Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“spec”) are to the published application US 2024/0194952-A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed 12JAN2024 and 23JAN2026 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (US-20200144624-A1; “Zheng”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Zheng teaches an electrode sheet (an electrochemical apparatus) battery cell containing a first electrode sheet, a separator and a second electrode sheet wound together ([0007]) to form the battery cell ([0057]). Zheng teaches that in a direction facing the center of the battery cell, the protective layer is provided on at least a part of a surface of the first uncoated region of the first current collector from the first starting segment to the third bent segment ([0011]) (the current collector has a first surface facing toward the interior of the battery cell, and the protective layer (insulating coating) is at the winding start (single-sided zone)). Zheng teaches the battery cell is formed by winding ([0010]). In a direction away from a center of the battery cell, a surface from the first straight segment to the third bent segment is provided with the first active material layer ([0010]) (the current collector comprises a second surface facing away from the interior of the battery cell, and the active layer substance is provided on the second surface of the current collector located in the single-sided zone). The second current collector includes a second starting segment, two surfaces of the second starting segment are provided with the second active material layer, and along a winding direction of the battery cell, the second starting segment is disposed between the first bent segment and the second bent segment ([0021]).
Zheng teaches that the first current collector includes a tail segment, where two surfaces of the tail segment are provided with the first active material layer ([0015]).
Zheng teaches that the electrode tab may be welded at the head of the battery cell, preventing the electrode tab from being pressed (the tab is not provided on the single-sided zone) ([0048]).
Zheng teaches that the lithium-ion battery adaptive may be used to supply power to terminal equipment (an electronic apparatus) through its constantly increased volumetric energy density ([0003]).
Regarding Claim 2 and 11, Zheng teaches that the protective layer 120 may also be provided on the surfaces of the first straight segment 223 and the second bent segment 224 towards a center of the battery cell 200 (the insulating coating is adjacent to or partially overlaps the active substance layer) ([0038]). Please refer to the below duplicated Fig. 2 of Zheng for this embodiment:
[AltContent: textbox (120 – Protective Layer
228 – First Active Material Layer
223 – First Straight Segment
224 – Second Bent Segment
225 - Second Straight Segment
226 - Third Bent Segment )][AltContent: textbox (Active Layer Away from Interior of Battery Cell)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Active Layer Away from Interior of Battery Cell
+ Protective Layer Towards the Interior of Battery Cell (the protective layer ends, generating an island pattern))]
[AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 2 of Zheng, duplicated from Sheet 1 of 10 of Drawings of Zheng
In addition, Zheng teaches that in Fig. 3 of Zheng below, that the surfaces of the second straight segment 225 and the third bent segment 226 towards the center of the battery cell 200 are further provided with the protective layer 120, respectively ([0069]), such that along a winding direction of the first electrode plate, the insulating coating is adjacent to or partially overlaps the active substance layer.
[AltContent: textbox (120 – Protective Layer
228 – First Active Material Layer
223 – First Straight Segment
224 – Second Bent Segment
225 - Second Straight Segment
226 - Third Bent Segment )]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Active Layer Away from Interior of Battery Cell
+ Protective Layer Towards the Interior of Battery Cell)]
Fig. 3 of Zheng, duplicated from Sheet 2 of 10 of Drawings of Zheng
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Zheng teaches that the ratio of the thickness of the protective layer 120 to the thickness of the active material layer 111 (the active substance layer) ranges from 0.25 to 1 ([0065]). This indicates that the thickness of the protective layer (the insulating coating) is less than or equal to the thickness of the active material layer 111 (the active substance layer).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Zheng teaches that the protective layer 120 may also be provided on the entire surface of the uncoated region 112 ([0056]). Zheng teaches that the protective layer 120 may also be provided on the surfaces of the first straight segment 223 and the second bent segment 224 towards a center of the battery cell 200 ([0069]) (the insulating coating is provided on a part of the first surface in the single-sided zone).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Zheng teaches the protective layer with an island pattern on the first surface in the single-sided zone (please refer to Fig. 2 of Zheng above for an island pattern).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Zheng teaches that the protective layer 120 may include magnesium oxide, calcium oxide, silicon oxide, or boehmite, and the high molecular weight polymer may be polypropylene ([0059]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Zheng teaches that the second electrode sheet may be a cathode electrode sheet or may be an anode electrode sheet ([0080]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 10, 11, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mizawa (US-20210111465-A1; “Mizawa”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Mizawa teaches a winding type electrode body (an electrochemical apparatus), nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (battery cell) containing a negative electrode (first electrode battery), a separator and a positive electrode wound together ([0007]) to form the battery cell ([0057]). Fig. 3 of Mizawa below teaches that the current collector comprises a first surface facing toward the interior of the battery cell and a second surface facing away from the interior of the battery cell. Mizawa teaches a negative electrode lead (tab) bonded to a winding start side end of the negative electrode current collector that is wound at least one-turn from a winding direction inner end ([0006]) (the tab is not provided on the single-sided zone). Moreover, Mizawa teaches that an inner circumference side or a radius-direction inner side of the electrode body 14 is called a winding core side, and an outer circumference side or a radius-direction outer side may also be called a case side ([0023]). Please refer to the Fig. 10 of Mizawa below for the active substance layer that is provided on the first surface and the second surface of the current collector, the winding start end of the first electrode plate that is provided on the first surface of the current collector located in the single-sided zone, and the active substance layer that is provided on the second surface of the current collector located in the single-sided zone. The negative electrode lead 20a below is outside the single-sided zone and serves as the electrode tab connected to the current collector that extends out of the current collector as shown in Fig. 10 of Mizawa below:
[AltContent: textbox (20a – Negative Electrode Lead
35 – Negative Electrode Collector
36 – Negative Electrode Active Material Layer
37a – Uncovered Portions
40 – Insulating Tape)]
Fig. 10 of Mizawa, duplicated from Sheet 5 of 6 of Drawings of Mizawa
Mizawa teaches a battery cell intended for an electronic apparatus ([0075]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Mizawa teaches the insulating tape 40 (the insulating coating) covers the winding start side end of the negative electrode active material layer (see Fig. 10 of Mizawa above) (the insulating coating is adjacent to or partially overlaps the active substance layer).
[AltContent: textbox (11 – Positive Electrode
12 – Negative Electrode
13 – Separators
14 – Electrode Body
19 – Positive Electrode Lead
20a, 20b – Negative Electrode Leads
28 – Space)]
Fig. 2 of Mizawa, duplicated from Sheet 2 of 6 of Drawings of Mizawa
[AltContent: textbox (20a – Negative Electrode Lead
30 – Positive Electrode Collector
31 – Positive Electrode Active Material Layers
32 – Uncovered Portion
35 – Negative Electrode Collector
36 – Negative Electrode Active Material Layer
37a – Uncovered Portions
40 – Insulating Tape)]
[AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Negative electrode active layer covers winding start)]
Fig. 3 of Mizawa, duplicated from Sheet 2 of 6 of Figures of Mizawa
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Mizawa teaches that the negative electrode active material layers are formed on two surfaces of the negative electrode collector ([0038]). Moreover, Mizawa teaches that the insulating tape 40 preferably covers not only the negative electrode lead 20a but also the winding start side end of the negative electrode active material layer 36 ([0047]), as shown in Fig. 10 of Mizawa above.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Mizawa teaches a negative electrode active material layer formed on a surface of belt-shaped negative electrode collector (striped) ([0006]). Mizawa also teaches the negative electrode active material layers are formed on two surfaces of the negative electrode current collector ([0038]) that are formed on the entire two surfaces of the negative electrode collector 35 except for uncovered portions 37a and 37b ([0039]). Please refer to the annotated Fig. 10 of Mizawa, depicted above, and Fig. 3 of Mizawa above.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Mizawa teaches that the negative electrode active material is 5 parts by mass silicon oxide ([0063]). Mizawa teaches that for the binder contained in the negative electrode active material layer, a resin similar to that used in the case of the positive electrode 11 may be used ([0040]).
Mizawa teaches that the positive electrode active layer may contain polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyacrylonitrile, poly(vinylidene fluoride) (PVdF), and carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) ([0035]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Mizawa teaches that the negative electrode (anode) may be the first electrode plate ([0006], see Fig. 10 of Mizawa above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US-20200144624-A1; “Zheng”).
Regarding Claims 3, 9, 12 and 18, Zheng teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 10 as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 3 and 12, Zheng teaches that the thickness of the protective layer 120 (the insulating coating) may be 5 μm to 50 μm ([0064]), which falls within the claimed range of 1-100 μm for the thickness of the insulating coating. Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP 2131.03. In addition, Zheng teaches that the ratio of the thickness of the protective layer 120 to the thickness of the active material layer 111 (the active substance layer) ranges from 0.25 to 1 ([0065]). Given that the range for the thickness of the protective layer 120 is 5 μm to 50 μm ([0064]), this generates a range of 20 μm to 200 μm for the thickness of the active material layer 111, which overlaps the claimed range of 25 μm to 150 μm for the thickness of the active substance layer. It has been held that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists." Please see MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Zheng teaches that the thickness of the current collector may be 5 μm to 13 μm ([0065]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 4 μm to 10 μm. It has been held that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists." Please see MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200343532 A1 to Aya D. teaches an electrochemical device (an electrochemical apparatus) ([0170]), a battery (battery cell) ([0001]), containing a negative electrode, a separator and a positive electrode would together [(0134)] to form the battery cell ([0191]). Aya teaches an intermittent coating method which is defined as a method of alternately forming an application area, formed by applying the slurry, such as the active material, to the metal foil having a strip shape, and a non-application area, to which the slurry is not applied, in a winding direction of the metal foil at prescribed intervals. A non-forming portions of an active material disposed at prescribed intervals are used as portions for drawing out a drawing tab for electrically connecting to an external terminal ([0004]). Fig. 27 of Aya below teaches that the current collector comprises a first surface facing toward the interior of the battery cell and a second surface facing away from the interior of the battery cell.
Aya teaches that the thickness of the electrode active material layer is equal to or larger than 30 μm and is equal to or less than 150 μm ([0082]).
[AltContent: textbox (121 – Positive Electrode
122 – Positive Electrode Active Material Layer
123 – Positive Electrode Current Collector Layer
124 – Insulating Member at Boundary Between the Positive Electrode Active Material Application Portion and the non-Application Portion
125 – Negative Electrode Tab
126 – Negative Electrode
127 – Negative Electrode Current Collector Layer
128 – Negative Electrode Current Collector Layer
)]
Fig. 27 of Aya, duplicated from Sheet 27 of 28 of Aya
Conclusion
/WILLIAM FADDOUL SAVAGE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782