DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-8 of Group I were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 26, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 9-19 in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious search burden since the groups have overlapping structural limitations. Upon further consideration, this is found persuasive and the restriction requirement is withdrawn, all claims 1-19 will be examined in the action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goergen et al. (USPGPUB 2018/0252335, from hereinafter “Goergen”) in view of Grelck (US Patent No. 7,952,027).
Regarding claim 1, Goergen teaches a cable storage device comprising: a frame comprising an elongated spine (cable bracket 300) having first and second ends and one or more elongated cross-arm members, each cross-arm member having first and second ends, and wherein each cross-arm member is fixedly attached to said spine; said frame mounting a plurality of cable guides (304A, 304B) positioned outward from said frame and configured to receive and retain an amount of slack cable within said plurality of cable guides in such a configuration to maintain at least a minimum bend radius of the slack cable; and one or more offset mounting brackets (cable management bracket 320), each offset mounting bracket having a base fixedly attached to said frame and a mounting clamp opposite said base configured for selective engagement with a cable strand for mounting said cable storage device from said cable strand (see Figs 3A-3B, paragraphs 30-31).
Goergen fails to specifically teach the use of a plurality of cross-arm members.
Grelck teaches a cable management system with multiple arms (stational channel portions 14) (see Figure 1, col 2, lines 23-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ multiple cross-arm members for stability within the cable management system, which is favorable for an efficient system of monitoring the storage of cables.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The best prior art of record fails to specifically teach the structural limitations of the claims, for example in claim 4 wherein each of said first cable guide and said second cable guide extend outward distally at approximately a 45-degree angle from said first cross-arm member; and each of said third cable guide and said fourth cable guide extend outward distally at approximately a 45-degree angle from said second cross-arm member. Regarding independent claims 9 (cable storage device) and 15 (method of storing slack cable), once again the structural arrangements were not taught by the prior art, for example an elongated first cross-arm member having first and second ends and fixedly attached to said spine near said first end of said spine, an elongated second cross-arm member having first and second ends and fixedly attached to said spine near said second end of said spine, and a plurality of cable guides comprising a first cable guide mounted and positioned outward from the first end of said first cross-arm member, a second cable guide mounted and positioned outward from the second end of said first cross-arm member, a third cable guide mounted and positioned outward from the first end of said second cross-arm member, and a fourth cable guide mounted and positioned outward from the second end of said second cross-arm member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent No. 7,022,916 to Cavanaugh et al., who teaches techniques for controlling movement of a set of cables.
/LISA M CAPUTO/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874