DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the phrase “inflection point” is described in the as-filed specification as a point of a curve at which the sign of the curvature (i.e. the concavity) changes (paragraph [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sewell et al. (US 11,227,962).
Regarding claim 1, Sewell discloses a string of solar cells (Fig. 5) comprising first and second solar cells electrically connected in series (C11/L1), each solar cell comprising a silicon semiconductor substrate (C4/L24; C6/L63; C8/L16; C16/L30; C17/L29), an n-type doped region (C6/L52-53), and a p-type doped region (C6/L52-53); and a conductive wire in contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell and in contact with the p-type doped region of the second solar cell (C10/L33-36).
While Sewell does disclose the conductive wire at a point of contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell having a cross-sectional area perpendicular to a length of the conductive wire (C7/L59; C8/L4), and further discloses the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); Sewell does not explicitly disclose a cross-sectional area of the conductive wire taken perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the conductive wire at a contact area with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell has a perimeter defining a head-and-shoulders profile, the head-and-shoulders profile comprising two or more inflection points disposed at respective transition regions between the central head portion and each of the opposing shoulder portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of Sewell such that a cross-sectional area of the conductive wire taken perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the conductive wire at a contact area with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell has a perimeter defining a head-and-shoulders profile comprising a central head portion and two opposing shoulder portions, the head-and-shoulders profile comprising two or more inflection points disposed at respective transition regions between the central head portion and each of the opposing shoulder portions, and the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Modified Sewell discloses the cross-sectional area has a cross-sectional shape, and the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell (C9/L55-61).
It is noted that if the disclosure of column 9, lines 55-61 of Sewell does not explicitly disclose the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the conductive wire at a point of contact with the p-type doped region of the second solar cell has a second cross-sectional area perpendicular to a length of the conductive wire (C6/L55-57; C8/L4), and further discloses the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose a perimeter of the second cross-sectional area has an inflection point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the perimeter of the second cross-sectional area perpendicular to the length of the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the second cross-sectional area has an inflection point, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a contact length greater than 200 micrometers and less than 500 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a contact length greater than 200 micrometers and less than 500 micrometers because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a contact length and a line from the contact length to the inflection point on the perimeter delineates a first portion of the cross-sectional area, the first portion having a side opposite the contact length that is substantially flat and parallel to the contact length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a contact length and a line from the contact length to the inflection point on the perimeter delineates a first portion of the cross-sectional area, the first portion having a side opposite the contact length that is substantially flat and parallel to the contact length, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a contact length and the cross-sectional area has a width, and wherein the width is greater than the contact length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter of the cross-sectional area has a contact length and the cross-sectional area has a width, and wherein the width is greater than the contact length because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sewell further discloses the conductive wire comprises aluminum (C7/L16).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter has 4 inflection points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter has 4 inflection points because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Sewell discloses a string of solar cells (Fig. 5) comprising first and second solar cells electrically connected in series (C11/L1), each solar cell comprising a silicon semiconductor substrate (C4/L24; C6/L63; C8/L16; C16/L30; C17/L29), an n-type doped region (C6/L52-53), and a p-type doped region (C6/L52-53); and a conductive wire in contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell and in contact with the p-type doped region of the second solar cell (C10/L33-36).
While Sewell does disclose the conductive wire at a point of contact with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell having a cross-sectional area perpendicular to a length of the conductive wire (C7/L59; C8/L4), and further discloses the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)), and additionally discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); Sewell does not explicitly disclose a cross-sectional area of the conductive wire taken perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the conductive wire at a contact area with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell has a perimeter defining a dome-shaped profile comprising a substantially straight portion adjacent to the first solar cell and a curved portion opposite the substantially straight portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of Sewell such that a cross-sectional area of the conductive wire taken perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the conductive wire at a contact area with the n-type doped region of the first solar cell has a perimeter defining a dome-shaped profile comprising a substantially straight portion adjacent to the first solar cell and a curved portion opposite the substantially straight portion, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Modified Sewell discloses the cross-sectional area has a cross-sectional shape, and the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell (C9/L55-61).
It is noted that if the disclosure of column 9, lines 55-61 of Sewell does not explicitly disclose the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Sewell does disclose the resulting compressed wire is a flattened version of the corresponding shape (C8/L3-4; C8/L10; 250 in Figure 2A (b)) and further discloses the wires can have a cross-sectional shape that is round, flattened, slightly flattened, or another shape (C9/L55-57); modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose the perimeter comprises a curved portion located at a midline of the cross-sectional area and opposite the substantially straight portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the perimeter of the cross-sectional area perpendicular to the length of the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the perimeter comprises a curved portion located at a midline of the cross-sectional area and opposite the substantially straight portion, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sewell further discloses the wire comprises aluminum (C7/L16).
Regarding claim 15, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sewell further discloses the cross-sectional area has a cross-sectional shape, and the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell (C9/L55-61).
It is noted that if the disclosure of column 9, lines 55-61 of Sewell does not explicitly disclose the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sewell et al. (US 11,227,962) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Feng et al. (US 2022/0376124).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sewell discloses all the claim limitations as set forth
above.
Modified Sewell does not explicitly disclose a passivation layer coating the silicon semiconductor substrate, the passivation layer comprising a hole, and wherein the contact of the conductive wire with the n-type doped region is through the hole in the passivation layer.
Feng discloses a string of solar cells ([0104]) and further discloses a passivation layer ([0065]) coating the silicon semiconductor substrate ([0049]), the passivation layer comprising a hole, and wherein contact of a conductive wire with n-type doped regions is through the hole in the passivation layer ([0065]; it is noted that the limitation “contact” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a passivation layer, as disclosed by Feng, on the silicon semiconductor substrate of modified Sewell such that contact of the conductive wire with the n-type region of modified Sewell is through the hole in the passivation layer, because as taught by Feng, the configuration reduces the contact area among the metal electrode, the first conductive layer 6 and the second conductive layer 7, which further reduces contact resistance, and thus increases an open-circuit voltage ([0065]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a passivation layer, as disclosed by Feng, on the silicon semiconductor substrate of modified Sewell such that contact of the conductive wire with the n-type region of modified Sewell is through the hole in the passivation layer, because as evidenced by Feng, the configuration amounts to a known structural arrangement in the art and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when including a passivation layer on the silicon substrate of modified Sewell such that contact of the conductive wire with the n-type region is through the hole in the passivation layer based on the teaching of Feng.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of the length of the solar cell.
In response to Applicant’s argument, modified Sewell discloses the cross-
sectional area has a cross-sectional shape, and the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell (Sewell - C9/L55-61).
It is noted that if the disclosure of column 9, lines 55-61 of Sewell does not explicitly disclose the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the conductive wire of modified Sewell such that the conductive wire has substantially the same cross-sectional shape along a majority of a length of the first solar cell, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Applicant argues that the head-and-shoulders profile with inflection points realizes greater precision in wire placement as a greater number of wires are used to connect solar cells. Applicant argues the dome-shaped profile optimizes internal stress, reduces wire breakage and protects the passivation layer, suitable for mass production.
In response to Applicant’s argument, paragraphs 0040-0049 and Fig. 9 of the originally filed application do not provide evidence of unexpected results of a string of solar cells with a structure commensurate in scope with the limitations claimed. Applicant has not provided evidence of the significance or criticality of the claimed shape. Applicant argues the present application is directed to solar cells with more effective conductive wires. However, Applicant does not provide evidence that the claimed shape is significant in achieving the more effective conductive wires.
Unexpected results must be established by factual evidence; mere argument or conclusory statements in the specification do not suffice. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1977) (quoting In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984)).
It is also well settled that where patentability is predicated upon a change in a condition of a prior art composition, such as a change in size, concentration or the like, the burden is on the applicant to establish with objective evidence that the change is critical, i.e., it leads to a new, unexpected result. In re Woodruff 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726