DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hill [US3523176, of record, previously cited].
Hill discloses a device capable of thermal joining of respective two material sheets over a strip-shaped connecting piece lying areally on a bottom side, wherein the material sheets are arranged with a respective side surface facing one another abutting against each other at least partially with a respective bottom side lying areally on a top side of the connecting piece (it is noted the described manner of thermal joining is considered to be the intended use of the device, and the material sheets and connecting piece are considered to be material worked upon, the device of Hill is capable of operating in the manner recited and capable of working with the material described).
Hill discloses the device comprises a base body (40) with a front edge (50), a rear edge (52) opposite the front edge and two opposite longitudinal edges (shown as edges between 50 and 52), wherein a top surface side (48) and a bottom surface side (46) opposite the top surface side of the base body respectively extend between the front edge and the rear edge as well as between the two longitudinal edges, wherein the top surface side, the bottom surface side, the front edge, the rear edge and the two longitudinal edges entirely border a volume of the base body (Figures 1, 2, 7; columns 3 and 4), wherein the device is configured to be guided with the base body between the top side of the connecting piece and the bottom sides of the material sheets with the top surface side facing towards the bottom sides of the material sheets and the bottom surface side facing towards the top side of the connecting piece and can be passed (Figure 1, 2, 7; columns 3 and 4), wherein the base body is configured to guide the material sheets at least in areas of their respective bottom sides adjacent to their side surfaces from the front edge to the rear edge over the top surface side such that the material sheets are guided starting from the front edge over at least a quarter of a maximum extension of the base body between the front edge and the rear edge with their respective side surfaces facing one another separated from one another (Figures 1, 2, 7; columns 3 and 4), and wherein the device is configured to simultaneously heat at least partially the bottom side of the material sheets, the top side of the connecting piece and the respective side surface of the material sheets facing one another so as to produce respectively between each of the two material sheets and the connecting piece as well as between the material sheets parallel connections (Figures 1, 2, 7; columns 3 and 4).
With respect to claim 8, Hill discloses the device is configured as an electrically heated contact heating device (column 4, lines 28-36).
With respect to claim 9, Hill discloses the device is at least partially configured as a directly electrically heated heating plate or the device is at least partially configured as a solid block of material made of a thermally conductive material comprising at least one receptacle for at least one electrical heating element (columns 3 and 4).
With respect to claim 17, Hill discloses the base body is configured to guide the material sheets at least in areas of their respective bottom sides adjacent to their side surfaces from the front edge to the rear edge over the top surface side such that the material sheets are guided starting from the front edge over at least a half of the maximum extension of the base body between the front edge and the rear edge with their respective side surfaces facing one another separated from one another (the claimed structure is shown in Figure 1 and 7).
With respect to claim 18, Hill discloses the base body is configured to guide the material sheets at least in areas of their respective bottom sides adjacent to their side surfaces from the front edge to the rear edge over the top surface side such that the material sheets are guided starting from the front edge over at least two-thirds of the maximum extension of the base body between the front edge and the rear edge with their respective side surfaces facing one another separated from one another (the claimed structure is shown in Figure 1 and 7).
Claims 1-7, 17, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sinclair [USD294362, of record, previously cited].
Sinclair discloses a device for thermal joining of respective two material sheets over a strip-shaped connecting piece lying areally on a bottom side, wherein the material sheets are arranged with a respective side surface facing one another abutting against each other at least partially with a respective bottom side lying areally on a top side of the connecting piece (it is noted the described manner of thermal joining is considered to be the intended use of the device, and the material sheets and connecting piece are considered to be material worked upon, the device of Sinclair is capable of operating in the manner recited and capable of working with the material described).
Sinclair discloses the device comprises a base body (shown in perspective view in Figure 1) with a front edge (right most edge in Figures 2 and 6), a rear edge (left most edge in Figures 2 and 6) opposite the front edge and two opposite longitudinal edges (shown as the topmost and bottom most edges in Figure 6), wherein a top surface side (seen from above in Figure 6) and a bottom surface side (seen from below in Figure 5) opposite the top surface side of the base body respectively extend between the front edge and the rear edge as well as between the two longitudinal edges, wherein the top surface side, the bottom surface side, the front edge, the rear edge and the two longitudinal edges entirely border a volume of the base body (Figures 1-6), wherein the device is configured to be guided with the base body between the top side of the connecting piece and the bottom sides of the material sheets with the top surface side facing towards the bottom sides of the material sheets and the bottom surface side facing towards the top side of the connecting piece and can be passed (the structure shown in Figures 1-6 is configured to operate in the manner described), wherein the base body is configured to guide the material sheets at least in areas of their respective bottom sides adjacent to their side surfaces from the front edge to the rear edge over the top surface side such that the material sheets are guided starting from the front edge over at least a quarter of a maximum extension of the base body between the front edge and the rear edge with their respective side surfaces facing one another separated from one another (the structure shown in Figures 1-6 is configured to operate in the manner described), and wherein the device is configured to simultaneously heat at least partially the bottom side of the material sheets, the top side of the connecting piece and the respective side surface of the material sheets facing one another so as to produce respectively between each of the two material sheets and the connecting piece as well as between the material sheets parallel connections (the structure shown in Figures 1-6 is configured to operate in the manner described).
With respect to claim 2, Sinclair discloses the base body is configured as a hollow body and comprises at least one opening for outlet of hot air from the hollow body at the rear edge of the base body into a space between the rear edge of the base body, the top side of the connecting piece and the bottom sides of the material sheets (Figures 1 and 6 show a look into the hollow body, and Figure 4 shows the body from the rear where an opening is seen at the rear edge).
With respect to claim 3, Sinclair discloses the top surface side and the bottom surface side comprises at least one opening for outlet of hot air from the base body (Figure 1 shows openings in the top side, Figure 6 shows the openings form the top side, Figure 5 shows the openings from the bottom side).
With respect to claim 4, Sinclair discloses a fin protrudes from the top surface side of the base body, wherein the fin extends parallel to the maximum extension of the base body at least partially between the front edge and the rear edge, and wherein hot air can be introduced into the base body through the fin from an end of the fin facing away from the top surface side (Figure 1 shows a fin protruding from the top side located between the welds in the central portion of the body; Figure 2 shows a side view of the fin extending up from the top side).
With respect to claim 5, Sinclair discloses the top surface side of the base body is configured to guide the material sheets past the fin such that thermal contact with a side edge of a material sheet at a transition between the respective bottom side to the respective side surface of the material sheets along an extension of the fin between the front edge and the rear edge is established on at least one of only on a second half, and/or only on a last third, and/or only on a last quarter of an extension of the fin between the front edge and the rear edge of the base body (the claimed structure is shown in Figure 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 6, Sinclair discloses a shaft tube is connected to the end of the fin, which is configured for guiding an air flow to the end of the fin and at the same time for fixing to a hot air device in a region of the hot air device for the outlet of the hot air flow to be generated by the hot air device (shown in Figure 1).
With respect to claim 7, Sinclair discloses the bottom surface side of the base body is concave (Figure 3 shows a concave arch in the bottom surface).
With respect to claim 17, Sinclair discloses the base body is configured to guide the material sheets at least in areas of their respective bottom sides adjacent to their side surfaces from the front edge to the rear edge over the top surface side such that the material sheets are guided starting from the front edge over at least a half of the maximum extension of the base body between the front edge and the rear edge with their respective side surfaces facing one another separated from one another (the claimed structure is shown in Figure 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 18, Sinclair discloses the base body is configured to guide the material sheets at least in areas of their respective bottom sides adjacent to their side surfaces from the front edge to the rear edge over the top surface side such that the material sheets are guided starting from the front edge over at least two-thirds of the maximum extension of the base body between the front edge and the rear edge with their respective side surfaces facing one another separated from one another (the claimed structure is shown in Figure 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 21, Sinclaire disclose the device is a hot air welding device (Description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either one of Hill or Sinclair, and further in view of Hoopengardner [US5384001, of record, previously cited].
Both Hill and Sinclair each disclose a device. Applicant is referred to paragraph 4 for a detailed discussion of Hill, and to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Sinclair. Both Hill and Sinclair disclose a top surface side but neither disclose at least two guiding profiles protruding outward from the top surface side.
Hoopengardner discloses a device including a base body with a top surface and at least two guiding profiles (30) protruding outwards from the top surface side of the base body, wherein the guiding profiles extend at least partially between the front edge and the rear edge over the first top surface side, and wherein the guiding profiles (30) are configured to guide the material sheets for the at least one quarter of the maximum extension of the base body between the front edge and the rear edge with their respective side surfaces separated from one another over the top surface side and to bring the material sheets towards the rear edge into contact with the side surfaces abutting against each other (Figure 1; column 5, line 57-column 6, line 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the device of either one Hill or Sinclair to include two guiding profiles as taught by Hoopengardner in order improve operation of the device by ensuring the iron remains centered and the edges are guided in a predictable path and joined properly with no separation or overlap.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinclair in view of Ellenberger et al. [US4744855, of record, previously cited, “Ellenberger”].
Sinclair disclose a device. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Sinclair. Sinclair discloses the device of claim 1 capable of thermal joining of respective two material sheets over a strip-shaped connecting piece lying areally on a bottom side, wherein the material sheets are arranged with a respective side surface facing one another abutting against each another at least partially with a bottom side lying areally on a top side of the connecting piece (see discussion of claim 1 above).
Sinclair does not disclose at least a support frame and chassis formed by at least one pressure roller and one traveling roller.
Ellenberger discloses a welding apparatus for welding webs. Ellenberger discloses the welding apparatus comprises at least a support frame (frame 3) and a chassis (undercarriage 1) formed by at least one pressure roller (14) and one traveling roller (17) arranged on the support frame, wherein the traveling roller (17) is arranged on the support frame (3) in a front region of the support frame and the pressure roller (14) is arranged in a rear region of the support frame (3) with respect to a travel direction of the joining apparatus along the side surfaces of the material sheets upon joining the material sheets (Figures 1, 2; column 3, lines 14-36). Ellenberger discloses a welding device (2) is positioned on the undercarriage (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Sinclair by mounting the device Sinclair on a welding apparatus with a frame, chassis, traveling roller and pressure roller as taught by Ellenberger in order to improve the mobility and functionality of the device.
With respect to claim 14, Ellenberger discloses the device is configured to be adjustable in height relative to the chassis (column 2, lines 37-48).
With respect to claim 15, Ellenberger discloses the joining apparatus comprises at least one guide aid (guide roller 21) arranged in front the device in the travel direction of the joining apparatus for visually indicating the position of the side surfaces of the material sheets facing one another and abutting against each other (column 3, lines 55-61).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/15/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 USC 112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts Hill fails to disclose the simultaneous 3-fold heating and actual 3-fold welding according to claim 1. Claim 1 is directed toward a device. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims. The claims are not directed toward a method that requires the process of simultaneous 3-fold heating and 3-fold welding. Claim 1 is directed toward a device and recites “for thermal joining” as the intended use of the device. Hill discloses all the required structure of the device and would be capable of performing the intended use disclosed in the claim.
Applicant asserts Hill strictly heats the bottom of the carpet backings and the top of the adhesive tape. This assertion is unsupported. Hill discloses heating the edge portions of the carpet (26) (column 4, lines 28-48) and does not limit the heating to only the bottom of the carpet backing. Hill’s device would be capable of heating the edge from conductive heat transfer, as well as direct contact transfer as the edge would capable of contacting a portion of the iron.
Applicant’s asserts Hill does not disclose heating of the materially sheets sufficiently to thermally weld thermally weld them to each other. This is not a requirement of the claims. Applicant asserts the material worked upon is different. Hill’s device would be capable of working upon the materials recited in the claim. The prior art is not required to disclose the same materials worked upon.
Applicant assets Hill lacks any hollow, hot-air distribution channels or active side-heating structures. These features are not commensurate with the scope of claim 1.
Applicant asserts Hill does not teach or suggest the connection between each of the two material sheets and the connecting piece as well as between the material sheets. This argument is directed toward the method of operation. The configuration of the device of Hill would be capable of operating in this intended manner.
With respect to Sinclair, applicant’s arguments are directed toward the method of operation and the materials being bonded. These features are not required by a device claim.
Applicant asserts there is no butt-welding capability. This is not commensurate with the scope of the claims, as the claims do not require butt welding.
Applicant asserts Sinclair cannot perform 3-fold welding with a single, gapless butt weld. This is not commensurate with the scope of the claims, as the claims do not require these features.
Applicant asserts Sinclair features a massive voluminous nozzle shaft that physically prevents abutting sheets from being joined. It is noted the figures of the disclosed invention, for example Figures 2-4 also disclose a “massive voluminous nozzle shaft.” The similarities in the structure of Sinclair and the disclosed invention as shown in Figures supports Sinclair’s device would be capable of operating in the same manner as the claimed invention.
Applicant asserts the material would have to bend too sharply to pass the shaft. This argument is directed toward a manner of operation and is unsupported. The device of Sinclair could also be used in a method where the two upper sheets are slid horizontally pass over heating device and slid horizontally back into connection. Its noted the claims are directed toward a device, and not the particular intended manner of operation recited in the device claim. Applicant has provided Figures that show a manner of operation, but this is not the only possible manner of operation.
With respect to Hoopengardner and Ellenberger applicant’s arguments are directed toward intended use of the device, and not how the claimed structure is different from the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
September 2, 2026