DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 04/30/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the limitation “inflection point” is described in the as-filed specification as a point of a curve at which the sign of the curvature (i.e. the concavity) changes (paragraph [0041]).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 of claim 1 appears to contain a typographical error in the recitation “at least a first and second solar cells electrically connected in series.” For the purpose of this office action, the recitation will be treated as if it states at least a first and second solar cell electrically connected in series. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 of claim 12 appears to contain a typographical error in the recitation “at least a first and second solar cells electrically connected in series.” For the purpose of this office action, the recitation will be treated as if it states at least a first and second solar cell electrically connected in series. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 11 of claim 12 appears to be missing the article “the” preceding the recitation of “first solar cell.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 4 recites “wherein the cross-sectional area has a head and shoulder shape,” however, the structure required to satisfy the limitation “head and shoulder shape” is unclear.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claims 5, 6, and 7, each recite the limitation “a footprint length,” however, the manner in which the term “footprint” limits the recited length is unclear rendering the claims indefinite.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 6 recites the limitation “a shoulder portion,” however, the structure required to satisfy the limitation “shoulder portion” is unclear rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 13 recites the limitation "the midline" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sewell et al. (US 11,227,962).
Regarding claim 1, Sewell discloses a string of solar cells (Fig. 5) comprising first and second solar cells electrically connected in series (C11/L1), each solar cell comprising a silicon semiconductor substrate (C4/L24; C6/L63; C8/L16; C16/L30; C17/L29), an n-type doped region (C6/L52-53), and a p-type doped region (C6/L52-53); and a conductive wire in contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell and in contact with the p-type doped region of the second solar cell (C10/L33-36).
While Sewell does disclose the conductive wire at a point of contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell having a cross-sectional area perpendicular to a length of the conductive wire (C7/L59; C8/L4), and further discloses the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); Sewell does not explicitly disclose a perimeter of the cross-sectional area having an inflection point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the perimeter of the cross-sectional area perpendicular to the length of the conductive wire of Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has an inflection point, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the conductive wire at a point of contact with the p-type doped region of the second solar cell has a second cross-sectional area perpendicular to a length of the conductive wire (C6/L55-57; C8/L4), and further discloses the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose a perimeter of the second cross-sectional area has an inflection point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the perimeter of the second cross-sectional area perpendicular to the length of the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the second cross-sectional area has an inflection point, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Sewell further discloses the cross-sectional area has a cross-sectional shape, and the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell (C9/L55-61).
It is noted that if the disclosure of column 9, lines 55-61 of Sewell does not explicitly disclose the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the cross-sectional area has a head and shoulder shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the cross-sectional area has a head and shoulder shape because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a footprint length greater than 200 micrometers and less than 500 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a footprint length greater than 200 micrometers and less than 500 micrometers because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a footprint length and a line from the footprint length to the inflection point on the perimeter delineates a shoulder portion of the cross-sectional area, the shoulder portion having a side opposite the footprint length that is substantially flat and parallel to the footprint length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a footprint length and a line from the footprint length to the inflection point on the perimeter delineates a shoulder portion of the cross-sectional area, the shoulder portion having a side opposite the footprint length that is substantially flat and parallel to the footprint length, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a footprint length and the cross-sectional area has a width, and wherein the width is greater than the footprint length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a footprint length and the cross-sectional area has a width, and wherein the width is greater than the footprint length because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sewell further discloses the conductive wire comprises aluminum (C7/L16).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter has 2 inflection points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter has 2 inflection points because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter has 4 inflection points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter has 4 inflection points because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Sewell discloses a string of solar cells (Fig. 5) comprising first and second solar cells electrically connected in series (C11/L1), each solar cell comprising a silicon semiconductor substrate (C4/L24; C6/L63; C8/L16; C16/L30; C17/L29), an n-type doped region (C6/L52-53), and a p-type doped region (C6/L52-53); and a conductive wire in contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell and in contact with the p-type doped region of the second solar cell (C10/L33-36).
While Sewell does disclose the conductive wire at a point of contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell having a cross-sectional area perpendicular to a length of the conductive wire (C7/L59; C8/L4), and further discloses the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); Sewell does not explicitly disclose a perimeter of the cross-sectional area having a substantially straight portion adjacent to the first solar cell and a curved portion opposite the substantially straight portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the perimeter of the cross-sectional area perpendicular to the length of the conductive wire of Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a substantially straight portion adjacent to the first solar cell and a curved portion opposite the substantially straight portion, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)) and further discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter comprises a curved portion located at the midline of the cross-sectional area and opposite the substantially straight portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the perimeter of the cross-sectional area perpendicular to the length of the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter comprises a curved portion located at the midline of the cross-sectional area and opposite the substantially straight portion, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sewell further discloses the wire comprises aluminum (C7/L16).
Regarding claim 15, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sewell further discloses the cross-sectional area has a cross-sectional shape, and the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell (C9/L55-61).
It is noted that if the disclosure of column 9, lines 55-61 of Sewell does not explicitly disclose the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sewell et al. (US 11,227,962) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Feng et al. (US 2022/0376124).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth
above.
Modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose a passivation layer coating the silicon semiconductor substrate, the passivation layer comprising a hole, and wherein the contact of the conductive wire with the n-type doped region is through the hole in the passivation layer.
Feng discloses a string of solar cells ([0104]) and further discloses a passivation layer ([0065]) coating the silicon semiconductor substrate ([0049]), the passivation layer comprising a hole, and wherein contact of a conductive wire with n-type doped regions is through the hole in the passivation layer ([0065]; it is noted that the limitation “contact” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a passivation layer, as disclosed by Feng, on the silicon semiconductor substrate of modified Sewell such that contact of the conductive wire with the n-type region of modified Sewell is through the hole in the passivation layer, because as taught by Feng, the configuration reduces the contact area among the metal electrode, the first conductive layer 6 and the second conductive layer 7, which further reduces contact resistance, and thus increases an open-circuit voltage ([0065]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a passivation layer, as disclosed by Feng, on the silicon semiconductor substrate of modified Sewell such that contact of the conductive wire with the n-type region of modified Sewell is through the hole in the passivation layer, because as evidenced by Feng, the configuration amounts to a known structural arrangement in the art and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when including a passivation layer on the silicon substrate of modified Sewell such that contact of the conductive wire with the n-type region is through the hole in the passivation layer based on the teaching of Feng.
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726