DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/20/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 10c, 11c, 11d, and 11f have non-centered figure numbers, which are difficult to see compared to the detailed figures themselves. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (NPL1 cited on IDS dated 12/27/2024) in view of Zhou et al. (NPL U cited on PTO-892, doc.: IEEE 802.11-21/0647r2).
As per claim 1, Chen et al. teach a method, comprising:
receiving, by an access point (AP), a sensing request frame from a first station (STA), wherein the sensing request frame is used to request the AP to participate in a sensing session [Chen, slide 5, Figure, dash 1, “The sensing initiator initiates the negotiation by sending a particular request frame, say, Sensing Request frame, to the responder”, The sensing initiator may be a non-AP STA (see slide 6, dash 2), where the sensing request frame is sent by the non-AP STA to the AP (see slide 6, right side figure). The reference further contemplates parameters to be included, including identification of a role (related to participation) within a sensing session (see slide 3, star 1, dash 1)).]…and
sending, by the AP, a sensing response frame to the first STA, wherein the sensing response frame is used to indicate the AP participates or does not participate in the sensing session [Chen, slide 5, dash 3 and star 1, “After receiving the Sensing Request frame, the responder is expected to respond with a Sensing Response frame to indicate Its willingness to participate in the sensing session”, The sensing response frame is sent by the sensing responder, which may be the AP (see slide 6). The sensing response frame indicates if the AP is willing to engage in a sensing session (see slide 5, top *).].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach the sensing request frame comprises an indication subfield, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA participates in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal, or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach the sensing request frame comprises an indication subfield, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA participates in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal [Zhou, slide 6, “Option 3: Add one bit ‘Sensing Support’ signaling into the Extended Capabilities element for sensing capability indication and design a Sensing Capabilities element to carry the detailed sensing capabilities of a STA”, An alternative embodiment includes a scenario with a single bit indicator to include whether sensing is supported or not (see Fig. 9-291, “Sensing Support”).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Chen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises a sensing request information subfield, and the sensing request information subfield comprises the indication subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises a sensing request information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], and the sensing request information subfield comprises the indication subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 3, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Chen et al. also teach wherein the sensing request frame further comprises another station information…that indicates an address of another STA participating in the sensing session [Chen, slide 6, dash 2, bullet 1, “If the sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, it needs to first initiate negotiation with the AP If somehow the non-AP STA already discovers some other non-AP STAs in the BSS through some means, it can indicate their identities and the intention to invite them in the negotiation with the AP”, In a scenario with multiple non-AP stations participating the sensing session, the non-AP STA that sends the sensing request frame (i.e., the initiator) includes information regarding the other non-AP STAs in the request.].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach another station information subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach another station information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, It would be obvious to modify option 1 to include information regarding other non-AP STAs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 4, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the method according to claim 3. Chen et al. also teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises the another station information [Chen, slide 6, dash 2, bullet 1, “If the sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, it needs to first initiate negotiation with the AP If somehow the non-AP STA already discovers some other non-AP STAs in the BSS through some means, it can indicate their identities and the intention to invite them in the negotiation with the AP”, In a scenario with multiple non-AP stations participating the sensing session, the non-AP STA that sends the sensing request frame (i.e., the initiator) includes information regarding the other non-AP STAs in the request.].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach another station information subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach another station information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, It would be obvious to modify option 1 to include information regarding other non-AP STAs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 5, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Chen et al. also teach further comprising: performing, by the AP, coordinated scheduling on STAs participating in the sensing session [Chen, slide 3, dash 2, “Pre-determined sensing: The initiator advertises the schedule of a pre-determined sensing session and any interesting STAs could simply join the session. For example, an AP can advertise the schedule of a pre-determined sensing session in its Beacon frames during which it will transmits sensing PPDUs”, Negotiating sensing parameters allows for the AP to schedule when beacon frames for sensing will be sent in the sensing session.].
As per claim 6, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Chen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the indication subfield is further used to indicate the first STA participates in the sensing session as at least one of a receiver or a transmitter, or , the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in the sensing session.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach wherein the indication subfield is further used to indicate the first STA participates in the sensing session as at least one of a receiver or a transmitter [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in the sensing session [Zhou, slide 6, “Option 3: Add one bit ‘Sensing Support’ signaling into the Extended Capabilities element for sensing capability indication and design a Sensing Capabilities element to carry the detailed sensing capabilities of a STA”, An alternative embodiment includes a scenario with a single bit indicator to include whether sensing is supported or not (see Fig. 9-291, “Sensing Support”).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Chen et al. teach an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, and when the at least one processor executes the one or more computer programs stored in the memory [Chen, slide 6, right side figure, The sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, and the device performing the functions of the claim is an AP. An AP within 802.11 is readily understood as containing at least a processor, memory, and computer instructions stored on the memory to perform functions, when executed by the processor.], cause the apparatus to:
receive a sensing request frame from a first station (STA), wherein the sensing request frame is used to request the apparatus to participate in a sensing session [Chen, slide 5, Figure, dash 1, “The sensing initiator initiates the negotiation by sending a particular request frame, say, Sensing Request frame, to the responder”, The sensing initiator may be a non-AP STA (see slide 6, dash 2), where the sensing request frame is sent by the non-AP STA to the AP (see slide 6, right side figure). The reference further contemplates parameters to be included, including identification of a role (related to participation) within a sensing session (see slide 3, star 1, dash 1)).]…and
send a sensing response frame to the first STA, wherein the sensing response frame is used to indicate the apparatus participates or does not participate in the sensing session [Chen, slide 5, dash 3 and star 1, “After receiving the Sensing Request frame, the responder is expected to respond with a Sensing Response frame to indicate Its willingness to participate in the sensing session”, The sensing response frame is sent by the sensing responder, which may be the AP (see slide 6). The sensing response frame indicates if the AP is willing to engage in a sensing session (see slide 5, top *).].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach the sensing request frame comprises an indication subfield, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA participates in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal, or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach the sensing request frame comprises an indication subfield, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA participates in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal [Zhou, slide 6, “Option 3: Add one bit ‘Sensing Support’ signaling into the Extended Capabilities element for sensing capability indication and design a Sensing Capabilities element to carry the detailed sensing capabilities of a STA”, An alternative embodiment includes a scenario with a single bit indicator to include whether sensing is supported or not (see Fig. 9-291, “Sensing Support”).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 8, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 7. Chen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises a sensing request information subfield, and the sensing request information subfield comprises the indication subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises a sensing request information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], and the sensing request information subfield comprises the indication subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 9, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 7. Chen et al. also teach wherein the sensing request frame further comprises another station information…that indicates an address of another STA participating in the sensing session [Chen, slide 6, dash 2, bullet 1, “If the sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, it needs to first initiate negotiation with the AP If somehow the non-AP STA already discovers some other non-AP STAs in the BSS through some means, it can indicate their identities and the intention to invite them in the negotiation with the AP”, In a scenario with multiple non-AP stations participating the sensing session, the non-AP STA that sends the sensing request frame (i.e., the initiator) includes information regarding the other non-AP STAs in the request.].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach another station information subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach another station information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, It would be obvious to modify option 1 to include information regarding other non-AP STAs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 9. Chen et al. also teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises the another station information [Chen, slide 6, dash 2, bullet 1, “If the sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, it needs to first initiate negotiation with the AP If somehow the non-AP STA already discovers some other non-AP STAs in the BSS through some means, it can indicate their identities and the intention to invite them in the negotiation with the AP”, In a scenario with multiple non-AP stations participating the sensing session, the non-AP STA that sends the sensing request frame (i.e., the initiator) includes information regarding the other non-AP STAs in the request.].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach another station information subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach another station information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, It would be obvious to modify option 1 to include information regarding other non-AP STAs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 11, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 7. Chen et al. also teach wherein when the at least one processor executes the one or more computer programs stored in the memory, cause the apparatus further to: perform coordinated scheduling on STAs participating in the sensing session [Chen, slide 3, dash 2, “Pre-determined sensing: The initiator advertises the schedule of a pre-determined sensing session and any interesting STAs could simply join the session. For example, an AP can advertise the schedule of a pre-determined sensing session in its Beacon frames during which it will transmits sensing PPDUs”, Negotiating sensing parameters allows for the AP to schedule when beacon frames for sensing will be sent in the sensing session.].
As per claim 12, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 7. Chen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the indication subfield is further used to indicate the first STA participates in the sensing session as at least one of a receiver or a transmitter, or , the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in the sensing session.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach wherein the indication subfield is further used to indicate the first STA participates in the sensing session as at least one of a receiver or a transmitter [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in the sensing session [Zhou, slide 6, “Option 3: Add one bit ‘Sensing Support’ signaling into the Extended Capabilities element for sensing capability indication and design a Sensing Capabilities element to carry the detailed sensing capabilities of a STA”, An alternative embodiment includes a scenario with a single bit indicator to include whether sensing is supported or not (see Fig. 9-291, “Sensing Support”).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 13, Chen et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions, and when the computer program or instructions are run on a computer [Chen, slide 6, right side figure, The sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, and the device performing the functions of the claim is an AP. An AP within 802.11 is readily understood as containing at least a processor, memory, and computer instructions stored on the memory to perform functions, when executed by the processor.], cause the computer to:
receive a sensing request frame from a first station (STA), wherein the sensing request frame is used to request the apparatus to participate in a sensing session [Chen, slide 5, Figure, dash 1, “The sensing initiator initiates the negotiation by sending a particular request frame, say, Sensing Request frame, to the responder”, The sensing initiator may be a non-AP STA (see slide 6, dash 2), where the sensing request frame is sent by the non-AP STA to the AP (see slide 6, right side figure). The reference further contemplates parameters to be included, including identification of a role (related to participation) within a sensing session (see slide 3, star 1, dash 1)).]…and
send a sensing response frame to the first STA, wherein the sensing response frame is used to indicate the apparatus participates or does not participate in the sensing session [Chen, slide 5, dash 3 and star 1, “After receiving the Sensing Request frame, the responder is expected to respond with a Sensing Response frame to indicate Its willingness to participate in the sensing session”, The sensing response frame is sent by the sensing responder, which may be the AP (see slide 6). The sensing response frame indicates if the AP is willing to engage in a sensing session (see slide 5, top *).].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach the sensing request frame comprises an indication subfield, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA participates in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal, or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach the sensing request frame comprises an indication subfield, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA participates in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in at least one of receiving or sending of sensing signal [Zhou, slide 6, “Option 3: Add one bit ‘Sensing Support’ signaling into the Extended Capabilities element for sensing capability indication and design a Sensing Capabilities element to carry the detailed sensing capabilities of a STA”, An alternative embodiment includes a scenario with a single bit indicator to include whether sensing is supported or not (see Fig. 9-291, “Sensing Support”).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13. Chen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises a sensing request information subfield, and the sensing request information subfield comprises the indication subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises a sensing request information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], and the sensing request information subfield comprises the indication subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 15, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13. Chen et al. also teach wherein the sensing request frame further comprises another station information…that indicates an address of another STA participating in the sensing session [Chen, slide 6, dash 2, bullet 1, “If the sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, it needs to first initiate negotiation with the AP If somehow the non-AP STA already discovers some other non-AP STAs in the BSS through some means, it can indicate their identities and the intention to invite them in the negotiation with the AP”, In a scenario with multiple non-AP stations participating the sensing session, the non-AP STA that sends the sensing request frame (i.e., the initiator) includes information regarding the other non-AP STAs in the request.].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach another station information subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach another station information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, It would be obvious to modify option 1 to include information regarding other non-AP STAs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 16, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15. Chen et al. also teach wherein the sensing request frame comprises a sensing request element field that comprises the another station information [Chen, slide 6, dash 2, bullet 1, “If the sensing initiator is a non-AP STA, it needs to first initiate negotiation with the AP If somehow the non-AP STA already discovers some other non-AP STAs in the BSS through some means, it can indicate their identities and the intention to invite them in the negotiation with the AP”, In a scenario with multiple non-AP stations participating the sensing session, the non-AP STA that sends the sensing request frame (i.e., the initiator) includes information regarding the other non-AP STAs in the request.].
Chen et al. do not explicitly teach another station information subfield.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach another station information subfield [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, It would be obvious to modify option 1 to include information regarding other non-AP STAs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 17, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13. Chen et al. also teach wherein when the computer program or instructions are run on a computer, cause the computer further to: perform coordinated scheduling on STAs participating in the sensing session [Chen, slide 3, dash 2, “Pre-determined sensing: The initiator advertises the schedule of a pre-determined sensing session and any interesting STAs could simply join the session. For example, an AP can advertise the schedule of a pre-determined sensing session in its Beacon frames during which it will transmits sensing PPDUs”, Negotiating sensing parameters allows for the AP to schedule when beacon frames for sensing will be sent in the sensing session.]..
As per claim 18, Chen et al. in view of Zhou et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13. Chen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the indication subfield is further used to indicate the first STA participates in the sensing session as at least one of a receiver or a transmitter, or , the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in the sensing session.
However, in an analogous art, Zhou et al. teach wherein the indication subfield is further used to indicate the first STA participates in the sensing session as at least one of a receiver or a transmitter [Zhou, slide 4, “Option 1: Add all the sensing capabilities (e.g., possible sensing capabilities shown in slide 3) into the existing frame/element (e.g., Extended Capabilities element)”, Fig. 9-291 shows an extended capabilities element format, including “Sensing roles support[ed]”, These fields indicate, during the setup phase (i.e., during request/response, see slide 2, box 2), that a sensing initiator is interested in participating in a sensing session with the responder. The “Sensing roles supported” (which functions as a field) offers the ability for the initiator to indicate what roles it can undertake (which function as subfields), and the responder has the same ability, where it can indicate sensing roles where it can participate.], or, the indication subfield is used to indicate the first STA does not participate in the sensing session [Zhou, slide 6, “Option 3: Add one bit ‘Sensing Support’ signaling into the Extended Capabilities element for sensing capability indication and design a Sensing Capabilities element to carry the detailed sensing capabilities of a STA”, An alternative embodiment includes a scenario with a single bit indicator to include whether sensing is supported or not (see Fig. 9-291, “Sensing Support”).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the extended sensing capabilities element of Zhou et al. into the sensing request frame of Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating a new element field within WLAN frames is regularly performed with the 802.11 standard body (see Zhou, slide 3, second box) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Jang et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0362990), teaches sensing session capability advertisement (see at least fig. 10).
The reference, Lim et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0198579), teaches a sensing request frame with participation information (see at least fig. 14, ¶ 0096).
The reference, Wu et al. (CN 113115341 A), teaches negotiating a wireless sensing process.
The reference, Zhou et al. (NPL W on PTO-892, IEEE 802.11-21/0647r0), teaches a TBTT information field with sensing parameters (see slide 5).
The reference, Zhou et al. (NPL V on PTO-892, IEEE 802.11-21/0647r1), teaches a TBTT information field with sensing parameters (see slide 5).
The reference, Zhou et al. (NPL X on PTO-892, IEEE 802.11-21/0648r0), teaches sensing setup with multiple responders (see slide 6).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417