DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng (CN212434722U, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on July 30th, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Peng discloses a secondary battery (button cell battery, [009]) comprising:
An outer package member (shell/housing-10 acts as outer package member, [0053]) including a surface (sealing element-40 and conductive element-30 defines surface, Fig. 2, [0065], [0070]) and a through hole, the through hole extending in a first direction and having an inner peripheral surface intersecting the surface (injection port-301 and through hole-1021 form through hole extending in first direction, Fig. 2, [0056], [0063]);
A battery device contained in the outer package member (battery cell-20 in housing, [0055]);
An external terminal attached to the outer package member to close the through hole and electrical insulating from the outer package member, the external terminal including an opposed surface opposed to the surface of the outer package member in the first direction (conductive element-30 acts as external terminal, Fig. 2, [0070]);
A sealing part present in a gap between the outer package member and the external terminal (sealing ring-50 acts as sealing part, Fig. 2, [0056]), the sealing part including a first part and a third part, the first part being located between the outer package member and the opposed surface of the external terminal and having a first thickness in the first direction, the third part being provided to be in contact with the inner peripheral surface of the outer package member and having a third thickness in the first direction, the third thickness being greater than the first thickness (Fig. 3 shows sealing ring-50 with a first thickness from a first part that corresponds to the location between the outer package member and the opposed surface of the external terminal, and third thickness from a third part in contact with the inner peripheral surface of the outer package member, where the third part has a greater thickness than the first part, [0049], [0056], [0058]).
Regarding Claim 2, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the external terminal further includes an outer peripheral surface intersecting the opposed surface (conductive element-30 acts as has outer peripheral surface intersecting the opposed surface, Fig. 3, [0058]), and the sealing part further includes a second part provided to be in contact with the outer peripheral surface and having a second thickness in the first direction, the second thickness being greater than the first thickness (sealing part second part is center flat portion of sealing ring-50, Fig. 3, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 3, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the second part is within a gap between the external terminal and the outer package member (see annotated Fig. 3).
Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 4, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the third part is continuous with the first part (see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding Claim 5, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the second part is continuous with the first part (see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding Claim 10, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the external terminal further includes a groove provided in the opposed surface (counterbore-302 act as groove, Fig. 2, [0065]).
Regarding Claim 11, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the third part has a length in a direction along the external terminal (see annotated Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN212434722U) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on July 30th, 2025).
Regarding Claim 6, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface includes an inclines face incline relative to the opposed surface (Peng discloses in Fig. 4 that the outer peripheral surface can have an inclined face relative to the opposed surface).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Peng to have wherein the outer peripheral surface includes an inclines face incline relative to the opposed surface
Regarding Claim 7, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface includes a curved face (Peng discloses in Fig. 4 that the outer peripheral surface has a curved face).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Peng to have wherein the outer peripheral surface includes a curved face.
Regarding Claim 8, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the inner peripheral surface includes an inclined face relative to the surface (Peng discloses in Fig. 4 that the inner peripheral surface includes an inclined face relative to the surface).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Peng to have wherein the inner peripheral surface includes an inclined face relative to the surface.
Regarding Claim 9, Peng discloses the limitations as set forth above. Peng further discloses wherein the inner peripheral surface includes a curved face (Peng discloses wherein the inner peripheral surface includes a curved face).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Peng to have wherein the inner peripheral surface includes a curved face.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728