DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the First Office Action on the merits.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 1/12/2024 and 5/28/2025 have been considered. An initialed copy of the IDS(s) are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second mower pass". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posselius et al. (US 20050015189 A1) in view of Shonk (US 20230200295 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Posselius et al. discloses A crop mower system comprising: a traction
unit configured to move relative to a ground surface (figure 2);
a mower (Figure 2, 60) implement having a cutter system configured for cutting standing
crop material and (Figure 2, 62) , whereby the traction unit pulls the mower implement across the ground surface; (Figure 2, [0037] “The particular benefit of the present invention is that, by using the GPS information recorded in the computer, the cutting action of a towed mower can be stopped at exactly the moment when it will have cut the last of the standing crop in the path of the mower but before the mower cuts across the first windrow that the mower comes to in the headlands. Furthermore, as the operator turns the tractor around, the invention automatically swings the mower to the other side of the tractor while avoiding the edge of the field and any barriers there. Then, without any action on the part of the operator, and again using the GPS information in the computer, the mowing action is automatically restarted at the precise time when it will avoid cutting through the last windrow in the headlands but still cut the edge of the standing crop.”)
a controller including a processor and a memory having a headland turn algorithm stored
thereon ([0013] “When a tractor is equipped with the integrated guidance system of the invention, after the completion of the first circumferential cut around the edges of the field, the computer has enough information in its memory to take over steering along the uncut crop and keeping the mower full, and at the end of the field, to lift and swing the mower to the opposite side and align it for the next pass. The computer monitors speed, transmission setting, steering, and orientation of the towed mower by means of sensors associated with each function, and the recorded information provided by the GPS gives the computer all the information needed on the size and shape of the field and what portion of the crop is uncut. The tractor's control module then uses the information to control conventional electro-hydraulic valves for control of the main functions of the tractor and the towed implement. On the other hand, the operator can also maintain any portion of the control desired.”, and see at least [0016], [0037]), wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to: initiate an auto-turn sequence; automatically raise the mower implement from a cutting height to a raised height; ([0013] “When a tractor is equipped with the integrated guidance system of the invention, after the completion of the first circumferential cut around the edges of the field, the computer has enough information in its memory to take over steering along the uncut crop and keeping the mower full, and at the end of the field, to lift and swing the mower to the opposite side and align it for the next pass.”, [0022] “automatic control system 10 of the preferred embodiment of the invention in which computer 12 receives and records information from GPS receiver 14 and sensors 16-26. Computer 12 can then determine exactly what portion of the field has been worked, the present location of the tractor and the towed implement, and the most efficient movements to complete the procedures on the field.”, and etc. ) automatically change a lateral position of the mower implement relative to the traction unit to reposition the mower implement from a first lateral side of the traction unit to a second lateral side of the traction unit; and automatically lower the mower implement from the raised height to the cutting height ([0016] “Then, as the apparatus approaches the end of the field, the control module, based on the information in regard to previous cuts stored in the computer, controls the lift of the cutting apparatus at the exact time to cut the last of the standing crop in the row, but before the cutting apparatus can interfere with the windrow from the previously cut cross path in the headlands. The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field. However, the towed implement must also be kept clear of the field boundary as the towed implement moves from the trailing outrigger position on one side of the tractor to the other side.” ) and automatically lower the mower implement from the raised height to the cutting height after the lateral position of the mower implement has been changed from the first lateral side of the traction unit to the second lateral side of the traction unit. ([0016] “Then, as the apparatus approaches the end of the field, the control module, based on the information in regard to previous cuts stored in the computer, controls the lift of the cutting apparatus at the exact time to cut the last of the standing crop in the row, but before the cutting apparatus can interfere with the windrow from the previously cut cross path in the headlands. The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field. However, the towed implement must also be kept clear of the field boundary as the towed implement moves from the trailing outrigger position on one side of the tractor to the other side.”, and [0017] “As the towed implement, such as a mower, is realigned in the position on the opposite side of the tractor, the control module puts it back into operation just as it reaches the uncut crop in the field. The control module then resets the tractor transmission and brings the tractor back up to a speed appropriate for the long straight run down the field during which time the control module and GPS maintain the apparatus in perfect position relative to the previous cut to maintain a full cut with minimum overlap.”)
However, Posselius et al. fails to explicitly disclose a forming panel configured for forming
the cut crop material into a windrow
Shonk teaches a forming panel configured for forming the cut crop material into a
windrow (Figure 1, and [0016] “As the mower 120 is carried along an edge E of standing crops, the mower 120 cuts crops and directs the cut crop material into a windrow, illustrated as a forming windrow W2, until the mower 120 reaches a boundary B of the field, at which point the mower 120 is traveling through what is referred to as “headlands.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. to incorporate a forming panel as taught by Shonk for the purpose of allowing the vehicle to form windrows.
Regarding claim 2, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 1,
Posselius et al. discloses wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn
algorithm to identify an existing headland windrow extending transverse to a current direction of travel of the mower implement while executing a first mower pass. ([0016] “Then, as the apparatus approaches the end of the field, the control module, based on the information in regard to previous cuts stored in the computer, controls the lift of the cutting apparatus at the exact time to cut the last of the standing crop in the row, but before the cutting apparatus can interfere with the windrow from the previously cut cross path in the headlands. The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field. However, the towed implement must also be kept clear of the field boundary as the towed implement moves from the trailing outrigger position on one side of the tractor to the other side.”)
Regarding claim 3, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set for
the in claim 2,
Posselius et al. discloses wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn
algorithm to identify a standing crop edge extending transverse to the current direction of travel of the mower implement and positioned prior to the existing headland windrow relative to the current direction of travel of the mower implement while executing the first mower pass. ([0037] “The particular benefit of the present invention is that, by using the GPS information recorded in the computer, the cutting action of a towed mower can be stopped at exactly the moment when it will have cut the last of the standing crop in the path of the mower but before the mower cuts across the first windrow that the mower comes to in the headlands. Furthermore, as the operator turns the tractor around, the invention automatically swings the mower to the other side of the tractor while avoiding the edge of the field and any barriers there.”)
Regarding claim 5, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 2,
Posselius et al. discloses wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn
algorithm to automatically raise the mower implement from the cutting height to the raised height prior to the mower implement crossing the existing headland windrow, whereby the cutter system of the mower implement passes over the existing headland windrow for reducing disturbance of the existing headland windrow. ([0016] “Then, as the apparatus approaches the end of the field, the control module, based on the information in regard to previous cuts stored in the computer, controls the lift of the cutting apparatus at the exact time to cut the last of the standing crop in the row, but before the cutting apparatus can interfere with the windrow from the previously cut cross path in the headlands. The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field. However, the towed implement must also be kept clear of the field boundary as the towed implement moves from the trailing outrigger position on one side of the tractor to the other side.”)
Regarding claim 7, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk dislcoses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 3,
Posselius et al. dislcoses wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn
algorithm to automatically lower the mower implement from the raised height to the cutting height when the leading edge of the cutter system moves past the existing headland windrow and prior to the leading edge of the cutter system crossing the standing crop edge during the second mower pass. ([0016] “the control module, based on the information in regard to previous cuts stored in the computer, controls the lift of the cutting apparatus at the exact time to cut the last of the standing crop in the row, but before the cutting apparatus can interfere with the windrow from the previously cut cross path in the headlands. The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field.” And [0037] “the cutting action of a towed mower can be stopped at exactly the moment when it will have cut the last of the standing crop in the path of the mower but before the mower cuts across the first windrow that the mower comes to in the headlands. … the invention automatically swings the mower to the other side of the tractor while avoiding the edge of the field and any barriers there. Then, without any action on the part of the operator, and again using the GPS information in the computer, the mowing action is automatically restarted at the precise time when it will avoid cutting through the last windrow in the headlands but still cut the edge of the standing crop.”)
Regarding claim 9, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 1,
Posselius et al. discloses further comprising a swing position sensor arranged to detect
data related to an angular position of the drawbar relative to one of the mower implement or the traction unit. ([0028] “To generate this information, a rotational hitch sensor, 22 or 24, such as a rotary potentiometer or an optical encoder, is used, and its output is interpreted by the computer to indicate the orientation and location of the towed implement. Another option is to measure the extension of the hitch hydraulic cylinder that swings the towbar of the towed implement. This is accomplished by means of a linear transducer or other linear measurement device.”, [0031] “Tractor hitch sensor 22 or implement hitch sensor 24 provide unique information for every rotational position of tow bar 62 on tractor 54 and implement 60, and the task is made simpler because the rotation is limited to considerably less than 360 degrees on both tractor 54 and towed implement 60.”, and [0032] “It is clear that the angle of towbar 62 relative to the direction of motion of tractor 54 (arrow A) or relative to the direction of motion of towed implement 60 (arrow B) determines the orientation of the towed implement relative to the tractor and, thus, their relative directions of motion.”)
Regarding claim 10, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk dislcoses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 9,
Posselius et al. discloses wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn
algorithm to determine a position of the mower implement relative to the traction unit from data sensed by the swing position sensor. ([0028] “To generate this information, a rotational hitch sensor, 22 or 24, such as a rotary potentiometer or an optical encoder, is used, and its output is interpreted by the computer to indicate the orientation and location of the towed implement. Another option is to measure the extension of the hitch hydraulic cylinder that swings the towbar of the towed implement. This is accomplished by means of a linear transducer or other linear measurement device.”, [0031] “Tractor hitch sensor 22 or implement hitch sensor 24 provide unique information for every rotational position of tow bar 62 on tractor 54 and implement 60, and the task is made simpler because the rotation is limited to considerably less than 360 degrees on both tractor 54 and towed implement 60.”, [0032] “It is clear that the angle of towbar 62 relative to the direction of motion of tractor 54 (arrow A) or relative to the direction of motion of towed implement 60 (arrow B) determines the orientation of the towed implement relative to the tractor and, thus, their relative directions of motion.”, and [0037] “the cutting action of a towed mower can be stopped at exactly the moment when it will have cut the last of the standing crop in the path of the mower but before the mower cuts across the first windrow that the mower comes to in the headlands. Furthermore, as the operator turns the tractor around, the invention automatically swings the mower to the other side of the tractor while avoiding the edge of the field and any barriers there. Then, without any action on the part of the operator, and again using the GPS information in the computer, the mowing action is automatically restarted at the precise time when it will avoid cutting through the last windrow in the headlands but still cut the edge of the standing crop.”)
Regarding claim 11, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 10,
Posselius et al. discloses further comprising a swing actuator interconnecting the drawbar
and one of the traction unit or the mower implement, wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to control the swing actuator to change the lateral position of the mower implement relative to the traction unit. ([0016] “The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field. However, the towed implement must also be kept clear of the field boundary as the towed implement moves from the trailing outrigger position on one side of the tractor to the other side.”, [0034] “rotating towbar 62 around tractor hitch 52 and for rotating towed implement 60 around its hitch 58 connecting it with towbar 62 are quite conventional. The device usually used is a hydraulic cylinder interconnecting the frame of the machine to a point on the towbar near the hitch so that, as the cylinder is extended, it moves that point on the towbar through the entire desired angular change.”, and see at least [0024] “All of these various controls are convention in the sense that the controls usually respond to operator actions, such as using a selector for choosing the appropriate transmission setting or moving a lever to swing the hitch to move the towed implement from one side of the tractor to the other or to adjust the distance behind the tractor at which the implement is being towed.”)
Regarding claim 12, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 1,
Posselius et al. discloses further comprising a lift position sensor arranged to detect data
related to a height of the mower implement relative to the ground surface. ([0027] “Many of these sensors are conventionally available…The implement condition sensor, to indicate, for instance, if the mower cutting apparatus is up or down can be something as simple as a conventional electrical limit switch that changes its condition depending upon whether the cutting assembly is in contact with the switch, or the implement condition can be determined by means of the last control signal from implement controls 38.”)
Claims 4, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posselius et al. (US 20050015189 A1) in view of Shonk (US 20230200295 A1), and further in view of Fjelstad et al. (US 20210267115 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 3,
Posselius et al. dislcoses wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to automatically initiate the auto-turn sequence when ([0016] “Then, as the apparatus approaches the end of the field, the control module, based on the information in regard to previous cuts stored in the computer, controls the lift of the cutting apparatus at the exact time to cut the last of the standing crop in the row, but before the cutting apparatus can interfere with the windrow from the previously cut cross path in the headlands. The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field. However, the towed implement must also be kept clear of the field boundary as the towed implement moves from the trailing outrigger position on one side of the tractor to the other side.”)
However, Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk may fail to explicitly disclose when a leading edge of the cutter system is within a pre-defined distance of the standing crop edge.
Fjelstad et al. teaches wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to automatically initiate the auto-turn sequence when a leading edge of the cutter system is within a pre-defined distance of the standing crop edge. ([0092] “Example field characteristics that the virtual turn profile element 606 modifies profiles with include, but are not limited to, spacing between swaths of zero or one or more intervening swaths, obstacle locations, known collisions, culverts, unplanted zones, waterways or the like. In a similar manner, vehicle characteristics used by the virtual turn profile element 606 to modify turn profiles include, but are not limited to, one or more of acceleration or velocity of the vehicle at or proximate to the turn (vector or speed (magnitude)), maximum rated G-force for the vehicle, operator or technician specified G-force for the vehicle, minimum turning radius for the vehicle, vehicle or implement dimensions (vehicle kinematics), maximum curvature rate for the ground-engaging elements (e.g., in units of degrees per meter per second) or the like. Optionally, a vehicle characteristic used by the virtual turn profile element 606 includes a specified implement clearance (distance) between the steering ground engaging elements and an agricultural implement to delay initiation of a turn and minimize crop damage. … Optionally, the specified implement clearance 210 modifies the turn profile to ensure the swath departure location (the intersection between the profile and the guidance line) is beyond a distal end of the specified implement clearance.”, and [0143] “generating the turn segment according to sensing of one or more of the first or second zone swaths including guidance lines, swath edges, obstacles, obstacle perimeters, headlands, crop rows or crop edges associated with the first or second zone swaths in an ongoing manner from the agricultural vehicle approaching the second zone swath.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk to incorporate a turn profile definable by the implement dimensions and crop edges as taught by Fjelstad et al. for the purpose of “delay(ing) initiation of a turn and minimize crop damage.” ([0124], Fjelstad et al.)
Regarding claim 6, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 3,
Shonk teaches automatically align the traction unit relative to the standing crop edge for a second mower pass, whereby the traction unit is positioned to straddle a first windrow formed during the first mower pass and the mower implement is positioned to cut the standing crop material adjacent the first windrow from the first mower pass. (Figure 1, [0015] “the towing vehicle 110 is in the form of a tractor, but it should be appreciated that the towing vehicle 110 may be other types of vehicles. The towing vehicle 110 may travel along a cleared section of a field, such as along a first windrow of cut crops W1, so the towing vehicle 110 does not knock down or otherwise damage crops in the field.” , [0016] “The mower 120 includes a frame 121 carrying a plurality of cutters 122 that is pivotably coupled to a tongue 123 that is pivotably coupled to the tongue coupler 117 of the towing vehicle 110 so the mower 120 is on a first side of the towing centerline TCL. In this respect, the tongue 123 pivotably couples the frame 121 to the towing vehicle 110 while also being pivotable with respect to the frame 121, as will be described further herein. The frame 121 defines a mower centerline MCL that is offset from the towing centerline TCL, as illustrated, so the mower centerline MCL is not coaxial with the towing centerline TCL. The tongue 123 defines a towing angle θ with respect to the towing centerline TCL and a mower angle β with respect to the mower centerline MCL, as illustrated. As the mower 120 is carried along an edge E of standing crops, the mower 120 cuts crops and directs the cut crop material into a windrow, illustrated as a forming windrow W2, until the mower 120 reaches a boundary B of the field, at which point the mower 120 is traveling through what is referred to as “headlands.””, and see at least [0018])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk to incorporate aligning the tractor/mower implement relative to the edge of standing crops as taught by Shonk for the purpose of “so the mower 120 can engage standing crops in the field…to form new windrow”. ([0018], Shonk)
However, Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk may fail to explicitly disclose wherein
the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to, when a leading edge of the cutter system moves within a pre-defined distance of the standing crop edge,
Fjelstad et al. teaches wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn
algorithm to, when a leading edge of the cutter system moves within a pre-defined distance of the standing crop edge, ([0092] “Example field characteristics that the virtual turn profile element 606 modifies profiles with include, but are not limited to, spacing between swaths of zero or one or more intervening swaths, obstacle locations, known collisions, culverts, unplanted zones, waterways or the like. In a similar manner, vehicle characteristics used by the virtual turn profile element 606 to modify turn profiles include, but are not limited to, one or more of acceleration or velocity of the vehicle at or proximate to the turn (vector or speed (magnitude)), maximum rated G-force for the vehicle, operator or technician specified G-force for the vehicle, minimum turning radius for the vehicle, vehicle or implement dimensions (vehicle kinematics), maximum curvature rate for the ground-engaging elements (e.g., in units of degrees per meter per second) or the like. Optionally, a vehicle characteristic used by the virtual turn profile element 606 includes a specified implement clearance (distance) between the steering ground engaging elements and an agricultural implement to delay initiation of a turn and minimize crop damage. … Optionally, the specified implement clearance 210 modifies the turn profile to ensure the swath departure location (the intersection between the profile and the guidance line) is beyond a distal end of the specified implement clearance.”, and [0143] “generating the turn segment according to sensing of one or more of the first or second zone swaths including guidance lines, swath edges, obstacles, obstacle perimeters, headlands, crop rows or crop edges associated with the first or second zone swaths in an ongoing manner from the agricultural vehicle approaching the second zone swath.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk to incorporate a turn profile definable by the implement dimensions and crop edges as taught by Fjelstad et al. for the purpose of “delay(ing) initiation of a turn and minimize crop damage.” ([0124], Fjelstad et al.)
Regarding claim 18, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 1,
However, Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk fails to explicitly disclose further comprising an object detection sensor arranged to detect data related to an existing headland windrow and a standing crop edge, wherein the object detection sensor is disposed in communication with the controller for communicating sensed data to the controller whereby the controller may identify the existing headland windrow and the standing crop edge.
Fjelstad et al. teaches further comprising an object detection sensor arranged to detect data related to an existing headland windrow and a standing crop edge, ([0121] “swath sensors 906 include vision sensors such as, but not limited to cameras, video cameras, photo eyes or the like. The swath sensors 906 provide one or more of still or video images of a swath 903, and optionally crop rows 904. The still or video images are analyzed to identify crop rows, swath edges or the like. The swath guidance system 304 provides guidance instructions for the agricultural vehicle that steer the vehicle along the swath based on the identified crop rows or swath edges.”) wherein the object detection sensor is disposed in communication with the controller for communicating sensed data to the controller whereby the controller may identify the existing headland windrow and the standing crop edge. (Fig. 2B, [0051] “the agricultural vehicle 140 is shown again while transitioning from a first example swath 110 to a second example swath 112, and from the second example swath to another first swath 110 proximate to the initial first swath 110. As shown, the agricultural vehicle 140 covers the swath 110 from swath edge to swath edge 111, 111, and does so with the ground engaging elements 141 positioned between crop rows 146. In one example, the composite guidance system 302 of the guidance assembly 300 operates the agricultural vehicle 140 according to a swath guidance system 304 that uses one or more sensors (e.g., visual, ultrasound, radar, mechanical, global positioning, real time kinematics or combinations of the same) to guide travel of the vehicle 140 to maintain the ground engaging elements 141 between the crop rows 146, minimize crop damage, and at the same time provide the specified agricultural operation across the swath 110.”, [0061] “Swath sensors 322 include, but are not limited to, radar, LIDAR, ultrasound, optical (camera or video) sensors and associated signal or image processing algorithms configured to interpret sensed information from the swath sensors 322. In one example, the swath sensors are used with the swath guidance system 304 to facilitate steering of the agricultural vehicle, for instance, within one or more swaths such as the swaths 110, 112, 114”, [0080] “The swath sensors 322 detect one or more elements of swaths including, but not limited to, swath edges, crop rows or the like. In another example, the turn guidance system 306 is in communication with the swath sensors 322 and applies a turn profile (as described herein) to the sensed swaths (e.g., the detected swath edges, crop rows within the swath or the like) to determine the swath departure and arrival locations and the intervening turn segment. In this example, the swath departure and arrival locations correspond to locations along the sensed swath element, such as the crop row or swath edge (in contrast to along guidance lines of the swath) and the departure and arrival locations are accordingly indexed to these features instead of the guidance lines… In other examples, the turn guidance system 306 uses other sensed features of swaths for generating turn segments including, but not limited to, obstacles, obstacle perimeters, headlands or the like associated with preceding and forthcoming swaths.”, and see at least [0124])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk to incorporate vision sensors as taught by Fjelstad et al. for the purpose of “guides the vehicle 3000 in a manner that maintains the agricultural implement (e.g., a harvester head) aligned with the swath edge 1004 to ensure the agricultural implement extends from edge 1004 inwardly without missing crops.” ([0124], Fjelstad et al.)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posselius et al. (US 20050015189 A1) in view of Shonk (US 20230200295 A1), and further in view of Berwager (US 20240389501 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 1,
Shonk teaches wherein the traction unit includes a prime mover configured for generating
torque, at least one driven ground engaging element configured for receiving torque from the prime mover and transferring the torque to the ground surface to propel the traction unit across the ground surface, ([0015] “The towing vehicle 110 includes a chassis 111 and an engine, such as an internal combustion engine (ICE) 112, to provide motive force to a plurality of wheels 113, 114. Some of the wheels, such as front wheels 113, may be coupled to the chassis 111 by a steerable front axle 115 while the rear wheels 114 are coupled to the chassis 111 by a fixed rear axle 116. It should be appreciated that, alternatively, the front axle 115 may be a fixed axle and/or the rear axle 116 may be a steerable axle.”) and at least one direction controlling ground engaging element configured for controlling a direction of travel of the traction unit relative to a central longitudinal axis of the traction unit. ([0022] “The controller 160 may be configured to determine the towing vehicle 110 has initiated the end-of-row turning operation in a variety of ways. In some embodiments, the controller 160 is coupled to a turn angle sensor 170 that is associated with at least one steerable wheel, such as one of the steerable front wheels 113 and/or the steerable axle 115, and is configured to output a turn angle signal that corresponds to a turn angle of the at least one steerable wheel 113… the controller 160 may be configured to determine the towing vehicle 110 has initiated the end-of-row turning operation if the turn angle signal exceeds a defined turn angle value for a defined time period, which may indicate that the towing vehicle 110 is being turned around to pass through another row of standing crops. The steerable wheels 113 turning is illustrated in FIG. 3, which shows the towing vehicle 110 steering through headlands H of the field” and [0023] “the controller 160 is coupled to a steering mechanism 180 of the towing vehicle 110 that is associated with one or more steerable wheels, such as the steerable front wheels 113, via coupling to the steerable axle 115. The steering mechanism 180 can pivot the steerable axle 115 to steer the steerable wheels 113, which in turn causes turning of the towing vehicle 110. The controller 160 may control the steering mechanism 180 by outputting steering signals to the steering mechanism 180, allowing the controller 160 to control turning of the towing vehicle 110, which is known as “semi-autonomous” or “autonomous” guidance depending on the degree of control that the controller 160 has over the steering mechanism 180.”)
However, Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk may be alledged to not explicitly
disclose wherein the traction unit includes a prime mover
Berwager teaches wherein the traction unit (Figure 1, 10) includes a prime mover ([0038]
“the driveline 50 is an electric driveline whereby the prime mover 52 is an electric motor and the energy storage 54 is a battery system. In some embodiments, the driveline 50 is a fuel cell electric driveline whereby the prime mover 52 is an electric motor and the energy storage 54 is a fuel cell (e.g., that stores hydrogen, that produces electricity from the hydrogen, etc.). In some embodiments, the driveline 50 is a hybrid driveline whereby (i) the prime mover 52 includes an internal combustion engine and an electric motor/generator and (ii) the energy storage 54 includes a fuel tank and/or a battery system.”) configured for generating torque, at least one driven ground engaging element configured for receiving torque from the prime mover and transferring the torque to the ground surface to propel the traction unit across the ground surface, ([0042] “the driveline 50 includes a plurality of prime movers 52. By way of example, the driveline 50 may include a first prime mover 52 that drives the front tractive assembly 70 and a second prime mover 52 that drives the rear tractive assembly 80… the driveline 50 may include a first prime mover 52 that drives a first one of the front tractive elements 78, a second prime mover 52 that drives a second one of the front tractive elements 78, a third prime mover 52 that drives a first one of the rear tractive elements 88, and/or a fourth prime mover 52 that drives a second one of the rear tractive elements 88. By way of still another example, the driveline 50 may include a first prime mover that drives the front tractive assembly 70, a second prime mover 52 that drives a first one of the rear tractive elements 88, and a third prime mover 52 that drives a second one of the rear tractive elements 88. By way of yet another example, the driveline 50 may include a first prime mover that drives the rear tractive assembly 80, a second prime mover 52 that drives a first one of the front tractive elements 78, and a third prime mover 52 that drives a second one of the front tractive elements 78.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to incorporate a prime mover as taught by Berwager for the purpose of allowing the vehicle to operate.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posselius et al. (US 20050015189 A1) in view of Shonk (US 20230200295 A1), and further in view of Nielsen (US 20220117153 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 12,
However, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is
operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to determine a height of the mower implement relative to the ground surface from data sensed by the lift position sensor.
Nielsen teaches wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm
to determine a height of the mower implement relative to the ground surface from data sensed by the lift position sensor. ([0037] “mowing unit 14 contacts a ground surface G via skid arrangement 16 and the angle at which mowing unit 14 approaches ground surface G determines a cutting or stubble height h.sub.1. A mowing angle β.sub.1 is defined as the angle between ground surface G and the leading edge of cutting blades proximate skid 16”, and [0045] “rear mower 12 includes a sensor 28 configured to measure a tilt angle by suitable means, e.g. a gyroscope or equivalent. Use of the signal from sensor 28, fed back to a controller 29 (see FIG. 8), provides an indication of the tilt angle α.sub.1 of the rear mower and, hence, effective stubble height h.sub.3… Furthermore, the system of the invention enables cutting of a desired stubble height by front and rear mower units to be synchronised and selected before working without an operator needing to exit the tractor cabin to check settings or by trial and error during operation.”, and see at least figure 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk to incorporate a sensor for determining the tilt angle/height of the mower as taught by Nielsen for the purpose of “enabl[ing] cutting of a desired stubble height by front and rear mower units to be synchronised and selected before working without an operator needing to exit the tractor cabin to check settings or by trial and error during operation.” (Nielsen, [0045])
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posselius et al. (US 20050015189 A1) in view of Shonk (US 20230200295 A1), in view of Nielsen (US 20220117153 A1), and further in view of Snider et al. (US 9179592 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk and Nielsen discloses The crop mower
system set forth in claim 13,
Posselius et al. discloses
raised height. ([0013] “When a tractor is equipped with the integrated guidance system of the invention, after the completion of the first circumferential cut around the edges of the field, the computer has enough information in its memory to take over steering along the uncut crop and keeping the mower full, and at the end of the field, to lift and swing the mower to the opposite side and align it for the next pass.”, and [0016] “as the apparatus approaches the end of the field, the control module, based on the information in regard to previous cuts stored in the computer, controls the lift of the cutting apparatus at the exact time to cut the last of the standing crop in the row, but before the cutting apparatus can interfere with the windrow from the previously cut cross path in the headlands. The control module then causes the center-pivot tongue to swing the towed implement around to the opposite side of the tractor. This swinging action must be timed quite accurately relative to the motion of the tractor because the towed implement must be ready to resume its operation on the opposite side of the tractor when the tractor approaches the uncut crop after turning around at the end of the field.”)
However, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk and Nielsen fails to explicitly disclose further
comprising a lift actuator coupled to the mower implement,
Snider et al. teaches further comprising a lift actuator coupled to the mower implement,
(Column 14 lines 14-21 “With the wheels in the transport position, the header can be lowered relative to the beam 12 by operation of the cylinders 17A, 18A so as to drop the cutter bar onto the beam 33B extending across underneath the cutter bar to provide stability and to reduce the cantilever loads. The connecting bracket 33F can be provided to improve connection between these elements.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk and Nielsen to incorporate a lift actuator as taught by Snider et al. for the purpose of allowing precise control of the height of the mower.
Claims 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Posselius et al. (US 20050015189 A1) in view of Shonk (US 20230200295 A1), and further in view of Nishii (US 20220408630 A1).
Regarding claim 15 , Posselius et al. in view of Shonk (US 20230200295 A1) discloses The
crop mower system set forth in claim 1,
Posselius et al. discloses further comprising a steering direction sensor ([0027] “Many of
these sensors are conventionally available. Thus, the steering sensor could be an optical encoder or rotary potentiometer and the transmission status sensor is a linear potentiometer as is the speed sensor.”)
However, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a steering direction sensor arranged to detect data related to a steering direction of the traction unit relative to a central longitudinal axis of the traction unit.
Nishii teaches further comprising a steering direction sensor arranged to detect data related to a steering direction of the traction unit relative to a central longitudinal axis of the traction unit. ([0049] “the tractor 1 of this embodiment includes a positioning antenna 6, a wireless communication antenna 48, a front camera 56, a rear camera 57, a vehicle speed sensor 53, a steering angle sensor 52, and the like, as illustrated in FIG. 3 and other figures. In addition to the above, the tractor 1 is includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU: orientation detection unit) 58 that can specify the attitude and the traveling direction (vehicle orientation) of the travel machine body 2 by calculating the roll angle, the pitch angle, and the yaw angle.”, [0055] “The steering angle sensor 52 is a sensor for detecting the steering angle of the front wheels 7 and 7. In this embodiment, the steering angle sensor 52 is provided on a kingpin (not illustrated) that is provided on the front wheels 7 and 7. Data of a detection result obtained by the steering angle sensor 52 is output to the control unit 4. The steering angle sensor 52 may be provided on a steering shaft.”, and [0118] “The inertial measurement unit 58 acquires the traveling direction of the tractor 1 as the vehicle orientation The determination distance calculation unit 63 calculates the distance between each edge and the vehicle position of the tractor 1 as the determination distance D. The determination angle calculation unit 64 calculates the angle formed by each edge and the vehicle orientation as the determination angle θ.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk to incorporate determining steering angle and traveling direction of the travel machine body as taught by Nishii for the purpose of allowing “the tractor to autonomously travel along the headland traveling auxiliary route”. ([0118], Nishii)
Regarding claim 16, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk and Nishii discloses The crop mower
system set forth in claim 15,
Nishii teaches wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm
to determine a steering direction of the traction unit relative to the central longitudinal axis of the traction unit from data sensed by the steering direction sensor. ([0118] “The position information acquisition unit 49 acquires the traveling position and the vehicle position of the tractor 1. The inertial measurement unit 58 acquires the traveling direction of the tractor 1 as the vehicle orientation The determination distance calculation unit 63 calculates the distance between each edge and the vehicle position of the tractor 1 as the determination distance D. The determination angle calculation unit 64 calculates the angle formed by each edge and the vehicle orientation as the determination angle θ. The headland traveling auxiliary route creation unit 68 creates a plurality of the headland traveling auxiliary routes arranged side by side at every predetermined width in parallel to the selective edge selected from among a plurality of the edges. The auxiliary route creation edge determination unit 69 automatically determines the selective edge for which the headland traveling auxiliary route is created, by evaluating each of the determination distances D calculated by the determination distance calculation unit 63 and each of the determination angles θ calculated by the determination angle calculation unit 64. The traveling control unit 4a causes the tractor 1 to autonomously travel along the headland traveling auxiliary route.”, and see at least [0130])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk and Nishii to incorporate the teachings of Nishii for the same reasons as stated in the motivation of claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk and Nishii discloses The crop mower
system set forth in claim 16,
Nishii teaches further comprising a steering actuator coupled to a direction controlling
ground engaging element of the traction unit, ([0045] “the control unit 4 calculates an appropriate rotation angle of the steering handle 12 such that the tractor 1 travels along the route, and the control unit 4 drives the steering actuator 43 so as to achieve the obtained rotation angle, and controls the rotation angle of the steering handle 12.”) wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to control the steering actuator to control a direction of travel of the traction unit. ([0118] “The position information acquisition unit 49 acquires the traveling position and the vehicle position of the tractor 1. The inertial measurement unit 58 acquires the traveling direction of the tractor 1 as the vehicle orientation The determination distance calculation unit 63 calculates the distance between each edge and the vehicle position of the tractor 1 as the determination distance D. The determination angle calculation unit 64 calculates the angle formed by each edge and the vehicle orientation as the determination angle θ. The headland traveling auxiliary route creation unit 68 creates a plurality of the headland traveling auxiliary routes arranged side by side at every predetermined width in parallel to the selective edge selected from among a plurality of the edges. The auxiliary route creation edge determination unit 69 automatically determines the selective edge for which the headland traveling auxiliary route is created, by evaluating each of the determination distances D calculated by the determination distance calculation unit 63 and each of the determination angles θ calculated by the determination angle calculation unit 64. The traveling control unit 4a causes the tractor 1 to autonomously travel along the headland traveling auxiliary route.”, and see at least [0130])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk and Nishii to incorporate the teachings of Nishii for the same reasons as stated in the motivation of claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, Posselius et al. in view of Shonk discloses The crop mower system set
forth in claim 1,
However, Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk fails to explicitly disclose wherein the
processor is operable to execute the headland turn algorithm to initiate the auto-turn sequence in response to a user input command.
Nishii teaches wherein the processor is operable to execute the headland turn
algorithm to initiate the auto-turn sequence in response to a user input command. ([0067] “The work region setting unit 66 sets a position of a work region where the tractor 1 performs autonomous work while traveling autonomously. Specifically, the operator sets the headland width (distance away from the field peripheral edge) W0 and the like on an input screen displayed on the display 61. The work region setting unit 66 defines a headland region on the basis of the headland width WO input by the operation by the operator and the periphery shape (peripheral edge) of the field 90 set by the field information setting unit 65, and defines, as the work region, a region excluding the headland region from the region of the field 90.”, and [0068] “The work route generation unit 67 generates a travel route for allowing the tractor 1 to autonomously travel in order that the tractor 1 performs autonomous work in the work region in the field. The work route generation unit 67 generates a travel route for causing the tractor 1 to travel autonomously when the tractor 1 performs autonomous work, on the basis of the work information such as the work width W1, the work machine width W2, the type of the work machine 3, the work start position, the work end position, and the work direction, and the work region set by the work region setting unit 66, which are input by the operation of the touch panel or the like by the operator.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Posselius et al. in combination with Shonk to incorporate user input related to the vehicle operation as taught by Nishii for the purpose of allowing the user to customize the work route of the vehicle and allowing the vehicle to work autonomously based on the set operation by the operator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Snider (US 20040221562 A1) teaches a windrow forming system for receiving the web from the crop conditioner assembly and for guiding the web to form a windrow on the ground.
/MISA H NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666