DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 26, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the inner tank" in line 2 which should be corrected to “the inner housing”. Claim 6 is objected due to its dependency on claim 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-13, and 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220316190A1 (“Connolly”).
Regarding claim 1, Connolly teaches in a first embodiment a wastewater reuse system that treats used water within a building and reuses it at a different point of use (See Abstract). Where a wastewater treatment device is connected to the point of use which can be a faucet (Paragraph 80). Connolly further teaches that the device has a cold water source 310 (Paragraph 49) that is fluidly connected to the water reuse device. Where there is a wastewater reservoir 320 and a water sensing module 326 which can sample water in the wastewater reservoir 320 (Paragraph 53). Connolly further teaches that the sensors can analyze data for operating a valve based off the determined volume of water in the wastewater reservoir 320 (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the wastewater reservoir 320 can have the treatment system occur within the reservoir from ultraviolet light treatment (Paragraph 54). Connolly teaches using flow water sensors to control the wastewater reservoir’s diverter valve based off the flowrate and characteristic sensors (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches a cold water source 310 is connected to the regulator tank that has a valve system that is controlled to selectively allow recycled wastewater from the wastewater reservoir or cold water to the tank and point of use (Paragraph 55). Connolly teaches that all of the pumps, treatment devices, and other components of the wastewater treatment system may be controlled by a controller device (Paragraph 50).
In the first embodiment, Connolly does not teach the reservoir having multiple water sources, having a water filter before the wastewater reservoir, or the reservoir being a part of a closed system with a top and bottom. The first embodiment also does not disclose a water sensor in the reservoir which measures the water level of the wastewater in the tank.
Connolly also teaches in a second embodiment of the wastewater reuse system the wastewater treatment device can be filtration that occurs before storage reservoir 222 and storage reservoir 222 can have multiple water source inputs (Paragraph 38). Connolly further teaches that a wastewater reservoir which has a top and bottom surface as it can be a part of a closed system (Paragraphs 47). Connolly teaches that the point of use reservoir can have sensor module 214 which can include a water level sensor as it has proximity sensors and sensors capable of measuring physical characteristics of the proximate environment (Paragraph 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to add the sensor module 214 and storage reservoir 222 teachings of the second embodiment to the first embodiment of Connolly’s wastewater reservoir 320 and sensor 326 as they both are in the subject of wastewater reuse systems and the teachings are an improvement upon the wastewater reuse system components and according to Connolly, “The case 302 of the reservoir device includes a reservoir 320 adapted to store water , which may have some or all of the features of the storage reservoir 222” (Paragraph 51) and “The water sensor module 326, as well as the water sensors 336 may include some or all of the features described in the context of the sensor module 214” (Paragraph 53).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 1. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment a case 302 that contains the wastewater reservoir 320 within it (Paragraph 51 and Figure 4). Connolly also teaches a user/control interface that is on the outside of the case 302 that has input controls for the wastewater reuse system and can display information from the system (Paragraph 48 and Figure 4). Connolly further teaches that the controller device can be configured to operate the user/control interface (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 1. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment that the wastewater reservoir 320 is in fluid communication with a drain pump to transport unusable water from the reservoir to the drain outlet (Paragraph 51) where water can be unusable if there is insufficient space within the wastewater reservoir (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the controller can be connected to and control all the pumps of the wastewater reuse system (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 1. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment that the wastewater treatment device in the wastewater reuse system can be reverse osmosis filtration (Paragraph 73).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 1. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment a supply pump 328 that is in fluid communication with the wastewater reservoir 320 to supply treated wastewater from the reservoir to an appliance for reuse (Paragraph 52) where it can be a sink faucet (Paragraph 80). Connolly teaches that the controller can be connected to and control all the pumps of the wastewater reuse system (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 1. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment a supply pump 328 that is in fluid communication with the wastewater reservoir 320 to an appliance for reuse (Paragraph 52) where it can be a sink faucet (Paragraph 80).
In the first embodiment, Connolly does not teach the wastewater reservoir or wastewater reuse system being connected to having multiple faucets or multiple points of use.
Connolly teaches in a second embodiment that there can be multiple points of use and multiple devices connected at the point of use that the system is providing waste water to such as to a sink faucet and shower as well as a washing machine and outdoor faucet (Paragraphs 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to also use the multiple points of use and faucets teachings of the second embodiment in the first and second embodiment combination of Connolly as they both are in the subject of wastewater reuse systems and the teachings are an improvement upon the wastewater reuse system and provide further use of the system and according to Connolly, “One or more point of use devices 104 may be installed and configured for one or more of the points of use 101 to enable such features as water modification at the point of use, real time or on demand water modification, water capture, treatment and re-use, and other beneficial features.” (Paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 10, Connolly teaches in a first embodiment a wastewater reuse system that treats used water within a building and reuses it at a different point of use (See Abstract). Where there is a wastewater reservoir 320 and a water sensing module 326 which can sample water in the wastewater reservoir 320 (Paragraph 53). Connolly further teaches that the sensors can analyze data for operating a valve based off the determined volume of water in the wastewater reservoir 320 (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the wastewater reservoir 320 can have treatment occur within the reservoir from ultraviolet light treatment (Paragraph 54). Connolly teaches that all of the pumps, treatment devices, and other components of the wastewater treatment system may be controlled by a controller device (Paragraph 50).
In the first embodiment, Connolly does not teach the reservoir having a water filter before the wastewater reservoir. The first embodiment also does not disclose a water sensor in the reservoir which measures the water level of the wastewater in the tank.
Connolly teaches in a second embodiment that storage reservoir 222 can have a wastewater treatment device filter wastewater going to and from the storage reservoir (Paragraph 38). Connolly teaches that the point of use reservoir can have sensor module 214 which can include a water level sensor as it has proximity sensors and sensors capable of measuring physical characteristics of the proximate environment (Paragraph 42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to add the sensor module 214 and storage reservoir 222 teachings of the second embodiment to the first embodiment of Connolly’s wastewater reservoir 320 and sensor 326 as they both are in the subject of wastewater reuse systems and the teachings are an improvement upon the wastewater reuse system components and according to Connolly, “The case 302 of the reservoir device includes a reservoir 320 adapted to store water , which may have some or all of the features of the storage reservoir 222” (Paragraph 51) and “The water sensor module 326, as well as the water sensors 336 may include some or all of the features described in the context of the sensor module 214” (Paragraph 53).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 10. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment that supply pump 328 that is in fluid communication with the wastewater reservoir 320 to supply treated wastewater to an appliance for reuse or point of reuse (Paragraph 52) where it can be a sink faucet (Paragraph 80).
In the first embodiment, Connolly does not teach the wastewater reservoir or wastewater reuse system being connected to having multiple faucets or multiple points of use.
Connolly teaches in a second embodiment that there can be multiple points of use and multiple devices connected at the point of use that the system is providing waste water to such as to a sink faucet and shower as well as a washing machine and outdoor faucet (Paragraphs 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to also use the multiple points of use and faucets teachings of the second embodiment in the first and second embodiment combination of Connolly as they both are in the subject of wastewater reuse systems and the teachings are an improvement upon the wastewater reuse system and provide further use of the system and according to Connolly, “One or more point of use devices 104 may be installed and configured for one or more of the points of use 101 to enable such features as water modification at the point of use, real time or on demand water modification, water capture, treatment and re-use, and other beneficial features.” (Paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 10. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment a case 302 that contains the wastewater reservoir 320 within it (Paragraph 51 and Figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 10. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment a user/control interface that is on the outside of the case 302 that has input controls for the wastewater reuse system and can display information from the system (Paragraph 48 and Figure 4). Connolly further teaches that the controller device can be configured to operate the user/control interface (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 10. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment that the wastewater reservoir 320 is in fluid communication with a drain pump to transport unusable water from the reservoir to the drain outlet (Paragraph 51) where water can be unusable if there is insufficient space within the wastewater reservoir (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the controller can be connected to and control all the pumps of the wastewater reuse system (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 10. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment that the wastewater treatment device in the wastewater reuse system can be reverse osmosis filtration (Paragraph 73).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 10. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment a supply pump 328 that is in fluid communication with the wastewater reservoir 320 to an appliance for reuse (Paragraph 52) where it can be a sink faucet (Paragraph 80). Connolly teaches that the controller can be connected to and control all the pumps of the wastewater reuse system (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 20, Connolly teaches in a first embodiment a wastewater reuse system that treats used water within a building and reuses it at a different point of use (See Abstract). Connolly teaches a supply pump 328 that is in fluid communication with the wastewater reservoir 320 to an appliance for reuse (Paragraph 52) where it can be a sink faucet (Paragraph 80). Connolly also teaches a cold water source 310 is connected to the regulator tank that has a valve system that is controlled to selectively allow recycled wastewater from the wastewater reservoir or cold water to the tank and point of use (Paragraph 55). Connolly further teaches a hot water source 314 can be connected to other points of use such as faucet (Paragraphs 49 and 80). Connolly teaches that all of the pumps, treatment devices, and other components of the wastewater treatment system may be controlled by a controller device (Paragraph 50).
In the first embodiment, Connolly does not teach the wastewater reservoir or wastewater reuse system being connected to having multiple faucets or multiple points of use, the reservoir having multiple water sources, or having a water filter before the wastewater reservoir.
Connolly teaches in a second embodiment that storage reservoir 222 can have a wastewater treatment device filter wastewater going to and from the storage reservoir (Paragraph 38). Connolly further teaches that there can be multiple points of use and multiple devices connected at the point of use that the system is providing waste water to such as to a sink faucet and shower as well as a washing machine and outdoor faucet (Paragraphs 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to add the multiple sources and points of use connected to the storage reservoir 222 and water filter positioning of storage reservoir 222 teachings of the second embodiment to the first embodiment of Connolly’s wastewater reservoir 320 as they both are in the subject of wastewater reuse systems and the teachings are an improvement upon the wastewater reuse system components which allows further use of the system and according to Connolly, “The case 302 of the reservoir device includes a reservoir 320 adapted to store water , which may have some or all of the features of the storage reservoir 222” (Paragraph 51).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 20. Connolly further teaches in a first embodiment a wastewater reuse system that treats used water within a building and reuses it at a different point of use (See Abstract). Where there is a wastewater reservoir 320 and a water sensing module 326 which can sample water in the wastewater reservoir 320 (Paragraph 53). Connolly further teaches that the sensors can determine the volume of water in the wastewater reservoir 320 for operating a valve (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the wastewater reservoir 320 can have treatment occur within the reservoir from ultraviolet light treatment (Paragraph 54). Connolly teaches that all of the pumps, treatment devices, and other components of the wastewater treatment system may be controlled by a controller device (Paragraph 50).
In the first embodiment, Connolly does not disclose a water sensor in the reservoir which measures the water level of the wastewater in the tank.
Connolly teaches in a second embodiment that the point of use reservoir can have sensor module 214 which can include a water level sensor as it has proximity sensors and sensors capable of measuring physical characteristics of the proximate environment (Paragraph 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to also add the sensor module 214 teachings of the second embodiment to the first and second embodiment combination of Connolly’s sensor 326 as they both are in the subject of wastewater reuse systems and the teachings are an improvement upon the wastewater reuse system components and according to Connolly, “The water sensor module 326, as well as the water sensors 336 may include some or all of the features described in the context of the sensor module 214” (Paragraph 53).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 20. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment using flow water sensors to control the reservoir diverter valve based off the flowrate and characteristic sensors (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that all of the pumps, treatment devices, and other components of the wastewater treatment system may be controlled by a controller device (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claims 24-26, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 20. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment that the sensors can determine the volume of water in the wastewater reservoir 320 for operating a valve (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the wastewater reservoir 320 is in fluid communication with a drain pump to transport unusable water from the reservoir to the drain outlet (Paragraph 51) where water can be unusable if there is insufficient space within the wastewater reservoir as determined by the sensors (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the controller can be connected to and control all the pumps of the wastewater reuse system (Paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of the first and second embodiment of Connolly teach the wastewater reuse system of Claim 20. Connolly further teaches in the first embodiment that the wastewater treatment device in the wastewater reuse system can be reverse osmosis filtration (Paragraph 73).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220316190A1 (“Connolly”) and DE102020128968A1 ("Petersen") as filed in the IDS, hereinafter Connolly and Petersen. Petersen has been claim mapped to the provided EPO machine translation.
Regarding claim 3, Connolly teaches a wastewater reuse system that treats used water within a building and reuses it at a different point of use (See Abstract and Figure 1). Where a wastewater treatment device is connected to the point of use which can be a faucet (Paragraph 80). Connolly further teaches that the device has a cold water source 310 (Paragraph 49) that is fluidly connected to the water reuse device. Connolly also teaches that the wastewater treatment device can be filtration that occurs before storage reservoir 222 and storage reservoir 222 can have multiple water source inputs (Paragraph 38) and wastewater reservoir 320 can have all the features of storage reservoir 222 (Paragraph 51). Connolly further teaches that a wastewater reservoir which has a top and bottom surface and can be a part of a closed system (Paragraphs 47 and 53). Connolly teaches that the point of use reservoir can have sensor module 214 which can include a water level sensor as it has proximity sensors and sensors capable of measuring physical characteristics of the proximate environment (Paragraph 42) where there is a water sensing module 326 which can sample water in the wastewater reservoir 320 and can have all the features of sensor module 214 (Paragraph 53). Connolly further teaches that the sensors can analyze data for operating a valve based off the determined volume of water in the wastewater reservoir 320 (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the wastewater reservoir 320 can have the treatment system occur within the reservoir from ultraviolet light treatment (Paragraph 54). Connolly teaches using flow water sensors to control the wastewater reservoir’s diverter valve based off the flowrate and characteristic sensors (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches a cold water source 310 is connected to the regulator tank that has a valve system that is controlled to selectively allow recycled wastewater from the wastewater reservoir or cold water to the tank and point of use (Paragraph 55). Connolly teaches that all of the pumps, treatment devices, and other components of the wastewater treatment system may be controlled by a controller device (Paragraph 50).
Connolly does not teach the use of a vent to prevent water pressure in the wastewater tank.
Peterson teaches the addition of a lid to the tank to allow ease of cleaning/maintenance of the tank (Paragraph 93). Petersen teaches the use of a ventilation port on the tank to equalize the pressure from filling the tank with water or fluctuating water levels (Paragraph 93). Petersen further teaches the vent having a filter to prevent contaminants and pathogens (Paragraph 93).
Regarding claim 14, Connolly teaches a wastewater reuse system that treats used water within a building and reuses it at a different point of use (See Abstract and Figure 1). Connolly also teaches that storage reservoir 222 can have a wastewater treatment device filter wastewater going to and from the storage reservoir (Paragraph 38) and wastewater tank 320 can have all the features of storage reservoir 222 (Paragraph 51). Connolly teaches that the point of use reservoir can have sensor module 214 that had proximity sensors and sensors capable of measuring physical characteristics of the proximate environment (Paragraph 42) where there is a water sensing module 326 which can sample water in the wastewater reservoir 320 and can have all the features of sensor module 214 (Paragraph 53). Connolly further teaches that the sensors can analyze data for operating a valve based off the determined volume of water in the wastewater reservoir 320 (Paragraph 72). Connolly teaches that the wastewater reservoir 320 can have treatment occur within the reservoir from ultraviolet light treatment (Paragraph 54). Connolly teaches that all of the pumps, treatment devices, and other components of the wastewater treatment system may be controlled by a controller device (Paragraph 50). Connolly teaches a case 302 that contains the wastewater reservoir 320 within it (Paragraph 51 and Figure 4).
Connolly does not teach the use of a vent to prevent water pressure in the wastewater tank.
Peterson teaches the addition of a lid to the tank to allow ease of cleaning/maintenance of the tank (Paragraph 93). Petersen teaches the use of a ventilation port on the tank to equalize the pressure from filling the tank with water or fluctuating water levels (Paragraph 93). Petersen further teaches the vent having a filter to prevent contaminants and pathogens (Paragraph 93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Connolly with the teachings of Petersen because, Petersen’s lid and vent is an improvement to tank and enclosures of wastewater reuse systems as it allows ease of cleaning the tank and according to Petersen, “the lid may have a ventilation port for ventilation and/or venting in order to compensate for changes in the initial filling volume or water level or fill level in the reservoir on the pressure side” and “This preferred embodiment facilitates easy access for the user, enabling both a visual inspection of the optical purity of the conditioned drinking water and improved hygiene for manual or mechanical (intermediate) cleaning of the storage tank” (Paragraph 93).
Conclusion
/JACK WELLIK PECINOVSKY/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779