DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “adapter device” in claim 10, “guiding device” in claim 11, and “adjusting device” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “a support inset.” However, there is already antecedent basis for at least one support inset in claim 1, making it unclear if this is an additional support inset or intended to further define the at least one support inset recited in claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, this claim will be read as further defining a single one of the previously recited at least one support insets.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “a longitudinal direction”, which has already been recited in claim 1. This makes it unclear if the “longitudinal direction” recited in claim 9 is the same or different from the longitudinal direction recited in claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, this will be interpreted as “the longitudinal direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goetz (DE 4234774, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Goetz discloses a support rail for centerless grinding, comprising: a base rail (10) and at least one top module (27) detachably fastened (by threaded connections shown in embodiments of figs 4-6) to the base rail, and at least one support inset (11) which is attachable in a longitudinal direction to the at least one top module (attached to element 27 so as to extend in a longitudinal direction into the page as viewed in figs 5-6) and seats a workpiece to be ground ([0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Goetz further discloses the at least one top module comprises at least two top modules (as shown in fig 1 and described [0007], multiple support insets 11 are provided, including one for each upper end face on the raised sections 12 of base rail 10; [0013] describes the top module 27 of figs 4-5 being for each support inset 11 and applying to the upper end face of the base body, indicating a plurality of top modules, one for each support inset).
Regarding claim 9, Goetz further discloses the base rail (10) is sized in the longitudinal direction (horizontal direction as viewed in fig 1) in such a way that at least two top modules (27) arranged successively in the longitudinal direction can be fastened to the base rail (fig 1 shows multiple elements 12 with upper end faces as described [0007], and with the top modules 27 fastened to these upper end faces as described [0013]).
Regarding claim 10, Goetz further discloses an adapter device (interpreted under 112f as comprising a plate or functional equivalents thereof) to detachably fasten the at least one top module (27) to the base rail (adapter device 50 detachably fastening top module 27 to base rail 10 as shown in figs 6 and including plate elements as shown in figs 7-8).
Regarding claims 11-12, Goetz further discloses a guiding device (for claim 11, this is interpreted under 112f as comprising a rail or functional equivalents thereof; for claim 12, which recites structure, this limitation is no longer interpreted under 112f) to guide the at least one top module (27) relative to the base rail (10); wherein the guiding device comprises at least one guide rail (fig 6; surface 81 acts as a rail guiding the top module 27) arranged on the at least one top module (arranged on right side of top module 27 as viewed in fig 6) and at least one guide groove (68) arranged on the base rail (10; fig 6) or on an adapter device (adapter device is alternatively recited and not necessary to meet the claim), and interacts with the at least one guide rail (as shown in fig 6 and described [0022-0024]).
Regarding claims 13-14, Goetz further discloses an adjusting device (for claim 13, this is interpreted under 112f as comprising a stop or functional equivalents thereof; for claim 14, which recites structure, this limitation is no longer interpreted under 112f) to adjust a height of the at least one top module (27) relative to the base rail (as described [0024]); wherein the adjusting device comprises a stop element (37) on the base rail (10; fig 6) or on an adapter device (adapter device is alternatively recited and not necessary to meet the claim), and an adjustable adjusting element (51) that interacts with the stop element (as described [0024-0025]) and that is arranged on the at least one top module (arranged on element 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetz (DE 4234774, previously cited) alone.
Regarding claim 2, Goetz teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Goetz further teaches the at least one support inset (11) is mounted on the at least one top module (27; figs 4-6). Goetz is silent as to how the support inset is mounted in these figures and therefore does not explicitly teach the support inset being detachably mounted in the embodiments of figures 4-6. However, in figure 3, Goetz teaches detachable mounting of the support inset (11) to top module (12) in the embodiment of figs 1-3, the support inset being detachable by screw (19). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detachably mount the support inset of Goetz to the top module, as this provides the known advantage of allowing the support inset to be easily replaced without removing and reinstalling the entire support rail as taught by Goetz ([0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Goetz teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Goetz further teaches one or more support insets of the at least one support inset (11) are mounted to the at least one top module (27; figs 4-6). Goetz is silent as to how the support inset is mounted in these figures and therefore does not explicitly teach the support inset being detachably mounted in the embodiments of figures 4-6. However, in figure 3, Goetz teaches detachable mounting of a support inset (11) to a top module (12) in the embodiment of figs 1-3, the support inset being detachable by screw (19). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detachably mount one or more support insets of the at least one support inset of Goetz to the at least one top module, as this provides the known advantage of allowing the support inset to be easily replaced without removing and reinstalling the entire support rail as taught by Goetz ([0003]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Goetz, as modified teaches all the elements of claim 5 as described above. Goetz further teaches on each of the at least two top modules (27) a support inset is mounted (figs 4-5; inset 11 mounted to top module 27, which is associated with each two upper end faces as described [0007], [0013], and fig 1); and the at least one support inset (11) is mounted on selected top modules (27) of the at least two top modules (figs 4-5; inset 11 mounted to selected top module 27, which is associated with each two upper end faces as described [0007], [0013], and fig 1). Goetz is silent as to how the support inset is mounted in the embodiment figures (4-5) and therefore does not explicitly teach the support inset being detachably mounted in the embodiment of figures 4-5. However, in figure 3, Goetz teaches detachable mounting of a support inset (11) to a raised section (12) in the embodiment of figs 1-3, the support inset being detachable by screw (19). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detachably mount each of the at least two support insets to each of the two selected top modules, as this provides the known advantage of allowing the support inset to be easily replaced without removing and reinstalling the entire support rail as taught by Goetz ([0003]).
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Caster (US 1814367, previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Goetz teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Goetz does not teach the at least one support inset comprises an annular stop. Caster teaches a support rail for centerless grinding including at least one support inset comprising an annular stop (45; fig 5). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an annular stop with the support inset of Goetz, as an annular stop allows free rotation of the workpiece during grinding as taught by Caster (p 2, lines 68-76).
Regarding claim 15, Goetz teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Goetz further teaches a centerless grinder comprising: a grinding disk (“grinding wheel” described [0009]), a control wheel (“regulating wheel” described [0009]), and the support rail according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the grinding disk and the control wheel are on opposite sides of a workpiece to be ground (as described [0009]), wherein the support rail is positioned to support the workpiece being ground ([0009]). Goetz is silent as to the arrangement of the support rail relative to the grinding disk and control wheel and thus does not explicitly teach the support rail is positioned between the grinding disk and control wheel. Caster teaches a centerless grinder comprising a grinding disk (16), a control wheel (17), and a support rail (26) between the grinding disk and control wheel (fig 4) to support a workpiece (27) being ground. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the support rail of Goetz between the grinding disk and support wheel, as this location achieves the predictable result of centrally supporting the workpiece as taught by Caster (p 2, lines 90-99).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 Apr 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims, specification, and drawings have alleviated the previous objections and rejections under 112b and 112d. While most of these have been addressed, there are remaining 112b issues, as detailed in the rejections above.
Regarding claims 10, 11, and 13, applicant argues that the claim terms “adapter device”, “guiding device”, and “adjusting device” should not be interpreted under 112f, contending that the term “device” connotes structure. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in MPEP 2181 I. A., the term “device for” has been identified as a generic placeholder which may invoke interpretation under 112f. The fact that the term “device” has been used to describe three completely different elements is evidence of the fact that the term “device” does not imply any particular structure for a person of ordinary skill. Applicant argues that the word “to” in the claims connotes structure in light of the fact that the figures show a support rail for centerless grinding. While the claims at hand use the phrase “device to” rather than “device for”, the word “to” in the claims acts only as a transition between the nonstructural term “device” and the claimed functions. The word “to” is merely a transitional word in the claims and does describe, implicitly or explicitly, any particular structure.
Specifically regarding claim 10, this claim recites “an adapter device”. While in some arts, the word “adapter” may imply a particular structural meaning (e.g. an adapter for cable), in the art of support rails for centerless grinding, no particular structure is implied. The term “adapter device” is merely a name of the indicated element in the claims. At most, the word “adapter” implies an additional function of adapting, or acting as an interface between two elements. This is not structure, but function. The remaining elements of the claim, “to detachably fasten the at least one top module to the base rail”, are purely functional limitations.
Similarly, claims 11 and 13 respectively recite “a guiding device” and “an adjusting device”. The terms “guiding” and “adjusting” are purely functional, and are used here merely to differentiate one device from another by name. The remainders of each of these claims consist entirely of functional limitations.
Contrary to applicant’s arguments, neither the term generic term “device”, or the claimed phrases “adapter device”, “guiding device”, or “adjusting device” have been particularly defined in the specification. While the specification does describe structure for these claim limitations, this is not a special definition of these claim terms.
Applicant argues that examiner has not checked “whether: (1) the specification provides a description sufficient to inform one of ordinary skill in the art that the term denotes structure; (2) general and subject matter specific dictionaries provide evidence that the term has achieved recognition as a noun denoting structure; and/or (3) the prior art provides evidence that the term is an art-recognized structure to perform the claimed function,” stating that this makes examiner’s interpretation under 112f “fatally defective”. However, this section of the MPEP (2181I. C.) recites “To determine whether a word, term, or phrase coupled with a function denotes structure, examiners may check” (emphasis added) the above quoted sources. The word “may” in this description indicates that there is no requirement for examiner to check all of these sources to determine whether a claim element invokes interpretation under 112f.
Applicant argues that the specification describes the specific structure referred to by the claimed devices. However, this description is not a definition of any of these claim terms. In fact, it is a requirement that the specification provide enough description to support a claim element which invokes interpretation under 112f (MPEP 2181 II.). This is a requirement under 112a and 112b, and does not negate the interpretation under 112f.
Applicant cites Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC as support for their argument that the term “device” should not be interpreted under 112f. However, as discussed in MPEP 2181, the term at issue in this case was a “distributed learning control module” rather than a “device”. Applicant additionally cites Cambridge dictionary as defining a device as “an object or machine that has been invented for a particular purpose”. However, “object” and “machine” are themselves generic terms which do not indicate any particular structure. Applicant additionally cites several court cases in an attempt to argue that the term “device” is not a generic term in this case. Examiner points once again to MPEP 2181 I. A., which describes that it has been held that the term “device for” has been identified as a generic placeholder which may invoke interpretation under 112f. In this case, the claimed terms do not imply any particular structure to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and there is no additional structure in claims 10, 11, or 13 which would negate the interpretation under 112f. Note that claims 12 and 14, which respectively depend from claims 11 and 13, actively recite the additional structure to negate the interpretation under 112f.
Regarding claim 1 and its dependents, applicant argues that Goetz does not teach the features of claim 1, arguing specifically that the support plate 11 of Goetz is not detachably mounted in the longitudinal direction of plate carrier 27. However, in claim 1, there is no limitation requiring detachable connection between the support inset (analogous to element 11 of Goetz) and top module (analogous to element 27 of Goetz). Furthermore, even if claim 1 were to recite a detachable connection between these elements, this is rendered obvious by the embodiment of figs 1-3 of Goetz, which removably attaches the support inset 11 directly to the base rail 10. Contrary to applicant’s arguments, a detachably fastened top module with an attached support inset is clearly shown in Goetz’s second and third embodiments shown in figures 4-8. This is detailed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723