DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 25-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/17/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “122” has been used to designate both controller (for example see Fig. 1B) and line and load regulation control (for example see Fig. 1A). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 13-14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens et. al. US Patent 9509225 in view of Zhao et. al., WO publication 2019097967.
Regarding claim 1, Stephens discloses 1 power converter (for example see Fig. 2A), comprising: a half bridge or full bridge switch network (i.e., 203) (Fig. 2A); an LLC resonant tank (i.e., 206) (Fig. 2A) electrically coupled to the switch network (i.e., 203) (Fig. 2A); a rectifier circuit (i.e., 210) (Fig. 2A) electrically coupled to a filter capacitor (i.e., C) (Fig. 2A) configured to provide a DC output voltage (i.e., 285) (Fig. 2A); a transformer (i.e., 208) (Fig. 2A) inductively coupling the rectifier circuit (i.e., 210) (Fig. 2A) to the LLC resonant tank (i.e., 206) (Fig. 2A); and a controller (i.e., 216) (Fig. 2A) configured to determine a reference voltage (i.e., for example a desired value – 12V, Vout_max or Vout_min ) (see column 6, lines 37-43) to which the DC output voltage is regulated, and adjust a switching frequency of the switch network (i.e., 203) (Fig. 2A) based on a difference between the DC output voltage (i.e., 285) (Fig. 2A) and the reference voltage (for example desired value),
wherein the controller is configured to determine the adjustment of the switching frequency (i.e., Fn) (Fig. 5) restricted as a function of an input voltage (for example see Fig. 5) and/or an output current of the power converter.
However, Stephens fails to disclose wherein the controller is configured to determine the reference voltage based on input voltage and/or output current feedback for the power converter.
Zhao, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the controller (i.e., 20) (Fig. 5) is configured to determine the reference voltage (i.e., Vtgt) (Fig. 5) based on input voltage (i.e., Vi) (Fig. 5) and/or output current feedback for the power converter in order to reduce fluctuations at the output voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide the controller is configured to determine the reference voltage based on input voltage and/or output current feedback for the power converter in Stephens, as taught by Zhao, in order to reduce fluctuations at the output voltage.
Regarding claim 2, Stephens in view of Zhao, as applied in linking claims disclose the claimed invention, wherein the controller (i.e., 20) (Fig. 5) is configured to determine the reference voltage (i.e., Vtgt) (Fig. 5) by modifying a target voltage regulation setpoint based on the input voltage (i.e., Vi) (Fig. 5) and/or output current feedback.
Regarding claim 10, Stephens in view of Zhao, as applied in linking claims disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Stephens discloses the controller (i.e., 216) (Fig. 2A) is configured to adjust the switching frequency of the switch network for differences between the DC output voltage and the reference voltage that fall outside a predetermined range, and wherein the controller is configured to use a fixed frequency tuned to a resonance of the LLC resonant tank as the switching frequency of the switch network for differences between the DC output voltage and the reference voltage that fall within the predetermined range (for example see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Stephens discloses a method of controlling a power (for example see Fig. 2A) that includes a half bridge or full bridge switch network (i.e., 203) (Fig. 2A), an LLC resonant tank (i.e., 206) (Fig. 2A) electrically coupled to the switch network (i.e., 203) (Fig. 2A), a rectifier circuit(i.e., 210) (Fig. 2A) electrically coupled to a filter capacitor (i.e., C) (Fig. 2A) configured to provide a DC output voltage (i.e., 285) (Fig. 2A), and a transformer (i.e., 208) (Fig. 2A) inductively coupling the rectifier circuit (i.e., 210) (Fig. 2A) to the LLC resonant tank (i.e., 206) (Fig. 2A), the method comprising:
adjusting a switching frequency (i.e., fn) of the switch network (i.e., 203) (Fig. 2A) based on a difference between the DC output voltage (i.e., 285) (Fig. 2A) and a reference voltage (for example voltage desired value) to which the DC output voltage (i.e., 285) (Fig. 2A) is regulated;
and wherein controller is configured to determine the adjustment of the switching frequency (i.e., Fn) (Fig. 5) restricted as a function of an input voltage (for example see Fig. 5) and/or an output current of the power converter.
Stephens fail to disclose determining the reference voltage based on input voltage and/or output current feedback for the power converter.
Zhao, in the same field of endeavor, discloses determining the reference voltage (i.e., Vtgt) (Fig. 5) based on input voltage (i.e., Vi) (Fig. 5) and/or output current feedback for the power converter in order to reduce fluctuations at the output voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally determining the reference voltage based on input voltage and/or output current feedback for the power converter in Stephens, as taught by Zhao, in order to reduce fluctuations at the output voltage.
Regarding claim 14, Stephens in view of Zhao, as applied in linking claims disclose the claimed invention, wherein determining the reference voltage (i.e., Vtgt) (Fig. 5) comprises: modifying a target voltage regulation setpoint based on the input voltage (i.e., Vi) (Fig. 5) and/or output current feedback.
Regarding claim 22, Stephens in view of Zhao, as applied in linking claims disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Stephens discloses adjusting the switching frequency of the switch network comprises: adjusting the switching frequency of the switch network for differences between the DC output voltage (i.e., 285) (Fig. 2a) and the reference voltage (desired voltage value) that fall outside a predetermined range; and using a fixed frequency tuned to a resonance of the LLC resonant tank as the switching frequency of the switch network for differences between the DC output voltage and the reference voltage that fall within the predetermined range (for example see Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 11-12, 15-21 and 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the Prior art of record, as applied above, alone or in combination, fail to disclose the controller configured to modify the target voltage regulation setpoint based on a relationship that relates output current magnitude to voltage adjustment magnitude for the target voltage regulation setpoint in combination with all recited element of liking claims.
Claims 4-9 are dependent of claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the Prior art of record, as applied above, alone or in combination, fail to disclose the controller configured to determine a variable switching frequency or a variable switching period for the switch network based on input voltage magnitude and output current magnitude, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable switching frequency or the variable switching period based on the difference between the DC output voltage and the reference voltage to adjust the switching frequency of the switch network in combination with all recited element of liking claims.
Claims 12 are dependent of claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, the Prior art of record, as applied above, alone or in combination, fail to disclose modifying the target voltage regulation setpoint comprising: modifying the target voltage regulation setpoint based on a relationship that relates output current magnitude to voltage adjustment magnitude for the target voltage regulation setpoint in combination with all recited element of liking claims.
Claims 15-21 are dependent of claim 14.
Regarding claim 23, the Prior art of record, as applied above, alone or in combination, fail to disclose determining a variable switching frequency or a variable switching period for the switch network based on input voltage magnitude and output current magnitude; and adjusting the variable switching frequency or the variable switching period based on the difference between the DC output voltage and the reference voltage to adjust the switching frequency of the switch network in combination with all recited element of liking claims.
Claims 24 are dependent of claim 23.
Conclusion
/YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838