeth (17) in top surface of the base as best seen in figure 1.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lectern of Munda by using two arms connected via a panel as taught by Brennan to increase stability and since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Moore in view of Munda and Brennan once combined teaches
4. wherein the prop stand includes a bracket frame including a pair of support arms and a panel supported on the bracket frame.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Moore in view of Munda and Brennan once combined teaches
5. wherein an engagement end of each of the pair of support arms extends past the panel such that the engagement end is received in a receiving slot formed in the top surface of the base when the prop stand is in the extended position.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Moore in view of Munda and Brennan once combined teaches
6. wherein each of the pair of support arms includes an engagement surface on a mounting end of the support arm, wherein the engagement surface contacts the back surface of the worktop to limit the pivoting movement of the prop stand to define the extended position.
Regarding claim 10, Moore in view of Munda and Brennan once combined teaches
10. wherein the pair of support arms are pivotably mounted to a back surface of the worktop to allow the prop stand to move between the collapsed position and the flat position.
Regarding claim 18, Moore in view of Munda and Brennan once combined teaches
18. A method of adjusting a planar work surface of an adjustable lectern, the method comprising the steps of: lifting a worktop of the lectern from a flat position to cause a first end the worktop to pivot upward and away from a top surface of a base of the lectern (as best seen in figures 2 and 5 of Munda); pivotally moving a prop stand from a collapsed position to an extended position (as best seen in figures 2 and 5 of Munda); inserting an engagement end of each of a pair of support arms of the prop stand into receiving slots formed in the top surface of the base such that the prop stand is supported in the extended position by the base and the worktop is supported by the prop stand in the angled position lifting the worktop of the lectern from the angled position (as best seen in figures 1 and 2 of Brennan for the pair of arms and as best seen in figures 2 and 5 of Munda); removing the engagement ends of the pair of support arms from the receiving slots (Figure 2 of Munda and Figures 3 and 5 of Munda); pivotally moving the prop stand from the extended position to the collapsed position (as best seen in figure 5 of Munda); and lowering the worktop toward the top surface of the base until the prop stand contacts the top surface such that the prop stand supports the worktop on the planar top surface such that the back surface of the worktop is spaced above the planar top surface of the base (as best seen in figure 6 of Munda).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/29/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner misunderstood the feature of previous claims 9 and 17 (now claim 1 and 11) and this rejection should have previously been made. Therefore, this action is being made non-final.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3637