DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 15 and 1, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11/875,081 in view of Lebaredian et al. (Lebaredian), US Patent No. 12,211,005 B2.
Claims 8, 15, and 1 of US Patent No. 11/875,081 teach every limitation of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively except “wherein users of the group-based communication system that are non-members of the communication channel at least one of have limited access to the communication channel or have access to a reduced amount of functionality of the communication channel”.
In the same field of endeavor, Lebaredian discloses a cloud-centric platform for generating virtual three-dimensional (3D) content, that allows users to collaborate online, and using the platform, virtual environments (e.g., scenes, worlds, universes) can be created, accessed, and interact with simultaneously by multiple collaborative content creators using varying content creation or development applications (Abstract). Lebaredian further discloses a database that stores assets, and also includes a synchronizer, which can synchronize a change made by a client coupled to the server and data of the assets to include the change in the database, and can also synchronize changes in the database and data of clients coupled to the server (col. 1, lines 47-54). Lebaredian further discloses the platform thus allow collaborative, Web-based real-time editing through a published interface so that clients that are subscribers to an asset can work together on that asset or object (col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 6). Lebaredian further discloses each asset in the database can be accessed and optionally change by one or more clients 102a-n, wherein the clients 102a-n are connected to the database, and access to an asset is limited to clients that subscribe to that asset, and a change to an asset can only be made by a subscriber that has permission to do so (col. 5, line 66 – col. 6, line 11). Lebaredian further discloses in col. 6, lines 16-22 that one or more of the clients 102a-n can make changes to an asset, the synchronizer 108 synchronizes those changes with the data of the asset, and also synchronizes the data of the changed (updated) asset with other clients interested in that asset (e.g., other subscribers (members) to the asset. Thus, non-subscribers (non-members) will not receive the updated the data of the asset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the collaboration system of US Patent No. 11/875,081 to include “wherein users of the group-based communication system that are non-members of the communication channel at least one of have limited access to the communication channel or have access to a reduced amount of functionality of the communication channel” as taught by Lebaredian for the purpose of preventing non-subscribers/non-members to have access to updated assets in collaboration network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lansing et al. (Lansing), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0086200, and further in view of Lebaredian et al. (Lebaredian), US Patent No. 12,211,005 B2.
As to independent claim 1, Lansing discloses a method comprising:
causing display of a shared screen within a synchronous multimedia collaboration session that is initiated from within a communication channel of a group-based communication system, the shared screen being presented via a first device of a first user and a second device of a second user, the first user and the second user each being members of the communication channel and the synchronous multimedia collaboration session (paragraph [0026]: during a web conferencing session, a user may choose to share their screen or may choose to share images that derive from files available to the user; the first user can discuss the spreadsheet, possibly moving the mouse cursor or other pointing cursor over regions of the spreadsheet while providing a voiceover for all web conference participants to see and hear);
receiving, during the synchronous multimedia collaboration session, an annotation on the shared screen from at least one of the first user or the second user (paragraph [0027]:: (e.g., Some web conferencing facilities provide a set of annotation tools (e.g., line drawing tools, curve drawing tools, text box tools, erasers, etc.) for users of the web conferencing facility to annotate over whatever is being displayed on the web conference display area);
causing display of the annotation on the shared screen to create an annotated screen share (paragraph [0027]: (e.g., each individual participant can make user-specific annotations, and can freely use the annotation tools, including erasers to make and change annotations over whatever is being displayed on the web conference display area) ;
receiving, from one of the members of the synchronous multimedia collaboration session, a request to save a copy of the annotated screen share (paragraph [[0041]: (e.g., the participants may choose to close the previewing activity (operation 116). This can happen automatically, for example at the end of a web conferencing session, or this can happen in response to operation of close function 130); and
saving, in response to receiving the request, the copy of the annotated screen share (paragraphs [0041], [0005], [0006]) (e.g., the annotation is saved within documents 103; however, in other embodiments, the annotations can be saved and merely associated with the selected document 103.sub.SELECTED; When the conference ends, a video file (e.g., an MP4 file), an audio file (e.g., an MP3 file), any chat activity, including document annotation, that might have occurred during the web conference, and other assets of the web conference are saved).
Lansing, however, does not disclose the communication channel being inaccessible to wherein users of the group-based communication system that are non-members of the communication channel at least one of have limited access to the communication channel or have access to a reduced amount of functionality of the communication channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Lebaredian discloses a cloud-centric platform for generating virtual three-dimensional (3D) content, that allows users to collaborate online, and using the platform, virtual environments (e.g., scenes, worlds, universes) can be created, accessed, and interact with simultaneously by multiple collaborative content creators using varying content creation or development applications (Abstract). Lebaredian further discloses a database that stores assets, and also includes a synchronizer, which can synchronize a change made by a client coupled to the server and data of the assets to include the change in the database, and can also synchronize changes in the database and data of clients coupled to the server (col. 1, lines 47-54). Lebaredian further discloses the platform thus allow collaborative, Web-based real-time editing through a published interface so that clients that are subscribers to an asset can work together on that asset or object (col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 6). Lebaredian further discloses each asset in the database can be accessed and optionally change by one or more clients 102a-n, wherein the clients 102a-n are connected to the database, and access to an asset is limited to clients that subscribe to that asset, and a change to an asset can only be made by a subscriber that has permission to do so (col. 5, line 66 – col. 6, line 11). Lebaredian further discloses in col. 6, lines 16-22 that one or more of the clients 102a-n can make changes to an asset, the synchronizer 108 synchronizes those changes with the data of the asset, and also synchronizes the data of the changed (updated) asset with other clients interested in that asset (e.g., other subscribers (members) to the asset. Thus, non-subscribers (non-members) will not receive the updated the data of the asset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the collaboration system Lansing to include “wherein users of the group-based communication system that are non-members of the communication channel at least one of have limited access to the communication channel or have access to a reduced amount of functionality of the communication channel” as taught by Lebaredian for the purpose of preventing non-subscribers/non-members to have access to updated assets in collaboration network.
As to dependent claim 2, Lansing discloses saving, in response to receiving the request, the copy of the annotated screen share in association with the communication channel such that the copy of the annotated screen share is accessible from within the communication channel (paragraph [0042]: (e.g., an email can be sent to the participants in the web conference with a link that indicates where the particular version(s) and annotation(s) are persistently stored. A third-party storage service can be used for storing the version or versions that were previewed in the web conferencing setting, together with associated annotations; Computer-executable code and/or scripts that comprise a previewer module can be stored for download and use by any user on any user device.)
As to dependent claim 3, Lansing discloses receiving, via the communication channel and from a member of the communication channel, a second request to view the copy of the annotated screen share (paragraph [0042] (e.g., an email can be sent
to the participants in the web conference with a link that indicates where the particular version(s) and annotation(s) are persistently stored); and
causing display of the copy of the annotated screen share via the communication channel (paragraphs [0005], [0006]) (e.g., When the conference ends, a video file (e.g., an MP4 file), an audio file (e.g., an MP3 file), any chat activity, including document annotation, that might have occurred during the web conference, and other assets of the web conference are saved; NOTE: Lansing shows that an email with a link can be sent to play back an MP3 file of the conference).
As to dependent claim 4, Lansing discloses receiving a share request for the shared screen from the first device of the first user within the synchronous multimedia collaboration session; and in response to receiving the share request, displaying the shared screen via the second device of the second user (paragraphs [0005], [0006] (e.g., During a web conferencing session, a user may choose to share their screen or may choose to share images that derive from files available to the user. For example, a first user might share images of a spreadsheet as it is rendered in a spreadsheet application (e.g., in Microsoft Excel) that is running on the first user's computer).
As to dependent claim 5, Lansing discloses wherein the annotation is modifiable by other members of the synchronous multimedia collaboration session, including the first user and the second user (paragraph [0027]) (e.g., Some web conferencing facilities provide a set of annotation tools (e.g., line drawing tools, curve drawing tools, text box tools, erasers, etc.) for users of the web conferencing facility to annotate over whatever is being displayed on the web conference display area).
As to dependent claim 8, Lansing discloses wherein: the synchronous multimedia collaboration session is unscheduled (paragraph [0047]) (e.g., Once two or more of the user devices have installed or otherwise configured the web conferencing
code, a web conference can be initiated. This can happen when two or more of the user devices launch the web conferencing code. More specifically, once two or more of the user devices have installed or otherwise configured in the web conferencing code that is interfaced with the integration code, a web conference that supports user annotations over content management object can be initiated (step 214);
the synchronous multimedia collaboration session facilitates at least one of video
communications or audio communications between the members of the synchronous multimedia collaboration session (paragraph [0051]) (e.g., The shown canvas 373 has an area for audio/video controls, an area for a chat controls, and an area for other controls.); and
the members of the synchronous multimedia collaboration session have access permissions to the communication channel (paragraph [0027]) (e.g., each individual participant can make user-specific annotations, and can freely use the annotation tools, including erasers to make and change annotations over whatever is being displayed on the web conference display area).
As to dependent claim 18, Lansing discloses wherein the operations further comprise saving, in response to receiving the request, the copy of the annotated screen share in association with the communication channel (paragraph [0042]) (e.g., an email
can be sent to the participants in the web conference with a link that indicates where the particular version(s) and annotation(s) are persistently stored. A third-party storage service can be used for storing the version or versions that were previewed in the web conferencing setting, together with associated annotations; Computer-executable code and/or scripts that comprise a previewer module can be stored for download and use by any user on any user device), and wherein
the synchronous multimedia collaboration session is unscheduled (paragraph [0047]) (e.g., Once two or more of the user devices have installed or otherwise configured the web conferencing code, a web conference can be initiated. This can happen when two or more of the user devices launch the web conferencing code. More specifically, once two or more of the user devices have installed or otherwise configured in the web conferencing code that is interfaced with the integration code, a web conference that supports user annotations over content management object can be initiated (step 214);
the synchronous multimedia collaboration session facilitates at least one of video
communications or audio communications between the members of the synchronous multimedia collaboration session (paragraph [0051]) (e.g., The shown canvas 373 has an area for audio/video controls, an area for a chat controls, and an area for other controls.); and
the members of the synchronous multimedia collaboration session have access permissions to the communication channel (paragraph [0027]) (e.g., each individual participant can make user-specific annotations, and can freely use the annotation tools, including erasers to make and change annotations over whatever is being displayed on the web conference display area).
Claims 9-13 and 16 are system claims that contain similar limitations of claims 1-5 and 8, respectively. Therefore, claims 9-13 and 16 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 17, 19 and 20 are media claims that contain similar limitations of claims 1, 3, and 4, respectively. Therefore, claims 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lansing and Lebaredian as applied to claims 1-5, 8-13, and 16-20 above, and further in view of Gould et al. (Gould), US Patent Application Publication No. US 20080183819.
As to dependent claim 6, Lansing and Lebaredian, however, do not disclose providing, in the shared screen displayed to the second device of the second user, a shared cursor for at least one of the first user or the second user, the shared cursor allowing both the first user and the second user to concurrently interact with elements of the shared screen.
In the same field of invention, Gould teaches: method and system for collaborative and private sessions. Gould further teaches: in the shared screen displayed to the second device of the second user, a shared cursor for at least one of the first user or the second user, the shared cursor allowing both the first user and the second user to concurrently interact with elements of the shared screen (paragraphs [0026], [0044], [0094]) (e.g., When each of the participants of the session share a cursor, each of the participants may be limited to providing indications (or a certain type of indications such as markings) only when the participant has shared cursor control (e.g., control of a shared cursor) during the collaborative session; A collaborative shopping session may include sharing of a common interface for shopping by the plurality of users; A browse application may allow users to browse various category,
catalogue, or system inventory structures according to which listings may be classified within the networked system 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lansing, Lebaredian and Gould before the effective filing date of the invention, to have combined the teachings of Gould with the method, and corresponding system, as taught by Lansing, Lebaredian. One would have been motivated to make such combination because a way to associate a plurality of users with a collaborative shopping session would have been obtained and desired, as expressly taught by Gould (9 [0026]).
As to dependent claim 7, Lansing and Lebaredian, however, do not disclose wherein the shared cursor is provided by the group-based communication system to enable a collaboration functionality allowing both the first user and the second user to interact with the shared cursor of an application.
In the same field of invention, Gould teaches: method and system for collaborative and private sessions. Gould further teaches: wherein the shared cursor is provided by the group-based communication system to enable a collaboration functionality allowing both the first user and the second user to interact with the shared cursor of an application (paragraphs [0026], [0044], [0094]) (e.g., When each of the participants of the session share a cursor, each of the participants may be limited to providing indications (or a certain type of indications such as markings) only when the participant has shared cursor control (e.g., control of a shared cursor) during the collaborative session; A collaborative shopping session may include sharing of a common interface for shopping by the plurality of users; A browse application may allow users to browse various category, catalogue, or system inventory structures according to which listings may be classified within the networked system 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lansing, Lebaredian and Gould before the effective filing date of the invention, to have combined the teachings of Gould with the method, and corresponding system, as taught by Lansing, Lebaredian. One would have been motivated to make such combination because a way to associate a plurality of users with a collaborative shopping session would have been obtained and desired, as expressly taught by Gould (9 [0026]).
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks, Applicant argues in substance that
Applicant requests that the obviousness-type double patenting rejection be
withdrawn.
In reply to this argument, in light of the claim amendments, Examiner has made a new ground of nonstatutory double patenting for claims 1, 9 and 17 as being unpatentable over claims 8, 15 and 1, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11/875,081 in view of Lebaredian et al. (Lebaredian), US Patent No. 12,211,055 B2. Please see the rejection above.
Applicant argues that Lansing does not disclose “causing display of a shared screen within a synchronous multimedia collaboration session that is initiated from within a communication channel of a group-based communication system.”
In reply to this argument, Lansing discloses in paragraph [0026]: during a web conferencing session, a user may choose to share their screen or may choose to share images that derive from files available to the user; the first user can discuss the spreadsheet, possibly moving the mouse cursor or other pointing cursor over regions of the spreadsheet while providing a voiceover for all web conference participants to see and hear. Thus, Lansing discloses “causing display of a shared screen within a synchronous multimedia collaboration session that is initiated from within a communication channel of a group-based communication system.”
The prior art does not teach “the communication channel being inaccessible to wherein users of the group-based communication system that are non-members of the communication channel at least one of have limited access to the communication channel or have access to a reduced amount of functionality of the communication channel.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above limitations have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the new ground of the rejection above with newly cited prior art Lebaredian.
The cited prior art does not disclose “saving, in response to receiving the request, the copy of the annotated screen share in association with the-communication channel such that the copy of the annotated screen share is accessible from within the communication channel.”
In reply to this argument, Lansing discloses in paragraphs [0041], [0005], [0006]: the annotation is saved within documents 103; however, in other embodiments, the annotations can be saved and merely associated with the selected document 103.sub.SELECTED; When the conference ends, a video file (e.g., an MP4 file), an audio file (e.g., an MP3 file), any chat activity, including document annotation, that might have occurred during the web conference, and other assets of the web conference are saved.
Conclusion
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145