Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih (US20130062177).
Regarding claim 1, Shih teaches a keyboard, comprising:a fixed module (20, 40, 60), comprising:a first circuit board 40, comprising a trigger unit 42; and a first base plate 60, being disposed above the first circuit board and comprising an accommodation space 65, the trigger unit corresponding to the accommodation space; a plurality of non-replaceable key structures (in Shih keyboard, user can selectively replace a single or some specified keycaps, see paragraphs 15, 35, indicating that only selected keys are replaceable while the remaining keys remain in their existing, non-replaceable configuration), connected to the first base plate; at least one replaceable key module 100, detachably disposed on the fixed module, the replaceable key module comprising:a keycap unit 160, partially corresponding to the accommodation space of the first base plate; a second base plate 120, detachably connecting to the fixed module; a connecting member 64, one end connecting to the keycap unit, the other end connecting to the second base plate (paragraph 31); and an elastic member 140, disposed on the second base plate, and in contact with the keycap unit (Figs. 1-8).
Regarding claim 2, Shih teaches the keyboard wherein the second base plate 120 detachably connects to the first base plate 60 (Fig. 5 and paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 3, Shih teaches the keyboard wherein the second base plate 120 comprises a propped portion 124, the second base plate is accommodated in the accommodation space 65 of the first base plate 60, and the propped portion abutting the first base plate (Figs. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Feng (CN210692409).
Regarding claim 4, Shih does not teach the fixed module and the key module being connected by magnetic attraction. However, Feng teaches a similar keyboard with a fixed module 310, a key module 400, and the fixed module and the key module being connected to each other by magnetic attraction (attraction between 510 and 520, see page 3 of the enclosed translation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Feng in the keyboard of Shih to provide an easily removable key module that facilitates maintenance and improve usability.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Wu (US20060165465).
Regarding claim 5, Shih does not teach the claimed structure of the second base. However, Wu teaches a similar keyboard with a key module 1 and a base plate 11, the key module is detachably attached to the base plate 11; wherein the base plate comprises a main body (keyboard casing) and a reinforcement piece 9, the reinforcement piece disposed within the main body, the reinforcement piece comprises a limiting portion (hooks), and the connecting member 3 connects to the limiting portion (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Wu in the keyboard of Shih to provide a more secure keyboard.
Alternative rejection
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Van Diepen (US20040218963).
Regarding claim 1, Shih teaches a keyboard, comprising:a fixed module (20, 40, 60), comprising:a first circuit board 40, comprising a trigger unit 42; and a first base plate 60,being disposed above the first circuit board and comprising an accommodation space 65, the trigger unit corresponding to the accommodation space; at least one replaceable key module 100, detachably disposed on the fixed module, the replaceable key module comprising:a keycap unit 160, partially corresponding to the accommodation space of the first base plate; a second base plate 120, detachably connecting to the fixed module; a connecting member 64, one end connecting to the keycap unit, the other end connecting to the second base plate (paragraph 31); and an elastic member 140, disposed on the second base plate, and in contact with the keycap unit (Figs. 1-8). Shih does not teach the plurality of non-replaceable key structures. However, Van Diepen teaches a keyboard with a plurality of replaceable keys (paragraph 41), and plurality of non-replaceable keys (paragraph 36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Van Diepen in the keyboard of Shih to facilitate the manufacturing process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AHMED M SAEED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831