DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8-10,12,16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoneback (US 20100214183 A1), Bommer (US 20090184877 A1) and further in view of Baur (US 10985446 B1).
Claim 1. Stoneback teaches an aircraft system (Figs. 2,4, 5, 6), comprising:
an aircraft having a powerplant structured to provide power to the aircraft
([0022] In a particular embodiment, the first node 202 is coupled to (e.g., electrically connected to) a direct current (DC) power source 220 and is adapted to convert the power to an RF power signal for transmission via the transmission medium 206 to the second node 204);
an RF antenna coupled to the aircraft
([0019] In a particular embodiment, the first coupler 130 and the second coupler 134 include directional antennas, beam antennas, high-gain antennas or other devices adapted to transmit radio frequency (RF) signals via the transmission medium 106. For example, the first coupler 130, the second coupler 134, or both may include a Yagi-Uda antenna or a quasi-Yagi antenna (e.g., an antenna including at least a reflector, a driven element and a director).
[0021] The first coupler 208, the second coupler 210, or both, may include a directional antenna.);
a waveguide structured to transfer an RF communication signal, the waveguide coupled to the RF antenna
[0021] FIG. 2 depicts a second particular embodiment of a system to transmit power and data. The system includes a first node 202 coupled to a second node 204 via a transmission medium 206. For example, the first node 202 may be coupled to a first coupler 208 and the second node 204 may be coupled to a second coupler 210. The first coupler 208, the second coupler 210, or both, may include a directional antenna.
[0022] In a particular embodiment, the first node 202 is coupled to (e.g., electrically connected to) a direct current (DC) power source 220 and is adapted to convert the power to an RF power signal for transmission via the transmission medium 206 to the second node 204. ),
the waveguide being structured to constrain the RF communication signal along a defined path such that the RF communication signal is transferred in a manner constrained by the waveguide
([0003] Additionally, both waveguide and wire based transmission lines may be constrained to point-to-point connections lying in a single path. [0036] A typical example of a waveguide includes a hollow or dielectric filled metal pipe down which electromagnetic waves propagate.
[0034] The transmission medium 520 may run along a length of the wing structure 500. The transmission medium 520 may also have a width and a thickness (where the length is longer than the width or the thickness). Power and data signals may be transmitted along the length of the transmission medium 520. (e.g. waveguide is constrained to wing )).
Stoneback further discloses the use of a waveguide and power to communicate signals to parts of an aircraft but does not specifically disclose wherein the waveguide is also structured as one or more of the following: (1) an electrical power bus configured to convey electrical power between electric components; and (4) a control path configured to convey a control signal for operation of the aircraft.
However, Bommer teaches wherein the waveguide is also structured as an electrical power bus configured to convey electrical power between electric components
([0038] Reference is made to FIG. 6. The use of aircraft structures as waveguides and cavity resonators enables a wide range of systems to be added to an aircraft without adding significant weight... For example, as shown in FIG. 6, components 622a, 624a and 626a may be located in an EE bay 620 of an aircraft, and components 622b, 624b and 626b may be outside the EE bay 620.
[0039] Radiating elements 628 and 630 are provided to enable wireless data communication or wireless power transmission, or both, by each electrical system. First, second and third wireless buses 632, 634 and 636 are provided to enhance the wireless data communication and power transmission.).
and a control path configured to convey a control signal for operation of the aircraft
([0019]These structures function as waveguides and/or cavity resonators to direct RF signals along pathways within the aircraft. Such a cavity-assisted RF pathway is referred to as a "wireless bus.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the waveguide structure as taught by Bommer within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of extending the use of a waveguide as a cost-saving measure for replacing conventional communication lines to send signals and control components.
Stoneback and Bommer discloses the use of integrated waveguide structure but do not specifically disclose a heat transfer fluid circuit path configured to convey a working fluid for a heat transfer system.
However, Baur teaches a heat transfer fluid circuit path configured to convey a working fluid for a heat transfer system.
(Col 4 lines 30-40 According to another embodiment of the invention, the liquid metal reservoir further comprises a heat exchanger. The heat exchanger provides the advantage of the release of excess heat which may be generated by the reconfigurable antenna in use. e.g. heat transfer system
Col 15 lines 20-25 Both of the SEVA-RL channels may be initially filled with the low-dielectric low-loss heat transfer fluid
e.g. Channels are the path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the heat transfer fluid circuit path as taught by Bommer within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of cooling the waveguide antenna to improve efficiency of communication.
The prior art does not specifically disclose a structural member of a support structure of the aircraft configured such that structural failure of the waveguide will cause structural failure of the aircraft. However, the prior art of Stoneback and Bommer teach the aircraft of the waveguides integrated in every portion of the aircraft and controlling the aircraft with the waveguide (Stoneback Fig. 5 [0023] The servomechanism 242 may receive operating power via the power signal from the first node 202.
Bommer [0036] A seventh wireless bus B7 is formed by the leading edge of a wing 130, engine mount pylon and nacelle, and extends between wireless equipment 160f mounted on an engine and the second hub 170b. [0038] Reference is made to FIG. 6. The use of aircraft structures as waveguides and cavity resonators enables a wide range of systems to be added to an aircraft without adding significant weight),
Since Stoneback and Boomer both have teachings of using waveguides and cavity resonators to send wireless signals to critical components such as a wing, fuselage and/or engine then one ordinarily skilled in the art would have found it obvious that destruction or damage of a critical component would ultimately cause structural failure and wireless communication of the aircraft, and rendering the aircraft inoperable.
Claim 2. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the electrical power bus conveys either a direct current (DC) electrical power or an alternating current (AC) electrical power between electric components
(Bommer [0030] The active relay may include a small transceiver that runs off its own power through a battery or an ambient energy harvester or off RF power fed through the wireless bus.).
Claim 3. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the electrical power bus is coupled with a power generation source
(Bommer [0022] One or more RF power sources are used to completely energize a wireless bus. Energy pumped into a cavity follows a pathway. The antenna of a wireless device can collect the energy and store the energy in a capacitor. ).
Claim 4. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 3, wherein the power generation source is an electric generator powered by the powerplant of the aircraft.
(Bommer [0022] One or more RF power sources are used to completely energize a wireless bus. Energy pumped into a cavity follows a pathway. The antenna of a wireless device can collect the energy and store the energy in a capacitor. ).
Claim 5. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the support structure is an engine support, the engine support providing structural support for the powerplant
(Bommer [0036] A seventh wireless bus B7 is formed by the leading edge of a wing 130, engine mount pylon and nacelle, and extends between wireless equipment 160f mounted on an engine and the second hub 170b.).
Claim 6. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer fluid circuit path occupies at least a portion of a length of the waveguide between a proximal end of the waveguide and a distal end of the waveguide
(Baur Col 15 lines 20-25Both of the SEVA-RL channels may be initially filled with the low-dielectric low-loss heat transfer fluid Fluorinert FC-70 Electronic Liquid.
Col 20 lines 15-30 microvascular passages within a structural composite, including the placing of tubes, inflated mandrels, shrink tubes, solder material, glass capillaries, electrical discharge, and others. Similarly, the relative composition and physical characteristics of the liquid metal (including the potential to metal and flow only when needed)
e.g. the channels have tubular form).
Claim 8. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the control signal conveyed by the control path is in a form of an electrical signal having a spectral content at
different frequency than a spectral content of the RF communication signal
(Bommer [0030] For instance, a 6 GHz signal may propagate efficiently in a first branch of the wireless bus, but is down converted to 900 MHz to propagate efficiently in another branch having different propagation characteristics.).
Claim 9. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the control signal includes control data indicative of a control process
(Bommer [0044] The on-board systems may include a wireless in-flight-entertainment system (IFE) or any other system that is currently wired but could eventually go wireless. Such on-board systems could include health monitoring systems, flight controls or any systems that report telemetry or receive commands for actuation.).
Claim 10. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 9, wherein the control process includes a control signal configured to regulate a control effector of the aircraft to provide a control force and/or moment to manipulate aircraft dynamics during operation of the aircraft
(Bommer [0044] The on-board systems may include a wireless in-flight-entertainment system (IFE) or any other system that is currently wired but could eventually go wireless. Such on-board systems could include health monitoring systems, flight controls or any systems that report telemetry or receive commands for actuation.
[0036] A second wireless bus B2 goes from wireless equipment 160b on the vertical stabilizer 150,).
Claim 12. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 11, wherein the RF transmitter is a 5G transmitter configured to transmit the RF communication signal at a frequency between 700 MHz and 66 GHz
(Baur Col 15 lines 30-35 (79) The EM performance of each element was measured using A SOLT calibration from 200 MHz to 5 GHz in 1 MHz steps with a 5 kHz IF bandwidth was performed for impedance measurements.
Bommer [0012](when excited at frequencies (e.g., 100 MHz to 100 GHz), may exhibit characteristics of fundamental mode waveguide propagation as well as higher-order resonant cavity modes.)
(e.g. 5g operates in 3.4-3.5Ghz range))
Claim 16. Stoneback teaches a method for transmitting data, comprising:
operating an aircraft having a powerplant structured to provide power to the aircraft
([0022] In a particular embodiment, the first node 202 is coupled to (e.g., electrically connected to) a direct current (DC) power source 220 and is adapted to convert the power to an RF power signal for transmission via the transmission medium 206 to the second node 204),
the aircraft having a data transfer system that includes a first RF antenna, a second RF antenna,
(([0019] In a particular embodiment, the first coupler 130 and the second coupler 134 include directional antennas, beam antennas, high-gain antennas or other devices adapted to transmit radio frequency (RF) signals via the transmission medium 106. For example, the first coupler 130, the second coupler 134, or both may include a Yagi-Uda antenna or a quasi-Yagi antenna (e.g., an antenna including at least a reflector, a driven element and a director).
[0021] The first coupler 208, the second coupler 210, or both, may include a directional antenna.)):
and a waveguide structured to communicate an RF communication signal between the first RF antenna and the second RF antenna; and completing at least one of the following: conveying, with the waveguide, an electrical power between a first electric component of the aircraft and a second electric component of the aircraft
([0021] FIG. 2 depicts a second particular embodiment of a system to transmit power and data. The system includes a first node 202 coupled to a second node 204 via a transmission medium 206. For example, the first node 202 may be coupled to a first coupler 208 and the second node 204 may be coupled to a second coupler 210. The first coupler 208, the second coupler 210, or both, may include a directional antenna.
[0022] In a particular embodiment, the first node 202 is coupled to (e.g., electrically connected to) a direct current (DC) power source 220 and is adapted to convert the power to an RF power signal for transmission via the transmission medium 206 to the second node 204. , an electrical power between a first electric component of the aircraft and a second electric component of the aircraft
(Col 2 lines 55-60 The alternate switching circuit 22 energizes the right and left antenna arrays,),
the waveguide being structured to constrain the RF communication signal along a defined path such that the RF communication signal is transferred in a manner constrained by the waveguide
([0003] Additionally, both waveguide and wire based transmission lines may be constrained to point-to-point connections lying in a single path. [0036] A typical example of a waveguide includes a hollow or dielectric filled metal pipe down which electromagnetic waves propagate.
[0034] The transmission medium 520 may run along a length of the wing structure 500. The transmission medium 520 may also have a width and a thickness (where the length is longer than the width or the thickness). Power and data signals may be transmitted along the length of the transmission medium 520. (e.g. waveguide is constrained to wing )).
Stoneback further discloses the use of a waveguide and power to communicate signals to parts of an aircraft but does not specifically disclose conveying, with the waveguide, a control signal useful for operation of the aircraft
However, Bommer teaches conveying, with the waveguide, a control signal useful for operation of the aircraft
([0038] Reference is made to FIG. 6. The use of aircraft structures as waveguides and cavity resonators enables a wide range of systems to be added to an aircraft without adding significant weight... For example, as shown in FIG. 6, components 622a, 624a and 626a may be located in an EE bay 620 of an aircraft, and components 622b, 624b and 626b may be outside the EE bay 620.
[0039] Radiating elements 628 and 630 are provided to enable wireless data communication or wireless power transmission, or both, by each electrical system. First, second and third wireless buses 632, 634 and 636 are provided to enhance the wireless data communication and power transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the waveguide structure as taught by Bommer within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of extending the use of a waveguide as a cost-saving measure for replacing conventional communication lines to send signals and control components.
Stoneback and Bommer discloses the use of integrated waveguide structure but do not specifically disclose routing, with the waveguide, a working fluid through a heat transfer fluid circuit path defined by the waveguide, the working fluid used to transfer heat from a first location of the aircraft to a second location of the aircraft.
However, Baur teaches routing, with the waveguide, a working fluid through a heat transfer fluid circuit path defined by the waveguide, the working fluid used to transfer heat from a first location of the aircraft to a second location of the aircraft.
(Col 4 lines 30-40 According to another embodiment of the invention, the liquid metal reservoir further comprises a heat exchanger. The heat exchanger provides the advantage of the release of excess heat which may be generated by the reconfigurable antenna in use. e.g. heat transfer system
Col 15 lines 20-25 Both of the SEVA-RL channels may be initially filled with the low-dielectric low-loss heat transfer fluid
Col 10 lines 30-35 These approaches provide for quietly reconfiguring the antenna through rapid movement of the liquid metal 16, e.g. EGaIn, into and out of the channels 14, 15 to achieve the desired performance characteristics of the antenna 10. e.g. Channels are the path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the heat transfer fluid circuit path as taught by Bommer within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of cooling the waveguide antenna to improve efficiency of communication.
The prior art does not specifically disclose structurally supporting, with the waveguide, a structure of the aircraft such that structural failure of the waveguide will cause structural failure of the aircraft.
However, the prior art of Stoneback and Bommer teach the aircraft of the waveguides integrated in every portion of the aircraft and controlling the aircraft with the waveguide (Stoneback Fig. 5 [0023] The servomechanism 242 may receive operating power via the power signal from the first node 202.
Bommer [0036] A seventh wireless bus B7 is formed by the leading edge of a wing 130, engine mount pylon and nacelle, and extends between wireless equipment 160f mounted on an engine and the second hub 170b. [0038] Reference is made to FIG. 6. The use of aircraft structures as waveguides and cavity resonators enables a wide range of systems to be added to an aircraft without adding significant weight),
Since Stoneback and Boomer both have teachings of using waveguides and cavity resonators to send wireless signals to critical components such as a wing, fuselage and/or engine then one ordinarily skilled in the art would have found it obvious that destruction or damage of a critical component would ultimately cause structural failure and wireless communication of the aircraft, and rendering the aircraft inoperable.
Claim 17. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the method of claim 16, wherein the powerplant is configured to provide mechanical rotational power to a power generation source, and wherein the conveying electrical power includes conveying electrical power from the power generation source to an electrical component
(Stoneback [0023] The servomechanism 242 may receive operating power via the power signal from the first node 202..).
Claim 18. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the method of claim 16, wherein the heat transfer fluid circuit path is further defined by a conduit in fluid communication with the waveguide, and wherein the routing also includes routing the working fluid through the conduit
(Baur Col 15 lines 20-25Both of the SEVA-RL channels may be initially filled with the low-dielectric low-loss heat transfer fluid Fluorinert FC-70 Electronic Liquid.
Col 20 lines 15-30 microvascular passages within a structural composite, including the placing of tubes, inflated mandrels, shrink tubes, solder material, glass capillaries, electrical discharge, and others. Similarly, the relative composition and physical characteristics of the liquid metal (including the potential to metal and flow only when needed)).
Claim 19. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the method of claim 16, wherein the waveguide is in a form of an engine support member coupling the powerplant to the aircraft such that a structural failure of the waveguide causes structural failure of an attachment of the powerplant to the aircraft
(Bommer [0036] A seventh wireless bus B7 is formed by the leading edge of a wing 130, engine mount pylon and nacelle, and extends between wireless equipment 160f mounted on an engine and the second hub 170b.
[0044] The on-board systems may include a wireless in-flight-entertainment system (IFE) or any other system that is currently wired but could eventually go wireless. Such on-board systems could include health monitoring systems, flight controls or any systems that report telemetry or receive commands for actuation.).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoneback, Bommer, Baur and further in view of Yann (EP 2157016 A2).
Claim 7. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, and further discloses the process of evaporative cooling (Baur)but do not specifically disclose cooling wherein the heat transfer fluid circuit path conveys a heat transfer fluid in a refrigeration circuit.
However, Yann teaches the heat transfer fluid circuit path conveys a heat transfer fluid in a refrigeration circuit
(Page 3- the main heat exchanger of the main closed circuit being adapted to transmit the heat of the heat transfer liquid of the main closed circuit to the coolant of the second closed cooling circuit by evaporation of the heat transfer fluid flowing in the second closed cooling circuit; and the heat exchanger of the second closed cooling circuit for the condensation of the coolant circulating in the second closed cooling circuit.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a refrigeration circuit as taught by Yann within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of enhancing cooling of equipment while maintaining the functionality and lifespan of electronic components.
Claim(s) 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoneback, Bommer, Baur and further in view of Tralshawala (CH 706827 B1).
Claim 11. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the aircraft system of claim 1, and teaches wherein the RF antenna is coupled with the waveguide and structured to receive the sensor data conveyed through the waveguide from the RF transmitter
(Bommer [0041] For instance, components 624a and 622b can communicate with each other via a cavity-assisted RF pathway.
[0043] Each distributed electrical system may include one or more of the following: wireless sensor networks, wireless on-board systems, and wireless personal electronic devices. The wireless sensor networks may include a plurality of wireless sensors distributed through the aircraft...)
but do not specifically disclose wherein the powerplant is a gas turbine engine having a rotatable turbomachinery component, further comprising a sensor coupled to rotate with the rotatable turbomachinery component and structured to generate sensor data indicative of a turbomachinery condition, further comprising an RF transmitter coupled to the rotatable turbomachinery component and structured to receive the sensor data from the sensor, wherein the RF antenna is coupled with the waveguide and structured to receive the sensor data conveyed through the waveguide from the RF transmitter.
However, Tralshawala teaches wherein the powerplant is a gas turbine engine having a rotatable turbomachinery component, further comprising a sensor coupled to rotate with the rotatable turbomachinery component and structured to generate sensor data indicative of a turbomachinery condition
(Page 7- In operation, the gas turbine engine 100 is in use and the turbine section 108 drives the compressor section 104 via the rotor assembly 112 such that the compressor blades 122 and the turbine blades 124 rotate. The reading unit 212 transmits at least one RF request signal 218 via the antenna 214, i. the controller 216 commands the transceiver device 215 to interrogate each sensor device 202 as each device 202 rotates past the antenna 214. ),
further comprising an RF transmitter coupled to the rotatable turbomachinery component and structured to receive the sensor data from the sensor,
(Page 7- The interdigital transducer 208 converts the energy at the resonant frequency into an RF response signal 220, which is communicated to the reader 212 via the antennas 210 and 214 and the transceiver device 215. Data in the response signal 220 is evaluated by the controller 216.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a sensor coupled to the rotatable turbomachinery as taught by Tralshawala within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of monitoring the operational parameters within the turbomachinery for irregularities.
Claim 15. Stoneback, Bommer, Baur and Tralshawala teach the aircraft system of claim 11, wherein the sensor is coupled to a blade of the rotatable turbomachinery component
(Tralshawala Page 10 - multiple sensor devices 202 are connected to each turbine blade).
Claim(s) 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoneback, Bommer, Baur, Tralshawala and further in view of Esler (JP 2014092544 A).
Claim 13. Stoneback, Bommer, Baur and Tralshawala teach the aircraft system of claim 11, and further discloses a rotor assembly with sensor attached to the assembly but do not specifically disclose an RF aperture positioned between the RF transmitter and RF receiver, the RF aperture formed of a material to permit RF transmission therethrough of the RF communication signal transmitted from the RF transmitter
However, Esler teaches an RF aperture positioned between the RF transmitter and RF receiver, the RF aperture formed of a material to permit RF transmission therethrough of the RF communication signal transmitted from the RF transmitter
(Page 3/4- The platinum rhodium alloy composition contains about 90% platinum and about 10% rhodium, which can be adjusted to optimize the sensor tip 200 for different high temperature turbomachinery devices... This transition allows the use of high frequency radio frequency (RF) signals in the gigahertz range. Such high frequency RF signals facilitate increased bandwidth and detection fidelity.
Page 3- FIG. 3 is an enlarged perspective view of an exemplary sensor tip 200 ...A cylindrical handle member 214 protrudes perpendicularly from the electrode 212 and extends toward the second end 210. At the second end 210, a recess 216 is defined along the axial length of the handle member 214. (e.g. figure 3 shows recess aperture) ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use an RF aperture as taught by Esler within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of enhancing the detection of signals within the turbine generator..
Claim 14. Stoneback, Bommer, Baur, Tralshawala and Esler teach the aircraft system of claim 13, wherein the RF aperture is located in an annular wall of the rotatable turbomachinery component
(Esler Page 3- one or more capacitive sensor devices 24 are disposed circumferentially within and around the shroud 22.).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoneback, Bommer, Baur and further in view of Esler (JP 2014092544 A).
Claim 20. Stoneback, Bommer and Baur teach the method of claim 16, and further discloses a rotor assembly with sensor attached to the assembly but do not specifically disclose wherein the powerplant includes a gas turbine engine having a rotatable turbomachinery component, and further comprising transmitting a sensor data through an aperture, the aperture coupled to rotate with the rotatable turbomachinery component.
However, Esler teaches wherein the powerplant includes a gas turbine engine having a rotatable turbomachinery component, and further comprising transmitting a sensor data through an aperture, the aperture coupled to rotate with the rotatable turbomachinery component
(Page 3/4- The platinum rhodium alloy composition contains about 90% platinum and about 10% rhodium, which can be adjusted to optimize the sensor tip 200 for different high temperature turbomachinery devices... This transition allows the use of high frequency radio frequency (RF) signals in the gigahertz range. Such high frequency RF signals facilitate increased bandwidth and detection fidelity.
Page 3- FIG. 3 is an enlarged perspective view of an exemplary sensor tip 200 ...A cylindrical handle member 214 protrudes perpendicularly from the electrode 212 and extends toward the second end 210. At the second end 210, a recess 216 is defined along the axial length of the handle member 214. (e.g. figure 3 shows recess aperture) ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use sensor data through an aperture as taught by Esler within the system of Stoneback for the purpose of enhancing the detection of signals within the turbine generator..
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 14 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoneback (US 20100214183 A1), Bommer (US 20090184877 A1) and further in view of Baur (US 10985446 B1).
For claims 1 and 16, Applicant states the prior art fails to teach the amended limitation of a waveguide structured to transfer an RF communication signal, the waveguide coupled to the RF antenna, the waveguide being structured to constrain the RF communication signal along a defined path such that the RF communication signal is transferred in a manner constrained by the waveguide.
The Examiner disagrees as the newly found prior art of Stoneback teaches this limitation. Therefore, the prior art of Stoneback, Bommer and further in view of Baur are obvious over the claimed invention.
Thus, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Lastly, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689