DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 15, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN (Pub. No.: US 2016/0156438 A1) and further in view of Kim (Pub. No.: US 2017/0063670 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
SUN discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a wireless station, comprising a processing system that includes one or more processors (fig. 1, item 15 as in parag. 0055) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (parag. 0232 discloses memory), the processing system configured to cause the apparatus to receive an indication to transmit an extended long range wireless packet comprising a preamble and a data field (fig. 2, item 200 is physical layer unit that include extended long-range packet. It shows a preamble 202 and a data unit 240); a first numerical quantity of repetitions for at least one field of the preamble (parag. 0077), the first numerical quantity of repetitions dedicated to the extended long-range communications (fig. 2, item 230-1), the data rate less than a threshold data rate associated with second communications different than the extended long-range communications (parag. 0068 and 0193).
SUN does not explicitly disclose the extended long range wireless packet associated with a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain and associated with orthogonal frequency division (OFDM) communications; and transmit, in accordance with the indication and a data rate associated with extended long-range communications, the extended long range wireless packet using one or more power levels for one or more respective fields of the preamble.
Kim discloses the extended long range wireless packet associated with a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain and associated with orthogonal frequency division (OFDM) communications (parag. 0059); and transmit, in accordance with the indication and a data rate associated with extended long-range communications, the extended long range wireless packet using one or more power levels for one or more respective fields of the preamble (parag. 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim into the teaching of SUN in order to improve throughput efficiency.
With respect to claims 2, 29:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a request to transmit the extended long range wireless packet, the indication being received in response to transmitting the request (parag. 0063-0068).
With respect to claim 3:
Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a request to transmit the extended long range wireless packet, a duration of the request associated at least in part with the extended long range communications; and receive the indication in response to the request, the indication comprising a trigger frame that indicates protection for the extended long range wireless packet, the extended long range wireless packet comprising a trigger-based transmission associated at least in part with the trigger frame (parag. 0078, 0081 and 0084).
With respect to claim 4:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the request to transmit the extended long range wireless packet, an identifier of the wireless station, information associated with a basic service set, a duration for the protection for the extended long range wireless packet, or any combination thereof (parag. 0094, 0107 discloses identifier while parag. 0086, 0087 discloses duration).
With respect to claim 5:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the request via a wireless packet comprising at least a short training field, a long training field, and a signal field (fig. 2).
With respect to claim 15:
SUN discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a wireless station, comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (fig. 1, item 15 as in parag. 0055) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (parag. 0232 discloses memory), the processing system configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, in accordance with a data rate associated with extended long-range communications (fig. 2, item 200 is physical layer unit that include extended long-range packet. It shows a preamble 202 and a data unit 240); an extended long range wireless packet that comprises a preamble and a data field (fig. 2), the preamble comprising a short training field, a long training field (fig. 2, items 205, 210) or both dedicated to the extended long-range communications, a duration of the short training field associated with detection of the extended long range wireless packet (parag. 0063) and an automatic gain control for the extended long range wireless packet (paag.0053); the preamble and the data field of the extended long range wireless packet associated with a first bandwidth that is less than a threshold bandwidth for the extended long-range communications (parag. 0068 and 0193).
SUN does not explicitly disclose a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain;
Kim discloses a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain (parag. 0059);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim into the teaching of SUN in order to improve throughput efficiency.
With respect to claim 28:
SUN discloses a method for wireless communication at a wireless station, comprising receive an indication to transmit an extended long range wireless packet comprising a preamble and a data field (fig. 2, item 200 is physical layer unit that include extended long-range packet. It shows a preamble 202 and a data unit 240); a first numerical quantity of repetitions for at least one field of the preamble (parag. 0077), the first numerical quantity of repetitions dedicated to the extended long-range communications (fig. 2, item 230-1), the data rate less than a threshold data rate associated with second communications different than the extended long-range communications (parag. 0068 and 0193).
SUN does not explicitly disclose the extended long range wireless packet associated with a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain and associated with orthogonal frequency division (OFDM) communications; and transmit, in accordance with the indication and a data rate associated with extended long-range communications, the extended long range wireless packet using one or more power levels for one or more respective fields of the preamble.
Kim discloses the extended long range wireless packet associated with a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain and associated with orthogonal frequency division (OFDM) communications (parag. 0059); and transmit, in accordance with the indication and a data rate associated with extended long-range communications, the extended long range wireless packet using one or more power levels for one or more respective fields of the preamble (parag. 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim into the teaching of SUN in order to improve throughput efficiency.
With respect to claim 30:
SUN discloses a method for wireless communication at a wireless station, comprising: transmitting, in accordance with a data rate associated with extended long-range communications (fig. 2, item 200 is physical layer unit that include extended long-range packet. It shows a preamble 202 and a data unit 240); an extended long range wireless packet that comprises a preamble and a data field (fig. 2), the preamble comprising a short training field, a long training field (fig. 2, items 205, 210) or both dedicated to the extended long-range communications, a duration of the short training field associated with detection of the extended long range wireless packet (parag. 0063) and an automatic gain control for the extended long range wireless packet (paag.0053); the preamble and the data field of the extended long range wireless packet associated with a first bandwidth that is less than a threshold bandwidth for the extended long-range communications (parag. 0068 and 0193).
SUN does not explicitly disclose a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain;
Kim discloses a frequency band that is at least 2.4 gigahertz or higher in a frequency domain (parag. 0059);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kim into the teaching of SUN in order to improve throughput efficiency.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN (Pub. No.: US 2016/0156438 A1), Kim (Pub. No.: US 2017/0063670 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Khude (Pub. No.: US 2023/0388002 A1).
With respect to claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; SUN and Kim do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: apply a carrier frequency offset to the at least one field of the preamble, the carrier frequency offset associated at least in part with the indication.
Khude discloses processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: apply a carrier frequency offset to the at least one field of the preamble, the carrier frequency offset associated at least in part with the indication (parag. 0067). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Khude into the teaching of SUN in view of Kim in order to save power.
Claims 7-14, 16-17, 23, 24, 25, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN (Pub. No.: US 2016/0156438 A1), Kim (Pub. No.: US 2017/0063670 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cariou (Pub. No.: US 2020/0177319 A1).
With respect to claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; SUN and Kim do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the at least one field of the preamble, a signature sequence, the signature sequence associated at least in part with the indication.
Cariou discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the at least one field of the preamble, a signature sequence, the signature sequence associated at least in part with the indication (parag.0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cariou into the teaching of SUN in view of Kim thereby improving the enhancement to the HARQ packet preamble.
With respect to claim 8:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first numerical quantity of repetitions for the at least one field of the preamble is at least four repetitions, the at least one field comprising a signal field (fig. 2, 6, 8-10).
With respect to claim 9:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein each repetition of the at least four repetitions comprise a subset of a set of bits associated at least in part with an indication of the extended long-range communications (fig. 3, parag. 0073-0074).
With respect to claim 10:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the data field in accordance with a second numerical quantity of repetitions, an interleaving parameter, a code rate, a modulation scheme, or any combination thereof, the second numerical quantity of repetitions, the interleaving parameter, the code rate, and the modulation scheme associated with the data rate (fig. 2, parag. 0063).
With respect to claim 11:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the modulation scheme comprises a modulation and coding scheme 0 (MCSO) and the second numerical quantity of repetitions comprises four repetitions or the second numerical quantity of repetitions comprises three repetitions (parag. 0094, 0098, 0208-0209).
With respect to claim 12:
Cariou discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to boost the one or more power levels in accordance with a threshold power level value for the data rate (parag. 0085, 0088).
With respect to claim 13:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more respective fields comprise a short training field, a long training field, or both (parag. 0065, fig. 2).
With respect to claims 14, 25:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one field comprises one or more signal fields that indicate whether the extended long range wireless packet is for a single user or not, coding information, a length of the extended long range wireless packet, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a bandwidth size, a resource unit size, or any combination thereof (fig. 2 discloses length of extended long range and so on).
With respect to claim 16:
Cariou discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the short training field, the long training field, or both in accordance with respective boosted power levels, the respective boosted power levels associated with a threshold power level value for the data rate (parag. 0085 and 0088).
With respect to claim 17:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive signaling that triggers transmission of the extended long range wireless packet, the extended long range wireless packet transmitted in accordance with the signaling (parag. 0078, 0081 and 0084).
With respect to claim 23:
Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the apparatus to: select the first bandwidth for the data field in accordance with a resource unit size corresponding to the preamble and the data field (parag. 0006-0010).
With respect to claim 24:
Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein: the extended long range wireless packet is associated with orthogonal frequency division (OFDM) communications; and the OFDM communications comprise the extended long range wireless packet and a plurality of wireless packets in accordance with the resource unit size and a tone plan associated with the extended long range wireless packet and the plurality of wireless packets (parag. 0059 and 0069).
With respect to claim 26:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein one or more fields of the preamble are repeated in accordance with a tone plan and a duration in accordance with the resource unit size, the tone plan associated with one or more resource indices for repetitions of the one or more fields of the preamble (parag. 0064).
With respect to claim 27:
SUN discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the preamble comprises the short training field dedicated to the extended long-range communications, and a tone spacing associated with the short training field is associated at least in part with the extended long-range communications (fig. 27, 28 and corresponding paragraphs).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649