Claim Objections
Claims 14-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites “from one or more of the energy storage modules”. Claim 1 only had “an energy storage module”. Therefore, this plural term lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed applicant meant “from the energy storage module”
Claim 16 recites “the power bus”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis. Interpreted as “the auxiliary power bus” as claimed in Claim 14.
Claim 17 recites “disabling, by the controller, the plurality of power converter based the second fault.” Emend “converter” to “converters”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, applicant recites: “a controller connected to the plurality of converters and configured to synchronously control, based on one or more measurements from the one or more sensors, one or more power converters of the plurality of power converters;”
The issue with this language is it appears to convey that one power converter can be controlled synchronously (i.e. with itself, as synchronously means to be controlled together, how does one converter control together without another converter). Regardless of whether it is enabling to synchronously provide power output for one converter together with no other, the applicant has omitted any algorithm to show this unusual limitation. Recommended applicant emend to “synchronously control two or more” in this stanza, or some alternative (e.g. control one power converter of the plurality of power converters, and synchronously control two of more power converters of the plurality of power converters).
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, applicant recites: “a controller connected to the plurality of converters and configured to synchronously control, based on one or more measurements from the one or more sensors, one or more power converters of the plurality of power converters;”
The issue with this language is it appears to convey that one power converter can be controlled synchronously (i.e. with itself, as synchronously means to be controlled together, how does one converter control together without another converter). It is unclear how one power converter can be synchronously controlled without another converter.
Recommended applicant emend to “synchronously control two or more” in this stanza, or some alternative (e.g. control one power converter of the plurality of power converters, and synchronously control two of more power converters of the plurality of power converters).
For purposes of examination, the “synchronously” limitation will be omitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (USPGPN 20220294238) in view of Osara et al (USPGPN 20120298004) and Yamaguchi et al (USPGPN 20210104955, hereinafter Yama).
Independent Claim 1, Liu teaches an apparatus (Figs. [1-2B, 25A-27, 34A, 34B, esp. 2A, 26, 27, 34A], examiner attached Figs. [27, 34A{highlighted portion}]) comprising:
a first terminal (positive/top of circuit);
a second terminal (negative/bottom of circuit);
one or more sensors (2716, 3415);
an energy storage module (battery cells);
wherein each power converter wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters comprises a switching circuit ([2706, 3409], switches are inherent to the buck/boost power converters of ¶[85], as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art;
switches [2714, 3407] can correspond to a second power converter as the voltage is changed due to the resistance of the wiring and/or switch) and is configured to:
convert power from the energy storage module to the first terminal and the second terminal (¶[85] implicitly describes ability); or convert power from the first terminal and the second terminal to the energy storage module (¶’s [84, 85]);
a controller (2717, 3411) connected to the each converter & configured to synchronously control (112[b] interpretation), based on one or more measurements from the one or more sensors, one or more power converters of the plurality of power converters (¶’s [277,300,301]).
Liu is silent to a plurality of power converters, each connected to the energy storage module, the first terminal, and the second terminal, and an auxiliary power circuit configured to provide power to the controller from one or more of a plurality of auxiliary power sources.
Osara teaches a plurality of power converters, each connected to the energy storage module, the first terminal, and the second terminal (see Fig. 3 for converters 37, providing power from energy storage 26 ¶’s [23, 26], where ¶[39] has each 37 being able to both charge and discharge, i.e. bidirectional operation). Osara would be capable of replacing either [a] the single converter, or [b] both the single converter and the switch in parallel with it, of Liu with the parallel converters 37. ¶[39] describes the multiple converters provide redundancy benefits to improve reliability since even if one converter fails, another converter can still be used to reliably continue providing power.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu with Osara to provide improved reliability.
Liu is silent to an auxiliary power circuit configured to provide power to the controller from one or more of a plurality of auxiliary power sources.
Yama teaches an auxiliary power circuit configured to provide power to the controller from one or more of a plurality of auxiliary power sources (Figs. [1, 4], shows auxiliary power supply circuit 11 providing power to control unit and 1 from battery power supply BT). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by allowing the controller to be supplied with power from the battery, it can serve to improve the reliability in case another battery power supply fails (¶’s [40, 43, 48, 60, 61, esp. 61]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Osara with Yama to provide improved reliability.
Dependent Claim 2, the combination of Liu, Osara, and Yama teaches a bypass switch connected to the first terminal and to the second terminal (Liu 3417),
wherein the bypass switch comprises two or more parallel-connected transistors (while Liu only shows 1, for similar reasons to the parallel connected converters of Osara, it would be a simple duplication of parts to have a parallel switch in parallel with Liu’s 3417 [MPEP 2144], where just as for the redundant parallel converters of Osara, the redundant switch would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an improved reliability/safety benefit).
Dependent Claim 7, Liu teaches a disconnect switch (2715, [3405, 3403]), connected between one of the first terminal or the second terminal, and the plurality of power converters.
Dependent Claim 12, the combination of Liu, Osara, and Yama teaches a plurality of gate drivers, wherein switches in each switching circuit are connected to a corresponding gate driver of the plurality of gate drivers (switches of Liu and Yama are transistors, which have gates, and thus inherently receive gate driving signals, thus the original of these signals are a plurality of gate drivers, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands).
Dependent Claim 13, the combination of Liu, Osara, and Yama teaches a disconnect switch connected to the first terminal and the plurality of power converters (3405, 3403); and
a plurality of bypass switches connected to the first terminal and to the second terminal (while Liu only shows 1, for similar reasons to the parallel connected converters of Osara, it would be a simple duplication of parts to have a parallel switch in parallel with Liu’s 3417 [MPEP 2144], where just as for the redundant parallel converters of Osara, the redundant switch would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide an improved reliability/safety benefit),
wherein a first gate driver of the plurality of gate drivers is connected to the disconnect switch and a first bypass switch of the plurality of bypass switches, and wherein a second gate driver of the plurality of gate drivers is connected to remaining ones of bypass switches (switches of Liu and Yama are transistors, which have gates, and thus inherently receive gate driving signals, thus the original of these signals are a plurality of gate drivers, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands).
Dependent Claim 14, the combination of Liu, Osara, and Yama teaches the auxiliary power circuit is configured to receive power from one or more of the energy storage modules, an auxiliary power bus, or a communications bus (see Yama, power received from both the energy storage modules [9, BT] and an auxiliary power bus L).
Dependent Claim 15, the combination of Liu, Osara, and Yama teaches the auxiliary power circuit comprises a first power converter configured to receive power from the auxiliary power bus, and provide the received power to the controller via a first diode (this limitation is simply a duplication of parts, as another of 10 could be simply added from to the other side of the node connecting 11 and 9 with 14 and it would not demonstrably change the circuit operation as 14 is not meant to provide power back to 11, see MPEP 2144, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that adding an extra diode for redundancy/safety is well within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art).
Dependent Claim 16, the combination of Liu, Osara, and Yama teaches the auxiliary power circuit is further configured to: receive power from the energy storage module; and
provide power to the auxiliary power bus (Yama demonstrates this feature).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Osara and Yama, further in view of Mergener et al (USPGPN 20170346334; hereinafter Merge)
Dependent Claim 3, Liu teaches the controller is configured to control the bypass switch to a conducting state a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is compared to a threshold (as described above for Claim 1).
Liu is silent to the controller is configured to control the bypass switch to a conducting state based on one or more of:
a short circuit of a disconnect switch;
a fault in the controller;
and a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold.
Merge teaches the controller is configured to control the bypass switch to a conducting state based on one or more of:
a short circuit of a disconnect switch;
a fault in the controller;
and a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold (Figs. [1-6, esp. 1, 2,4] show an analogous circuit to Liu [esp. Liu’s Fig. 34A], where ¶[41] describes that when the battery has reached its abnormal condition due to discharge threshold, i.e. below a threshold, bypass circuit is enabled as claimed). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by disconnecting at this energy level, it serves to improve the safety and longevity of the battery. Overdischarged batteries can become damaged, which can reduce their usable capacity and increase their susceptibility to further damage. Damaged batteries can cause explosions/inflammation/swelling/overheating/gassing/etc. Similarly, Liu has bypass when battery becomes too high level, with similar reasons for doing so.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Osara and Yama with Merge to provide improved longevity and safety.
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Liu, Merge, Osara, and Yama teaches a circuit configured to control the bypass switch to a default conducting state based on the fault to the controller (Liu has the bypass switch with a control gate circuit [between control gate and controller] and the switch in the form of a transistor, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that when a controller stops sending a signal, the transistor may stop conducting, but the body diode remains in a default conducting state).
Dependent Claim 5, the combination of Liu, Merge, Osara, and Yama teaches the one or more sensors are configured to measure a voltage of the energy storage module (¶’s [16, 38] of Merge, Liu as described above), and
wherein the controller is configured to, based on the measurement indicating that the voltage of the energy storage module is below a threshold, control the bypass switch to a conducting state (¶[41] of Merge describes that the SOC being too low is determination to bypass, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that SOC is both at least partly in a direct relationship with SOC and also can be used to calculate SOC, so the determination is based upon the measurement; applicant can strengthen this limitation by removing broad “based on” limitation, which allows this broad interpretation).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Merge, Osara, & Yama, further in view of Stratakos et al (USPGPN 20120044014; hereinafter Stra)
Dependent Claim 6, Liu teaches the one or more sensors are configured to provide a measurement of a current through the energy storage module (as explained above for Claim 1).
Liu is silent to wherein the controller is configured to, based on the measurement indicating that the current through the energy storage module is below a threshold, control the bypass switch to a conducting state (noted that Liu is capable of performing this operation, as current is sensed, and bypass operations occur, and applicant has used “configured to”).
Stra teaches the controller is configured to, based on the measurement indicating that the current through the energy storage module is below a threshold, control the bypass switch to a conducting state (Fig. 4 shows switching circuits 404 which each have a controller 422 and receiving inputs from a battery power supply ¶[96] 402 [and thus analogous to Liu and the present application], where ¶[113] describes that when the current is below a threshold current, the switching circuit is put into bypass mode). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that current being outside of thresholds represent a fault state, and that by performing the bypass operation in this state, it serves to improve the safety of the circuit.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of [Merge, Osara, and Yama] with Stra to provide improved safety.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Osara and Yama, further in view of Chen et al (USPGPN 2008024380)
Dependent Claim 8, Liu teaches the controller is configured to control the disconnect switch to a non-conducting state (circuitry of Fig. [34A] shows this ability to perform)
Liu is silent to the controller is configured to control the disconnect switch to a non-conducting state based on one of: a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold;
a short circuit in a bypass switch; and
a fault in the controller.
Chen teaches the controller is configured to control the disconnect switch to a non-conducting state based on one of: a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold;
a short circuit in a bypass switch; and
a fault in the controller (Fig. 1 has analogous switches 40-44 & 2 along with battery 900, where ¶’s [34-38] describes turning off of discharge switch in response the amount of energy/current/voltage is below a threshold). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by switching off the battery in this state, it can both protect the battery from damage, and improve its durability, as either state can cause damage to the battery. When batteries are damaged, it can reduce their usable capacity and increase their susceptibility to further damage. Damaged batteries can cause explosions/inflammation/swelling/overheating/gassing/etc. Similarly, Liu has bypass when battery becomes too high level, with similar reasons for doing so.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Osara and Yama with Chen to provide improved longevity and safety.
Dependent Claim 9, the combination of Liu, Osara, Yama, and Chen teaches the controller comprises a circuit configured to control the disconnect switch to a default non-conducting state based on the fault to the controller (if the controller is in default state, then it would include the state where it would stop outputting the control signal, where Liu and Chen teach transistors, and when the transistors no longer receive the control signal, the main path becomes non-conducting, thus is controlled to disconnect).
Dependent Claim 10, the combination of Liu, Osara, Yama, and Chen teaches the one or more sensors are configured to generate a measurement of a voltage of the energy storage module (as explained above for voltage for both Liu and Chen), and
wherein, based on the measurement indicating that the voltage of the energy storage module is below a threshold, the controller is configured to control the disconnect switch to a non-conducting state (as capable of doing so in Liu, as explicitly described to do so in Chen).
Dependent Claim 11, the combination of Liu, Osara, Yama, and Chen teaches the one or more sensors are configured to generate a measurement of a current through the energy storage module (as explained above for voltage for both Liu and Chen), and
wherein the controller is configured to, based on the measurement indicating that the current through the energy storage module is below a threshold, control the disconnect switch to a non-conducting stated (as capable of doing so in Liu, as explicitly described to do so in Chen).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (USPGPN 20220294238) in view of Osara et al (USPGPN 20120298004) and Zhang et al (USPGPN 20040017689), as evidenced by Hegarty (“Benefits of multiphasing buck converters – Part 2”, Tim Hegarty, EETimes, published online Nov 24 2007, www.eetimes.com/benefits-of-multiphasing-buck-converters-part-2/ )
Independent Claim 17, Liu teaches a method (based on structure of Figs. [1-2B, 25A-27, 34A, 34B, esp. 2A, 26, 27, 34A], examiner attached Figs. [27, 34A{highlighted portion}], abstract, ¶’s [60, 62, 83-85, 277, 297-301], describes both charging & discharging) comprising:
converting, power from an energy storage module (¶’s [277,300,301] in light of Fig. 7A;
converters [2706, 3409], switches are inherent to the buck/boost power converters of ¶[85], as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art;
switches [2714, 3407] can correspond to a second power converter as the voltage is changed due to the resistance of the wiring and/or switch);
detecting, by one or more sensors (2716, 3415);
disabling, by a controller (2717, 3411, switches shown in e.g. Figs. [27, 34A]);
detecting, by the one or more sensors, a second fault in the energy storage module, the controller, or an auxiliary power circuit (¶’s [297-301, esp. 298] describes battery pack has reached a point where charge can no longer be taken [analogous to when battery can no longer discharge, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands], and bypass switch 3417 is turned on, i.e. this represents a fault in the energy storage module); and
disabling, by the controller, power converter based the second fault (¶’s [297-301, esp. 298] has 3417 turned on when in fault state).
Liu is silent to synchronously converting, by a plurality of power converters; detecting a fault in one or more power converters of the plurality of power converters; disabling the one or more power converters identified with a fault
Osara teaches a plurality of power converters, each connected to the energy storage module, the first terminal, and the second terminal (see Fig. 3 for converters 37, providing power from energy storage 26 ¶’s [23, 26], where ¶[39] has each 37 being able to both charge and discharge, i.e. bidirectional operation). Osara would be capable of replacing either [a] the single converter, or [b] both the single converter and the switch in parallel with it, of Liu with the parallel converters 37.
Osara teaches detecting a fault in one or more power converters of the plurality of power converters; disabling the one or more power converters identified with a fault (¶[39] describes the multiple converters provide redundancy benefits to improve reliability since even if one converter fails, another converter can still be used to reliably continue providing power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu with Osara to provide improved reliability.
Liu is silent to synchronously converting, by a plurality of power converters.
Zhang teaches synchronously converting, by a plurality of power converters (¶’s [01, 07]). Hegerty in page 6 describes the use of synchronizing parallel converters serves to provide reduced ripple current.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Osara with Zhang to provide reduced ripple current.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Osara & Zhang, further in view of Chen et al (USPGPN 2008024380), as evidenced by Hegarty
Dependent Claim 18, Liu teaches disabling the plurality of power converters comprises controlling a disconnect switch to disconnect the plurality of power converters from terminals
(circuitry of Fig. [34A] shows this ability to perform disabling)
Liu is silent to disabling comprises controlling a disconnect switch to disconnect based on one or more of: a short circuit of a bypass switch; a fault in the controller; and a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold.
Chen teaches the controller is configured to control the disconnect switch to a non-conducting state based on one of: a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold;
a short circuit in a bypass switch; and
a fault in the controller (Fig. 1 has analogous switches 40-44 & 2 along with battery 900, where ¶’s [34-38] describes turning off of discharge switch in response the amount of energy/current/voltage is below a threshold). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by switching off the battery in this state, it can both protect the battery from damage, and improve its durability, as either state can cause damage to the battery. When batteries are damaged, it can reduce their usable capacity and increase their susceptibility to further damage. Damaged batteries can cause explosions/inflammation/swelling/overheating/gassing/etc. Similarly, Liu has bypass when battery becomes too high level, with similar reasons for doing so.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Osara and Zhang with Chen to provide improved longevity and safety.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Osara and Zhang, further in view of Mergener et al (USPGPN 20170346334; hereinafter Merge),
as evidenced by Hegarty
Dependent Claim 19, Liu teaches disabling the plurality of power converters comprises controlling a bypass switch to bypass the plurality of power converters from terminals (circuitry of Fig. [34A] shows this ability to perform disabling)
Liu is silent to disabling comprises controlling a bypass switch to bypass based on one or more of: a short circuit of a disconnect switch; a fault in the controller; and a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold.
Merge teaches the controller is configured to control the bypass switch to a conducting state based on one or more of:
a short circuit of a disconnect switch;
a fault in the controller;
and a determination that an amount of energy stored in the energy storage module is below a threshold (Figs. [1-6, esp. 1, 2,4] show an analogous circuit to Liu [esp. Liu’s Fig. 34A], where ¶[41] describes that when the battery has reached its abnormal condition due to discharge threshold, i.e. below a threshold, bypass circuit is enabled as claimed). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by disconnecting at this energy level, it serves to improve the safety and longevity of the battery. Overdischarged batteries can become damaged, which can reduce their usable capacity and increase their susceptibility to further damage. Damaged batteries can cause explosions/inflammation/swelling/overheating/gassing/etc. Similarly, Liu has bypass when battery becomes too high level, with similar reasons for doing so.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Osara and Zhang with Merge to provide improved longevity and safety.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Osara & Zhang, further in view of Murthy et al (USPGPN 20240186885, as evidenced by Hegarty
Dependent Claim 20, Liu is silent to disabling the one or more power converters identified with a fault comprises disconnecting, by a fuse, the one or more power converters identified with a fault from the energy storage module, responsive to a current flowing between a switching circuit and the energy storage module exceeding a threshold.
Murthy teaches disabling the one or more power converters identified with a fault comprises disconnecting, by a fuse, the one or more power converters identified with a fault from the energy storage module, responsive to a current flowing between a switching circuit and the energy storage module exceeding a threshold (Figs. [1-3, esp. 3] shows two converter circuits [A{120, 305, 114}, B {122, 305}] with outputs in parallel, each having overcurrent protection fuses ¶’s [41-43]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by providing fuses for overcurrent protection, it serves to provide improved longevity for the circuitry [since they are prevented from damage] and improved safety [since damaged circuits can damage users.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Osara and Zhang with Murthy to provide improved longevity and safety.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859