DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendments of claims 1, 3, 10, 13, 16-18, 20-22, and 24; the cancellation of claims 4, 14, 19, 23, and 25; and the addition of claims 26-31 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments that cancellation of claims make the previous 35 USC 112(b) rejections moot are persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding prior art rejections over Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec regarding claims 1 and 10 are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Hallen and Lopez are directed to vents and not an infusion cannula, arguing that the infusion cannula claimed is for fluid flow into the cannula, and for flow into the cannula the recited structure of “the distal segment comprising a third length greater than the second length….wherein the third length of the distal segment is shorter than a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition” would not be obvious in view of the vent references of Hallen and Lopez. However, nowhere in claims 1 or 10 is infusion mentioned, and therefore currently an infusion cannula is not mentioned in claims 1 or 10. Additionally, applicant admits that the infusion cannula may be used for venting of ocular fluids (see par. 6), and therefore Hallen and Lopez address a problem that applicant is concerned with. Furthermore, applicant seems to argue that with the length of Hallen disclosed as being so long and such a length being helpful to increase friction between the distal portion and the trocar cannula to keep the vent seated against the flow of fluid out of the trocar cannula, one would not make this distal segment shorter. However, proper motivation was provided in light of all of Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec for making such a segment shorter and as applicant themselves admits that the claimed cannula is used also for venting, then such a shorter length would still provide that function. Applicant additionally points to Figure 10a of Lopez for support of how one of ordinary skill would use a bell shape to address a shorter distal segment, but it seems that Fig. 9b in showing a shortened distal segment in a similar shape to Hallen is more relevant due to the similarities of shape disclosed and Figure 9b shows how making a shortened distal segment would still work.
Applicant’s arguments that claims 1 and 10 are allowable, and therefore dependent claims are allowable are not persuasive, as applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1 and 10 were not found persuasive and claims 1 and 10 are rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 10, 13, 15, 26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallen (US 2018/0353326) in view of Lopez et al. (US 2011/0152774) and further in view of Gerbec et al. (US 2011/0218521) .
Regarding claim 1, Hallen discloses a cannula device for a surgical procedure (see Fig. 8), the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment comprising a first length and a first inner diameter (ID) (see Fig. 6a, annotated below, and Fig. 8); an intermediate segment coupled to the proximal segment (see Fig. 6a, annotated below), the intermediate segment comprising a second length and a second ID smaller than the first ID (see Figs. 6a and 8); and a distal segment coupled to the intermediate segment (see Fig. 6a, annotated below), the distal segment comprising a third length greater than the second length and a third ID smaller than the second ID (see Fig. 6a for the length and Fig. 8 and the third and second ID comparisons).
Hallen further discloses the cannula device further comprising a first transition connecting a distal end of the proximal segment and a proximal end of the intermediate segment, the first transition comprising a first fillet and a second fillet (see Fig. 6a, annotated below).
Additionally, Hallen discloses the cannula device further comprising a second transition connecting a distal end of the intermediate segment and a proximal end of the distal segment, the second transition comprising a third fillet and a fourth fillet (see Fig. 6a, annotated below).
Hallen does not disclose the third length of the distal segment is shorter than a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition.
Lopez discloses a cannula device 901 for a surgical procedure, the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment, intermediate segment, and distal segment with varying diameters (see Figs. 9a-9b). Lopez also discloses that it is well known to vary the distal segment length (see Fig. 8, distal segment of this embodiment is longer than the distal segment of Figs. 9a-9b). It is common sense that a shorter length would result in less materials, therefore lower cost because of the use of less materials, and such sense that reducing amount of material results in reduced manufacturing costs is disclosed by Gerbec (see par. 53). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hallen device to have a length as claimed that is shorter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component that Lopez discloses can be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen by making the length of the distal segment shorter, resulting in a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition that is longer than the length of the distal segment as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Hallen further discloses at least one portion of the distal segment is configured to be disposed inside a shaft of a valved cannula 110 (see Figs. 3b for valved cannula and Fig. 8 for distal segment inside shaft of valved cannula) comprising a hub 103, the shaft 105, and a cannula transition between the hub and the shaft (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3b, transition that widens from shaft base to connect with hub). Additionally, as the distal segment is configured to slide into shaft 105 (see Fig. 8, par. 37), and the edge of the distal end is directly up against the inner surface of the shaft, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that they would frictionally engage as there is not space between them (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Hallen further discloses at least one portion of the intermediate segment is configured to be disposed inside a hub or a cannula transition of a valved cannula comprising the hub 103, a shaft 105, and the cannula transition (see Fig. 3b, transition that widens from shaft base to connect with hub) between the hub and the shaft (see Figs. 2, 3b, and 8).
Regarding claim 6, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec discloses the limitations of claim 5 and Hallen further discloses the at least one portion of the intermediate segment is configured to frictionally engage with an inner surface of the hub (see Fig. 8, portion of intermediate segment that is up against hub inner surface).
Regarding claim 10, Hallen discloses a cannula device for a surgical procedure (see Fig. 8), the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment comprising a first inner diameter (ID), a first length, a first proximal end, and a first distal end (see Fig. 6a, annotated below and showing length of segment and Fig. 8 showing inner diameter of segment); an intermediate segment coupled to the proximal segment, the intermediate segment comprising a second ID smaller than the first ID, a second length, a second proximal end, and a second distal end (see Fig. 6a, annotated below and showing length of segment and Fig. 8 showing inner diameters of segments); a first transition connecting the proximal segment and the intermediate segment via the first distal end and the second proximal end, the first transition comprising a first fillet and a second fillet (see Fig. 6a, annotated below); a distal segment coupled to the intermediate segment, the distal segment comprising a third ID smaller than the second ID, a third length greater than the second length, a third proximal end, and a third distal end (see Fig. 6a, annotated below and showing length of segment and Fig. 8 showing inner diameters of segments); and a second transition connecting the intermediate segment and the distal segment via the second distal end and the third proximal end, the second transition comprising a third fillet and a fourth fillet (see Fig. 6a, annotated below).
Hallen does not disclose the third length of the distal segment is shorter than a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition.
Lopez discloses a cannula device 901 for a surgical procedure, the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment, intermediate segment, and distal segment with varying diameters (see Figs. 9a-9b). Lopez also discloses that it is well known to vary the distal segment length (see Fig. 8, distal segment of this embodiment is longer than the distal segment of Figs. 9a-9b). It is common sense that a shorter length would result in less materials, therefore lower cost because of the use of less materials, and such sense that reducing amount of material results in reduced manufacturing costs is disclosed by Gerbec (see par. 53). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hallen device to have a length as claimed that is shorter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component that Lopez discloses can be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen by making the length of the distal segment shorter, resulting in a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition that is longer than the length of the distal segment as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 10 and Hallen further discloses at least one portion of the distal segment is configured to be disposed inside a shaft 105 of a valved cannula 110 (see Fig. 3b for valved cannula and Fig. 8 for distal segment inside shaft of valved cannula) comprising a hub 103, the shaft 105, and a cannula transition between the hub and the shaft (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3b, transition that widens from shaft base to connect with hub). Hallen further discloses the at least one portion of the distal segment is configured to frictionally engage with an inner surface of the shaft of the valved cannula (see Fig. 8, portion of distal segment that is right up against portion of the inner surface of shaft 105).
Regarding claim 15, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 10 and Hallen further discloses at least one portion of the intermediate segment is configured to be disposed inside a hub of a valved cannula comprising the hub 103, a shaft 105, and the cannula transition (see Fig. 3b, transition that widens from shaft base to connect with hub) between the hub and the shaft (see Figs. 2, 3b, and 8), and wherein the at least one portion of the intermediate segment is configured to frictionally engage with an inner surface of the hub (see Fig. 8, portion of intermediate segment that is up against hub inner surface).
Regarding claim 26, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 1 and Hallen further discloses the first ID being larger than the second ID (see Fig. 6a) but does not specifically teach the second ID of the intermediate segment is greater than half of the first ID of the proximal segment.
Hallen discloses that the dimensions of vent 601, which the first and second IDs are part of, are merely an example and other dimensions are contemplated, such as those that allow for the passage of instruments through the vent 601 (see par. 40). Consequently, the first ID is considered a result effective variable and changing a diameter relates to the passage of instruments through vent 601. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying such a diameter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen making the first ID of the proximal second such that half of the first ID is less than the second ID (in other words, the second ID of the intermediate segment is greater than half of the first ID of the proximal segment) as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen to have the second ID of the intermediate segment is greater than half of the first ID of the proximal segment since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen would not operate differently than the claimed relative dimensions as the device would still be for a surgical procedure. Additionally, it appears that applicant place no criticality on the claimed dimensions, indicating simply that they may have that dimension but there are also many other dimensions that are disclosed that will work (see par. 40-41 of filed Specification).
Regarding claim 28, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 1 and Hallen further discloses the proximal segment, the intermediate segment, the distal segment, first transition, and the second transition are formed form a single unitary body sharing a common central axis (see Fig. 6a) and further discloses disclose a chamfer between the first fillet and the second fillet, and a transition angle between the chamfer and the common central axis is between 15 and 90 degrees (see annotated portion of Fig. 6b below).
Regarding claim 29, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 10 and Hallen further discloses the first ID being larger than the second ID (see Fig. 6a) but does not specifically teach the second ID of the intermediate segment is greater than half of the first ID of the proximal segment.
Hallen discloses that the dimensions of vent 601, which the first and second IDs are part of, are merely an example and other dimensions are contemplated, such as those that allow for the passage of instruments through the vent 601 (see par. 40). Consequently, the first ID is considered a result effective variable and changing a diameter relates to the passage of instruments through vent 601. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying such a diameter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen making the first ID of the proximal second such that half of the first ID is less than the second ID (in other words, the second ID of the intermediate segment is greater than half of the first ID of the proximal segment) as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen to have the second ID of the intermediate segment is greater than half of the first ID of the proximal segment since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen would not operate differently than the claimed relative dimensions as the device would still be for a surgical procedure. Additionally, it appears that applicant place no criticality on the claimed dimensions, indicating simply that they may have that dimension but there are also many other dimensions that are disclosed that will work (see par. 40-41 of filed Specification).
Regarding claim 30, Regarding claim 28, Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 10 and Hallen further discloses the proximal segment, the intermediate segment, the distal segment, first transition, and the second transition are formed form a single unitary body sharing a common central axis (see Fig. 6a) and further discloses disclose a chamfer between the first fillet and the second fillet, and a transition angle between the chamfer and the common central axis is between 15 and 90 degrees (see annotated portion of Fig. 6b below).
Claim(s) 16-18, 20-22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallen in view of Lopez and further in view of Gerbec as applied to claim 1 or 10 above, and further in view of Mackay et al. (WO 2022/075840).
Regarding claim 16, Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not disclose the first length is between 0.1496 inches and 0.2024 inches and the first ID is between 0.0723 inches and 0.0978 inches.
Mackay discloses a trocar for ophthalmic surgery with tube 52 through which fluid flows, the flow rate and fluid pressure limited by the internal diameter of the passage (see page 10, lines 3-5). Consequently, such an inner diameter through which fluid flows being disclosed as a result effective variable in that changing the diameter changes the allowed flow rate and fluid pressure through the passage. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the diameter within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula device to have the first ID between 0.0723 inches and 0.0978 inches as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have the first length between 0.1496 inches and 0.2024 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec would not operate differently with the claimed length of the first length as the proximal segment would function appropriately having the claimed length. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the length “in certain embodiments” is within the claimed range (specification pp. 45-46).
Regarding claim 17, Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not disclose the second ID is between 0.0247 inches and 0.0334 inches and the second length is between 0.034 inches and 0.046 inches.
Mackay discloses a trocar for ophthalmic surgery with tube 52 through which fluid flows, the flow rate and fluid pressure limited by the internal diameter of the passage (see page 10, lines 3-5). Consequently, such an inner diameter through which fluid flows being disclosed as a result effective variable in that changing the diameter changes the allowed flow rate and fluid pressure through the passage. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the diameter within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula device to have the second ID is between 0.0247 inches and 0.0334 inches as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have the second length is between 0.034 inches and 0.046 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec would not operate differently with the claimed length of the second length as the proximal segment would function appropriately having the claimed length. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the length “in certain embodiments” is within the claimed range (specification pp. 45 and 47).
Regarding claim 18, Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not disclose the third ID is between 0.0151 inches and 0.0155 inches and the third length is between 0.0425 inches and 0.0575 inches.
Mackay discloses a trocar for ophthalmic surgery with tube 52 through which fluid flows, the flow rate and fluid pressure limited by the internal diameter of the passage (see page 10, lines 3-5). Consequently, such an inner diameter through which fluid flows being disclosed as a result effective variable in that changing the diameter changes the allowed flow rate and fluid pressure through the passage. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the diameter within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula device to have the third ID is between 0.0151 inches and 0.0155 inches as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Lopez discloses a cannula device 901 for a surgical procedure, the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment, intermediate segment, and distal segment with varying diameters (see Figs. 9a-9b). Lopez also discloses that it is well known to vary the distal segment length (see Fig. 8, distal segment of this embodiment is longer than the distal segment of Figs. 9a-9b). It is common sense that a shorter length would result in less materials, therefore lower cost because of the use of less materials, and such sense that reducing amount of material results in reduced manufacturing costs is disclosed by Gerbec (see par. 53). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hallen device to have a length as claimed that is shorter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component that Lopez discloses can be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen by making the length of the distal segment shorter, resulting in a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition that is longer than the length of the distal segment, and therefore the third length is between 0.0425 inches and 0.0575 inches, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 20, Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 10 but do not disclose the first length is between 0.1496 inches and 0.2024 inches and the first ID is between about 0.0723 inches and 0.0978 inches.
Mackay discloses a trocar for ophthalmic surgery with tube 52 through which fluid flows, the flow rate and fluid pressure limited by the internal diameter of the passage (see page 10, lines 3-5). Consequently, such an inner diameter through which fluid flows being disclosed as a result effective variable in that changing the diameter changes the allowed flow rate and fluid pressure through the passage. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the diameter within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula device to have the first ID between 0.0723 inches and 0.0978 inches as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have the first length between 0.1496 inches and 0.2024 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec would not operate differently with the claimed length of the first length as the proximal segment would function appropriately having the claimed length. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the length “in certain embodiments” is within the claimed range (specification pp. 45-46).
Regarding claim 21, Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 10 but do not disclose the second ID is between 0.0247 inches and 0.0334 inches and the second length is between 0.034 inches and 0.046 inches.
Mackay discloses a trocar for ophthalmic surgery with tube 52 through which fluid flows, the flow rate and fluid pressure limited by the internal diameter of the passage (see page 10, lines 3-5). Consequently, such an inner diameter through which fluid flows being disclosed as a result effective variable in that changing the diameter changes the allowed flow rate and fluid pressure through the passage. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the diameter within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula device to have the second ID is between 0.0247 inches and 0.0334 inches as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have the second length is between 0.034 inches and 0.046 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec would not operate differently with the claimed length of the second length as the proximal segment would function appropriately having the claimed length. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the length “in certain embodiments” is within the claimed range (specification pp. 45 and 47).
Regarding claim 22, Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec disclose the limitations of claim 10 but do not disclose the third ID is between 0.0151 inches and 0.0155 inches and the third length is between 0.0425 inches and 0.0575 inches.
Mackay discloses a trocar for ophthalmic surgery with tube 52 through which fluid flows, the flow rate and fluid pressure limited by the internal diameter of the passage (see page 10, lines 3-5). Consequently, such an inner diameter through which fluid flows being disclosed as a result effective variable in that changing the diameter changes the allowed flow rate and fluid pressure through the passage. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the diameter within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula device to have the third ID is between 0.0151 inches and 0.0155 inches as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Lopez discloses a cannula device 901 for a surgical procedure, the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment, intermediate segment, and distal segment with varying diameters (see Figs. 9a-9b). Lopez also discloses that it is well known to vary the distal segment length (see Fig. 8, distal segment of this embodiment is longer than the distal segment of Figs. 9a-9b). It is common sense that a shorter length would result in less materials, therefore lower cost because of the use of less materials, and such sense that reducing amount of material results in reduced manufacturing costs is disclosed by Gerbec (see par. 53). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hallen device to have a length as claimed that is shorter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component that Lopez discloses can be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen by making the length of the distal segment shorter, resulting in a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition that is longer than the length of the distal segment, and therefore the third length is between about 0.0425 inches and about 0.0575 inches, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 24, Hallen discloses a cannula device for a surgical procedure (see Fig. 8), the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment comprising a first length and a first inner diameter (ID) (see Fig. 6a, annotated below, and Fig. 8); an intermediate segment coupled to the proximal segment (see Fig. 6a, annotated below), the intermediate segment comprising a second length and a second ID smaller than the first ID (see Figs. 6a and 8); and a distal segment coupled to the intermediate segment (see Fig. 6a, annotated below), the distal segment comprising a third length greater than the second length and a third ID smaller than the second ID (see Fig. 6a for the length and Fig. 8 and the third and second ID comparisons).
Hallen further discloses the cannula device further comprising a first transition connecting a distal end of the proximal segment and a proximal end of the intermediate segment, the first transition comprising a first fillet and a second fillet (see Fig. 6a, annotated below).
Additionally, Hallen discloses the cannula device further comprising a second transition connecting a distal end of the intermediate segment and a proximal end of the distal segment, the second transition comprising a third fillet and a fourth fillet (see Fig. 6a, annotated below).
Hallen does not disclose the third length of the distal segment is shorter than a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition.
Lopez discloses a cannula device 901 for a surgical procedure, the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment, intermediate segment, and distal segment with varying diameters (see Figs. 9a-9b). Lopez also discloses that it is well known to vary the distal segment length (see Fig. 8, distal segment of this embodiment is longer than the distal segment of Figs. 9a-9b). It is common sense that a shorter length would result in less materials, therefore lower cost because of the use of less materials, and such sense that reducing amount of material results in reduced manufacturing costs is disclosed by Gerbec (see par. 53). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hallen device to have a length as claimed that is shorter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component that Lopez discloses can be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen by making the length of the distal segment shorter, resulting in a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition that is longer than the length of the distal segment as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec do not disclose the first length is between 0.1496 inches and 0.2024 inches and the first ID is between 0.0723 inches and 0.0978 inches.
Mackay discloses a trocar for ophthalmic surgery with tube 52 through which fluid flows, the flow rate and fluid pressure limited by the internal diameter of the passage (see page 10, lines 3-5). Consequently, such an inner diameter through which fluid flows being disclosed as a result effective variable in that changing the diameter changes the allowed flow rate and fluid pressure through the passage. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the diameter within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula device to have the first ID between 0.0723 inches and 0.0978 inches as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have the first length between 0.1496 inches and 0.2024 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec would not operate differently with the claimed length of the first length as the proximal segment would function appropriately having the claimed length. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the length “in certain embodiments” is within the claimed range (specification pp. 45-46).
Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec do not disclose the second length is between 0.034 inches and 0.046 inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have the second length is between 0.034 inches and 0.046 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec would not operate differently with the claimed length of the second length as the proximal segment would function appropriately having the claimed length. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the length “in certain embodiments” is within the claimed range (specification pp. 45 and 47).
Hallen, Lopez and Gerbec do not disclose the third length is between 0.0425 inches and 0.0575 inches.
Lopez discloses a cannula device 901 for a surgical procedure, the cannula device comprising: a proximal segment, intermediate segment, and distal segment with varying diameters (see Figs. 9a-9b). Lopez also discloses that it is well known to vary the distal segment length (see Fig. 8, distal segment of this embodiment is longer than the distal segment of Figs. 9a-9b). It is common sense that a shorter length would result in less materials, therefore lower cost because of the use of less materials, and such sense that reducing amount of material results in reduced manufacturing costs is disclosed by Gerbec (see par. 53). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hallen device to have a length as claimed that is shorter, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component that Lopez discloses can be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hallen by making the length of the distal segment shorter, resulting in a combined length of the intermediate segment and the second transition that is longer than the length of the distal segment, and therefore the third length is between 0.0425 inches and 0.0575 inches, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art found is Hallen, Lopez, and Gerbec, which do not disclose the required proximal portion of the proximal segment being tapered toward an entrance of the proximal segment to facilitate connection of the proximal segment to an infusion line tubing. Hallen and Lopez are directed towards venting and do not mention infusion line tubing, and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to make such a modification absent glancing into applicant’s specification.
Conclusion
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781