DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention (Group II; claims 10-19), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/1/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 9/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al., KR 20180015045.
Regarding claim 1, Park et al., teaches a cathode active material (0001; 0035) for lithium secondary batteries (0028; 0037), the cathode active material comprising: a lithium oxide (0001-0004) having a chemical formula Li1+xMn2O4 (pg. 5 of original document, last para.) and having a multiphase structure (0003) comprising at least a cation-disordered rock salt (DRX) structure (XRD) (0016; 0040), wherein x satisfies a relationship 0 ≤ x ≤ 0.75 (pg. 5 of original document, last para.)
Regarding claim 2, Park et al., teaches wherein the cathode active material comprises at least two of a layered structure (0067; 0089; 0092), a spinel structure (0003), or the DRX structure (0016; 0040; 0160).
Regarding claim 3, Park et al., teaches the cathode active material exhibits peaks at 2θ = 19˚±0.5˚, 31˚±0.5˚, 36.5˚±0.5˚, 48.5˚±0.5˚, 55˚±0.5˚, 58.5˚±0.5˚, 67.5˚±0.5˚, 68.5˚±0.5˚, 76˚±0.5˚ and 84˚±0.5˚ in X-ray diffraction analysis using CuK α radiation (0016-0017; 0020; 0022; 0170).
Regarding claim 4, Park et al., teaches wherein the cathode active material exhibits peaks at 2θ = 38˚±0.5˚, 44.5˚±0.5˚, 64.5˚±0.5˚, 77.5˚±0.5˚ and 81˚±0.5˚ in X-ray diffraction analysis using CuK α radiation (0016-0017; 0020; 0022; 0170).
Regarding claim 7, Park et al., teaches wherein the lithium oxide comprises Li1.25Mn2O4 (pg. 5 of original document, last para.).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., KR 20180015045.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 8, and 9:
Regarding claim 5, Park et al., does not teach wherein a ratio (Aspinel/Atotal) of an area (Aspinel) of peaks due to a spinel structure to a total area (Atotal) of all peaks of the cathode active material exhibited in X-ray diffraction analysis using CuK α radiation is in a range of 0.1 to 99.8.
Regarding claim 6, Park et al., does not teach wherein a ratio (ADRX/Atotal) of an area (ADRX) of peaks due to the DRX structure to a total area (Atotal) of all peaks of the cathode active material exhibited in X-ray diffraction analysis using CuK α radiation is in a range of 0.2 to 0.99.
Regarding claim 8, Park et al., does not teach wherein a ratio (Aspinel/Atotal) of an area (Aspinel) of peaks due to a spinel structure to a total area (Atotal) of all peaks of the cathode active material exhibited in X-ray diffraction analysis using CuK α radiation is 0.4 to 0.6.
Regarding claim 9, Park et al., does not teach wherein a ratio (ADRX/Atotal) of an area (ADRX) of peaks due to the DRX structure to a total area (Atotal) of all peaks of the cathode active material exhibited in X-ray diffraction analysis using CuK α radiation is in a range of 0.4 to 0.6.
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727