DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 7/24/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 21-26 are pending while claims 4 and 16-20 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, second paragraph, filed 7/24/2026, with respect to objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 24 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-13, filed 7/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 103 over Lee in view of Jang and claim have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of current claims 1-3 and 5-15 under 103 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to the arguments regarding the newly added limitation concerning the coated surface to prevent dew formation, pages 14-15, Lee clearly teaches that “the outer surface of the adiabatic case 230 is coated with polyurethane film” (par 0033), which is used to prevent dew formation, as claimed. Thus, claims 21-25 are now rejected under 103 over Jang in view of Lee, as described in detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0159937 to Jang et al. (Jang) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0178145 to Lee et al. (Lee).
In reference to claim 21, Jang teaches a vacuum adiabatic body (FIG. 1-13), comprising a first plate (11, FIG. 2-3); a second plate (13, FIG. 3) including a portion spaced apart from the first plate in a first direction (towards the rear of the system FIG. 2); a vacuum space (S, FIG. 2-3) defined as a gap between the first plate (11, FIG. 3) and the second plate (13, FIG. 3); a perforation plate (perforation plate PP, FIG. Z, below) including a portion spaced apart from the first plate in a second direction which is different from the first direction (towards the front of the system, FIG. 2-3); a cooling air passage (cooling air passage CAP, FIG. Z) formed between the first plate (11, FIG. 3) and the perforation plate (PP, FIG. Z), wherein the first plate (11, FIG. 3) includes a first surface (11a, FIG. 2-3) configured to define a first wall for the cooling air passage (CAP, FIG. Z), and a second surface (portion of 11 facing S, FIG. 2-3) configured to define a wall for the vacuum space (S, FIG. 2-3), and wherein the perforation plate (PP, FIG. Z) includes a first surface (surface of PP facing CAP, FIG. Z) configured to define a second wall for the cooling air passage (CAP, FIG. Z), and a second surface configured to define a wall for a first space (20, FIG. 2), but does not teach wherein the first surface of the first plate is surface treated to prevent dew formation on the first surface of the first plate in direct contact with the cool air. Lee teaches a refrigerator and a cooling air passage structure (FIG. 1-5) wherein the first surface of the first plate (230, FIG. 1-5) is surface treated to prevent dew formation on the first surface of the first plate in direct contact with the cool air (par 0033) in order to reduce heat loss or heat inflow from an outside (par 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jang, to have the first surface of the first plate surface treated to prevent dew formation on the first surface of the first plate in direct contact with the cool air, as taught by Lee, in order to prevent dew formation, reduce heat loss or heat inflow from an outside.
In reference to claim 22, Jang and Lee teach the vacuum adiabatic body as explained in the rejection of claim 21 above, and Jang additionally teaches wherein the first plate (11, FIG. 3) is configured to define at least one portion of a wall for the first space (20, FIG. 3), and the second plate (13, FIG. 3) is configured to define at least one portion of a wall for a second space (vacuum filled space S, FIG. 2-3).
In reference to claim 23, Jang and Lee teach the vacuum adiabatic body as explained in the rejection of claim 21 above, and Jang additionally teaches at least one of a support or a porous substance (foam S, par 0073), wherein the support is provided to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space, and includes bars, and wherein the porous substance is filled in the vacuum space (15, FIG. 2-3).
In reference to claim 24, Jang and Lee teach the vacuum adiabatic body as explained in the rejection of claim 21 above, and Jang additionally teaches a refrigerator (10, FIG. 1-3) comprising a main body provided with a chamber (21 and 22, FIG. 1) in which a stored item is placed; a door (30, FIG. 1-3) provided to open and close the main body; wherein the first space (20, FIG. 1-3) is the chamber.
FIG. Z, as annotated by the Examiner: Perforation Plate and the Cooling Air Passage
In reference to claim 25, Jang and Lee teach the vacuum adiabatic body as explained in the rejection of claim 21 above, and Jang additionally teaches wherein the perforation plate (PP, FIG. Z) includes a plurality of holes (five groups of apertures unmarked but visible in PP, FIG. Z) that have a size and a density configured to increase in a downstream flow direction of the cool air in the cooling air passage (FIG. Z).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 26 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
10/03/2026