DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a reply to the amendment filed on 8/28/2026. Currently, claims 1-7, 10-15, 19-22 and 26 are pending. Claims 8-9, 16-18 and 23-25 have been cancelled. No claims have been withdrawn. No new claims have been added.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amended claims filed on 8/28/2026 do not comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) based on the following informalities:
The claims have not been provided with proper markups. Text has been underlined that is not new. For example, in claim 5, line 2, “second support elements”, the word “second” is not newly added text. See also claims 7 and 21-22. Applicant is encouraged to check the remainder of the claims for additional amendment markings that are unclear. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. 37 CFR 1.121(c)(2). In order to advance prosecution, the examiner treated the underlined text as if it were not underlined.
Claim 23 is missing. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered). 37 CFR 1.121(c). In order to advance prosecution, the examiner treated claim 23 as “(Canceled)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10-15, 19-22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, “one or more first support elements permanently affixed to the first frame portion” is new matter because applicant’s disclosure did not previously define the one or more first support elements being permanently affixed as claimed. Applicant’s specification recites, “[t]he more typical means are fixing screws, bolts, welding, or adhesives” (as published in US 20240240510 [0054]) and “the support elements are laser-welded” and “[o]ther suitable attachment means that can be used, including screws, bolts, or adhesives” (as published in US 20240240510 [0057]). While there is no in haec verba requirement, newly added claim limitations must be supported in the specification through express, implicit or inherent disclosure. MPEP 2163(B). Applicant’s claim language, “permanently affixed” is broader than what is disclosed. As such, applicant did not have support for the claim limitation. If applicant wishes for the claim to require permanently affixed, applicant should recite something that has support in the specification, such as, “welded”. See also claims 5-7, 15 and 19-20.
The remaining claims in this section are rejected by virtue of dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10-12, 15 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiselewski (US 3788019).
Claim 1, Kiselewski provides a door system for fitting to a wall, the door system comprising:
a first frame portion (see annotated Fig. 2 of Kiselewski shown below in Examiner Notes); and
a second frame portion (annotated Fig. 2) to which a door leaf is attached (annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the second frame portion is configured to slidingly engage with the first frame portion between first and second limit positions such that the door system can accommodate a variety of wall thicknesses (it is understood that the second frame portion is suitable to be slidingly engaged with the first frame portion between first and second limit positions when the second frame portion is slid all the way in and all the way out to accommodate various wall thicknesses; Fig. 2),
wherein the door system further comprises one or more first support elements (annotated Fig. 2) permanently affixed to the first frame portion (see 112(a) as above; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the first support element is nailed to the wall and clamped to the first frame portion in a permanent assembly, and thus the one or more first support elements was treated as being permanently affixed to the first frame portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the one or more first support elements are configured to provide a contact point between a side of the first frame portion and a surface of the wall that faces both the side of the second frame portion and a side of the first frame portion when the first frame portion and the second frame portion are slidingly engaged (see arrangement of the first support element relative to the first and second frame portions and the surface of the wall; annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the one or more first support elements are configured to provide structural support to the first frame portion to enable the first frame portion to withstand forces applied to the first frame portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the one or more first support elements is clamped to the first frame portion and presses against the wall, thus is suitable to provide structural support to the first frame portion to enable the first frame portion to withstand forces applied to the first frame portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 5, Kiselewski further provides wherein the door system comprises one or more second support elements (annotated Fig. 2) permanently affixed to the second frame portion (see 112(a) as above; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the second support element is nailed to the wall and clamped to the second frame portion in a permanent assembly, and thus the one or more second support elements was treated as being permanently affixed to the first second portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2) and to provide a contact point between the second frame portion and the wall (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the one or more second support elements abuts the second frame portion and provides a contact point between the second frame portion and the wall, via elements 16 and 18; see annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 6, Kiselewski further provides wherein the one or more second support elements permanently affixed to the second frame portion each defines a closed cross-sectional area with respect to the second frame portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “defines a closed cross-sectional area”, the one or more second support elements is suitable to define a closed cross-sectional area with respect to the second frame portion, as a closed space is formed between the second support element and the second frame portion in annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 7, Kiselewski further provides wherein the one or more second support elements permanently affixed to the second frame portion comprises two supporting limbs configured to abut the first frame portion, and an intermediate limb coupling the two supporting limbs (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of applicant’s definition of U-shaped element 303 comprising “two substantially vertical supporting limbs” and “a substantially horizontal intermediate limb” in applicant’s paragraph [0059] as published and applicant’s Fig. 3B, Kiselewski’s second support element has a first supporting limb and a second supporting limb, each abutting the first frame portion, and an intermediate limb coupling the first and second supporting limbs in annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 10, Kiselewski further provides a further support element (“further support element” annotated Fig. 2) configured to provide a further contact point between the first frame portion and the second frame portion (the further support element directly abuts the second frame portion, and is coupled to the first frame portion via elements 18 and 20, and thus provides a further contact point between the first and second frame portions; annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 11, Kiselewski further provides wherein the further support element defines a further closed cross-sectional area with respect to the second frame portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “defines a further closed cross-sectional area”, the further support element forms a closed space with the second frame portion as the further support element directly abuts the second frame portion at reference character 26 and directly abuts 18 which directly abuts the second frame portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 12, Kiselewski further provides wherein the further support element comprises two supporting limbs configured to abut the second frame portion, and an intermediate limb coupling the two supporting limbs (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of applicant’s definition of U-shaped element 303 comprising “two substantially vertical supporting limbs” and “a substantially horizontal intermediate limb” in applicant’s paragraph [0059] as published and applicant’s Fig. 3B, Kiselewski’s further support element comprises a first supporting limb at reference character 26 that abuts the second frame portion, a second supporting limb at the vertical portion of the further support member that abuts the second frame portion via element 18, and an intermediate limb at the horizontal portion of the further support element coupling the two supporting limbs; annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 15, Kiselewski provides a method of fitting the door system of claim 1 to a wall, comprising:
securing the first frame portion to the wall (annotated Fig. 2);
engaging the first frame portion with the second frame portion (annotated Fig. 2), wherein the door leaf is pre-hung within the second frame portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “pre-hung”, Kiselewski’s door 42 is mounted to the second frame portion prior to installation; col. 3, lines 19-25), and wherein the second frame portion is configured to slidingly engage with the first frame portion between the first and second limit positions (it is understood that the second frame portion is suitable to slidingly engage with the first frame portion between first and second limit positions when the second frame portion is slid all the way in and all the way out to accommodate various wall thicknesses; annotated Fig. 2);
moving the second frame portion to a position between the first and second limit positions such that the first frame portion and the second frame portion abut respective faces of the wall (annotated Fig. 2); and
securing the second frame portion to the wall (annotated Fig. 2), wherein one or more support elements 18 are permanently affixed to the second frame portion (see 112(a) as above; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the one or more support elements is nailed to the wall and clamped to the second frame portion in a permanent assembly, and thus the one or more support elements was treated as being permanently affixed to the second frame portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 19, Kiselewski provides a door system for fitting to a wall, the door system comprising:
a first frame portion (annotated Fig. 2 shown below in Examiner Notes);
a second frame portion (annotated Fig. 2) wherein the second frame portion is configured to slidingly engage with the first frame portion between first and second limit positions such that the door system can accommodate a variety of wall thicknesses (it is understood that the second frame portion is suitable to be slidingly engaged with the first frame portion between first and second limit positions when the second frame portion is slid all the way in and all the way out to accommodate various wall thicknesses; Fig. 2);
one or more first support elements (annotated Fig. 2) permanently affixed to the first frame portion (see 112(a) as above; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the one or more first support element is nailed to the wall and clamped to the first frame portion in a permanent assembly, and thus the one or more first support elements was treated as being permanently affixed to the first frame portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2) and configured to provide a first contact point between a side of the first frame portion and a surface of the wall that faces both a side of a second frame portion and the side of the first frame portion when the first frame portion and the second frame portion are slidingly engaged (annotated Fig. 2);
one or more second support elements (annotated Fig. 2) permanently affixed to the second frame portion (see 112(a) as above; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the second support element is nailed to the wall and clamped to the second frame portion in a permanent assembly, and thus the one or more second support elements was treated as being permanently affixed to the second frame portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2) and configured to provide a second contact point between a side of the second frame portion and the wall (annotated Fig., 2); and
a further support element (“further support element” in annotated Fig. 2) configured to provide a third contact point between the first frame portion and the second frame portion (annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 20, Kiselewski provides further provides:
securing the first frame portion to the wall (annotated Fig. 2);
engaging the first frame portion with a second frame portion (annotated Fig. 2), wherein the second frame portion is configured to slidingly engage with the first frame portion between first and second limit positions (it is understood that the second frame portion is suitable to be slidingly engaged with the first frame portion between first and second limit positions when the second frame portion is slid all the way in and all the way out to accommodate various wall thicknesses; Fig. 2), moving the second frame portion to a position between the first and second limit positions such that the first frame portion and the second frame portion abut respective faces of the wall (annotated Fig. 2); and
securing the second frame portion to the wall (annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 21, Kiselewski further provides wherein the one or more first support elements permanently affixed to the first frame portion define a closed cross-sectional area with respect to the first frame portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “defines a closed cross-sectional area”, one or more first support elements defines a closed space with the first frame portion thereby defining a closed-cross sectional area with respect to the first frame; annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 22, Kiselewski further provides wherein at least one of the one or more second support elements permanently affixed to the second frame portion and the further support element defines a closed cross-sectional area with respect to the second frame portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “defines a closed cross-sectional area”, the at least one of the one or more second support elements forms a closed space the second frame portion and thus defines a closed cross-sectional area with respect to the second frame portion; annotated Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 2-3, 13 (claim 2 is dependent upon claim 26) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiselewski (US 3788019) in view of Ridley (US 20200149330).
Claims 26 and 2, Kiselewski teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as above. Kiselewski does not teach wherein the door leaf comprises an anti-ligature device. However, Ridley teaches a door system for fitting to a wall, the door system comprising a door leaf ("door leaf" [0048]) comprising [claim 26] an anti-ligature device ("[t]he leaf may comprise an anti-ligature door leaf" [0048]; "top edge may slope downwards toward the leading edge" [0048]), [claim 2] wherein the anti-ligature device comprises at least one of: a ligature-detection sensor; an anti-ligature hinge; an anti-ligature door handle; or a sloped door leaf edge (Ridley; a sloped door leaf edge [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the door leaf such that the door leaf comprises an anti-ligature device, wherein the anti-ligature device comprises at least one of: a ligature-detection sensor; an anti-ligature hinge; an anti-ligature door handle; or a sloped door leaf edge, with the reasonable expectation of success of reducing a risk of an element such as a ligature being wedged or trapped by the door leaf (Ridley [0025[), since it has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see above citation).
Claim 3, as modified above, the combination of Kiselewski and Ridley teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the anti-ligature device comprises the sloped door leaf edge, and wherein the sloped door leaf edge is a top edge of the door leaf (Ridley; top sloped door leaf edge [0048]).
Claim 13, Kiselewski teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as above. Kiselewski does not teach wherein the door leaf, when in a closed position, is free of ligature anchor points. However, Ridley teaches a door system for fitting to a wall, the door system comprising a door leaf ("door leaf" [0048]) comprising [claim 26] an anti-ligature device ("[t]he leaf may comprise an anti-ligature door leaf" [0048]; "top edge may slope downwards toward the leading edge" [0048], wherein the door leaf is suitable to be free of ligature anchor points [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the door leaf of Kiselewski such that when in a closed position, is free of ligature anchor points, with the reasonable expectation of success of reducing the possibility of self-harm in vulnerable individuals left unsupervised (Ridley abstract), and since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143(B).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiselewski (US 3788019) in view of Ridley (US 20200149330) as above and further in view of Eller et al. (US 20150130197) (‘Eller’).
Claim 4, as modified above, the combination of Kiselewski and Ridley teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the anti-ligature device comprises the anti-ligature door handle (Ridley [0077] “handle-less leaf”), but does not teach the anti-ligature door handle having a continuously sloped profile that is free of ligature anchor points. However, Eller teaches a door system comprising an anti-ligature device comprising an anti-ligature door handle 10, and wherein the anti-ligature door handle has a continuously sloped profile that is free of ligature anchor points (Eller Figs. 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the door system of Kiselewski to comprise an anti-ligature device comprising an anti-ligature door handle, and wherein the anti-ligature door handle has a continuously sloped profile that is free of ligature anchor points, with the reasonable expectation of success of increasing the safety of the door system (Eller [0009]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiselewski (US 3788019) in view of Ridley (US 20200149330) as above and further in view of Hall (US 20180325326).
Claim 14, Kiselewski further teaches wherein the second frame portion comprises a fin (vertical portion of the second frame portion shown in Fig. 1) configured to contact the door leaf when the door leaf is in a closed position (Fig. 1). Kiselewski is silent as to the fin being made from a flexible material. However, Hall teaches a door system, comprising a door frame 208 comprising a fin 210 configured to contact a door leaf 204 when the door leaf is in a closed position ([0032]; Fig. 2), wherein the fin is made from a flexible material (flexible [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the second frame portion to comprise a fin configured to contact the door leaf when the door leaf is in a closed position, wherein the fin is made from a flexible material, with the reasonable expectation of success of preventing a ligature from being fixed at the meeting point between the door leaf and the frame (Hall [0032]).
Examiner Notes
Annotated Fig. 2 of Kiselewski (US 3788019)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection of claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10-12, 15 and 19-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiselewski (US 3788019).
Re claim 1, applicant argues that the prior art allegedly does not teach the one or more first support elements being permanently affixed to the first frame portion. As noted in the rejection above, applicant did not have adequate support for “permanently affixed” as claimed and thus the limitation was treated as new matter under 112(a). Kiselewski’s first support element is nailed to the wall and clamped to the first frame portion in a permanent assembly. In other words, Kiselewski’s one or more first support elements and first frame portion are intended to be installed and remain installed as a final assembly in a building structure. As such, the one or more first support elements was treated as being permanently affixed to the first frame portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 2). Thus, Kiselewski meets the claim.
Applicant’s arguments to claims 15 and 19 are substantially similar to that of claim 1, and the response is not repeated for brevity.
Claims 5-7, 10-12, 15 and 19-22 stand or fall with claim 1 as above.
Rejection of claim(s) 26, 2-3, 13 (claim 2 is dependent upon claim 26) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiselewski (US 3788019) in view of Ridley (US 20200149330).
Claims 26, 2-3 and 13 stand or fall with claim 1 as above.
Rejection of claim(s) 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiselewski (US 3788019) in view of Ridley (US 20200149330) as above and further in view of Eller et al. (US 20150130197) (‘Eller’).
Claim 4 stands or falls with claim 1 as above.
Rejection of claim(s) 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiselewski (US 3788019) in view of Ridley (US 20200149330) as above and further in view of Hall (US 20180325326).
Claim 14 stands or falls with claim 1 as above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES M. FERENCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JAMES M FERENCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635