DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 14-17 are rejected.
Claim 13 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhouse et al. (WO 2012048074 A1, “Parkhouse”).
Regarding claim 1, Parkhouse discloses an electrochemical cell comprising two electrode compartments, one being an anode compartment and the other being a cathode compartment, the anode compartment of the cell when charged containing an alkali metal (see abstract “button cell” & see title “electrochemical cells” & see abstract “120 cathode” & “140 anode” & see FIG. 3 which reads on 2 electrode compartments & see [0043] “alkali metal”), and the cathode compartment of the cell when charged containing a cathodic material that can react reversibly with ions of the alkali metal (see [0069] “cathode” & “common cathode materials” & see [0044] describes “cycle” & see [0029] “battery” & describes “secondary battery” is rechargeable”), one electrode compartment being defined in part by a first metal plate and the other electrode compartment being defined by a second metal plate (see FIG. 3 describes “170 cover” covers “140 anode” (170 reads on 2nd metal plate) & see FIG. 3 describes “110 container” covers “120 cathode” (110 reads on 1st metal plate)), and the anode compartment being separated from the cathode compartment by an electrolyte structure (see abstract “separator” & see FIG. 3 describes “130 separator” & see [0083] “It is noted that electrolyte can be present in any space between a separator that is adjacent to an electrode or another separator.”) comprising a planar non-permeable sheet of a ceramic that can conduct ions of the alkali metal (see [0087] “separator 130 provides an at least semi-impermeable (or completely impermeable) barrier between the cathode 120 and the anode 140” & see [0061] “the electrolyte facilitates the mobilization of electrons” & “alkaline electrolytes can also comprise additives such as buffers”
& see [0087] “crimp ring 150 can be formed of any ceramic”), wherein the first metal plate is dish-shaped and defines a peripheral rim, the second metal plate is dish shaped and defines a flat rim to mate with the peripheral rim of the first plate (see FIG. 3 describes dish shaped for “170” & “110”), and the cell comprises a sealing element between the peripheral rim of the first plate and the flat rim of the second plate to seal to the periphery of the electrolyte structure (see FIG. 3 & abstract “sealing ring 160”); wherein the cell also comprises a projecting peripheral sleeve that is spaced from and outside the edge of the peripheral rim of the second metal plate (see below annotated FIG. 3 “110” describes projecting peripheral sleeve & describes “110” is spaced from and outside the edge of “170”);
and the cell comprises a compression sleeve held within the peripheral sleeve, the compression sleeve (see below annotated FIG. 3 describes “160” as compression sleeve & is within “110” (peripheral sleeve))
having a flat face parallel to the flat rim of the second metal plate to compress the sealing element (see annotated below FIG. 3 describes “170” as second metal plate & describes “160” flat face next to “170”)
, and a second face adjacent to the inner face of the peripheral sleeve (see annotated below FIG. 3 describes 2nd face (annotated 2f)
; wherein the compression sleeve is secured in position by the peripheral sleeve (see FIG. 3 “160” & “110”).
Regarding claim 2, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve is secured by the peripheral sleeve by crimping the edge of the peripheral sleeve (see FIG. 3 “110 container” & “150 crimp ring” & see [0101] describes “crimping 914 a rim 118 of container 110 over the cover 170 to retain the cover 170 on the container 110”).
Regarding the method limitations recited in claim(s) 2 “the compression sleeve is secured by the peripheral sleeve by crimping the edge of the peripheral sleeve”, the Office notes that even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Pilkington, 411 F. 2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969). If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process). See MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 3, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve is secured by the peripheral sleeve, by fixing the compression sleeve to the peripheral sleeve (see FIG. 3 “160 sealing ring” (compression sleeve) & “110 container” (peripheral sleeve) & “150 crimp ring” & see [0088] describes “the crimp ring 150 comprises a polymeric material and can be configured to provide additional structural integrity to the container 110” & “material that is moldable” which reads on fixing).
Regarding claim 4, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the projecting peripheral sleeve is integral with and defined by the first metal plate (see FIG. 3 “110” (peripheral sleeve) & describes first metal plate).
Regarding claim 5, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the projecting peripheral sleeve is a separate component of generally L-shaped cross-section (see FIG. 3 “110” which describes an L-shaped cross-section).
Regarding claim 6, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the projecting peripheral sleeve is of thicker material than the first metal plate (see [0101] describes “crimping 914 a rim 118 of container 110 over the cover 170 to retain the cover 170 on the container 110” & and a skilled artisan would find obvious that upon crimping one part would be thicker than the other part).
Regarding claim 7, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve is of metal (see [0089] “the sealing ring 160 comprises the same material as the crimp ring 150, or a different material” & see [0087] “The crimp ring 150 can be formed of any ceramic or polymer that can be sized for use in a cell and is substantially chemically stable (e.g., inert) in the presence of a cathode (e.g., silver material), an anode (e.g., zinc), an alkaline electrolyte, or any combination thereof” & silver reads on metal), and the cell also comprises an electrical insulator between the flat face of the compression sleeve and the outer surface of the peripheral flat rim of the second metal plate (see FIG. 3 “160 sealing ring” (compression sleeve)
(170 reads on 2nd metal plate) & see FIG. 3 describes “118 rim” & see [0089] “sealing ring 160 can be formed of any ceramic” & a skilled artisan would find obvious that ceramic reads on electrical insulator).
Regarding claim 8, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve is a sheet having an L-shaped cross-section (see FIG. 3 "160" and a skilled artisan would find obvious it describes an L-shaped cross-section).
Regarding claim 9, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve is of thicker material than the first metal plate (see FIG. 3 “160” (compression sleeve) & “110” describes first metal plate & see [0089] “The sealing ring 160 may at least partially encase the anode 140. The sealing ring 160 can be formed of any ceramic or polymer that can be sized for use in a cell”).
Regarding claim 10, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve comprises stiffening elements to hold the two parts of the L in their relative positions and so to prevent bending of the two parts relative to each other (see [0089] “the sealing ring 160 comprises a polymer material that is moldable (e.g., injection moldable, compression moldable, any combination thereof, or the like)” & “sealing ring 160 comprises a stampable metal that may be uncoated or substantially coated with a material that is substantially chemically stable in the presence of a cathode, anode, alkaline electrolyte, or any combination thereof” & a skilled artisan would find obvious that a metal reads on stiffening elements).
Regarding claim 11, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve is of an electrically-insulating material (see FIG. 3 “160” (compression sleeve) & see [0089] “sealing ring 160 can be formed of any ceramic” and a skilled artisan would find obvious ceramic reads on insulating material).
Regarding claim 12, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the compression sleeve fills substantially all the space between the peripheral sleeve and the outer surface of the second metal plate (see annotated below FIG. 3 “160” (compression sleeve) & see FIG. 3 “110” (peripheral sleeve) & (170 reads on 2nd metal plate)).
Regarding claim 16, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses also comprising a perforated planar sheet of an inert metal immediately adjacent to the sheet of ceramic and in contact with the sheet of ceramic over substantially its entire area, to provide support to the sheet of ceramic (see [0089] “sealing ring 160 can be formed of any ceramic”
& see FIG. 3 describes “160” & “130” & see [0046] “separator or active layer is inert”), the ceramic sheet either being formed separately from the perforated planar sheet (see [0089] “the sealing ring 160 comprises a polymer material that is moldable”).
Regarding claim 17, Parkhouse discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 1 and further discloses also incorporating bite features to apply a localised sealing pressure to each sealing element (see [0005] “The crimp ring and sealing ring combination prevent damage to the edge portion of the separator stack during assembly of the cell (e.g., during crimping)”).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhouse et al. (WO 2012048074 A1, “Parkhouse”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Visco et al. (US 20070037058 A1, “Visco”) and Thompson et al. (US 20180090726 A1, “Thompson”).
Regarding claim 16, Parkhouse discloses a battery assembly comprising multiple electrochemical cells as claimed in claim 1 (see [0029] “the term “battery” encompasses electrical storage devices comprising one electrochemical cell or a plurality of electrochemical cells”), the periphery of each cell defining a projecting flange (see FIG. 3 describes "140 anode" & "120 cathode" (see annotated arrows).
Parkhouse does not explicilty disclose arranged as a stack, nor which is thinner than the region of the cell that contains the anode and cathode compartments, nor wherein a heat transfer fluid is arranged to flow in the gaps defined between such flanges.
Thompson teaches stacked cells (see FIG. 1 & [0120] "the electrochemical cells can be stacked (B) to form a battery (i.e., a compilation of one or more electrochemical cells).
Parkhouse and Thompson are anlagous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely electrochemical cell (see Thompson [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been prima faice obviosu to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate stacked cells, as suggested by Thompson (see [0120]) into the battery assembly of Parkhouse because a skilled artisan would find doing so provides more power.
Visco teaches part that changes/flex to form a better seal (see [0075] describes "compliant seal structure" & "compliant seal structure 104 flexing as the gap between the protective membrane architecture 102 and the anode backplane 106 narrows" & "In this way, the anode compartment remains sealed and the anode remains in ionic and electronic communication with the protective membrane and current collector 108 of the backplane 106, respectively”) & teaches heat transfer fluid (see [0244] “in order to survive this hydrostatic pressure, the anode compartment should be filled with an anolyte (incompressible fluid)”). Parkhouse and Visco are anlagous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely electrochemical cell (see Visco [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecitve filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a part that flexes to form a better seal as suggested by Visco (see [0075]) into the battery assembly of Parkhouse because doing so allows for “the anode compartment remains sealed and the anode remains in ionic and electronic communication with the protective membrane and current collector 108 of the backplane 106, respectively”, as suggested by Visco (see [0075]). It would have been prima faice obviosu to one of oridnary skill in the art to incorporate “incompressible fluid” as suggested by Visco (see [0244]) into the battery assembly of Parkhouse because doing so allows for “survive this hydrostatic pressure” as suggested by Visco (see [0244]).
Regarding claim 15, Parkhouse disclsoes the battery assembly of claim 14, but does not explicility disclose wherein the stack of cells is arranged within a frame that defines an aperture to locate the stack of cells, such that the flanges of the cells in the stack are adjacent a wall of the frame.
Thompson teaches in [0361] “frames may provide structural support and/or participate or aid in forming the interconnections (e.g., frames on groups of cells may mate or be connected)” & in [0360] “flanges” & “to facilitate interconnection between cells and groups of cells” & “such features may be directed at reducing or minimizing stress and forces acting on seals as a result of interconnection”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate frames as suggested by Thompson (see [0361]) into the battery assembly of Parkhouse because doing so “provide structural support” as suggested by Thompson (see [0361]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “flanges” as suggested by Thompson (see [0360]) into the battery assembly of Parkhouse beucase doing so “minimiz[es] stress and forces acting on seals as a result of interconnection” as suggested by Thompson (see [0360]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 & 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 10/22/2026