DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Claim(s) 5-7, 22-24, and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 1, 2026 for claims 2-4, 19-21, and 28.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 18-19, 27-29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0054111 A1) in view of Ibrahim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014954 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf et al. teach a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig(s).1 @ 116 and 3 @ 116), comprising:
one or more memories (Fig.3 @ 360); and
one or more processors (Fig.3 @ 340), coupled to the one or more memories (Fig.3 @ 360), configured to:
receive configuration information indicating one or more channel state information (CSI) report configurations that configure one or more CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources (read as “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])),
perform interference measurements using the CSI-IM resource (read as UE capable of performing measurements (Paragraph [0074]))
transmit one or more CSI reports reporting the interference measurements associated with the at least one of the FD set of symbols or the HD set of symbols.(read as UE capable of transmitting one or more Interference Measurement Reports (IMRs) (Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]))
However, Rudolf et al. fail to explicitly teach the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full-duplex (FD) set of symbols and a CSI-IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols;
performing interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols, or
the HD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols; and
Ibrahim et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full-duplex (FD) set of symbols (read as “CSI-IM resources of full-duplex resources of wireless communication.”(Fig.11; Paragraph [0086])) and a CSI-IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols;
performing interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols (read as “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])), or
the HD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols; and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating an interference measurement for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 18, Rudolf et al. teach a network node for wireless communication (Fig(s).1 @ 102 and 2 @ 102), comprising:
one or more memories (Fig.2 @ 230); and
one or more processors (Fig.2 @ 225), coupled to the one or more memories (Fig.2 @ 230), configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating one or more channel state information (CSI) report configurations that configure one or more CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources (read as “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])), and
receive, from the UE, one or more CSI reports reporting interference measurements associated on the CSI-IM resource. (read as BS capable of receiving one or more Interference Measurement Reports (IMRs) (Fig.2 @ 210a-210n; Paragraph [0074]))
However, Rudolf et al. fail to explicitly teach the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full-duplex (FD) set of symbols and a CSI- IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols; and
one or more CSI reports reporting interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols, or
the HD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols.
Ibrahim et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full-duplex (FD) set of symbols (read as “CSI-IM resources of full-duplex resources of wireless communication.”(Fig.11; Paragraph [0086])) and a CSI- IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols; and
one or more CSI reports reporting (read as CSI reporting (Paragraph [0083])) interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols (read as “The UE may then use the configured CSI-IM resources to measure interference at the UE and report such interference to the base station based on the CSI report configuration.”(Paragraph [0083]) Further, “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference. ”(Paragraph [0086])), or
the HD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 27, Rudolf et al. teach a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1), comprising:
receiving configuration information indicating one or more channel state information (CSI) report configurations that configure one or more CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources (read as “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])),
performing interference measurements using the CSI-IM resource (read as UE capable of performing measurements (Paragraph [0074]))
transmitting one or more CSI reports reporting the interference measurements associated with the at least one of the FD set of symbols or the HD set of symbols.(read as UE capable of transmitting one or more Interference Measurement Reports (IMRs) (Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]))
However, Rudolf et al. fail to explicitly teach the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full- duplex (FD) set of symbols and a CSI-IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols;
performing interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols, or
the HD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols; and
Ibrahim et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full-duplex (FD) set of symbols (read as “CSI-IM resources of full-duplex resources of wireless communication.”(Fig.11; Paragraph [0086])) and a CSI-IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols;
performing interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols (read as “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])), or
the HD set of symbols, using the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols; and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating an interference measurement for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 29, Rudolf et al. teach a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Fig.1), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating one or more channel state information (CSI) report configurations that configure one or more CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources (read as “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])), and
receiving, from the UE (), one or more CSI reports reporting interference measurements associated on the CSI-IM resource. (read as BS capable of receiving one or more Interference Measurement Reports (IMRs) (Fig.2 @ 210a-210n; Paragraph [0074]))
However, Rudolf et al. fail to explicitly teach the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full-duplex (FD) set of symbols and a CSI- IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols; and
one or more CSI reports reporting interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols, or
the HD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols.
Ibrahim et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI-IM resources including a CSI-IM resource associated with a full-duplex (FD) set of symbols (read as “CSI-IM resources of full-duplex resources of wireless communication.”(Fig.11; Paragraph [0086])) and a CSI- IM resource associated with a half-duplex (HD) set of symbols; and
one or more CSI reports reporting (read as CSI reporting (Paragraph [0083])) interference measurements associated with at least one of
the FD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols (read as “The UE may then use the configured CSI-IM resources to measure interference at the UE and report such interference to the base station based on the CSI report configuration.”(Paragraph [0083]) Further, “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference. ”(Paragraph [0086])), or
the HD set of symbols, based at least in part on the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 2, 19, 28, and 35, and as applied to claims 1, 18, 27, and 29 above, Rudolf et al., as modified by Ibrahim et al., teach a UE (Fig(s).1 and 3), a network node (Fig(s).1 and 2), and method (Fig.1) wherein the one or more CSI report configurations include a first CSI report configuration associated with the FD set of symbols and a second CSI report configuration associated with the HD set of symbols (read as Interference Measurement Reports (IMRs) (Paragraph [0074])), and
wherein the one or more CSI reports include a first CSI report reporting interference measurements associated with the FD set of symbols and a second CSI report reporting interference measurements associated with the HD set of symbols. (read as Interference Measurement Reports (IMRs) (Paragraph [0074]))
Claims 3, 8-10, 15-17, 20, 25-26, 31, 33-34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0054111 A1), in view of Ibrahim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014954 A1), and Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0088875 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 20, 31, and 36, and as applied to claims 2, 19, 28, and 29 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols is a different resource than the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols.
Zhang et al. teach a method wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols is a different resource than the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols. (read as “The UE may report the two wideband CSIs to the BS, such that the BS can perform efficient link adaptation for PDSCH transmission in non-SBFD slot (e.g., based on the wideband CSI for CSI reporting band #1) and PDSCH transmission in the SBFD slot (e.g., based on the wideband CSI for CSI reporting band #2).”(Paragraph [0159]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for enabling use of an SBFD slot based on a CSI report and enabling use of a non-SBFD slot based on CSI report as taught by Zhang et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 8, 25, and 33, and as applied to claims 1, 18, and 27 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein at least one of:
the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols occurs within a same slot as a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the FD set of symbols, or
the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols occurs within a same slot as a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols.
Zhang et al. teach a method wherein at least one of:
the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols occurs within a same slot as a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the FD set of symbols, or
the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols occurs within a same slot as a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols. (read as non-SBFD slot (Fig.9; Paragraph [0159]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for enabling use of an SBFD slot based on a CSI report and enabling use of a non-SBFD slot based on CSI report as taught by Zhang et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 9, 26, and 34, and as applied to claims 1, 18, and 25 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein at least one of:
the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols occurs within a first slot and a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the FD set of symbols occurs within a second slot, or
the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols occurs within the first slot and a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols occurs within the second slot.
Zhang et al. teach a method wherein at least one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols occurs within a first slot and a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the FD set of symbols occurs within a second slot (read as SBFD (Fig.9; Paragraph [0059])), or
the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols occurs within the first slot and a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols occurs within the second slot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for enabling use of an SBFD slot based on a CSI report and enabling use of a non-SBFD slot based on CSI report as taught by Zhang et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the first slot and the second slot are separated by no more than a maximum permissible number of slots.
Zhang et al. teach a method wherein the first slot and the second slot are separated by no more than a maximum permissible number of slots. (Fig.9)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for enabling use of an SBFD slot based on a CSI report and enabling use of a non-SBFD slot based on CSI report as taught by Zhang et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 15, and as applied to claim 1 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols and the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols are associated with a same resource, and
wherein the same resource spans HD symbols in a slot and FD symbols in the slot.
Zhang et al. teach a method wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols and the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols are associated with a same resource (Fig.9), and
wherein the same resource spans HD symbols in a slot and FD symbols in the slot. (Fig.9)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for enabling use of an SBFD slot based on a CSI report and enabling use of a non-SBFD slot based on CSI report as taught by Zhang et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to perform the interference measurements associated with the at least one of the FD set of symbols or the HD set of symbols, are configured to perform interference measurements associated with FD set of symbols and the HD set of symbols using the same resource.
Zhang et al. teach a method wherein the one or more processors, to perform the interference measurements associated with the at least one of the FD set of symbols or the HD set of symbols, are configured to perform interference measurements associated with FD set of symbols and the HD set of symbols using the same resource.(read as “each CSI report setting may be associated with one or more resource settings for either channel measurement or interference measurement. For a CSI report in a certain slot (e.g., slot n), a UE can determine a CSI reference resource in a slot (e.g., slot m) preceding slot n.”(Paragraph [0080]) For example, “the UE may determine that slots k1 and k3 are non-SBFD slots with CSI-RS and slots k2 and k4 are SBFD slots with CSI-RS, and may determine that the first type of CSI-RS may be present in slots k1 and k3 and the second type of CSI-RS may be present in slots k2 and k4.”(Paragraph [0156]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for enabling use of an SBFD slot based on a CSI report and enabling use of a non-SBFD slot based on CSI report as taught by Zhang et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 17, and as applied to claim 1 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols is associated with a first set of symbols in a slot, and
wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols is associated with a second set of symbols in the slot.
Zhang et al. teach a method wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols is associated with a first set of symbols in a slot (read as SBFD (Fig.9; Paragraph [0059])), and
wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols is associated with a second set of symbols in the slot. (read as non-SBFD (Fig.9; Paragraph [0059]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for enabling use of an SBFD slot based on a CSI report and enabling use of a non-SBFD slot based on CSI report as taught by Zhang et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Claims 4, 21, 32, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0054111 A1), in view of Ibrahim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014954 A1), and R1-2207271 (“Corrections on presence of redundancy version field and HARQ process number field of DCI format 0_2 for semi-persistent CSI activation or deactivation PDCCH validation”, August 22nd-26th, 2022).
Regarding claims 4, 21, 32, and 37, and as applied to claims 2, 19, 28, and 29 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols is associated with a first occasion of a periodic or semi-persistent resource, and
wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols is associated with a second occasion of the periodic or semi-persistent resource.
The R1-2207271 document teaches a method wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols is associated with a first occasion of a periodic or semi-persistent resource (read as “For a UE configured with CSI resource setting(s) where the higher layer parameter resourceType set to 'semiPersistent'.”(Section 5.2.1.5.2, page 2)), and
wherein the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols is associated with a second occasion of the periodic or semi-persistent resource. (read as “Semi-persistent reporting on PUCCH is activated by an activation command as described in clause 6.1.3.16 of [10, TS 38.321], which selects one of the semi-persistent Reporting Settings for use by the UE on the PUCCH.” (Section 5.2.1.5.2, page 2))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring CSI resource setting(s) (e.g.: ‘semiPersistent’) as taught by the R1-2207271 document and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0054111 A1), in view of Ibrahim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014954 A1), and Chatterjee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0421222 A1).
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 1 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources,
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols,
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlaps with at least one FD symbol, and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols and the CSI-RS resource associated with HD set of symbols based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or
the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one FD symbol.
Chatterjee et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (read as “an aperiodic CSI reporting based on aperiodic CSI-RS resources, …”(Paragraph [0176])),
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols (read as non-SBFD symbols (Paragraph [0176])),
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlaps with at least one FD symbol (read as “In some aspects, for a CSI-RS resource set for SBFD operation, some of the occasions of a CSI-RS resource in the set can be within SBFD symbols and some of the occasions of the CSI-RS resource can be overlapped with non-SBFD symbols.”(Paragraph [0120])), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols and the CSI-RS resource associated with HD set of symbols based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one FD symbol. (read as “the UE can report CSI for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in SBFD symbols and omit CSI report for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in non-SBFD symbols,”(Paragraph [0176]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring CSI reporting with aperiodic CSI-RS resources as taught by Chatterjee et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 12, and as applied to claim 1 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources,
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols,
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlaps with at least one FD symbol, and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols that overlaps with the at least one FD symbol based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one FD symbol.
Chatterjee et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (read as “an aperiodic CSI reporting based on aperiodic CSI-RS resources, …”(Paragraph [0176])),
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols (read as non-SBFD symbols (Paragraph [0176])),
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlaps with at least one FD symbol (read as “In some aspects, for a CSI-RS resource set for SBFD operation, some of the occasions of a CSI-RS resource in the set can be within SBFD symbols and some of the occasions of the CSI-RS resource can be overlapped with non-SBFD symbols.”(Paragraph [0120])), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols that overlaps with the at least one FD symbol based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the HD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the HD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one FD symbol. (read as “the UE can report CSI for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in SBFD symbols and omit CSI report for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in non-SBFD symbols,”(Paragraph [0176]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring CSI reporting with aperiodic CSI-RS resources as taught by Chatterjee et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 13, and as applied to claim 1 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources,
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols,
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlaps with at least one HD symbol, and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols and the CSI-RS resource associated with FD set of symbols based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or
the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one HD symbol.
Chatterjee et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (read as “an aperiodic CSI reporting based on aperiodic CSI-RS resources, …”(Paragraph [0176])),
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols (read as SBFD symbols (Paragraph [0176])),
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlaps with at least one HD symbol (read as “For a CSI-RS resource or CSI-RS resource set or CSI resource setting configured with SBFD or non-SBFD operation, all occasions of a CSI-RS resource for a CSI reporting with an SBFD or non-SBFD operation type can be confined within the corresponding symbol type, i.e., confined within SBFD symbols, or confined with non-SBFD symbols. Alternatively, some occasions of a CSI-RS resource can be within SBFD symbols and some occasions of the CSI-RS resource can be overlapped with non-SBFD symbols. ”(Paragraph [0174])), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols and the CSI-RS resource associated with FD set of symbols based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one HD symbol. (read as “the UE can report CSI for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in non-SBFD symbols and omit CSI report for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in SBFD symbols, if the triggered aperiodic CSI reporting is associated with non-SBFD operation.”(Paragraph [0176]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring CSI reporting with aperiodic CSI-RS resources as taught by Chatterjee et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 14, and as applied to claim 1 above, Rudolf et al. teach “A gNB (such as the BS 102) transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DM-RS).”(Fig.3 @ 310; Paragraph [0074]) Also, “A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. ”(Paragraph [0074]) For example, “For interference measurement reports (IMRs), CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources associated with a zero power CSI-RS (ZP CSI-RS) configuration are used.”(Paragraph [0074])
Ibrahim et al. teach “In SBFD and/or IBFD modes, the base station may configure the CSI-IM in both of the UL and DL (whole DL BWP) in a full-duplex slot to enable a full-duplex aware UE and/or a full-duplex UE to measure different components of interference.”(Paragraph [0086])
However, Rudolf et al. and Ibrahim et al. fail to explicitly teach clearly shows and discloses a UE wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources,
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols,
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlaps with at least one HD symbol, and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols that overlaps with the at least one HD symbol based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one HD symbol.
Chatterjee et al. teach a method wherein the one or more CSI report configurations further configure one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (read as “an aperiodic CSI reporting based on aperiodic CSI-RS resources, …”(Paragraph [0176])),
the one or more CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols (read as SBFD symbols (Paragraph [0176])),
wherein one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlaps with at least one HD symbol (read as “For a CSI-RS resource or CSI-RS resource set or CSI resource setting configured with SBFD or non-SBFD operation, all occasions of a CSI-RS resource for a CSI reporting with an SBFD or non-SBFD operation type can be confined within the corresponding symbol type, i.e., confined within SBFD symbols, or confined with non-SBFD symbols. Alternatively, some occasions of a CSI-RS resource can be within SBFD symbols and some occasions of the CSI-RS resource can be overlapped with non-SBFD symbols. ”(Paragraph [0174])), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to omit, from the one or more CSI reports, measurements associated with the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols that overlaps with the at least one HD symbol based at least in part on the one of the CSI-IM resource associated with the FD set of symbols or the CSI-RS resource associated with the FD set of symbols overlapping with the at least one HD symbol. (read as “the UE can report CSI for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in non-SBFD symbols and omit CSI report for aperiodic CSI-RS resources that are in SBFD symbols, if the triggered aperiodic CSI reporting is associated with non-SBFD operation.”(Paragraph [0176]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring CSI reporting with aperiodic CSI-RS resources as taught by Chatterjee et al. and the function for generating and sending a CSI reporting based on interference measurement(s) for UE operating in SBFD as taught by Ibrahim et al. with the base station and UE as taught by Rudolf et al. for the purpose of enhancing interference measurements reporting by devices in a communication network.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Kong et al. (EP # 4,657,787 A1) teach “The present disclosure provides CSI-RS transmission methods, apparatuses and devices. The method includes: receiving resource configuration information corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource set sent by a base station, where the resource configuration information is used to indicate the at least one CSI-RS resource set, and the at least one CSI-RS resource set includes a CSI-RS resource located in an SBFD symbol, the CSI-RS resource exceeds a range of a downlink subband in the SBFD symbol, or the CSI-RS resource is located within a downlink subband in the SBFD symbol; receiving a CSI-RS sent by the base station based on the CSI-RS resource in the at least one CSI-RS resource set, measuring the received CSI-RS and reporting a measurement result to the base station.”(Abstract)
Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0038906 A1) teach “This CSI-RS measurement and CSI reporting behavior based on the non-contiguous RBs may be configured and/or indicated to the UE, based on an independent behavior, or a condition that the CSI-RS measurement is performed on a set of XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots, and/or a condition that the UE is allowed to combine CSI-RS measurements from XDD (or SBFD) and non-XDD (or non-SBFD) symbols/slot. The UE may receive an indication indicating a set of non-XDD (or non-SBFD) symbols/slots and a set of XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots, and/or indicating a time offset or time domain pattern for when the indication of the non-XDD (or non-SBFD) and XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots may apply.”(Paragraph [0143])
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
June 8, 2026