DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “160” has been used to designate both the “adjusting device” and “adapter plate”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “adapter device” in claim 10, “guiding device” in claim 11, and “adjusting device” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “the at least one support inset is detachably mounted on the at least one top module.” However, claim 1 recites at least one top module “comprising at least one support inset”. As the support inset is recited as being the structure of the top module, it is unclear how it is mounted on the top module. In other words, it is unclear how the support inset can be connected to itself. For the purposes of this examination, this claim will be read as defining that the support module includes some other structure to which the support inset is detachably mounted, as this is examiner’s best understanding of the claim.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “a top module.” However there is already antecedent bases for “at least one top module” in claim 1. It is unclear if “a top module” in claim 1 is an additional element, or intended to define a structure of the at least one top module recited in claim 1. Furthermore, this claim defines detachable mounting of one or more support insets to a top module, which is unclear for substantially the same reasons discussed in the 112b rejection of claim 2 above. For the purposes of this examination, this claim will be interpreted as best can be understood by examiner and is explained in the rejection below.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, these claims recite similar limitations as claim 2 regarding detachable mounting of a support inset to a top module. These claims are unclear for substantially the same reasons as described in the 112b rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “a support inset.” However, there is already antecedent basis for at least one support inset in claim 1, making it unclear if this is an additional support inset or intended to further define the at least one support inset recited in claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, this claim will be read as further defining a single one of the previously recited at least one support insets.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The sole limitation of claim 8 which depends from claim 1 recites “at least one top module is detachably fastened to the base rail.” However, claim 1 already recites “at least one top module detachably fastened to the base rail”. Therefore, claim 8 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goetz (DE 4234774, see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Goetz discloses a support rail for centerless grinding, comprising: a base rail (10) and at least one top module (comprising support inset 11) detachably fastened (by depicted screw) to the base rail comprising at least one support inset (11) which seats a workpiece to be ground ([0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Goetz further discloses the at least one support inset is detachably mounted on the at least one top module (see 112b rejection above; as best understood, the support inset 11 is detachably mounted to element 12 of top module as shown in fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Goetz further discloses the top module a top module (12) on which one or more support insets of the at least one support inset are detachably mounted (see 112b rejection above; as best understood support insets 11 are detachably mounted by screw 19 to elements 12 of top modules as shown in figs 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Goetz further discloses the at least one top module comprises at least two top modules (as shown in fig 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Goetz further discloses on each of the at least two top modules a support inset is detachably mounted (fig 1; inset 11 detachably mounted to modules 12); and the at least one support inset (11) is detachably mounted on selected top modules (12) of the at least two top modules (fig 1; each support inset is mounted on a selected different top module 12).
Regarding claim 8, Goetz further discloses at least one top module is detachably fastened to the base rail (see 112d rejection above; this limitation is addressed in the 102 rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Goetz further discloses the base rail (10) is sized in a longitudinal direction (horizontal direction as viewed in fig 1) in such a way that at least two top modules arranged successively in the longitudinal direction can be fastened to the base rail (fig 1 shows multiple top modules comprising support insets 11 fastened to the base rail 10).
Regarding claim 10, Goetz further discloses an adapter device (interpreted under 112f as comprising a plate or functional equivalents thereof) to detachably fasten the at least one top module (11) to the base rail (in embodiment of fig 6, top module comprising support inset 11 is detachably mounted to base rail 10 by an adapter device 27).
Regarding claims 11-12, Goetz further discloses a guiding device (for claim 11, this is interpreted under 112f as comprising a rail or functional equivalents thereof; for claim 12, which recites structure, this limitation is no longer interpreted under 112f) to guide the at least one top module relative to the base rail (rail 27 shown in fig 6 is a guiding device guiding the top module 11 relative to base rail 10); wherein the guiding device comprises at least one guide rail (27) arranged on the at least one top module (comprising support inset 11) and at least one guide groove (68) arranged on the base rail (10; fig 6) or on an adapter device and interacts with the at least one guide rail (as shown in fig 6 and described [0022-0024]).
Regarding claims 13-14, Goetz further discloses an adjusting device (for claim 13, this is interpreted under 112f as comprising a stop or functional equivalents thereof; for claim 14, which recites structure, this limitation is no longer interpreted under 112f) to adjust a height of the at least one top module relative to the base rail (as described [0024]); wherein the adjusting device comprises a stop element (37) on the base rail (10) or on an adapter device (adapter device is alternatively recited and not necessary to meet the claim), and an adjustable adjusting element (51) that interacts with the stop element (as described [0024-0025]) and that is arranged on the at least one top module (arranged on element 27, which is considered to be a part of a top module structure including elements 11 and 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Caster (US 1814367).
Regarding claim 3, Goetz teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Goetz does not teach the at least one support inset comprises an annular stop. Caster teaches a support rail for centerless grinding including at least one support inset comprising an annular stop (45; fig 5). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an annular stop with the support inset of Goetz, as an annular stop allows free rotation of the workpiece during grinding as taught by Caster (p 2, lines 68-76).
Regarding claim 15, Goetz teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Goetz further teaches a centerless grinder comprising: a grinding disk (“grinding wheel” described [0009]), a control wheel (“regulating wheel” described [0009]), and the support rail according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the grinding disk and the control wheel are on opposite sides of a workpiece to be ground (as described [0009]), wherein the support rail is positioned to support the workpiece being ground ([0009]). Goetz is silent as to the arrangement of the support rail relative to the grinding disk and control wheel and thus does not explicitly teach the support rail is positioned between the grinding disk and control wheel. Caster teaches a centerless grinder comprising a grinding disk (16), a control wheel (17), and a support rail (26) between the grinding disk and control wheel (fig 4) to support a workpiece (27) being ground. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the support rail of Goetz between the grinding disk and support wheel, as this location achieves the predictable result of centrally supporting the workpiece as taught by Caster (p 2, lines 90-99).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other similar support rails and centerless grinders are cited.
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723