DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rocci (US 20130221690 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rocci teaches a safety latch mechanism for a vehicle door handle and locking system, the safety latch mechanism including:
a body (18) having a first end (distal end of 24), a second end (distal end of 22), and a mass having a first portion (24) and a second portion (22), the first portion of the mass of the body being greater than the second portion of the mass of the body;
a first post (top of shaft 20 as viewed in fig. 4) extending from the body at a location closer to the second end of the body than to the first end of the body;
a second post (bottom of shaft 20 as viewed in fig. 4) extending from the body at a location closer to the second end of the body than to the first end of the body;
an opening (annotated fig. 1) extending through the second portion of the mass of the body; and
wherein the first portion of the mass of the body is located between the first post, the second post, and the first end of the body, and the second portion of the mass of the body is located between the first post, the second post, and the second end of the body (fig. 3).
Annotated figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 1, wherein the first portion of the mass of the body and the second portion of the mass of the body lie substantially in a common plane (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 1, wherein the first portion of the mass of the body and the second portion of the mass of the body have substantially the same width (please note the term substantially provides ambiguity, and since the two widths are similar the examiner is interpreting them as substantially the same).
Regarding claim 4, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 1, wherein the first portion of the mass of the body has a width, and the first portion of the mass of the body is solid across its width form the first and second posts to the first end of the body (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 1, wherein the body is substantially linear from the first end to the second end (please note the instant applicant’s body includes curves and rounded edges which are not considered linear, therefore Rocci’s body is being considered linear in the same manner that the instant applicant’s is.)
Regarding claim 6, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 1, wherein the opening is located at least partially between the first post and the second post (the opening identified in annotated figure 1 is located towards the center of the body, between the two sides where the posts are located which is being interpreted as at least partially between the first and second post).
Regarding claim 7, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 1, further including a spring (19) for biasing the safety latch mechanism into a first position (rest position).
Regarding claim 8, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 1, wherein the first and second posts are integrally formed with the body (fig. 4 shows one integral part).
Regarding claim 9, Rocci teaches a safety latch mechanism for a vehicle door handle and locking system, the safety latch mechanism including:
a body (18) having a first end (distal end of 24), a second end (distal end of 22), and a mass having a first portion (24) and a second portion (22), the first portion of the mass of the body being greater than the second portion of the mass of the body, the first portion of the mass of the body and the second portion of the mass of the body lying substantially in a common plane (fig. 3);
a first post (top of shaft 20 as viewed in fig. 4) extending from the body at a location closer to the second end of the body than to the first end of the body;
a second post (bottom of shaft 20 as viewed in fig. 4) extending from the body at a location closer to the second end of the body than to the first end of the body; and
wherein the first portion of the mass of the body is located between the first post, the second post, and the first end of the body, and the second portion of the mass of the body is located between the first post, the second post, and the second end of the body (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 9, further including an opening (annotated fig. 1) extending through the second portion of the mass of the body.
Regarding claim 11, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 10, wherein the opening is located at least partially between the first post and the second post (the opening identified in annotated figure 1 is located towards the center of the body, between the two sides where the posts are located which is being interpreted as at least partially between the first and second post).
Regarding claim 12, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 9, wherein the first portion of the mass of the body and the second portion of the mass of the body have substantially the same width (please note the term substantially provides ambiguity, and since the two widths are similar the examiner is interpreting them as substantially the same).
Regarding claim 13, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 9, wherein the first portion of the mass of the body has a width, and the first portion of the mass of the body is solid across its width from the first and second posts to the first end of the body (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 9, wherein the body is substantially linear from the first end to the second end (please note the instant applicant’s body includes curves and rounded edges which are not considered linear, therefore Rocci’s body is being considered linear in the same manner that the instant applicant’s is).
Regarding claim 15, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 9, further including a spring (19) for biasing the safety latch mechanism into a first position (rest position).
Regarding claim 16, Rocci teaches the safety latch mechanism according to Claim 9, wherein the first and second posts are integrally formed with the body (fig. 4 shows one integral part).
Conclusion
/J.E.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675