Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/12/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on KR10-2019-0022578 dated 02/26/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20170185037 A1) and further in view of Takanori (JP-H11194702-A).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches, in Fig. 3 and 6: a flat panel display comprising:
a light source (“source 305”; [0040], “beam conditioner 310”; [0041]) configured to emit parallel light (see parallel light output from 310);
a flat panel (“SLMs 320”; [0041]) on which the parallel light is incident (see Fig. 3), the flat panel (320) being configured to provide a three-dimensional image (“The SLM 320 generates a computer generated hologram responsive to hologram instructions received from the controller 330”; [0045]); and
a viewing angle expansion plate (“amplitude mask 610”; [0077]) configured to expand a viewing angle of the three-dimensional image (“a maximum field of view can be increased by adding an amplitude mask to the SLM 320”; [0074]).
Lee fails to explicitly teach: the viewing angle expansion plate comprises an optical diffuser.
However, in a related invention in the field of three-dimensional imaging devices, Takanori teaches in Fig. 43: the viewing angle expansion plate (see para [0144] which describes a three dimensional imaging system) comprises an optical diffuser (“The screen 171 onto which the three-dimensional image is projected is, for example, a semi-transparent screen (for example, frosted glass-like screen)”; [0145]).
Furthermore, Takanori teaches this configuration such that “In addition to projecting the reproduced three-dimensional image, a predetermined lens 173 is provided between the screen 171 and the driver, and the projected image of the three-dimensional image projected on the screen 171 is magnified by the lens 173 to drive the driver. To make it visible” (Takanori, [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Takanori to provide a device in which the viewing angle expansion plate comprises an optical diffuser, for the purpose of projecting the three dimensional image to the viewer (Takanori, [0144]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Takanori teach the flat panel display of claim 1. Lee fails to teach: the optical diffuser comprises a ground glass or a semi-transmission film.
However, Takanori teaches in Fig. 43: the optical diffuser comprises a ground glass or a semi-transmission film (“The screen 171 onto which the three-dimensional image is projected is, for example, a semi-transparent screen (for example, frosted glass-like screen)”; [0145]).
Furthermore, Takanori teaches this configuration such that “In addition to projecting the reproduced three-dimensional image, a predetermined lens 173 is provided between the screen 171 and the driver, and the projected image of the three-dimensional image projected on the screen 171 is magnified by the lens 173 to drive the driver. To make it visible” (Takanori, [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Takanori to provide a device in which the optical diffuser comprises a ground glass or a semi-transmission film, for the purpose of projecting the three dimensional image (Takanori, [0144]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20170185037 A1) and Takanori (JP-H11194702-A) and further in view of Toshiyuki (JPH11174377A).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches, in Fig. 3 and 6: a method of operating a flat panel display, the flat panel display including: a light source (“source 305”; [0040], “beam conditioner 310”; [0041]) configured to emit parallel light (see parallel light output from 310);
a flat panel (“SLMs 320”; [0041]) on which the parallel light is incident (see Fig. 3), the flat panel (320) being configured to provide a three-dimensional image (“The SLM 320 generates a computer generated hologram responsive to hologram instructions received from the controller 330”; [0045]); and
a viewing angle expansion plate (“amplitude mask 610”; [0077]) configured to expand a viewing angle of the three-dimensional image (“a maximum field of view can be increased by adding an amplitude mask to the SLM 320”; [0074]).
However, Lee fails to explicitly teach: the viewing angle expansion plate including an optical diffuser, the method comprising moving the optical diffuser during operation of the flat panel display.
However, in a related invention in the field of three-dimensional imaging devices, Takanori teaches in Fig. 43: the viewing angle expansion plate (see para [0144] which describes a three dimensional imaging system) comprises an optical diffuser (“The screen 171 onto which the three-dimensional image is projected is, for example, a semi-transparent screen (for example, frosted glass-like screen)”; [0145]).
Furthermore, Takanori teaches this configuration such that “In addition to projecting the reproduced three-dimensional image, a predetermined lens 173 is provided between the screen 171 and the driver, and the projected image of the three-dimensional image projected on the screen 171 is magnified by the lens 173 to drive the driver. To make it visible” (Takanori, [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Takanori to provide a device in which the viewing angle expansion plate comprises an optical diffuser, for the purpose of projecting the three dimensional image to the viewer (Takanori, [0144]).
However, Takanori fails to teach: the method comprising moving the optical diffuser during operation of the flat panel display.
In a related invention in the field of three-dimensional imaging devices, Toshiyuki teaches in Fig. 34-36: the method comprising moving the optical diffuser during operation of the flat panel display.
The method of moving the diffuser during operation could have been derived from the feature of Toshiyuki as disclosed in para [0036]: “The pinhole 4 moves at high speed in the entire area of the pinhole panel 3 at a constant cycle T” such that “The movement of the pinholes 4 may be, for example, a horizontal scan from top to bottom as shown in FIG. 2 or a vertical scan from right to left or left to right.”
Furthermore, Toshiyuki teaches this configuration such that “When a three-dimensional image is reproduced by an actual reproducing device using the moving image information obtained in this way, the three-dimensional image becomes a stereoscopic image” (Toshiyuki, [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Takanori and Toshiyuki to provide a device in which the viewing angle expansion plate including an optical diffuser, and the method comprising moving the optical diffuser during operation of the flat panel display, for the purpose of producing a three-dimensional image (Toshiyuki, [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, Takanori, and Toshiyuki teach the method of claim 3. Lee fails to explicitly teach: the optical diffuser includes a ground glass or a semi-transmission film.
However, Takanori teaches in Fig. 43: the optical diffuser comprises a ground glass or a semi-transmission film (“The screen 171 onto which the three-dimensional image is projected is, for example, a semi-transparent screen (for example, frosted glass-like screen)”; [0145]).
Furthermore, Takanori teaches this configuration such that “In addition to projecting the reproduced three-dimensional image, a predetermined lens 173 is provided between the screen 171 and the driver, and the projected image of the three-dimensional image projected on the screen 171 is magnified by the lens 173 to drive the driver. To make it visible” (Takanori, [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Takanori to provide a device in which the optical diffuser comprises a ground glass or a semi-transmission film, for the purpose of projecting the three dimensional image (Takanori, [0144]).
Conclusion
/RUBY L KAUFFMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872