DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 13, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brouk (US Patent 10,836,580).
Regarding claim 1, Brouk discloses a belt conveyor system comprising:
one or more idler rollers (108; col 11, lines 24-25);
a drive roller (107) configured to drive a belt (105);
the belt extending in a continuous loop wrapping around the one or more idler rollers and the drive roller; and
a brake (embodiments shown in either figure fig 3A-C or fig 4A-B or fig 5A-B or 6A-B) configured to actuate with at least one of:
(i) select ones of the one or more idler rollers (embodiments shown in either figure fig 3A-C or fig 4A-B or fig 5A-B or 6A-B), and
(ii) a portion of the belt in a position adjacent to the select ones of the one or more idler rollers.
Regarding claim 3, Brouk also discloses the position adjacent to the select ones of the one or more idler rollers is below the select ones of the idler rollers (when option i is selected).
Regarding claim 5, Brouk also discloses a plate structure (508; col 17, lines 40-43 or 604) configured internally of the continuous loop of the belt, and on a side rail (208) on at least one end of the select ones of the one or more idler rollers (fig 5A-B or fig 6A-B).
Regarding claim 6, Brouk also discloses the brake (508; fig 5A-B) is configured to apply frictional force to sidewalls portions (512) of the select ones of the one or more idler rollers.
Regarding claim 8, Brouk also discloses the brake is configured to actuate laterally in one or two directions towards the select ones of the one or more idler rollers (fig 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 13, Brouk also discloses a belt conveyor system comprising:
one or more idler rollers (108);
a slave roller (roller 108 connected to drive roller 107; fig 1);
a drive roller (107) coupled to the slave roller, wherein the drive roller configured to drive the slave roller;
a belt (105) extending in a continuous loop wrapping around the one or more idler rollers, the slave roller, and the drive roller, wherein the slave roller is configured to drive the belt; and
a brake (embodiments shown in either figure fig 3A-C or fig 4A-B or fig 5A-B or 6A-B) configured to actuate with at least one of:
(i) the drive roller (embodiments shown in either figure fig 3A-C or fig 4A-B or fig 5A-B or 6A-B),
(ii) the slave roller (embodiments shown in either figure fig 3A-C or fig 4A-B or fig 5A-B or 6A-B), and
(iii) a portion of the belt in a position adjacent to the drive roller and the slave roller.
Regarding claim 16, Brouk also discloses the brake comprises a plate structure (508; col 17, lines 40-43 or 604) configured internally of the continuous loop of the belt, and on a side rail (208) on at least one end of the drive roller and the slave roller (fig 5A-B or fig 6A-B).
Regarding claim 17, Brouk also discloses the brake (508; fig 5A-B) is configured to apply frictional force to sidewalls portions (512) of the drive roller and the slave roller.
Regarding claim 19, Brouk also discloses the brake is configured to actuate laterally in one or two directions towards the drive roller and the slave roller (fig 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 20, Brouk also discloses a belt conveyor system comprising:
one or more idler rollers (108) comprising an internal brake (embodiments shown in either figure fig 3A-C or fig 4A-B or fig 5A-B);
a slave roller (roller 108 connected to drive roller 107; fig 1) comprising an internal brake (embodiments shown in either figure fig 3A-C or fig 4A-B or fig 5A-B);
a drive roller (107) coupled to the slave roller, wherein the drive roller configured to drive the slave roller;
a belt (105) extending in a continuous loop wrapping around the one or more idler rollers, the slave roller, and the drive roller, wherein the slave roller is configured to drive the belt; and
wherein the internal brake of the one or more idler rollers and the internal brake of the slave roller are controlled and actuated by a controller (col 19, lines 51-61) associated with the drive roller.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 7, 9-12, 14, 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KRC/Examiner, Art Unit 3651 7/28/2026
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651