DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the response to restriction requirements filed on July 27th, 2026. Claims 15-18 are withdrawn as such claims 1-14 are pending consideration in this Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20170100139) and is translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) in view of Chang (KR 102199765) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses
a massage apparatus (figs. 1-8; smart health device comprises a healthcare unit 200 including a massage unit 210; [0001], [0009] and [0020]), comprising:
a seat frame (figs. 1, 2, and 8; chair 100; [0020]) including:
a head seating portion on which a head of a user is seated (figs. 1, 2, and 8; chair 100 includes a headrest to support the user’s head; [0017]); and
a body seating portion on which a body of the user is seated (figs. 1, 2, and 8; chair 100 includes buttock support 130 and leg rest 150; [0017]);
a base frame configured to support the seat frame (figs. 1, 2, and 8; health care unit 200 further includes frame that makes up head receiving space 107; [0017] and [0089]; see modified fig. 1 below, frame that makes up head receiving space 107 extends underneath and supports the chair 100);
a massage module coupled to the base frame (figs. 1-4; healthcare unit 200 includes massage unit 210 which can be installed on at least one of the backrest (110), buttocks support (130), and leg support (150); [0022]; backrest 110, buttocks support 130, and leg support 150 which contains massage unit 210 are coupled to the base frame (see modified fig. 1 above)), and configured to control a massage function (figs. 1-8; massage unit 210 works with control unit to provide massage to various parts of the user’s body; [0002], [0009], [0022], and [0031]);
a cover rotatably coupled to the base frame (figs. 1-2; second cover 160 rotates vertically around a virtual axis horizontal to ground or horizontally around rotation axis 151; [0062]; see fig. 1, second cover is rotatably coupled to the frame of the healthcare unit 200 that that makes up head receiving space 107), and placeable at a first position (see fig. 1; second cover 160 is at an open state/first position [0071]), or a second position which the cover is rotated from the first position to cover the head seating portion (see fig. 2; second cover 160 is at a closed state/second position; [0071]);
at least one sensor to obtain a sensor value (fig. 7; sensor (310) measures user’s health condition and sleep habits using least one of the user's heart rate, blood pressure, blood sugar, and body temperature; [0105]-[0107]); and
a display configured to display an image on the cover based on the cover being at the second position (figs. 1, 2, and 7; healthcare unit 200 includes a display unit 290 such as a projector which can display a setting image on one side of the second cover (160) facing the head receiving space (107) when in a closed state; [0094], [0095] and [0099]).
a controller (figs. 1, 2, and 7; healthcare unit includes a control unit and analysis unit 320; [0009] and [0106]-[0107]).
Kim does not disclose at least one sensor to obtain a sensor value to estimate a face position of the user; and a controller configured to adjust a position of the image displayed by the display based on the obtained sensor value.
Chang discloses an apparatus for displaying graphics by utilizing the user’s body information [0001] where
at least one sensor to obtain a sensor value to estimate a face position of the user (fig. 3; camera 110 (attached to the roof/cover of the car) captures images and pressure sensor 120 to measure the weight of the user allowing the control unit 130 to extract body information of a user A such as user’s head position, silhouette, sitting height, weight, user's head height, and user's shoulder height; [0036]-[0047] and [0049]); and
a controller configured to adjust a position of the image displayed by the display based on the obtained sensor value (fig. 3; control unit (130) uses body information of a user A to calculate eye level information and controls/corrects the position of the graphic display screen 160 according to the eye level of the user; [0018]-[0020] and [0036]-[0047] and [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the healthcare unit and inside of the second cover of Kim with the control unit, pressure sensor, and camera as disclosed in Chang to be able to reposition the graphic image displayed based on the user’s body information such that the graphic image is at a user’s eye level (Chang: [0001], [0018]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Kim further discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 1,
wherein the controller is configured to adjust the position of the image displayed by the display based on the sensor value obtained from the at least one sensor (Chang: fig. 3; control unit (130) uses body information of a user A to calculate eye level information and controls/corrects the position of the graphic display screen 160 according to the eye level of the user; [0018]-[0020] and [0036]-[0047] and [0049]) during an operation of the massage module (Kim: smart health device for managing and checking the body of the user seated on the chair 100 which provide massage function with massage unit 210; [0008]-[0010]; to solve solution of massage chairs only providing massage functions [0002]-[0007]; therefore, display operation is capable of being performed with massage function).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Kim further discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 2,
wherein the at least one sensor includes a pressure sensor to obtain a pressure value (Chang: fig. 3; pressure sensor 120 measures weight/pressure of user; [0038]) so that the controller is configured to determine a sitting height and a face position of the user based on the obtained pressure value (Chang: fig. 3; pressure sensor 120 measures the weight of the user allowing the control unit 130 to extract body information of a user A such as body weight information that is used with other body information to calculate the sitting height, head height, and shoulder height corresponding to an eye level of the user; claim 1, [0018], [0036]-[0047] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Kim further discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 1,
wherein the at least one sensor includes a camera coupled to the cover (Chang: see fig. 3, camera 110 is attached to the inside roof/cover of the car facing the user; Kim: one side of the second cover 160 facing the head receiving space 107 when in a closed state; [0094]-[0095]), and the controller is configured to adjust the image displayed by the display based on the image obtained from the camera (Chang: fig. 3; control unit (130) uses body information of a user A (extracted from images of camera 110 and pressure sensor 120) to calculate eye level information and controls/corrects the position of the graphic display screen 160 according to the eye level of the user; [0018]-[0020] and [0036]-[0047] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Kim further discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 3,
wherein the at least one sensor includes a camera coupled to the cover (Chang: see fig. 3, camera 110 is attached to the inside roof/cover of the car facing the user; Kim: one side of the second cover 160 facing the head receiving space 107 when in a closed state; [0094]-[0095]), and the controller is configured to adjust the image displayed by the display based on the image obtained from the camera (Chang: fig. 3; control unit (130) uses body information of a user A (extracted from images of camera 110 and pressure sensor 120) to calculate eye level information and controls/corrects the position of the graphic display screen 160 according to the eye level of the user; [0018]-[0020] and [0036]-[0047] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 4,
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the user is asleep based on the obtained sensor value (Kim: fig. 7; healthcare unit 200 includes a control unit and analysis unit 320 which can analyze the user's health condition and sleep habits using the check results of the sensor 310; [0009] and [0105]-[0107], in other words, the healthcare unit 200 is capable of using at least one of the user's heart rate, blood pressure, blood sugar, and body temperature to determine sleeping habits such as whether the user is asleep).
Regarding claim 14, Kim further discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 1,
wherein the display is configured to display the image on an inside of the cover based on the cover being at the second position (figs. 1, 2, and 7; healthcare unit 200 includes a display unit 290 such as a projector which can display a setting image on one side of the second cover 160 facing the head receiving space 107 when in a closed state, therefore, on an inside part of the second cover 160; [0094], [0095] and [0099]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20170100139) and is translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) in view of Chang (KR 102199765) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) and further in view of Dai (US 9665169).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Kim discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 6,
The modified device of Kim does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to adjust brightness of the image displayed by the display based on the image obtained from the camera.
Dai discloses media playback system using a wakefulness detector to control
wherein the controller (figs. 1b-1c, and 4; wakefulness analysis module 435 communicates with media server module 432 to control playback of media files on devices 460 based on state of reduced wakefulness of user; col. 12, lines 63-67) is configured to adjust brightness of the image displayed by the display (playback of the media may be altered when the user is determined to be falling asleep or asleep, such as brightness of a display may be reduced from the state before falling asleep to an off or stopped state where reduction may be gradual or to a level between the awake level and off/stopped state; col. 7, lines 45-56), based on the image obtained from the camera (figs. 1a-1c; the wakefulness data may include a detection of whether the user's eyes are open or closed as captured by a camera; col. 5, lines 16-18; use wakefulness detectors to detect a user's open eyes (e.g., a camera 120), detect sounds of snoring (e.g., a microphone), detect sleeping movements (e.g., an accelerometer), detect heartrate or skin temperature (e.g., heartrate monitor and thermometer) and so forth to predict when the user is asleep; col. 3, lines 11-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the healthcare unit and camera of the modified device of Kim with the wakefulness detection and wakefulness analysis module as disclosed in Dai such that the display gradually reduces in brightness based on the user’s wakefulness state to assist a user in further relaxing and falling asleep (Dai: col. 7, lines 45-56).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20170100139) and is translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) in view of Chang (KR 102199765) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) and further in view of Dai (US 9665169) and Leal (US 5624156).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Kim discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 7,
wherein the base frame includes a left side to cover a left side of the face of the user, and a right side to cover a right side of the face of the user (see modified fig. 1 below; left and right side of base frame covers at least part of the user’s face), and
While Kim does disclose a speaker configured to transmit sound toward the user (fig. 1; sound output unit (270) is installed on the chair (100) or cover and can output a set sound when the seating space (105) is closed; [0087], [0099]), the modified device of Kim does not explicitly disclose the base frame further includes a plurality of speakers arranged on the left and right sides of the base frame, respectively.
Leal discloses a seat safety and entertainment system where
the base frame further includes a plurality of speakers arranged on the left and right sides of the base frame, respectively (figs. 1-7; upper side panels 22, 24 (left and right side panels) of the seat 12 are installed with speakers 40; col. 4, lines 16-22), and configured to transmit sound toward the user (figs. 1-7; speakers 40 are configured so that sound emitted therefrom is directed inwardly towards a user’s ears when seated in the seat 12; col. 4, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of the healthcare unit and chair of the modified device of Kim to have speakers arranged in upper side panels as disclosed in Leal such that the smart health device comprises speakers in the left and right side of the frame of the health care unit and chair, therefore, allowing for the speakers to be structured to project sound therefrom in an optimal direction which is audible to a user in the seat (Leal: col. 3, lines 57-61 and col. 4, lines 32-42).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20170100139) and is translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) in view of Chang (KR 102199765) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) and further in view of Dai (US 9665169), Leal (US 5624156), and Nauseef (US 20160195923).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Kim discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display; Leal: speakers on left and right side of chair) of claim 8,
The modified device of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to adjust a volume of the plurality of speakers based on the image obtained from the camera.
Nauseef discloses a chair for virtual reality
wherein the controller is configured to adjust a volume of the plurality of speakers (fig. 3; audio processing unit 318 controls speakers or other output devices based on head movements of the user such that as the user turns their head to the right the audio may be redistributed so that the noise is louder in the left speakers and quieter in the right speakers and vice versa; [0066]) based on the image obtained from the camera (fig. 3; head orientation unit 316 may utilize a camera that is focused on the user’s face to identify facial features, movements, gestures, etc.; [0063] and [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speakers and healthcare unit of the modified device of Kim with the audio processing unit of Nauseef to dynamically transmit and maintain distribution of audio signals to corresponding speakers based on head movements of the user to provide an immersive surround sound experience (Nauseef; [0037] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Kim discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display; Leal: speakers on left and right side of chair; Nauseef: surround speaker array) of claim 9,
wherein the plurality of speakers includes a left speaker disposed on the left side of the base frame and a right speaker disposed on the right side of the base frame (Leal: figs. 1-7; upper side panels 22, 24 (left and right side panels) of the seat 12 are installed with speakers 40; col. 4, lines 16-22; Nauseef: speaker array comprising left and right speakers; [0066]), and
the controller is configured to decrease an output intensity of the left speaker or an output intensity of the right speaker as a left ear of the user or a right ear of the user is closer to the left speaker or the right speaker, respectively, and to increase the output intensity of the left speaker or the right speaker as the user's left ear or right ear is further away from the left speaker or the right speaker (Nauseef: fig. 3; audio processing unit 318 controls speakers or other output devices based on head movements of the user such that as the user turns their head to the right (away from the left speaker) the audio may be redistributed so that the noise is louder in the left speakers and quieter in the right speakers and vice versa; [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim further disclose
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display; Leal: speakers on left and right side of chair) of claim 9,
wherein the cover includes a left side to cover the left side of the base frame and the left side of the face of the user, and a right side to cover the right side of the base frame and the right side of the face of the user (see modified fig. 1 below; second cover 160 comprises a left side and right side that covers the left and right side of the healthcare unit 200 and head receiving space 107; second cover 160 fully covers the user when the second cover (160) rotates vertically around a virtual axis horizontal to the ground, the end of the second cover (160) can be shaped to rise high into the sky when opened; [0072], see fig. 2).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20170100139) and is translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) in view of Chang (KR 102199765) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Kim) and further in view of Myers (US 20210274931).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Kim discloses
the massage apparatus (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) of claim 1,
wherein the display includes a projector disposed on (figs. 1 and 7; display unit 290 may include a projector, see [0094], [0095], and claim 10; see fig. 1, display 290 is positioned on the upper portion of the frame that makes up the head receiving space 107; see [0095], projector may be positioned on second cover 160 or chair 100).
The modified device of Kim does not explicitly disclose the projector disposed on an upper portion of the head seating portion.
Myers discloses a desktop platform with a chair and projector where
the projector disposed on an upper portion of the head seating portion (figs. 4-7; the projector may be arranged for mounting on the head of the user, on the headrest, back or arm of a chair, or in another location from which it can project light onto the screen; [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of Kim to be positioned on an upper portion of the headrest as disclosed in Myers as such a modification would simply involve merely moving the projector on the chair to an upper portion of the headrest of the chair without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Kim discloses
the massage (Kim: smart health device; Chang: repositioning graphic display) apparatus of claim 6,
wherein the display includes a projector disposed on (figs. 1 and 7; display unit 290 may include a projector, see [0094], [0095], and claim 10; see fig. 1, display 290 is positioned on the upper portion of the frame that makes up the head receiving space 107; see [0095], projector may be positioned on second cover 160 or chair 100).
The modified device of Kim does not explicitly disclose the projector disposed on an upper portion of the head seating portion.
Myers discloses a desktop platform with a chair and projector where
the projector disposed on an upper portion of the head seating portion (figs. 4-7; the projector may be arranged for mounting on the head of the user, on the headrest, back or arm of a chair, or in another location from which it can project light onto the screen; [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of Kim to be positioned on an upper portion of the headrest as disclosed in Myers as such a modification would simply involve merely moving the projector on the chair to an upper portion of the headrest of the chair without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pradeep (US 20120083668) – a system for operating a user device such that sensors and analyzers may reduce screen brightness, reduce the volume and/or shut off the device based on a determined a sleepiness state of a user and may reduce
Tracy (US 20180310086) – A chair with a directional loudspeaker system to provide a quasi-full-range audio reproduction of a fully three-dimensional sound field
Massaud (US 20170150821) – A lounge assembly with a hood assembly and a chair base, where the hood is rotatably coupled to the chair and comprises a projector inside the hood to display images on the interior surface
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785